We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great price for what you get”
Review of Arena Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arena Inn
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great price for what you get”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

a nice and very quiet hotel, super clean, friendly staff, nice prices, i would totally recommend it for anyone.
breakfast was delicious with a mixture of Egyptian and German cuisine.
each hotel i reviewed in the last years i had to write the negative points but for this one i can't really find a single negative point, maybe they must install better AC units because the ones they have didn't lower the temperature enough for me.

Room Tip: if you are 3 go for an apartment better than a triple room. if a properly working ac is a must for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nourayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vlusci, General Manager at Arena Inn, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Mr. Nour,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience online. It is very nice to read that you felt happy with us and we are looking forward to your next visit. Should you have any question or wish for your next stay, please feel free to contact us at any time.

Wishing you a good day, I thank you once again and remain,

with best regards

Maged Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    225
    68
    31
    14
See reviews for
97
219
57
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxor
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The Arena hotel was my choice of a mid range and price place to stay on a first trip to E Gouna.
The hotel although looking quite small from the front is in fact quite large with something in the region of 400 rooms.
For a few days holiday I only require a clean room, a bar and a decent breakfast. Arena has all of these. The room was pleasant if somewhat small, a very good shower, again small but very efficient with plenty of hot water. The bed sheets were very soft and comfortable, and the mattress soft.
Cleaning was done during the morning if one requires it, with a do not disturb thing to hang on the door if it isnt required.
Breakfast was standard buffet style with a chef cooking omelets or frying eggs to order. Various cooked meats available to replace bacon. There was also a range of cereals, bread and a European breakfast. As I said a standard buffet breakfast served in most hotels in Egypt.
There is also a quite extensive room service menu.
The staff were friendly and efficient, but do a degree that the job requires and nothing more.
The only slight complaint I would have is the outside bar, which is fine, but I also like an inside air conditioned bar, particularly when it is windy, as it was for two days of my time there.
I wouldn't say don't stay there, but neither would I stay do stay there. There is nothing remarkable about the Arena, but it serves its purpose and as my title says. Its adequate

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony not all of the rooms has one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyq226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vlusci, General Manager at Arena Inn, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Mr. Tony,

It was nice to hear from you and I would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at our hotel online. All our guests' comments are taken very seriously and used as a tool to keep or improve our customer service when needed. It seems we were able to meet your expectations, which is positive and we stay at your entire disposal should you have any other question, recommendation, etc.

Looking forward to your next visit, I thank you once again and remain,

with best regards

Maged Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

This was one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in....I will only focus about the worst 3 aspects....

1- receptionist: just to give u a flavor, the guy made us pay for the full stay beforehand...when we told him why dont u just put a hold on the credit card and then take the full pay once we checkout (like any hotel in the world) , his reply was that they owe booking 3000 usd and they need to pay asap so they need to quickly collect funds from the guests!!!

2- breakfast: the poorest breakfast buffet I have ever seen....it includes minimal salty food, the pastries are terrible and have been there for ages (definitely not fresh) ...the omelette guy was the only pleasant thing...I am impressed of that given all manager replies to all ppl who said menu was terrible was that ppl are generally satisified (which is practically impossible as we were all ppl with the same problem)

3- a/c: horrible noise across all our 6 rooms (althu before going I read in a manager reply that they fixed the issue in most rooms, I dont get how by coincidence all 6 rooms were not part of the fix)


In summay....Dont think of booking there...gouna has 15 other hotels many of which r at same price range and offer significantly better value for money

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank ramyebeid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vlusci, General Manager at Arena Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Mr. Ramy,

I first of all would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at our hotel online. All your comments are of a high value to us, as we consider them a very important tool to maintain or improve our customer service whenever it is needed. We obviously were not able to meet your expectations and I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused from our side. After having investigated the issue with my team, I am glad to provide you hereafter with my feedback:

As per our policy, we have to request full payment in advance for any new guest checking in. Considering you did choose the “booking.com” online option, allowing to book with a simple credit card print as a guarantee, the receptionist only followed the procedure by requesting the settlement of your stay. I am really sorry for having hurt your sensitivity in this regard.

Concerning the breakfast buffet, I am sorry that you did not like it. Most of our regular guests are happy with it. We offer cold cuts, variety of cheeses, eggs, jam, butter, different kind of breads, danish, sausages, potatoes, salads, beans, yogurt and muesli, French toasts, cereals, milk, juices, pancakes and crepes, etc. as per international standards.

70% of the A/C has been replaced, as we mentioned before; the rest will be done this year.

Once again I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and truly hope you will give us the chance to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards

Maged Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We've booked for that trip 10 days before, paid full amount, BB.

And though we stated in our booking e-mail that this trip is for our anniversary, in return, we found NOTHING different in the hospitality, I believe they didn't even notice that phrase in the e-mail.

The check-in was smooth, the room was okay..except for the air conditioner that was hilariously drumming an exceptional noise rhyme!

Leaving a cat with her kittens to live just amoung the guests is okay for those kind-hearted, but to see it drinking from the pool and take it just easy was not okay for us!

The breakfast was average, i mean all items that maybe served in any hotel are available. Milk was horrible (WATER with some milk). The chef making the omelettes was nice.

We went to zeytouna island, (A beach Arena inn is having a deal with to welcome guests with no charge), it was very nice, people where helpful, sea is clear.

The hotel is located in the downtown where u r next to everything and u can have a very nice walk and enjoy el Gouna fabulous nightlife.

We once had dinner at the hotel, it was the worst experience we've ever had!!! We paid A LOT for NOTHING. They only served 1 kind of each (Chicken, meat and fish) and that's not only the point..the problem is that it tasted horrible!! Even the salad was not fresh! We barely ate that night..

We had dinner at "Tamr henna" once and at "White elephant" as well..both were just WOW! Highly recommended!

Savage mosquitoes are every where, Off (Johnson's and Johnson's) will be very useful.

Proved to be a real 3 stars hotel..and certainly they can be better with some few tips!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vlusci, General Manager at Arena Inn, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Mrs. Rita,

I first of all would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at our hotel on Trip Advisor. All your comments are of a high value to us, as we consider them a very useful tool to constantly analyze our customer service. Immediate and corrective action is usually taken when it is necessary.

It seems we were not 100% able to meet your expectations and I apologize for any inconvenience caused from our side. After having investigating your concerns, please find hereafter our feedback:

Concerning the A/C, I am pleased to inform you that we already renewed 70% of it and the rest will be done this year. In this regard, it would have been highly appreciated if you could have informed us on the spot so we could have fixed it at your convenience.

Our regular guests are usually very happy with our breakfast buffet, which is offering a huge variety of items to satisfy any taste and need. We do not mix water with milk, as this is not at all our standard, especially that milk is put in a specific stainless steel container to comply with the hygiene regulations.

I am sorry to read that you disliked our menu, at the same time, note that we are offering a 2 weeks menu cycle for more variety. The buffet formula allows our guests to have a complete menu going from the starters, salads, soups, main dishes to fruits and desserts, without quantity limitation. However note that we are going to do our best to review the items and study their cost to ensure our guests' satisfaction at the best price.

Should you have any other question, please feel free to contact us at any time. I do hope to be able welcoming you soon again in our hotel and remain in the meantime,

with best regards

Maged Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

My family stayed for 3 nights, during easter holidays,

Room: Old furniture and paint, leaking mosquitos from the door and window

Food: Below average and overpriced beverages on the Piscine Bar

Customer Service: Average, despite they would like to help when challenged.

No go especially for a family with Kids


Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mohammed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vlusci, General Manager at Arena Inn, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Mr. Mohamed,

I first of all would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at our hotel online. All your comments are of a high value to us, as we consider them a very useful tool to constantly analyze our customer service. Immediate and corrective action is usually taken when it is necessary.

It seems we were not 100% able to meet your expectations and I apologize for any inconvenience caused from our side. After having investigated your concerns, please find hereafter our feedback:

Concerning the mosquitos, please be informed that our pest control company is spraying the properties all over El Gouna 2 times per day, as discussed during our personal meeting in the hotel.

Our regular guests are usually very happy with our food offer but I am sorry to read that you disliked our menu. At the same time, note that we are offering a 2 weeks menu cycle for more variety. The buffet formula allows our guests to have a complete menu going from the starters, salads, soups, main dishes to fruits and desserts, without quantity limitation. However note that we are going to do our best to review the items and study their cost to ensure our guests' satisfaction at the best price.

As for our customer service, I would like to inform you that our Guests' Satisfaction Analysis indicates a very high score in term of quality of service.

Should you have any other question, please feel free to contact us at any time. I do hope to be able welcoming you soon again in our hotel and remain in the meantime,

with best regards

Maged Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denmark
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

It s a great place to stay. Quiet and relaxing place and friendly staff. The rooms was nice and clean.It s not the last visit for me and my family..we will come back again.The hotel is in downtown and near to all.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank favrskov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vlusci, General Manager at Arena Inn, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice comment. All your remarks are of a high value to us, as we consider them a very useful tool to keep or improve or customer service whenever it is necessary. It is good to read that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and it seems we were able to meet your expectations. Should you have any other question, please feel free to contact us at any time and we do hope to see you soon again in our hotel.

All the best to you
Best regards

Maged Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The hot was clean, having helpful staff , nice place, warm hospitality , clean nice big pool,
v delicious food and excellent experienced chefs
I was there full board in last Feb. and this hotel is really WOOOW

Room Tip: Choose a pool View
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrinceSs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vlusci, General Manager at Arena Inn, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at our hotel online. Your opinion is very important and each comment is taken very seriously. It seems we were able to meet your expectations, which is very nice to read. We stay at your entire disposal for any other question you may have and look forward to welcoming you soon again in Arena Inn.

We thank you for your trust and wish you all the best.

Warm regards from sunny El Gouna

Maged Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Gouna hotels
0.9 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.2 mi away
Dawar El Omda
Dawar El Omda
#11 of 18 in El Gouna
502 reviews
0.4 mi away
Three Corners Rihana Inn
Three Corners Rihana Inn
#17 of 18 in El Gouna
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
0.4 mi away
Three Corners Rihana Resort
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Inn

Property: Arena Inn
Address: Kafr El Gouna | El Gouna, El Gouna, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#7 Top resorts Hotel in El Gouna
#13 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arena Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arena Inn Hotel is a convivial mid-sized El Gouna hotel offering all the amenities expected of a Red Sea holiday resort and only bookable under bed& breakfast or bed only. Built along the saltwater lagoon that separates the island of Kafr El Gouna from the Downtown mainland area, the hotel offers a peaceful waterfront setting a few steps from all the facilities and services of the fully integrated resort town of El Gouna. Cafés, restaurants, supermarkets, shopping galleries, and evening entertainment venues with live music and shows are all within walking distance. The hotel's infinity pool overlooks a swimming lagoon bordered by a small sandy beach. Arena Inn guests also have access to the hotel's sea beach on nearby Zeytouna Island, reached by shuttle boat or bus, where some of the best snorkeling in El Gouna can be found. Arena Inn's main restaurant, Laguna, is built to resemble a wooden ship's interior. It boasts splendid views over the turquoise lagoon from its panoramic wooden deck. The Arena Inn counts 144 hotel rooms in three main buildings facing the lagoon on one side and the golf course on the other. This Red Sea hotel is family friendly, offering entertainment opportunities, a kids playground, as well as connecting rooms for added convenience. It also welcomes couples and groups of friends. The Arena Inn is particularly appreciated for its very nice atmosphere, and repeat guests praise the staff's friendliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arena Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel El Gouna
Arena Resort El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing