We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel!”
Review of Dawar El Omda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dawar El Omda
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2009

We spent a lovely 9 days at this hotel in early April 09. We are a family of 5, (2 adults with 3 teenagers). The hotel is very pretty and spotlessly clean and has a lovely Egyptian feel to the place. We particularly liked the pool area and also the internal courtyard filled with bougainvillea where we played cards! We felt everything to be of a high standard - I met the manager of the hotel one day and told her so. The hotel is small and cosy with friendly staff, the pool man was hilarious! My blond 18 year old daughter had a lot of attention but it was never a problem! Because of the size of the hotel it was easy to get to know the staff and we had no problems with service. Ehab was the man who organized all our bookings and transfers etc and everything went as planned and was handled in a very professional way. We paid for bed and breakfast so that we could choose where to eat in the evening but we often ate at the hotel because the standard of food was very good. The rooms were not huge but adequate and with lovely views, perfect!

The pool was lovely and there was never a problem with sunbeds. As mentioned in one of the other reviews, there was never any push to make use of the spa facilities or take part in any of the available activities which in any case were very low key. I agree with lady who said that the front desk could be a little more helpful with details on what type of excursions/activities are available in El Gouna.

Outside the hotel, el Gouna is a very nice town, the Marina area is almost too European but nice all the same with a fantastic choice of restaurants, which were all of a very good quality (approaching European prices in some cases!) It is a very quiet resort, nothing much happens after midnight so if you are looking for bars and clubs go to Hurghada instead! We loved it because it was exactly the relaxing holiday we were looking for. Our teenagers did sport (kitesurfing and wakeboarding) to keep them amused in the daytime and this was very professionally organized, in the case of the wakeboarding a taxi came to pick them and drop them off every day for their lesson.

Be patient and remember you are in Africa when ordering at the restaurants! Service is slow in most places, so if you want to eat lunch at 1pm go to the restaurant at midday to order! It is best to tip to get good service, remember that locals are paid low wages and a dollar/euro from you supplements their monthly income. The Egyptians are lovely friendly people, in general very well educated. They like to talk about their home towns if you give them a chance, many in El Gouna come from the Luxor or Aswan areas, and some are from Cairo.

The only complaint we had was that the beach at Zaytona was a disappointment. It was very stony and the jetty which took you out to the snorkelling area was closed for renovations. The beach bar there was the only place we got “upset tummy” during the whole holiday! We went there on the 1st day and never went back. Mangroovy beach was much nicer. Maybe Dawar el Omda should change their concession?

The best recommendation we could give is that we will go back soon!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cadrezzate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 550 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2009

Just came back from a one week stay with a friend in El Gouna. Did quit a lot of research before we went, as we didn´t know much about the area. We were looking for a place that could offer a quiet, relaxing week; preferably smaller, more personal and genuine than a huge complex. Have been to big all inclusive-hotels before, and left with a feeling of being just another cow in the hurdle; standing queuing to food, fight unwinnable fights about sunbeds etc..
Dawar el Omda was therefor perfect for us! A nice (small-ish) hotel, located on two sides of the built lagoon. Every room had balcony, and ours outlooked both pool, lagoon and the Red Sea. Very beautiful!!
Pool wasn´t very big, but very nice and far from crowded. You could also bathe in the lagoon just by the hotel, or walk 2 min to the another hotel and from there get a 5 min shuttle boat for free to the hotel´s private beach. I think it was 2 km to walk there. At the beach, there was a little bar where you could have your all inclusive lunch or soft drinks.

Because of the size of the hotel, you quickly came to know the staff as well as the faces of your fellow hotel guests.
With a smile and a nice attitude you made friends with staff in minutes, and got super service and help when needed.
Rooms were simple but nice, and the feeling of the hotel in general was very Egyptian style thought-through and cosy!
Food was good, even if the variation could have been bigger. But for the money we payed for all-inc it was definitely worth it!
El Gouna (build only like 20 years ago by a rich Egyptian man, made for tourists, with no locals living there) is more expensive than Hurgada, so we would have spent much more eating out every day.
Should also mention that in all El -Gouna you never had to worry about poor stomachs, they are very careful with the food! We did start and end our day with a Fernet Branca just in case, though..
The all inc drinks options could have been larger, with only local alcohol included. On the other hand, you get what you pay for, and it only cost us 120 Euros for a whole week.

On the up-side, El Gouna is very clean, very beautiful and pleasingly free from sales people pulling you on the streets (unlike Hurgada..) At the hotel, they could come and "inform you" about massages, trips and stuff, but only first day, then you are left alone.
The only down side with the hotel was the little bit poor local knowledge in the reception. If you want information about snorkeling, diving, trips etc, ask the staff in the bar/restaurant, or Ale, the supervisor. We got great help, and made friends with a taxi driver who fixed us up with a great snorkeling trip - which he paid for in advance for us.

All in all, a lovely relaxing week with great weather, lots of sun, nice friendly people, and a wish to stay longer.
Warmly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elinor2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2008

Having just returned from the Dawar El Omda hotel in El Gouna, i was some what surprised at the previous arcticle saying that they waited 40 minutes for a drink, my husband and i were all inclusive and from the moment we entered the hotel until the day er left we were waited on constantly... we arrived late in the evening and the resturant had closed , we put our bags in our room and left to find something to eat, but on our return the staff had put 8 plates of food in our room. The waiters especially Johannus and the bar staff especially Micheal were always giving out cold flannels fruit and frozen juice drinks around the pool.
We really enjoyed our stay and this was a quiet and small hotel having only 50 rooms we stayed in 303 which was really nice friends that we met stayed in a family room 415 which has a front porch to sit out when its cooler.
The food was not that brilliant but i am a really fussy eater but there was chicken every day pasta ,fish, beef, salads and lots of sweets.
try out Dali he is the massuese he loves having a joke with everyone.
We are already thinking of going back there again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank valerossi46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2008

after settling in we went down to dinner which was un appertizing as we sat down we asked the waiter for some drinks we waited 40 minutes for them before leaving the waiter did come back to us a couple of minutes afer we sat down but that was only to ask us if we wanted to pay 11 euros for dinner in the square as we went all inclusive we was not interested, we did notice that although we didnt get our drinks the tables around us were all getting served this we found out was because they were there on b and b basis.after this we went to the poolside bar and ordered 2 beers the barman opened a bottle of beer filled 1 glass full empted the remainder of the beer into the other glass and gave them to me this again upset me as the second glass was only half full having been to egypt before this was not the standard we had come to expect if you are staying here my advise is only stay b and b the hotel is at best 2 star

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshireNileman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2008

What a great hotel ..Small and friendly,,We stayed there all inclusive for 3 weeks and loved every minute.The bedrooms were clean and well serviced..The staff were attentive and gave you thet personal touch,Especially Hany Samir the resteraunt supervisor,,nothing was too much trouble for him.We used the free hotel shuttle boat which takes you to Zeytona beach,where you get clean beach towels and sunbeds,The boatman Abdel is also very friendly and helps you on and off the boat if you need assistance.(which my wife and friend did),On the beach if you feel a bit energetic you can play volley ball ,The 2 beach boys Gomaa and Mahmoud really look after you,and make you feel special.You can have your lunch at the all inclusive beach bar which is great.You dont have to return to the hotel.What a place to chill out.I would say the Dawar experiance is not one to be missed,,I will certainly return,,"Enshala"

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank annemalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2007

This hotel is perfect for a low key relaxing holiday. Having said that there are of course the usual trips to go on, and I recommend the island snorkelling trip with lunch included. Fantastic. The hotel itself is right in downtown El Gouna and the shuttle boat to the beach is only a two minute walk away to the Sultan Bay hotel where there is a jetty. The staff at the hotel are excellent and can not wait to see the two Micheal's from the bar next year.
Food not great but then we had expected that from previous reviews and plenty to choose from ourside the front door. Also must mention that in El Gouna there are no salesmen harrasing you every time you leave the hotel like I had heard in other resorts like Hurghada.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angie_oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2007

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fernwehaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Gouna hotels
0.7 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.3 mi away
Three Corners Rihana Inn
Three Corners Rihana Inn
#18 of 18 in El Gouna
265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#5 of 18 in El Gouna
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ali Pasha Hotel
Ali Pasha Hotel
#4 of 18 in El Gouna
409 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mosaique Hotel
Mosaique Hotel
#2 of 18 in El Gouna
480 reviews
0.5 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dawar El Omda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dawar El Omda

Address: Kafr El Gouna | El Gouna, El Gouna, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
#8 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#12 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range: £23 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dawar El Omda 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique establishment among Red Sea hotels, Dawar El Omda Boutique Hotel is built in the style of an old Upper Egyptian mayor's mansion. The traditional house's architecture is authentic to the core. Domes and arches in natural beige tones grace the exterior, while superb interior design gives pride of place to antique furniture and handcrafted decor pieces. Spanning across the saltwater lagoon that separates the island of Kafr El Gouna from the Downtown area of Tamr Henna Square, the hotel extends on both sides of the waterway, which are linked by a stone arch bridge. Dawar El Omda Boutique Hotel is reserved for guests aged 18 and over Guests at Dawar El Omda Boutique Hotel can swim wherever they fancy thanks to direct access to the lagoon from the hotel's small private beach, an infinity pool overlooking the lagoon, and shuttle boat access to the hotel's sea beach on nearby Zeytouna Island. Situated in the heart of El Gouna, Dawar El Omda is also adjacent to a myriad of bars, restaurants, shopping arcades, supermarkets, service providers, and entertainment venues featuring folklore shows and live music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dawar El Omda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dawar El Omda Hotel El Gouna
Dawar El Omda Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing