We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adam is our hero!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Steigenberger Aqua Magic
Ranked #30 of 221 Hotels in Hurghada
Leeds
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Adam is our hero!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

my boyfriend and I went to the steigenberger aqua magic for two weeks from 29/07-12/07. After not going abroad together for almost four years, we booked this 5* hotel with adults only areas thinking it was going to be the luxury relaxing break that we both deserved.

The airport in general:
first off, we arrived at the airport to be told we had to pay £19 per person to get through the airport (like a visa). We were not notified of this at any point since booking the holiday in January this year. There are also people dotted around the airport shaking money and asking for pound coins - don't be fooled, they don't work at the airport and you don't have to give them anything. we waited over an hour for our bags and then were given dodgy directions to the transfer coaches. after eventually finding the coach we needed with little help from any of the reps, our bags were taken by a plain clothed man who did not work for the airport! he then shook his change at us again, asking for money for loading our bags on the bus (we didn't pay!). we had heard that the resort was a five minute drive from the airport. this would have been the case if the driver knew where he was going! he drove around the streets, stopping to ask every person he saw where the hotel was. we eventually made it to the hotel...

aqua magic:
we arrived at the hotel to have our bags taken and be whisked through the lobby to the buffet to get some dinner before it closed as our flight was a late one. I'm not sure what would have happened if we were any later but the food was not prepared for us as latecomers, it was just what was left from the course of the evening. we were fairly impressed though, when going abroad you don't expect them to have what you eat at home and there was something for everyone (usually just a plate of chips for my fussy self!). We headed to reception to check in and were told we had been upgraded to a family room. We went down to the room we were assigned to and after walking a fair while, again with little direction, we found the room. we couldn't fault it as it was clean and well presented, however it didn't have a balcony. I got our travel documents out and they specified we had paid for a room with a view of the pool and a balcony... the view we had in the family room was of some building works over the street facing out of the hotel. We went to reception and were immediately offered the room we paid for with a pool view. The room was perfect for us and again well presented. The mini bar was restocked every day with water, juice and fizzy drinks.

Would definitely advise going to the welcome meeting - it was roughly half an hour long but well worth taking the time out of your day to go and get to know your reps and they have some good advice about going out of the resort. Also some of the trips have discounts applicable in the meeting if you book that day! (I would say to book the trips for the second week or later in the week if you're only there for one week because it is so hot out on the boats that I got burnt wearing factor 50 suncream and having been there 9 days already!)

Generally, the hotel is what it is. it's not new as advertised, it's more of a refurbished hotel. it's not sparkling clean, I think the beds were changed a couple of times in our stay and I'm not sure the floor was mopped. there was an accumulation of dust and dirt and hair in the corridor that looked as if it had been swept but not collected. the pools were okay although we heard bad things about people washing their clothes/children that had soiled themselves in them but we didn't see this first hand. The a la carte restaurants are SUPERB the staff cannot do enough for you and it's like a completely different world to the buffet, often didn't believe we were in the same hotel. The beach is about a 5-10 minute walk away but you can get a lift on a golf cart. would recommend going early as beds get taken quickly and it's boiling! we stayed for a couple of hours and had to leave due to the heat. didn't eat there but heard the food is brill! we usually ate lunch in the Italian a la carte which is next to the slides. It's open for breakfast and lunch as a semi buffet - loads nicer and less busy than the main restaurant. they do pizza at lunch time as well! and you don't have to book for these times - only the evening meals have to be booked there.

our favourite spot was the adult relax pool on top of building 6. nice and quiet, everyone that was up there when we went was friendly and we ended up making loads of friends up there. The best thing about it is Adam - he is an absolute god send and an asset to that hotel!! some days you felt really rubbish about everything (my boyfriend ended up ill a few days in and most people were having bad experiences as well so it's hard to avoid bad conversation sometimes) but Adam always puts a smile on your face!! He makes the best cocktails (anything you want!) and has a collection of different sayings from all around the UK! He is particularly fond of Yorkshire and started telling new people that he was from Yorkshire. He's hilarious!! Definitely brightened up our time - we found ourselves in there every day without fail, even after spending all day on a boat we would run straight there to catch him before he closed and to relax on the sun loungers in the pool. Okey dokey, I like my eggs yolky!

unfortunately, I have some advice that makes the hotel sound less appealing. Although it is advertised as a 5*, I would say some aspects are but some definitely are not. The service in the lobby bar is useless and when you do get served they either get the order wrong (we ordered two beers and a wine and got two wines and a cup of tea!) or lace everything with more alcohol than the human body can handle.

The rooms all have a safe and our valuables were put in here every day, watches passports money etc and it was always locked even when we were in the room. Unfortunately for us, as you don't expect in a "5*" resort, we didn't put our clothes in the safe as well (they wouldn't fit even if we wanted to!) and my boyfriends England shirt and a basketball jersey (totalling over £100 for the two) were taken from our room whilst we were there. Coincidence that they didn't take any of my primark clothes? don't think so! anything with a label they will take so please for your own sake do not leave ANYTHING valuable unlocked. The hotel staff then made us feel like it was our fault - that we had left the clothes on the balcony to dry and they had blown off or someone had jumped onto our balcony to take them or we had left our door open. None were true - even though we complained about the lack of balcony in the first room, we only used it once! there is a washing line next to the shower so all our clothes were put on there to dry. We weren't offered an apology until we made clear that we weren't having any of it and asked for the general manager who compensated us in the best way he could but didn't offer money towards new clothes or really an explanation as to why our clothes were allowed to be taken with no punishment involved - they know who had access to our room day in day out but still treated it like it was our fault. This happened towards the end of the holiday luckily as it didn't ruin the whole time for us.

Overall it wasn't a bad hotel it just required drastic improvement in some places to make it the 5* that it has the potential to be and although we won't be going back to Egypt or back to this hotel, I don't think people should be put off from what other people have or claimed to have experienced - the holiday is what you make of it and we made it the best we could despite the set backs we personally experienced.

Adam made the whole time worth our while and it was definitely worth the money we paid to spend two weeks laughing and joking upstairs with him.

ps. the hotel room has black out curtains hidden behind the mesh ones! don't give up hope because they are there and i heard lots of people complaining about the light coming in because they didn't realise they were there!

ADAM WE LOVE YOU YORKSHIRE MAN BEST FRIEND IN OUR WHOLE LIVES!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nlloyd17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,182
    518
    207
    75
    68
See reviews for
1,364
836
61
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

we were a group of 12 famlies , we have never had any problem the trip was very amazing in this hotel.the staff were very friendly and perfect, they do the best to make you happy.the food and beverages were very tasty and good.special thanks to Mr.Mohamed Ibrahim(assistant Front Office Manager) as he is very helpfull an polite person who was kean to make our journey happy as it should be.Goodbye, Steigenberger Aqua Magic and we are sure that we will come back very soon. finally,I ask the the staff to keep going and maintain their good level of customer service .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kembel1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

For the last 10 years I used to spend my vacation at hurghada and this was the best vacation ever at Steigenberger Aqua magic.
I've been there with my family and freinds i stayed from 7/8 to 12/8
*before going there i read most of the reviews regarding the hotel mainly most of them were regarding the houskeeping and the food .
We had a reservation for more than 13 family rooms, after a long trip of 6hrs we reached hurghada, at the reception we met Mr.Mohamed Darweesh the front office assistant he was very helpful and very patient the check in took not more than half an hour (the whole rooms) although he tried as much as he can by his smiling face to fullfill our needs regarding rooms specifications, then we went to take launch at a restaurant behind the aqua area the food quality and variety were excellent we really enjoyed it, the family rooms were very huge and comfortable, i got my dinner at the main restaurant although the hotel is fully booked but the restaurant didn't seem crowded for me.
Regarding the houskeeping i found no problem , perhaps a small issue easley handeled, i spent a lovely vacation at this hotel and i really enjoyed there food ,there lovely treatment and the entetainment. i hope to be there next year isa. At last special thanx for Mr.Mohamed Darweesh u were really a very nice person.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tarek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poland Wrocław
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

First i want thank hany aziz the bars manger for his good work and his service with us he make our holiday fantastic,he always smile and joke with all the guest, he is so professional, and i want thank mostafa hagag the bartender in the lobby bar for his amazing cocktails, the so freindly too, food gwas so good,there is many swiming pools in the hotel and there is sun bed to every one, for sure we will come back, thanks mr honey and thanks steigenberger aqua magic

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aniasurowiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poznan, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my friends two weeks really was very nice time every thing was just perfect staff very friendly, they do everything to make you happy, food is good, only problem was with the Egyptian guest they not respect any one whoever on other guest or staff, but we know that problem out of the hotel because they guest in the hotel, I would like say big thanks to hany aziz the bars Manger because he was so professional and always smile to every one, he was so helpful one of our friends was ill and every body thought that from the food but he explain that from the different of weather between Europe and hot weather in Egypt and drink alcoholic and he was right 100% any way hany made our holiday, and also there is mustafa hagag in lobby bar make very nice cocktails and always friendly too, thanks to steigenberger aqua magic we will come back for sure

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FilipFFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodz, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We was big group spend two weeks in this hotel , really was very nice time , sunny weather, sun bed every where, service here is exellent specialty from hany aziz the bars manger ,he is a mazing manger always we was see him every where always smile and profissional even when we had problem in the main restaurant he solved it very fast,i never ever saw manger like him ,.i can say to him really thank you mr hany because you made our holiday and make us happy,and we will come back if hany there for sure,

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karolina7zg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We spend here two weeks and we enjoyed alot by the service in this hotel and the food too we was big group and I was staying in room number 7304 the bars service is great and cocktails is mazing special thanks to hany aziz the bars manger really he so profissinal and always help us he makes our holiday always smile and friendly also there is mostafa hagag always makes our special cocktails so nice and tasty for sure we will come back for you honey

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magdalena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#40 of 221 in Hurghada
2,076 reviews
4.3 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
13.0 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
0.2 mi away
Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel
1.4 mi away
White Beach Resort
White Beach Resort
#11 of 221 in Hurghada
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Aqua Magic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Aqua Magic

Property: Steigenberger Aqua Magic
Address: Yussif Afifi Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#18 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#19 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#19 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#28 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Aqua Magic 5*
Number of rooms: 723
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steigenberger Aqua Magic is the Red Sea's best luxury family resort addition with comfortable rooms ideal for families guaranteeing privacy for both, parents and children, a generous pool landscape and its own certified aqua park suitable for children and adults. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Aqua Magic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Al Dau Club Hotel Hurghada
Steigenberger Al Dau Hotel
Steigenberger Al Dau Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing