We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2terrible exprience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Citadel Azur Resort
Ranked #70 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Worst experience in hurghada ,
More than 4 hours past the check in time waiting for my room to get ready and staff was unfriendly towards responding to our complaint and keep repeating the same sentences
Never coming again

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank masiramr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,598)
There are newer reviews for Citadel Azur Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

413 - 419 of 1,598 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

this time my vacation was in Egypt. Hurghada Sahl hashish .i spent there 3 nights at hotel citadel Azur resort.the hotel location is marvelous and has a lot of activities my advice for my friend is to spend their vacations there

Room Tip: Higher floors rooms have a nice seen
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 12Ahmedreyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We went with a party of 7 in October 3013 and again in January 2014. In October there was only 1 other person from the UK but there were quite a few Germans, Egyptians and just a few Russians. This month we were the only people from the UK and a few Germans but the place was overrun by Russians. I put no blame on the Hotel who treated us really well but they have to take the money from wherever available and this appears to be from Russia. There were a minority of Russians who were very rude and did not appear to have the words please, thank you or sorry in their vocabulary. They push into queues and just grunt and point at the food they want. This was our 5th time at this Hotel and probably our last.

Room Tip: Quietest in blocks 5 and 6 but further from the restaurants and shops etc., but a nice walk.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john999dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

It was an unbelievable place, realy me and my husband were very happy . every thing was perfect. all you need is available at this resort. our room was lovely & big . The room was kept very clean.All of the staff were super nice ,polite and their smile gives you great feelings .
Many thanks for every one who works at this resort and making great efforts to make happy.holidays for us and for all visitors.
Special thanks to MR. Mohammed Mostafa for delicious cocktails { blue lagoon, mukhito, milkshake ......)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vekocairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This is a very difficult report for me to write as the hotel was less than 20% full, so we never had to que for anything, we could sit where we liked on the beach or by the pool, the down side was that the themed restaurants were closed, but to make up for it the hotel 'themed' the nights in the main restaurant. The food was fine, nothing to shout home about but there was a good selection and variety, but towards the end of the sitting it did get limited.

The hotel is on a very big site and if you are in the accommodation at the far end of the site you will have a 5 to 10 min walk to the main restaurant, the hotel from sea level to the top of the site is about 7 stories high, but there are ramps and stairs located all over the place but there is NO LIFT ON SITE, so you do get lots of exercise.

There are a number of swimming pools around the site but for me the infinity pool overlooking the harbour was the best, its about 50ft above the sea and the views are amazing..

Snorkeling on site.... well thats why allot of people go to the Red Sea for is OK I would give it 7 out of 10, you do have to swim outside of the site but once there it has a good selection of coral and fish, but perhaps a bonus is the lagoon they have created, it is PERFECT for trying snorkeling for the first time, its safe and the first part of the lagoon is 1.5m deep with a sand and some very friendly fish, I guess they have been fed !!! the second part of the lagoon in about 3m deep with larger fish and even a pair of clown fish in some soft coral. As the hotel was very quite we hired one of the dive boats and its crew for E120 and had our own private snorkeling trip to a local reef for 3/4 of the day, and that was very good.

Our room was very large but due to the lack of use it took 24 hours for the aircon to start working, the beds were comfortable and the shower had lots of hot water and bags of pressure.

The entertainment at night was a bit naff for us, but there were guests how liked it, they did try very hard and I guess this is an area where they have saved money, so please do not let this put you off. They were very good regarding noise and it did stop at about 22:00 every night.

Isabella on customer service was very good and helped organize a cake and table along with champagne for our wedding anniversary, so many thanks.

Would we go there again, yes we would as we did like the hotel and service very much, its out of town (about 8 miles) so very quite.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea, but some have restricted views, BUT this hotel is on a very big site so if y...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bavaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Our planned visit was for a week and it shrunk to only several hours..upon arrival we were amazed by the hotel and how gr8 it looked like then things started to come up...due to having a certain festival"eid" vacation, the hotel was expecting lots of guests yet the day we arrived (which was 2 days early before the feast starts)nobody was ready to deal with us..rooms were not by any means close to the lobby and u had to take a bus to either go to ur room or to the beach or else its a looong walk and stairs all over the place...the pool was freezing cold and they told us it will be heated the next day(the day that expected the arrival of many other visitors) Jacuzzis work every 20 min and there were like 10 of them, 2 only were functioning! Most of the restaurants were not also working...Still waiting for the larger amounts of guests to work full throttle. The most intimidating was a guest standing before me at the main restaurant queue of a certain food "shawerma" found a Cockroach roaming around and the guy serving ppl had nothing to say about that!!!! So after such an experience we packed our bags to the nearest hotel to save whats left from our vacation.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Maha Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I have been there at the end of August-2013 . Really, this place deserves your visit as you will spend unforgettable days . At first, once you enter the resort you will feel really that you are in a citadel . It's all designed like a citadel , reception-rooms-restaurants-all buildings , unique design . Then , when you enter your room you'll find a different room waiting for you . It's elegant , spacious with a large terrace and different design than traditional rooms. All rooms are 100% sea view having a great look at the sea, the pool and the marine. View at night with the hotel lights and moon light reflected on sea is amazing. The resort has a lot of wonderful restaurants each one with a special design and atmosphere. All restaurants serve a large variety of all types of food . Food was good specially at the Italian & Brazilian restaurants. You just have to reserve for them(free). There is a daily show at the marvelous theater directly on the sea including oriental , russian & kids shows. All-inclusive formula is also great as it includes free gym , free jacuzzi , free delicious ice cream all the day, free fun games(playstation,billiards,table-tennis,video games) and free aqua games from the aqua center.All staff is helpful & friendly specially those of animation team. Finally, it's perfect . Don't miss this Citadel Azur ...

Room Tip: I recommend any of the higher floors at the first 4 buildings .
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Amir83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
1.5 mi away
Premier Romance Boutique Hotel and Spa
5.3 mi away
Albatros Palace Resort
Albatros Palace Resort
#39 of 222 in Hurghada
960 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#45 of 222 in Hurghada
2,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
0.7 mi away
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
#2 of 222 in Hurghada
1,359 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh
Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh
#31 of 222 in Hurghada
3,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadel Azur Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadel Azur Resort

Address: Sahl Hasheesh, Hurghada 84521, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#33 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#37 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#41 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#64 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range: £61 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Citadel Azur Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 514
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CITADEL AZUR RESORT SAHL HASHEESH! Heaven on earth! A Sunken Paradise Reborn! Our exclusive luxury architecture built with natural coral stones which has been hand chiseled from nearby mountains is a true architectural achievement. The Citadel Azur Resort with an atmosphere of the ports in Southern France or the Amalfi coast embraces a large marina where you can enjoy a touch of a small Mediterranean village with its own harbor. Overlooking the Red Sea, each spacious and luxuriously appointed guest room features spectacular sea views. A unique holiday with water sports, boat trips, marina and private beach extended to 1.6 km long, 3 manmade sea lagoons inside an amazing house reef. Relax at the swimming pools elevated and scattered around for your convenience in the resort and enjoy our state-of-the-art health club and gym. Book a wellness journey with our team of professional in our on-site Spa. Conveniently located only 20 minutes drive from Hurghada International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Citadel Azur Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadel Azur Hotel Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing