We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Citadel Azur Resort
Ranked #71 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I stayed in the hotel for 6nights with my family..never felt bored for a sec..the place is really really nice..very good view..rooms are perfect..very good spot for snorkling with alot of fish in there..the beach is full of rocks,however there are 2 or 3 good spots to swim in.
Perfect Animation team really nice ,very friendly and highly energetic..the only thing that i did not like was the food which was not very tasty. But overall i love the whole place and i will be happy to go there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tottaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

434 - 440 of 1,650 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

My wife and myself stayed at this hotel in May 2013. We did not look for any shops, excitement or Bars during our vacation but simply needed a couple of relaxing days from every day life.

This hotel is awesome. The rooms are huge and very comfortable. We had a room close to the main lobby (be aware, they have 8 building so if you do end up in one at the back, you will need the free shuttle or walk some way) overlooking the hotel harbour. The room was clean, free internet and very spacious with a very nice balcony.

The staff was great, friendly and up to speed. Whenever we asked for something, help was right there. The all-inclusive package was a real benefit. It took us a while to find a hotel in Egypt that does NOT close bars at 11:00 or 12:00pm and has free internet. At the end, we did not have to pay a single cent extra for any service.

The hotel is huge but only has app. 500 rooms. At the time we were there, we never felt that the hotel was crowded. The guest come from all countries in Europe. The beach is great for snorkelling but you will need shoes to go into the sea (there is a beautiful house reef right at the beach). There were always enough sun chairs at the beach an at one of the pools.

The food was ok but nothing special. I am allergic to apples and other fruits and mentioned the limited availability to the management after a couple of days - they helped us promptly. Management attention is overall outstanding in this hotel.

The only downside of our vacation was our experience with the dive centre "Aquarius" (has nothing to do with the hotel). Make sure if you go diving that you clarify all prices in written form in advance. Also be aware, that even if you bring your complete equipment and only require a tank of air they will charge you about Euro 20 for a house reef dive (swimming and snorkelling are free but if you wanna dive,.... show them the money). All the divers we met, no one had one positive word to say about this company (and I won't go into details what happened to us because it has nothing to do with the hotel rating).

We will go there again! It was a great vacation!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steffen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

- The Citadel is a lovely hotel. Especially for couples without kids.
- Spacious rooms, well maintained.
- Food is really good, especially the a la carte restaurants, Italian/ Brazilian.
- Lunch might need some improvement as every day was more or less the same.
- Personnel was really friendly and helpful.
- Good entertainment (except external shows, those were bad, intenal shows were great).
- The park is really large, so there is even a shuttle bus to drive you around. -
- Free internet in the lobby, but the connection is terrible, this should definitely be improved.
- Location is quiet, but we love that. Buildings are beautiful.
--> Hurghada was quiet, no notice of the political issues in Egypt.

Room Tip: No room tip, as all rooms have seaview. Make a note when you want a room with a doublebed. Other tip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CarolavanderLinden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The best vacation ever! Hotel is just amazing,it's like little town, you don't need to go anywehere. Great services, nice and polite staff, good food. If you don't feel like buffet dinner you can choose from three restaurants. Live band is playing every evening (in english). We really enjoyed our stay, it was perfect :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katienka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

It s my favorite place in the world...I went to spain, france , turkey, cyprus .....but this hotel is really the best....the rooms I cant describe how wonderful r they....I didn't meet a stuff like that. .....excellent hospitality. .....every place in the hotel s really beautiful. .......the marina , pool , the theater. ...lobby..... many restaurants. ..the food is excellentttttttttttttttttttttttttttt.....I really liked the c food. ..the chinese night...the beach party.....shisha corner......u can drink anything in each place there....very nice gym ....pools r wonderful. ..the only bad thing s the sea cause there r no many places to swim there

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mohamedsolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I went this june with my family we really enjoyed our stay the resort was really nice, we were happy with our rooms i do recommend 3001 and 3002. They were connected rooms near everything the pool the main restaurant and the theater. But you will have to walk pretty much if want to go the royal lagoon beach don't worry ... There is a taftaf runs every 5 min

The staff welcomed us really nice specially especially Emad on the beach bar and Amr in the main restaurant the food is average and the drinks as always is local but don't expect too much in all inclusive basis, all over the place is magnificent.

Certainly, i would like to go again

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Mohamed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel from the 14th May -21st May 2013 and we had a fantastic time!

The room was in Block 6 which is about a 10 minute walk from the reception! Staff took us to the room in a golf buggy with our luggage!!! The room was large and spacious. We were on the top floor and had a beautiful sea view from the large balcony! The room was clean! The bathroom was massive and there was a large power shower! Our room had a hallway and a walk-in wardrobe!!

The food in the hotel was excellent and lots of choice! There was a themed night in the main restaurant each evening. We also ate several times at the Italian restaurant which was lovely!! We visited the Brizilian restaurant once which served a selection of meats which was also nice!! The drinks in the hotel were amazing, if you like cocktails there is a wide variety of cocktails served at all the bars, including the beach bars!! The beers and wine were also very drinkable!!

We spent all of our time on the beach!! There are mole sunbeds with umbrellas and windbreaks!! There are also clean toilets and a beach bar!!

There were several pools dotted around the hotel and one was an infinity pool! The hotel had its own small harbour with a restaurant in it and an ice cream shop which is part of the all inclusive!!

There is free wifi in the reception area, which fairly slow but more than acceptable for Egypt!!

The only down sides I can think of are!! There were no other English people in the hotel, lots of Russians and Germans!! The staff were slow with the service at times!! During meals times they were slow to replenish food and cutlery on the table! Howere it seems to down to poor supervision rather than the staffs fault! The hotel is about 15 minutes from the airport which is good, however this is nothing to walk to nearby, no shops or bars!! However due to the hotel being so nice and spacious it didn't effect us!! None of this issues really effected us and we had an amazon time!!

The grounds of the hotel are vast and there is a bus that drives around the hotel taking guests to reception!! I would not recommend this hotel for people who don't like walking or hills or for people with children!!

Overall I had a fantastic time and I would return!! I would recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emmabuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
1.5 mi away
Premier Romance Boutique Hotel and Spa
5.3 mi away
Albatros Palace Resort
Albatros Palace Resort
#40 of 222 in Hurghada
994 reviews
5.7 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#4 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
#3 of 222 in Hurghada
1,392 reviews
2.9 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
1.6 mi away
Old Palace Resort
Old Palace Resort
#51 of 222 in Hurghada
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadel Azur Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadel Azur Resort

Address: Sahl Hasheesh, Hurghada 84521, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#33 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#37 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#46 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#65 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range: £56 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Citadel Azur Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 514
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CITADEL AZUR RESORT SAHL HASHEESH! Heaven on earth! A Sunken Paradise Reborn! Our exclusive luxury architecture built with natural coral stones which has been hand chiseled from nearby mountains is a true architectural achievement. The Citadel Azur Resort with an atmosphere of the ports in Southern France or the Amalfi coast embraces a large marina where you can enjoy a touch of a small Mediterranean village with its own harbor. Overlooking the Red Sea, each spacious and luxuriously appointed guest room features spectacular sea views. A unique holiday with water sports, boat trips, marina and private beach extended to 1.6 km long, 3 manmade sea lagoons inside an amazing house reef. Relax at the swimming pools elevated and scattered around for your convenience in the resort and enjoy our state-of-the-art health club and gym. Book a wellness journey with our team of professional in our on-site Spa. Conveniently located only 20 minutes drive from Hurghada International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Citadel Azur Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadel Azur Hotel Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing