We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“good value for money & peacefull - good sleep quality” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arena Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arena Inn
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good value for money & peacefull - good sleep quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

hi - travelled over Easter to Arena Inn, basic room - breakfast ok, stayed B&B as we like to take a TukTuk to Marina and eat out of an evening - have stayed at Movenpick which is far superior and you get what you pay for, we wanted a clean room with a comfortable bed and a nice breakfast - that is what we got at a fantastic price £360 for a week with Thomson. LOVE El Gouna - hot hot hot weather. Staff at this hotel are really nice and very helpful and friendly. You can pay more but why would you? we were out nearly all day at pool and beach, going back to the clean room with clean towels and hot shower then out again of any evening - give it a try :)
fantastic room service

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a.wills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    212
    65
    29
    13
See reviews for
86
212
52
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2011

The hotel was very clean, the rooms small but comfortable. Bathrooms adequate although shower could be tempermental. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Lots of choice at breakfast, and with the dining room overlooking the lagoon it was a scenic place to eat.
Would recommend the Arena Inn, although only on a bed and breakfast basis. There was only one bar, in a marquee next to the pool and only one dining room so feel it would become tedious if you went all inclusive. The sun-bathing facilities were great, with access to both the pool and the lagoon.
One of the great pluses of the Arena Inn is it's location. It is a 5 minute walk from the Downtown area, which has everything you could want. Lots of bars, restaurants and cafes, we would especially recommend Creviche - the Spanish and Tapas bar, the food was both delicious and reasonably priced. We also had a couple of good meals at the Greek restaurant. The worst meal we had was at the Marina - The Captains Inn - overpriced and of poor quality. We both had steak, which did not compare in quality and taste to the one at Creviche.
Overall a great place to relax, not many children there, it was quiet, no hassle from vendors etc. Try the trip in the speedboat around the lagoons - available from the Downtown area. Don't forget to take mosquito repellent - you will need it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LancasterSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2011

Having never been to El Gouna before, I did a lot of reading on Trip Advisor and decided on the Arena Inn. I was not disappointed. Considering it is possibly one of the smaller hotels in El Gouna, it certainly had everything you need for a week in the sun. The rooms are a little cosy but unless you are planning on spending all day in them, they are more than adequate....and exceptionally clean. The service is faultless and the staff very friendly and helpful.
The greatest thing for me about this hotel is that it is less then 2 minutes walk from the Downtown area and I would highly recommend going B&B so that you can sample all the many restaurants in Downtown and the Marina area.
I'd never heard of El Gouna before booking this holiday and I'm hesitant to recommend it as a holiday destination....but only because I want it to stay as peaceful and quiet and untarnished by too many visitors as it was when I went!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Macc72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

Our hotel was about a minutes walk from Downtown - a small area of restaurants and shops - and about a mile from the Marina which was easily walked or we travelled by tuk tuk (a three wheel contraption which the locals have painted in various guises like scooby doo, spiderman, tom and jerry and micky mouse to name a few) It cost equivalent of £1 for two one way.Mohammed at the Arena Inn the events organiser is well worth a chat too. The hotel may not be the plushest, but for good honest value for money I doubt that you will find a better one anywhere. It may not be the place for the 18 - 30 crowd, but for couples wanting to chill and relax, its ideal. Staff at the hotel first class, Peter and Michael who run the gift cabin are real characters too, and if you want a bargain, you would be hard pressed to go anywhere else really.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Borras1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mo i Rana, Norway
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

We came with an open mind and where surprised by the standard of the apartment. To large bedrooms with separate bathrooms with showers, TV in rooms, a terrace, a living room with a fridge and a microwave oven with cooking plates. My mother, whom spent here last vacations in Spane, where surprised by the size of it and the money value compared to Grand Canary and Malaga. The wardrobe space was bigger than any one of us had ever experienced in a hotel with closets and drawers. We had one problem with water sometimes dripping from behind the mirror in one bathroom, and some problems when it rained, but other than that the apartment was grate.
The service was very good. Good room cleaning service, a very friendly guy.
The location of the hotel was grate. 100m to down town and Steigenbergers golf curse (a nice place for a jog) and though there was a bus to the beach, it was only 20minutes to walk max. We did not have any noise problems tough we lived so central. This is not a place for party animals.
The beach Zeytouna was very nice with bars and Arena Inn had its own bar for all-inclusive guest. There was a guy that came with mattresses for the sun beds when you arrive (remember to tip him. As a tourist from Scandinavia I’m really not used to tipping). There was a swimming pool and sun beds at the hotel, but it got crowded, we preferred the beach and ended up spending a lot more time there than we had anticipated.
The breakfast at Arena Inn is the best! The egg-man is grate; he makes whatever you want and pancakes and French toast. In the buffet the darker bead, typical for Scandinavia, and two types of yoghurt impressed me. My sister loved the chocolate doughnuts and all the butter pastries. The warm buffet had sausages and tomatoes with cheese.
My favourite restaurants: Upstairs (Swedish), Athena (Greek), white elephant (thai), Mamounia (maroccan) and Garos (Lebanese).

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anettesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochdale uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2011

Third time in 12 months at the Arena,its not posh,plush or pretentious,but good value,location is excellent right on the edge of Downtown,close to all the shops,restaurants,the first eating place you come to is Garos Lebanese,thy do fantastic snacks and meals,try chicken schwerma in pitta bread,Athena for Greek is very good as is White Elephant for Thai,Hedra up the stairs in the main square is great,try their fish soup and chicken Hedra.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babsngav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

I am normally just a reader of Trip Advisor, never actually written a review but we booked our trip after reading good reviews of this hotel and when we arrived we were rather disappointed.

We stayed 31st Dec 2010 to 7th Jan 2011 on a Bed and Breakfast basis. £400 pp

The service at the hotel was excellent, the waiting staff were very chirpy and efficient and reception staff were always eager to assist. They all spoke very good English (as well as German, French and Russian). We were initially provided with a twin room and requested to move to a double, this was dealt with promptly.

The hotel itself was a bit of a let down and in definite need of complete renovation. The pool/beach area was very clean but some of the sunloungers were broken. The hotel was only at 50% capacity so the common areas were not too crowded but I can imagine during peak season it would be quite a tight squeeze around the pool.

The rooms were very tired looking, rather shabby and very small. Our room had once had a balcony but it had either been taken down or fallen down and just the rough structure remained. It has therefore been blocked off with low balustrades....not great if you had small children!
Beach towels, bath towels and hand towels are provided plus hairdryer and mini bar in room. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, breakfast was very good if a little repetitive.

I wasn't a fan of El Gouna "complex" itself. I have been to Sharm El Sheikh previously and thoroughly enjoyed it but El Gouna was definitely not for me. The main reason being that if you were in El Gouna you could be anywhere....you wouldn't really know you were in Egypt. There was an abundance of Italian, German, Chinese, American restaurants but very few authentic Egyptian restaurants/coffee houses or shisha bars. There is no history, culture or sign of traditional Egypt in El Gouna. All extremely new and very quiet. Saying that some of the views were lovely and given 20 years to bed in (lots of building going on at the moment) it might improve.

We travelled into Hurghada on a few evenings and that was a lot busier. There is a bus that will take you from El Gouna complex to Hurgharda (Old Town) takes about 45 mins and only 5L.E. (55p) pp each way. The old town Hurghada was good for shopping (has a market etc) but you will get hassled. Further on (by bus or cab) is the (New Town) Hurghada, an area known as Shakkala/Sheraton St. Very touristy, lots of shops, couple of restaurants and shisha bars and once again you'll get hassled to buy.

El Gouna is very self contained and safe (a bit like an all inclusive complex in the Caribbean) so women do not get hassled but once you're in Hurghada its a different story, especially if you have dark hair/ dark eyes. Even though I travelled with my boyfriend and covered myself from head to toe I still got hassled. I didn't find it intimidating (I have travelled quite a bit) but just found it rather irritating. If asked, we told the Egyptians we were married and I also wore a fake wedding ring at all times but some were still rather pervy and would shout at us in the street, congratulating my boyfriend....just got on my nerves by the end of the week.

My advice would be to go to Sharm el Sheikh. Less pressure to buy, less hassle for women, better value for money, full of Egyptian restaurants and shisha bars and generally lots more fun.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa&Daryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Gouna hotels
0.9 mi away
Ali Pasha Hotel
Ali Pasha Hotel
#5 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#4 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.9 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dawar El Omda
Dawar El Omda
#12 of 18 in El Gouna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.6 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Inn

Property: Arena Inn
Address: Kafr El Gouna | El Gouna, El Gouna, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#7 Top resorts Hotel in El Gouna
#13 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arena Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arena Inn Hotel is a convivial mid-sized El Gouna hotel offering all the amenities expected of a Red Sea holiday resort. Built along the saltwater lagoon that separates the island of Kafr El Gouna from the Downtown mainland area, the hotel offers a peaceful waterfront setting a few steps from all the facilities and services of the fully integrated resort town of El Gouna. Cafés, restaurants, supermarkets, shopping galleries, and evening entertainment venues with live music and shows are all within walking distance. The hotel's infinity pool overlooks a swimming lagoon bordered by a small sandy beach. Arena Inn guests also have access to the hotel's sea beach on nearby Zeytouna Island, reached by shuttle boat or bus, where some of the best snorkeling in El Gouna can be found. Arena Inn's main restaurant, Laguna, is built to resemble a wooden ship's interior. It boasts splendid views over the turquoise lagoon from its panoramic wooden deck. The Arena Inn counts 144 hotel rooms in three main buildings facing the lagoon on one side and the golf course on the other. This Red Sea hotel is family friendly, offering entertainment opportunities, a kids playground, as well as connecting rooms for added convenience. It also welcomes couples and groups of friends. The Arena Inn is particularly appreciated for its very nice atmosphere, and repeat guests praise the staff's friendliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Arena Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel El Gouna
Arena Resort El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing