We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average, won't stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albatros Palace Resort
Ranked #36 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very average, won't stay here again”
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We stayed in the Albatros Palace in November 2011. It is a beautiful hotel with lovely gardens and pool area, a lot of facilities and comfortable rooms.
However, the "software" of the hotel is a typical Egyptian (so called) 5 stars... How often did the staff forget our drinks, or bring them after ages (or bring the wrong ones ;-) Also no service by the pool ; sometimes at the beach, but certainly not regularly.
Instead of this, we often had to queu half an hour just to get a drink (in plastic cups) at the beach or pool...

Yes there is plenty of choice of food in the evening with several restaurants, as people mention here, but the quality of the food is really poor. It is plain 'cantine' food, lots of fries, pasta, pizza,... Nothing refined or really good (and believe me, I am not fussy and eat everything - as long as it is of good quality). Lunch was even worse (and never a la carte, always buffet).

There were not enough sunbeds: by the time we had breakfast and got at the pool around 09:30-10:00, all sunbeds were already taken. Luckily, we found some at the beach. So, after a couple of days, we did what everybody else apparently did: we woke up at 07:30 to 'reserve' a sunbed by the pool... ;-)

Animation was loud and very present, not very professional, although not ennoying.

All in all, this is a beautiful hotel with great facilities and infrastructure. If you are looking for a nice setting, plenty of entertainment and a lively atmosphere, and you don't expect 5 star food and service, the hotel still has a lot to offer.

However, having stayed in other hotels in Hurghada (paying only a bit more than for Albatros Palace actually), we would definitely not go back.
We have been to the Steigenberger Al Dau last month, which I could higly recommend. Yes their rates are a bit higher than the other "5 star" accomodations in the area, but it is absolutely worth every single penny! No comparison at all with the Albatros Palace...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 66Helene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    257
    91
    37
    26
See reviews for
315
389
18
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

This is not the first time in Hurghada for me and my family and I have to say we had the best time ever. The hotel impressed us from very first step in to reception area. Very warm and welcomed atmosphere. I should warn every one who is booking this hotel with hotels4u.com! We paid for family room, but received double room. When we called directly to the hotel before making booking , we were told that family room has two rooms. In our booking was saying "family room -one room pool view". This was the catch! Hotels4u sold us double room with pool view for the price of family room! This has happened many times with British tourists, who booked through the same company. It was the only unpleasant experience in this hotel.
Surrounding area is grate. You can go shopping and get most of the things cheaper than in down town. Sheraton rd is a ripping off.
The beach is suitable as for kids, as for an adults. Grate place to explore exotic fishes from the hotel beach. Be careful, as many of them better not to tuch.
Room was cleaning every day.
Food was grate. Don't believe to those comments , who think that food is Russian oriented. We had mashed potato and minced pie, pasta bolognes, paella rice, grilled stakes, grilled baby chicken, grilled vegetables, some Egyptian cousin. We had a different selection of food in Mediterranean, Italian ,German restaurants. Barista coffee and freshly squizzed orange juice, pancakes all day long has been serving for free. I would like to mention waiter Gorge from Mediterranean restaurant. He is very hard working person. A grate example to the rest of the team.
Entertaining is very good during the day. Animation team done excellent job. We had a choices to do morning aerobic, water aerobic, zumbo dance, water polo, beach volleyball, table tennis, ets. My son loved kids disco. We couldn't miss it.
We didn't come across with any drunk Russians or Germans. It was truly qiert and relaxing atmosphere in the hotel. We met only few British couples. Most of the tourists are Russians and Germans.
The yang members of staff at reception needs more training, as they struggled to deal with our query. To smile is not enough to solve the problem.
We left hotel very happy.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2208Milla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

This hotel was fantastic. The rooms were clean and a very good size. The hotel had great entertainment which was good for the little one. Food was good, buffet style and they tried to change it daily. The children's pool was very good with slides. Overall I would say this i a 5* and I would love to visit again. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Manisha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We spent a week in this wonderful hotel. The food was varied, as there are 6 restaurants. The pool is lovely, although a bit cold, but the sea was very pleasant. The hotel was very clean. The staff is helpful and nice. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Laslo80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Albatros Palace Resort is a great hotel. It's unquestionable pluses are: an infrastructure, sizes, proximity to the airport and fabulous swimming pool which is also very clean. I think that is the best choise for the price in Hurgada.

Food, drinks are standard, but meet very high standarts. We've been pleased with six restaurants where you can go with one plate and take everything. Really loved the evenings, sitting on the 2nd floor and listening to the music performed live having a hookah and tequila.

If you get up early the chaise longues by the pool are always not occupied. And there's always plenty of them on the beach.

We went to Hurghada, took a taxi to the Fish House restaurant. It's not a restaurant but rather a cafe. But it's too expensive but we took both lobster and crabs. The Guide advised to visit El Mina and said that is not for tourists and the prices are acceptable and there is a menu in Russian. We didn't go there but maybe next time.

The minuses are: very expensive internet - $ 20 per day, $ 75 per week and the connection is very bad.

Overall we had enjoyed it. I will recommend the hotel to friends. Thank Albatros!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Serge_Rush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

i was in this hotel last year, during my summer vacation. Food, hotel, restaurants, wellness, people who works in the hotel, everything was absolutely excellent. i have no complaints.
We didn't drink water from sink, or even wash our teeth with this water, and we didn't have any trouble with out stomach as people usually has in Egypt.
I wouldn't change even one thing.
Beach was lovely, sea also..only problem let's say "problem" cos it's not, is a entrance in the sea, cos you have to walk for a while to go deep..but there is a bridge so it's not a problem..

Room Tip: every room is a good room with nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suzana333700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
praha
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I stayed at Albatros Palace in 2011. I had really great week there. All is perfect. i would like to recomend this hotel to everyone

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank PrahaKwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.3 mi away
Albatros Aqua Park
Albatros Aqua Park
#19 of 222 in Hurghada
414 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
#21 of 222 in Hurghada
3,411 reviews
2.0 mi away
Alf Leila Wa Leila
Alf Leila Wa Leila
#42 of 222 in Hurghada
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beach Albatros Resort
Beach Albatros Resort
#78 of 222 in Hurghada
724 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dana Beach Resort
Dana Beach Resort
#30 of 222 in Hurghada
1,271 reviews
4.3 mi away
White Beach Resort
White Beach Resort
#14 of 222 in Hurghada
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albatros Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatros Palace Resort

Property: Albatros Palace Resort
Address: Safaga Road | Hurghada - Red Sea - Egypt, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#33 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#38 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#55 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Albatros Palace Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 621
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on 72,000 sqm, the Albatros Palace Resort delivers a beautiful beach side oasis with a wide variety of activities and attractions. The distinction of this luxurious 5-star resort lies in its great architecture, warm hospitality, finest in accommodation, dining and facilities. It is only 15 minutes from Hurghada Airport and 20 minutes from the city center. Albatros Palace Resort ensures guest comfort in every way and provides rooms and suites designed with a true sense of luxury. At this all inclusive resort, there are more opportunities for fun and adventure than you will have time to indulge in with just one visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Albatros Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatros Palace Hurghada
Albatros Palace Hotel Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing