We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice but lacking something”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albatros Palace Resort
Ranked #40 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2014

First impressions very nice spacous hotel very big hotel for the area, we had room ground floor right opposite the pool as my father was in wheel chair very good for getting around so no problem if your disabled, food was a bit much the same in each restuarant , rooms where clean to start with but that soon changed , we was away for my husbands birthday beware that money goes missing if you leave it out , he was given money of my mom and left it the ash tray and forgot all bout it for few day but when he went to get it dissappeared went reported it to hotel they seemed as if this does not happen told the rep he said he would investigate but nothing was said again ,but amazingly after this our room cleaner never spoke to us as if we had made it all up but there are other listings tell you about things vanishing you have been warned.its full of disgusting russian with no manners what so ever you treat with the same manner .hotel would be much better if it had entertainment in the day too,or music playing thru the day as it get like a morgue lol. So not that good hols sorry

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mandy67Portsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (958)
There are newer reviews for Albatros Palace Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 959 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

This Hotel is build for 5 stars, but service and management downgraded it to 3 or 4 stars. There are 6 restaurants, but nothing much special for their type in there...it is pretty much all the same, except the orient one (I think Marocan) ... maybe 1 or 2 dishes special for that region.
This is not such big deal since food is good. The bigger problem is service. Shefs stop cooking after 20:00 h although dinner lasts up to 21:30 h, so the numerous Russians who go to dinner first, eat all the specialties. The veithers are awful, very slow to bring you something, but quick as snakes when removing from your table. I can recommend only 2 barmen, which are really professional.
The worse problem is the Towel policy. In this hotel you can not get a clean towel if you return used one. When you return your used towel, you can get back clean one only tomorrow morning. This is totally idiotic....especially because you can return your towel up to 18h....when is the very nice for swimming, but they close the beach at 17h and even try to force you out of the water and beach, because they want to go home or work something else (like you are there for them and not they for you). So if you go on a boat trip and return maybe after 18h, you have to use your dirty towels all day tomorrow.....totally crazy. Cleanliness is another issue....the rooms should be cleaned better for 5 stars. The room is OK, except shower, which don;t exists, but there is part of bathroom with drainer used for that purpose, which is only 2 cm under the bathroom floor, so you have to use your water slowly not to flud your bathroom. The staff also makes a lot of noise in the morning, waking you up.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Goran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We have travelled to Egypt, Hurghada this February.
This was a lovely hotel with friendly staff. Our room was nice. The private beach was good and always clean. However, we found the sea a bit cold, so preferred the swimming pool instead.
The food was good. Very nice breakfasts-omelettes, cereals, pancakes. Nice experience!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Overall the hotel was very beautiful and most of the local staff were very helpful . But the enjoyable experience was ruined by : 1 pair of sunglasses disappearing from sun lounger the first morning, and on the last day on handing our carry on bags to the staff to look after at the reception ,whilst we got a last bite to eat before boarding the bus to the airport, on the bag being handed back we discovered my wives iPhone 5 had been taken . There was no time to report this to the police as we would have meed our flight. The promised phone call by the reception staff to my phone in order to remain in contact should the missing phone show up was never made . So a warning to anyone going to this hotel make sure any valuables are kept with you at all times or locked away in the safe.

Room Tip: the upgrade to a family room is worth it if you want lots of space
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank TallinnJem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

What a wonderful three days we had as a bonus for our holiday. there was only us and another English couple there. Everyone else was either Russian German or Italian, which to be honest didn't bother us at all. The staff we found were more attentive towards us and enjoyed talking to us for a change. The rooms were excellent so clean' All the restaurants (Italian, German, Mexican,Chinese/Indian and Mediteranean ) although the food was repetitive it was cooked in different styles and tastes and we enjoyed them all . Had we been there for a fortnight it may have been different. The swimming pools were excellent as was the beach with its pontoon out to the snorkelling area and the Beach bar which had pizzas and BBq food which was excellent.. I love children but it was lovely not to have them running all over the place for a change and those that were there had lots of fun in their private pool which was really good fun. I felt like getting in there with them. The entertainment staff were good and some of the entertainment was excellent except that the music for dancing was aimed mainly at the Russians Germans and Egyptians. The cocktail barman was brilliant and fun to watch. If you had a celebration you only had to let the hotel know and they decorated a table for you and produced a cake etc and if appropriate sang Happy Birthday. We were sorry to leave, but went on an excellent Nile cruise to make up for it.. The only thing I would mention about that is the trip from Hergharda to Luxor.... Not recommended if you have a bad back as the last 60k from Quena there were either two or four Double sleeping policemen EVERY Kilometer and the transit had to slow down to under 5mph to go over them they were so high very uncomfortable. Thank you Albatros Palace .

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2angels2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This is a large hotel with a great number of food restaurants and activities to choose from. The reef just along the pontoon was incredible and gave many hours of enjoyment and was the highlight for us!
The rooms were average for such a high * rated hotel but still very large and to be honest we weren't in ours very long! We were extremely disappointed as we had paid extra for our room to have a sea view - we had the smallest amount of sea visible if we looked between balcony pillars - we complained but apparently we were in the correct room - but at the end of the day we didn't use the balcony much so it didn't really matter.

As a british couple we did struggle to find people to talk to as the majority of the holiday makers were Russian or German - we only met 2-3 other British couples whilst there and they left before us.

As a couple it was just a little busy with children for our liking, so this isn't a hotel id recommend for a couple BUT for a family i would highly recommend it ! Theres many children's activities and clubs etc and the food options are diverse so excellent for children - even fussy ones!

There are lots of sunbathing areas and pools so we never had trouble relaxing.

The spa was very affordable and the staff were extremely kind - they even gave us (for free) some special local cream for our skin as we had caught a little too much sun which they applied and massaged in !

Staff were kind, helpful , well mannered and friendly.

We did enjoy our stay at this hotel but we would only visit it again if we have children.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying for a sea view room, but pool view rooms did seem to have a better view than...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travellingbeancouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This hotel was stunning! The pools are beautiful, however the main pool was too cold to swim in with it being jan but there is a nice heated pool. Food nice. We were only English in hotel, full of German and Russians.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
Thank Hannah19285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.3 mi away
Albatros Aqua Park
Albatros Aqua Park
#15 of 222 in Hurghada
465 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#45 of 222 in Hurghada
2,308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Albatros Resort
Beach Albatros Resort
#76 of 222 in Hurghada
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Dana Beach Resort
Dana Beach Resort
#28 of 222 in Hurghada
1,306 reviews
4.3 mi away
White Beach Resort
White Beach Resort
#13 of 222 in Hurghada
382 reviews
1.3 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albatros Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatros Palace Resort

Address: Safaga Road | Hurghada - Red Sea - Egypt, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#35 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#38 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#55 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range: £63 - £628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Albatros Palace Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 621
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on 72,000 sqm, the Albatros Palace Resort delivers a beautiful beach side oasis with a wide variety of activities and attractions. The distinction of this luxurious 5-star resort lies in its great architecture, warm hospitality, finest in accommodation, dining and facilities. It is only 15 minutes from Hurghada Airport and 20 minutes from the city center. Albatros Palace Resort ensures guest comfort in every way and provides rooms and suites designed with a true sense of luxury. At this all inclusive resort, there are more opportunities for fun and adventure than you will have time to indulge in with just one visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Albatros Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatros Palace Hurghada
Albatros Palace Hotel Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing