We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing spectacular but OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada
Ranked #54 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Romania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nothing spectacular but OK”
Reviewed 12 September 2008

My wife and I stayed in this hotel in the early 2007. Although it doesn’t have the standards of a 5* hotel, the place is nice overall, well landscaped between the road and the sea. It has interesting buildings, a beautiful garden, good pools and a very well kept beach.
The rooms are basic, clean and pleasant if you don’t expect too much. The room furniture shows it has served quite a few seasons.
The staff is average for this kind of tourism, mostly friendly, sometimes helpful; a minus to the reception staff.
Unfortunately I have to agree with all the other members who gave a minus to the food in this hotel. Although there is a certain variety and the food is even well presented, there is something wrong either with the ingredients the kitchen uses either with us, the guests who get ill after eating there. I had to eat dry biscuits for 3 days and to take medication after the first dinner at Meliah.
Final observation regarding drinks: if you don’t have an all inclusive package, the drinks (water + few beers per day) will cost you a lot (if you bother to do the math in the end).

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank betandwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    927
    358
    134
    87
    97
See reviews for
641
328
75
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2008

DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL!!!!!Not a 5 star more like a 3 star.
room was clean but dated and basic.Food was awfull(we both still have dodgy stomachs)same food all week and not much choice.I was also put off with all the flies in the restuarant.Staff within hotel restuarants are ignorant,service is rubbish.
Pool needs a good clean and no way is there enough sunloungers to go round,You had to be at pool first thing in morning to get one or you had no chance.The flies flying around are unbelievable,ive never experienced so many flies before.Also overrun by germans!
Egypt is a lovely place dont spoil your holiday by going to this hotel.All inclusive is a joke.we were aware of some limitations going all inclusive but what we were offered was terrible,we were made to feel and treated like lower class citizens!!!Really we can not stress enough DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL.!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zolo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2008

We have just arrived from Hughada. The hotel was under our standard and I think it is not 5-star. We were lucky with our room in the main building, but other travellers from the group who cannot speak english very well were not so pleased. Because they paid extra money for sea view and main building, and for double bed, but the room was just in the side building and view to the garden and the receptionist could not change it bec. the hotel was full....
The staff were friendly mostly and we were contended with the housekeeping.
The most annoying thing was the food we paid for all inclusive so we have the full experience (breakfast, lunch, dinner). However it is a 5-star hotel, the food was really really not delicious, has no taste and there was no variety. We were 4 and everybody got some minor our more serious problem in the stomach during the whole week of our holiday. if you understand what I mean...
The best thing what we had is the trip with the glas-boat. It was a wonderful experince, you can see the sea life through the glas and if you like you can swim and snorkel also. The captain Mohamed is very helpful and friendly to show you the best places, and corals of the red sea.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 50269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2008

We needed to move from the hotel originally booked, and were advised by our local agent to move to the Sonesta., paying a further £335 as it was classed as an upgrade. Could not recommend this so called Sonesta hotel to anybody as it just isn't up to standards of company. During one of our many complaining sessions, we were informed by a member of the 'management' team that Sonsta have only just taken over and they are struggling to bring the place up to a higher standard. Not arf they are! The beach is like a building site and is a disgrace to Egypt, the beach beds, cushions and sunshades are totally worn out and just about standing up. The beds round the pool area are in the same state and the pool is surrounded by broken tiles and is a danger zone if full attention not paid to where you are walking. The main problem round the hotel is the continual swarm of flies which we have never experienced in Egypt in the past. We were informed by the staff when we complained that this is due to the filthy state of the area, and of course, the amount of building work going on in an attempt to expand even further the number of hotels in this awful area which is no more than a building site. The grounds immediately outside the hotel itself are a disgrace with rubbish strewn everywhere and this condition continues along the roads. The food was OK but very boring and repetitive, and being the only two Brits in the hotel, it was certainly an eye-opener to witness the manner in which other nationalities take away mountains of food and eat the lot as fast as possible, as if they have never seen food previously. The Reception staff were very incompetent, aloof, unhelpful, and uninterested in clients, but the bar staff were very pleasant and helpful.
All in all, this was one of the worst holidays we have ever experienced, on a par with the Dominican Republic.
Had this been our first holiday in Egypt then it would have been a 'never again' situation, but we know that Hurgada is the exception to the rule. The bar staff were horrified, but not surprised when we said we would not be returning to Hurghada because of the standards, particularly as they prefer British tourists rather than the take-over by Ukrainians, but we assured them that this one experience wouldn't put us off Egypt.
Take our advice - just don't go!

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank cleoanthon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2008

Sadly, this was not a great hotel. Despite it being 5* (really NOT the same as a 5* in England, in case you didn't know) the attitude of many of its staff lets it down. Upon arrival, we were greeted (I use the term loosely) by reception who merely put a registration form in front of us. No smiles. No "Welcome to our hotel". No "Have a nice stay". This attitude was matched by most of the waiters. We were staying on a half-board basis. At breakfast, we would be lucky to get a table with a full compliment of cutlery and, when we'd ask for the necessary fork, spoon, cup (hey, all three most days!) the waiters tended to look at us like we were just trying to annoy them. The buffets at both breakfast and dinner were adequete but it was not a "classy" dining experience. With around 90% of its guests being Russian, we did stand out rather as the Brits who would que - pushing for the buffet just didn't come naturally! One evening we thought we'd try the hotel's "romantic, European-style" restaurant. (Half-board guests would get a LE50 allowance towards the cost) Lighting, much better; views - good, background music - check; service - actually very good. But the food was pretty poor. I ordered raviolli as a main course and got what looked like a child's portion. The fish my partner had was rubbery.

Our room was good. We had a bungalow. All very clean when we arrived and kept that way by a great housekeeper.

The pool looked great but it was a little too cold for anyone to be in it. Whilst the sun shone for most of the week, it was seriously breezy. Bring jumpers for chilly evenings, definitely.

The hotel's private beach was fine, though nothing special. The sun-loungers were nicely grouped with wind-breaks. Either side had building work going on though. One side looked like it had ground to a halt; just an empty shell of a new hotel with a litter-strewn beach in front of it.

On this subject, be warned: there is building work everywhere in Hurghada. The main drag of 5* hotels is strewn with abandonned (or "on-hold") constructions. Pretty it isn't, unless you can look beyond it all as the sun sets behind the Red Mountains.

The hotel had its own dive school which offered scuba trips. Three times we signed up to go on excursions and every time we'd turn up. we'd be told that they didn't have any other customers so could not run the trip. A very disappointing drawback to going out of season

Maybe one day we'll go back to Egypt (we'd like to see the Pyramids, Cairo etc.), but it wouldn't be to Hurghada and it certainly wouldn't be to stay at the Meliah Sonesta.

  • Liked — The room was kept clean and very tidy.
  • Disliked — The unfriendly staff, busy buffet and drains smell that came up through the bathroom floor!
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apple6169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2008

We went to Pharaoh Hotel Melia to celebrate X-mas and New Year in 2005 and were happy with the hotel. It is huge, beautiful and clean. We have booked a triple room and got a junior suite, room nr. 426. I recommend this room to everyone travelling to Hurghada during the coldest months, as it is a Southern oriented room and through the huge windows it gets pritty warm during the day. As the weather is always sunny but rather windy (in the evenings it is even chilly or cold) it feels good to have a nicely warm room. (Some other, differently oriented rooms had problems with heating.) Swimming pools are very cold, inner pool is too small (and could be nicer), but on wind-free days one can have a short bath in the sea, even in January. Food is not always the very best, but in general it is good. Prices are very cheap (extra food, drinks -except alcoholic drinks!-, laundry, etc.). We liked our holidays in this hotel and would return again.

Stayed January 2005
Helpful?
Thank Serike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cadiz
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2007

You want to have a pleasant time at Hurghada then avoid the Melia Pharao. Since we arrive at the reception started our three days nightmare. First of all this is one of the only hotels I have been in my life where you book everything in internet and then you find that you have to pay in reception. Apparently a policy of Melia hotels chain. I am Spanish and Melia is an Spanish company. I have written already to Melia just to tell them how disappointed I was with my Melia experience in Egypt. Where to start the staff, rude, politeness not helpful at all, do not understand English nothing,......

The food is crap and buffet is just packed every night you will fight to eat properly, you will never get a drink with your meal unless you wait for ages........

The restaurants it has along the resort are just rubbish, you will suffer of food poison in you dare to eat in the beach front one. Avoid it at all costs. The only good one is the caffe next to the show stage....but just for a coffe or beer and a water pipe that is all..... Basically this resort is a russian holiday favourite and can understand why, and really either is the presence of this nationality of just the quality of the place, but you stay there and you will be having troubles from day one minute one........

The reef in front of the hotel is amazing, but to be honest anywhere in any part of the coast surrounding Hurghada is amazing so do not decide for this hotel just based on this. This was a decision we made quickly and can not regret more as there are plenty of better options in Hurghada. This hotel is miles away from anywhere there are no shops near it no civilization no thing just the hotel....Taxis from the hotel are a rip off.

  • Liked — the reef
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank gaditano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
5.2 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#41 of 222 in Hurghada
2,232 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
#23 of 222 in Hurghada
3,471 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
0.3 mi away
Jasmine Palace Resort & Spa
5.3 mi away
Continental Hotel Hurghada
Continental Hotel Hurghada
#66 of 222 in Hurghada
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada

Property: Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada
Address: Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Hurghada
#27 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#48 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#56 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, stretching across the sands of the Red Sea with a distinguished blend of modern and Pharaonic architecture. The resort's 360 unique guest rooms, family rooms, suites and bungalows each feature a private balcony or patio. The resort offers a private beach for the world's best scuba diving in the Red Sea's legendary waters, one outdoor pool, one indoor heated pool and one children's swimming pool for relaxing laps in the sun. There are several options for dining and entertaining at the resort's bars and restaurants as well as various choices of sports activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada Hotel Hurghada
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Hurghada
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Hotel Hurghada
Sonesta Hurghada
Hurghada Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing