We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great value, clean, good guest relations staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada
Ranked #60 of 228 Hotels in Hurghada
west midlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great value, clean, good guest relations staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Myself and my two boys, 11 & 13, had a week here in a one bedroomed bungalow with a sea view. bungalow was clean, spacious and well equipped for us. Spotlessly clean and kept clean by housekeeping staff. Good air conditioning unit.

The food in the main Karnak restaurant was ok for breakfast. We had lunch in the Chinese restaurant every day which served European food for lunch which was nice. We had dinner in the a la carte restaurants which was really good.

Only downside was the sound system blasting out Euro trash pop music for the water aerobics every day for about 30 minutes!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ravi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    829
    341
    132
    83
    95
See reviews for
587
313
65
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived and had booked 2 rooms but the front desk man adviced us to take a family suite by the lake as he claimed is better. The suite was very dirty and poor furnitured with cut curtains so we got back to him asking for our rooms as it seems he was fooling us cause they do not have prepared rooms though we reserved couple of months ago. We were punished by the front desk staff and asked rudely to wait till they find a place. Whats very common in all comments here is how rude is the front desk staff but nothing changes at sonesta. It is our fault we choosed this place. We paid for all inclusive accomodation but simply you cant find clean food at restaurant or even water at the pool bar!!! save your money and nerves!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank rasha_hamdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Went to Sonesta last month for our honey moon
Our room was amazing, we was in a bungalow room with the beach literally a few steps away from our room. Room was cleaned daily to a very high standard.
The beach was lovely. Snorkeling is a must here. The corals are amazing!!
The food was ok. The buffet food is more for the Russians however it is ok, The Chinese restaurant is best to eat in at lunch time. We visited the Chinese restaurant one evening, very nice filling food. The Italian restaurant was lovely also.
The drink is also good. Very nice refreshing beer. The cocktails are very strong.
The pools are a good size. With a children's pool with slides and one big pool for adults. Not many sun loungers though.
If you go to this hotel make sure you book the supper safari!!
Thanks Sonesta Pharaoh :)

Room Tip: Bungalow rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

After a Four days trip from the 30th of July 2014 till the 2nd of August 2014.
In this time we enjoyed with the good meeting from all the employee in the hotel like MR\ Ossama the receptionist.
the restaurant was good, the food was delicious and we want to great the Chef\ Mohamed AbdEl Samad.
The rooms was good and clean and the staying in the room was very good.
special Great for Mrs\ Heba Foad -Sales representative.
And Great for all the employees in the hotel and we will make another reservation soon.

Hassan Abd ElMoniem Faris -lawyer

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohamed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo Governorate, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I would really like to thank all the staff there, they are really helpful, especially Mr. Amr (the reservation manager) and Mr. Hossam, the front desk manager.

I stayed in suite 319. My reservation was a double room all inclusive, but when I arrived they upgraded our room to suite 319 and decorated like a honeymooner is staying :D Actually that was my anniversary which I told them about. The sea view is really amazing, the food is well done. Totally I enjoyed and it is highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamdi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a short 4-day trip. The hotel's landscape is spacious, serene and amazing, and the animation team were awesome. However, the front desk service was way below par! During check-in, I asked for 2 quiet rooms garden view, the officer (unfortunately didn't pick the person's name) opted to give us one of the rooms with a security door view! I asked the same front desk officer if it was possible to extend for a couple of days. He stated that it was impossible, and even claimed the hotel was overbooked for the next couple of weeks. To verify, I intentionally asked someone else who confirmed that there are available rooms, with a better garden view than the ones we're staying at right now!

It's quite a pity how staff are not trained to provide the right service to customers! Service excellence should be part of a mission to promote the hotels industry; if it is not properly communicated to staff, they're bound to put you out of business.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Shirin A,

Thank you for your review , we are happy you liked the entertainment and the landscape , as for the garden view rooms , some of them have view to security gate through the garden which is still garden view rooms and due to the hotel being overbooked at that time we could not accept any amendment . We hope that the misunderstanding of the occupancy issue is clear and please allow us a second visit , we promise you a better experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Very few positives about our week long stay there. The only ones being the excellent size of the 1 bedroom apartments and the service at the Lobby bar and from the odd staff member.

The food in the main restaurant is virtually inedible, The Italian restaurant has given me food poisoning since I went in there - the service there was also shambolic unless you happened to have tipped handsomely on a previous visit.

The very worst aspect was the two guys who ran the pool bar. They made a succession of lewd comments to any female who happened to approach - an absolute disgrace.

I complained to the manager about the Italian and was promised a special dinner the following day but it never happened.

Simply don't go there!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank VincentWindle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badramani, Assistant Regional Communications Manager at Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear VincentWindle

Thank you for your review , I am sorry if you did not enjoy your vacation , I contacted the manager regarding the Italian restaurant complaint and he mentioned he did not get any complaints and by checking on the system we did not find your booking either , so I appreciate if you can send us more details about your reservation in July so I can investigate the matter because every complaint or review really matters to us . Be sure that your comment is very important to us and will do our best to keep satisfied
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
1.2 mi away
Coral Beach Resort
Coral Beach Resort
#66 of 228 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Titanic Palace
Titanic Palace
#99 of 228 in Hurghada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#42 of 228 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jasmine Palace Resort & Spa
Jasmine Palace Resort & Spa
#39 of 228 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Desert Rose Resort
Desert Rose Resort
#24 of 228 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada

Property: Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada
Address: Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#53 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#56 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada, stretching across the sands of the Red Sea with a distinguished blend of modern and Pharaonic architecture. The resort's 360 unique guest rooms, family rooms, suites and bungalows each feature a private balcony or patio. The resort offers a private beach for the world's best scuba diving in the Red Sea's legendary waters, one outdoor pool, one indoor heated pool and one children's swimming pool for relaxing laps in the sun. There are several options for dining and entertaining at the resort's bars and restaurants as well as various choices of sports activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada Hotel Hurghada
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Hurghada
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Hotel Hurghada
Sonesta Hurghada
Hurghada Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing