We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada
Ranked #50 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I usually enjoyed my vacations at Hurghada. Not this time, unfortunately. The worst thing was the food, tasteless and lacks quality. We had to eat outside the hotel most of the time although we were on an all inclusive deal. What was even more frustrating was that the staff are generally unhelpful and respond to complains with carelessness.

Rooms in general were not in a very bad shape and they were cleaned everyday, however, they looked a bit tired. It could use some renovation.

The beach, though big, has a rocky sand, which gave me bruises in my leg, making it not very enjoyable for a sea walk or beach activities.

Hurghada is full of nice hotels, this one is not among them. I've seen better.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Strider_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Strider_C,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review despite your bad experience , we are sorry about that and be sure that the complain about the food will be passed on to the food and beverage manager in order to take the necessary action , we hope that you give us another chance to try our service for a better experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    973
    363
    140
    91
    98
See reviews for
691
335
77
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This evening I have returned home from a 1 week stay at this hotel and can safely say I will not be returning to this hotel or region of Egypt again. It was full of Russians. In the week I stayed here there were only about 10 English staying at this hotel. The main buffet restaurant food is not very appetising and repetitive. In main restaurant and lobby bar you are required to queue up and get your own drinks, (not something I expect from a supposedly 5* hotel). No problem getting a sun bed round the pool as the Russians like to sunbathe on the beach. You get hassled most of the day from people who want to sell you trips etc and will even brush your feet if your asleep sunbathing, to wake you up. Head waiter in Valentino restaurant not very polite, but food was nice as was food in Isis restaurant. I was all inclusive but breakfast fruit smoothie was extra money. I would say that this was more like a 3* hotel as I have stayed in better 4*'s in Turkey. It is a shame because with only a little effort this hotel could be better, main focus would be to change the attitude of the staff. Be wary of younger taxi drivers using 'slight of hand' trick where you give an Egyptian pound note and this turns into a Piastre note and he then asks for more money. On the return transfer to the airport there were lots of similar stories of pissed Russians, poor food etc. Everyone in this region of Egypt wants a tip for doing sweet FA. My advice is go to Sharm el sheik.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peewee1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Peewee1976

Thank you for taking the time to write this review , concerning the people who try to sell you services we are sorry about that I will make sure to deliver this issue to the management so they can prevent them from bothering the guests . I hope you can give us the chance to experience a better vacation in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

If your English don't not visit ! Food is terrible, Russians drunk and fighting . Drinks are terrible and you get pestered all day by staff trying to sell you everything, you have to pay extra for everything, people fighting and staff did nothing to stop it, don't waste your money on this place

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank russians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaEgypt, at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Russians

Thank you for your email , I just called the hotel now to check this complain , but they told me that no guests from Yorkshire checked in during the month of December , I will appreciate if you can send me more details about your reservation and your name so I can take the necessary action . Sorry about your inconvenience and be sure I will investigate and solve this problem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We booked a 5* mystery hotel with Low cost and ended up at the Sonesta. We found the hotel clean and we had a large room that had a view of the sunsets over the desert. There is a large pool and no shortage of sunbeds. The entertainment was amazing, Very low key through the day but the best shows I have seen anywhere. The team should be in the Cirque de Soleil. We were even mesmerised watching them practise everyday for their show on New Years Eve.The drawback to this and most Egyptian hotels now is the amount of Russians guests.They overload their plates with food that then gets wasted and they are rude to the staff.The food is also geared for their taste but we certainly didn't go hungry. We ate in the Chinese, Oriental,and Italian restaurants as well thats also included in the price and much more leisurely.. A few days we got on the local minibus and went into Hurgarda for 50p and had King Prawns or Steak for approx £5 each.
The hotel staff and management are well worth a mention. We got to know some of them well and they treated the English like royalty.A credit to the hotel. All in all we had a lovely 2 weeks, at a bargain price with beautiful weather and would definately return to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carole h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear carole h

Thank you for taking the time to write this review , we are happy you enjoyed your time and sorry about any inconvenience that our guests may have caused you . We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lviv, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2013

the most what we liked in that hotel is animation team. of course other services were very good too, but after your holiday you won't remind how tasty food was there or how clean were rooms :) it's very important when you are there...and have to say - it was on high level :) very friendly and always ready to help staff. thank you)
but we already miss so much those wonderful dancers!! can't imagine how boring would have been our holidays without them! they love their work and know how to do it! sure that others hotels haven't so good animation team ;) good luck guys in your future shows. thank you that made our holidays :D

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaryna_ua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Yaryna_ua

Thank you for your nice review , we are happy you enjoyed your stay and specially our animation team , we hope we can host you soon at our resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I find it difficult to understand the recent negative reviews about this hotel. We stayed at this hotel late Oct/early November 2013. It was a last minute deal and was chosen due to the location on the beach. I found the hotel to be more than satisfactory and we had a lovely stay. I do appreciate that the facilities are not to the standard of an European 5 star hotel,( regular travellers will know and not have such high expectations) but having said that, it was very clean, the pool was immaculate, food was lovely and varied, the staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel entrance is not the most glamorous but this may be due to security restrictions, once inside the entrance the lobby and reception area are spacious and comfortable. The grounds of the hotel are beautifully maintained with the gardens constantly attended. The hotel covers a large area and the walk to the beach can be 5 minutes, but it is a leisurely stroll past the swimming pool and around the lake and is very pleasant. The beach is gorgeous with 2 walkways built out into the sea. You, like me can take your snorkel, mask and flippers, but if you can't swim you can just climb down the steps and peep under the water into a world of coral and coloured fish. The swimming was the highlight of our stay, if you wanted to join in there were regular events organised but I only took part in the morning exercise programme which was good. Others played beach volleyball etc but we were too busy laying on our comfortable sun beds! The hotel has several eating areas, as well as the usual all inclusive buffet self service there is a Chinese, Italian and Russian a la carte restaurant as well as a serve yourself Egyptian restaurant by the pool. To our surprise the Russian restaurant was our absolute favourite for evening dining. There is a lovely beach side restaurant where for a small cost you can dine on beautiful sea food, perfect for lunch. I would definitely go again and if you go I hope you have a great time.

Room Tip: Rooms are set in different locations, we had a garden room, which is a block farthest from the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marinegirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Marinegirl2013

Thank you for this detailed review , it was great having you at our resort and we hope to host you soon again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I've stayed in Sonesta Pharaoh in late October. Frustrating experience. One of the main elements that have a decisive influence on a trip overall satisfaction is hotel management and staff attitude, and this is where Sonesta Pharaoh falls severely short. I noticed that staff in general were selected from low educational sectors, they openly use foul offensive language among each others and among guests, gullibly thinking that since most of the guests are foreigners they won't comprehend Arabic foul language! Pity, some of the guests were Egyptians and had to hear such offensive words. As for the Animation team, it was virtually nonexistent.

In the few times I had to deal with staff, I was faced by sheer carelessness from their side. For example, several times I faced problems with the room card; most of them are of low quality material and didn't work, had to change them a few times. Every time I had to go to the reception I encountered a totally careless look. That was not the only example, almost in all occasions I had to deal with staff or management personnel, I noticed obvious indifference and disinterest. They do not appreciate the nuisance such problems can cause and how it can negatively affect the vacation quality, specially when it is a good 15 minute walk from your room to the reception.

Even when I downgraded my stay from all inclusive to half board, due to the horrible food quality, management didn't even care to ask why, probably they were too busy with things that are more important than customer satisfaction!

The buffet was no more than a 2-star level. I've paid a 5-star fee and expected a 5-star service, however, the food was of extremely poor quality and there wasn't much variety. Even the beer at the beach bar tasted funny, probably mixed with water! Eventually I gave up on the hotel buffet and went to restaurants down Sheraton road for better food.

Even the beach was mediocre at best. Rocky sand and limited places for snorkeling. I had to spend most of my time away from the hotel to make this trip more enjoyable. If you want to pull the plug off from your daily routine and have an enjoyable vacation, believe the bad reviews and avoid this terrible place at all costs.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gandulf8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonestaEgypt, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Gandulf8

First of all we would like to thank you very much for your time and your kind valued comments regarding your stay at the Sonesta pharaoh Hurghada, please accept our apology for having a bad experience
Once more we assure you that your bad experience is far away from the Sonesta Pharaoh Standard of hospitality, the hotel staff and management aim is to satisfy all his guests’ needs and you can see the positive feed backs from the guests thanking our staff for their great attitude .Regarding the food service the hotel is under a regular check by the most respectful food quality & hygiene company, we also have 5 restaurants to satisfy any fussy eater . Again we apologies for any inconvenience and we hope you can give us the chance to host you in the future for a better experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
5.2 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#42 of 222 in Hurghada
2,261 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
#20 of 222 in Hurghada
3,535 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
0.3 mi away
Jasmine Palace Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Long Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada

Property: Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada
Address: Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#27 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#44 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#56 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, stretching across the sands of the Red Sea with a distinguished blend of modern and Pharaonic architecture. The resort's 360 unique guest rooms, family rooms, suites and bungalows each feature a private balcony or patio. The resort offers a private beach for the world's best scuba diving in the Red Sea's legendary waters, one outdoor pool, one indoor heated pool and one children's swimming pool for relaxing laps in the sun. There are several options for dining and entertaining at the resort's bars and restaurants as well as various choices of sports activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada Hotel Hurghada
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Hurghada
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Hotel Hurghada
Sonesta Hurghada
Hurghada Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing