We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, best holiday to date!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albatros Palace Resort
Ranked #40 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2009

Me and my partner stayed in the albatros palace for two weeks, and both can honestly say that it is our favourite holiday to date. There was a problem with the rooms, we had booked a suite back in december, although found out in may that it had been overbooked. Upon arrival, we were allocated a large sea/pool view room which was still fantastic, as well as being given a bottle of wine and fruit basket, and our room until 6pm on departure, so werent too displeased!

The hotel itself is beautiful, and its true that the staff never stop cleaning! Inside and out the place is spotless, really nice. The choice of food is amazing, however i was unlucky enough to pick up the Egyptian bug, which after a trip to the pharmacy cost me over £30 to get rid of!

The staff really are the most friendly, especially as us English have manners and the ability to smile! Even without tipping, the staff knew what we drank and were always refilling your cup whether you wanted another or not! Even the staff who hassled you about going on trips/ to the spa were very friendly, and we quickly picked up the nickname 'Bristol' thanks to Abdul!

The pool area is fantastic, although as has been said it is almost impossible to get a sunbed until the late afternoon, we tried to join the great sunbed race by waking up at 7.30 one morning, but still not one was without a towel. Beds were however always avaliable on the beach, although the sand was hard, and the heat was stifling, we always chose to bathe on the jetty where the funky bananna seats were always available, and the sea breeze made the heat much more bearable.

In the 2nd week we made a flying day trip to Cairo which was fantastic on the whole, although a very long day, leaving the hotel at 6am and returning at 1.30am! We booked through Memphis tours, who i dont think i would recommend due to their unproffesional nature. They took us to all the amazing sites (pyramids, cairo museum, coptic cairo) which where breathtaking, but also took us to certain expensive shops where we were put under pressure to buy. The worst part of the day was when we were taken to the largest market place in Cairo and left alone for an hour and a half! Being a petite blonde girl of 19, the experience was horrible. I was constantly hassled by men, even though my fiancee was with me, the women would stop to stare and make nasty comments in the streets, it really was not a tourist friendly area, and i was angry to have been left in that situation by the tour guide.

All in all the holiday was fantastic and i would recommend to hotel to anyone, we are not the type of people to go to the same place twice, but we might make an exception for the albatros palace!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kj90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,002)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

326 - 332 of 1,002 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2009

We (party of 4) stayed at the Albatros Palace from 2nd - 16th June 2009. I can honestly say that I would recommend this hotel to anyone. I had been on Trip Advisor prior to going to the hotel and I was concerned to hear that several people had been sent to the Albabros Beach beacuse they were overbooked at the Alabatros Palace. As I had booked independently I felt alittle uneasy so I emailed the hotel prior to going and I had a quick response to say everything was in order and we were down for the Albatros Palace. When we arrived there was no problem and we were shown to our rooms which overlooked the pool ( I had paid extra for these). During our stay went to look at the Albatros Beach as it is just next door to the Albatros Palace - you can just walk along the beach to it and it looked absolutely fine to me so I don't think I would have been all that upset if I had been placed there. They have a couple of water slides in a seperate pool area which look really good if you like that type of thing and there is also an indoor pool and mini golf which we played. We asked at our reception and they said we could use these facilities if we liked but we couldn't get food or drink there - it is worth having a look round.
The staff at the Albatros Palace are very, very good and extremely friendly. The hotel is fully airconditioned which is lovely. There are quite a few bars which are really spacious and comfortable. There are 4 restaurants to choose from which we found really good as was the food - no complaints there with lots of choice and the wine isn't bad either.
The bedrooms are very nice and spacious and the aircon works really well. Towels are changed daily and the cleaning was a high standard. There is a box of tissues supplied and a hairdryer in the bathroom so you don't need to take one but you do need to take shower gel as they only supply little bottles with small tablets of soap. There is a mini fridge and they supply you with 2 bottles of water daily.
The pools are fabulous but the sand on the beach leaves alot to be desired as does the shoreline - take jelly shoes etc if you like to paddle - very stoney. However, on the beach there is a walk-on floating jetty in the sea where you can sunbathe on banana shaped beds (these are really good once you get the hang of them!) and swim in the sea pool they have made out on the jetty, or snorkle which is really great.
The only downside I would say is that the sunbeds (these are very comfortable with mattresses on them) get taken very early in the morning with the towels etc. but there are plenty of beds on the beach and we found that in the afternoon we could usually get a sunbed round the pool.
The hotel and resort is mainly German and Russian. We didn't find this a problem as there were the 4 of us and to be perfectly honest I didn't find the Russians as rude as some have previously said, they just never seem to smile much. However, if you were going as a couple you may find this not to your liking because there are not many English people in the hotel.
We booked a trip to Luxor - long day but well worth it and the Sahara Park trip (wear trainers) - pretty energetic with quad bikes, camel riding, dune buggies, hill climbing, zoo, snakes, evening meal and entertainment and star gazing all for approx £40.00 - good fun and well worth it but tiring!
I booked with hotels4u.com and the flight with Thomas Cook . I was very suprised when we got to the airport to see a rep from hotels4u advising us what to do etc and we had a rep come to the hotel to greet us the day after we arrived. We booked our trips through him as he seemed very reasonable in price and he was really very helpful and accomodating.
To finish - If you want to buy presents/souveniers you don't need to go out specially to buy them in Hurghada because at Hurghada airport there are absolutely loads of souvenier shops selling at reasonable prices and they don't give you any hassle. There are also 2 duty free shops.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JEANWASHERE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank GumdropHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pippa164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MarkBuryStEdmunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lala83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2009

Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
3  Thank BarryPimlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.3 mi away
Albatros Aqua Park
Albatros Aqua Park
#19 of 222 in Hurghada
498 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#39 of 222 in Hurghada
2,540 reviews
10.2 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Beach Albatros Resort
Beach Albatros Resort
#83 of 222 in Hurghada
775 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dana Beach Resort
Dana Beach Resort
#29 of 222 in Hurghada
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albatros Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatros Palace Resort

Address: Safaga Road | Hurghada - Red Sea - Egypt, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#36 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#38 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#55 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range: £61 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Albatros Palace Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 621
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on 72,000 sqm, the Albatros Palace Resort delivers a beautiful beach side oasis with a wide variety of activities and attractions. The distinction of this luxurious 5-star resort lies in its great architecture, warm hospitality, finest in accommodation, dining and facilities. It is only 15 minutes from Hurghada Airport and 20 minutes from the city center. Albatros Palace Resort ensures guest comfort in every way and provides rooms and suites designed with a true sense of luxury. At this all inclusive resort, there are more opportunities for fun and adventure than you will have time to indulge in with just one visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Albatros Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatros Palace Hurghada
Albatros Palace Hotel Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing