We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunny Beach Resort is the Last Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Three Corners Sunny Beach Resort
Ranked #58 of 221 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sunny Beach Resort is the Last Resort”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Labelled a 5* resort, but it is the quality of each star that reflects the standard. The food and service in this hotel is poor, I would give the resort a rating of 2* at the very best

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve96charles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    727
    478
    141
    67
    67
See reviews for
620
432
57
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Sunny Beach and are we glad to have done so!? It was the longest “holiday” that we have ever been on and we counted down every single day! It was an absolute ordeal!

Now, we are 2 easy going, laid back, not fussy with food, will try anything and everything and will generally get a laugh / conversation out of anyone kind of people so this review is our honest and objective opinion. We had read the reviews in advance and were a little apprehensive but thought "how bad could it be?".....unfortunately the negative ones are all correct.

Hurghada airport
The process through the airport was generally very good although there did seem to be some differences in what people paid for Visa's (we paid £13 pp, others paid £12.50 pp and we even heard that someone had paid £18.75 pp). Pay in GBP rather than EGP. We were met by Bright Sky Travel who were very efficient and friendly in getting us to our hotel.

The Hotel
The hotel is situated between El Gouna and Hurghada and is on the main road but there is nothing much around. There is a shuttle bus from the hotel to both of these places at around EGP20. Times are limited.
There are a few shops selling mainly souvenirs but also a pharmacy and a beauty salon around the main pool area.
The hotel is not yet fully built. We had to go down a small alleyway (one way) to get to the reception at the back of the hotel. The staff were friendly and we were greeted with the customary welcome drink. The guy on reception gave us the usual patter that we were being upgraded to one of the best rooms overlooking the sea and the pool. This turned out to be just sales talk – we could hardly see the sea and we did not overlook the pool. As we had arrived late, it was suggested that we get some food and then check into our room. The bellboy took us and our luggage to the room and we gave him £1 tip which he seemed happy with.

The Room
We stayed in room 8103 which is half way down the resort and on the first floor. Although "new", the rooms are old fashioned and out-dated. The doors to the bathroom and cupboards all needed oiling as they were very very squeaky. In fact, you could hear the doors of the other rooms. The bathroom was poorly finished and the shower was very basic. The bathrooms towels were grey and old but they were replaced daily. The bed linen was also old - it was like sleeping on sandpaper, the cotton was that rough. The beds and pillows were however comfortable. The room had a safe, fridge (2 bottles of water daily), a hairdryer and a flat screen TV with limited English channels showing very old films.

The Reception / Restaurant
The reception area is not grand at all and mingles into the small bar both of which are adjacent to the “restaurant”. In fact, it’s more like a food court / café than a restaurant. There is nowhere really to relax and enjoy pre/post dinner drinks as the bar is effectively in the main area of the hotel.
The staff in the restaurant, although very friendly were generally somewhat over zealous in collecting plates and glasses even though they weren’t finished with. There must be so much waste in the hotel as a result of this.

The Gardens
The gardens are really lovely. They are well maintained by what seems like an army of gardeners, all of whom were very friendly.

The Drinks
The drinks in the beach restaurant and Sunset Pool Bar are served in very small plastic cups - not very good for the environment especially as you had to order 2 per person to get a decent drink. There is a limited choice of alcohol (gin, rum, whiskey, beer, red/white/rose wine, brandy) all of which are local and extremely poor quality and actually tasted as though they had been watered down. The beer was about drinkable and my partner thought the rose wine was too. Soft drinks are also available. Soft drinks, beer & wine were also available as self serve in the restaurant although the beer and wine tended to run out at around 7pm! A limited number of basic cocktails are on offer. I found the rum and coke to be just about drinkable.
Forget a hot tea or coffee – the water is luke warm!

The Food
TERRIBLE! The food is set out in the food area about 60-30 minutes before the service starts. The food area is very small and as a result, it often runs out and gets “well picked over”.
Breakfast – massive selection of pastries and bread goods. The bread was actually very good. The pancakes were also good. Other options included salads, omelettes, 2 cereals, limited fruit and yoghurt and some hot food that you would generally not eat for breakfast. The fruit and yoghurt was often frozen.
Lunch – abysmal. Not too dissimilar to breakfast in terms of hot food and salads. We found the food at lunchtime to be better in the beach side restaurant (the chips, pizza (served daily), burgers, hotdogs (both served once per week) were OK). There was plenty of pasta.
Dinner – abysmal. Very much like lunch.
The food was so poor that we often walked around with an empty plate until we finally ended up getting some bread & chips to make a chip buttie!
In general, we ate what we could without any pleasure. It was a case of stomaching what we could and getting out of there.
Within 4 days of arriving I was struck down with a horrendous stomach bug which left me doubled up in pain for more than a few hours. The pharmacy doctor on site gave me 2 lots of tablets which alleviated the pain although I did suffer for the remainder of the holiday! We didn’t tell the hotel that I was ill as they would only have sent out a bowl of fruit (which the doctor advised against). We often saw the staff with several bowls of fruit around the hotel which indicated that there were several other people who were ill.

Dolce Vita Restaurant
After eating so poorly in the restaurants (I lost 9lbs in weight over 2 weeks), we were reluctant to try the Dolce Vita Restaurant as we didn’t think that the quality of the food would be any better and therefore didn’t want to pay for another bad meal. There is a EGP40 / 60% discount for AI guests. We did actually get to try the restaurant as one evening we left our food and Osama, the restaurant manager noticed and offered us a meal. The food was better but we’d still only give it 7/10.

The Mini Golf
The mini golf course is in a poor state but the golf clubs are even worse. They are really old and left our hands completely black. Playing with one club and one ball between two of us was not much fun!

The Entertainment
We didn’t see any of the entertainment as after eating our dinner quickly, we went back to our room as there was nowhere pleasant and relaxing to sit. The Animation team did a good job but they didn’t hassle us either.

The Beach
The beach is relatively small but it is well maintained. There is a long pier to the sea where you can swim / snorkel. There were some fish around the coral (which was dead) but nothing spectacular.

The Pools
There are 3 pools but only 2 were used. There is a 50m pool which is OK and then a free form pool with 3 slides (very small). The slides are open for a couple of hours in the morning and in the afternoon. The children’s area of the pool has some other water activity slides.

The Staff
We found the vast majority of the staff to be very very friendly and helpful. We only encountered a couple of grumpy chefs in the main restaurant – they spent more time doing their own thing than serving the guests. Everyone else was brilliant, in particular the guys at the beach restaurant and Sherif in the reception bar.

Other
Wi-fi is available for EGP 205 per week but it’s only available in the reception area (it did actually last longer than 1 week).
There were only 2 other English families there, the majority of guests were Belgian and Russian – the less said about the latter the better!
There is no gym!
There were two ladies who were employees of the hotel (we think one of them was a manager) who were always in the reception area. Not once did either of them come and ask us how we / things were! Not great customer service…or perhaps they were too afraid to ask?!
Standards are generally not maintained in the restaurant area – there are signs that say no swim shorts etc are allowed at dinner but there were plenty of people who were so dressed. In fact, not many people dressed up for dinner – we stood out for making the effort!

Bright Sky Travel
The first thing that our rep, Karim said was that he could change anything but not the hotel! Not a great opener but clearly a request that has been asked on previous occasions.
We went on the snorkelling trip to Giftun Island which was a great day out for £20 (usually £30).
The only bad thing was that we were dropped off at the airport before the gates had opened so we were left hanging around in utter chaos for quite a while. This was because other guests had earlier flights.

Summary
We would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone! It was by far the worst holiday that we have ever been on. In fact, if we could have got a flight home within the first few days, we would have!

The best thing – the hot weather and coming home!
The worst thing – EVERYTHING!

Room Tip: Rooms on the left hand side looking down to the beach get teh sun in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TandK02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

When we arrived at the hotel we where taken down a side alley as the recieption is not even built yet. We were greeted by a lady with no name badge how could not speak English and gave use no info on the hotel. We where then take to our room by a bell boy who refused to leave until we gave him a tip!
There are hotels being built either side of the hotel and wind turbine there near by this is because its always blowing a gale!!!
Went down to the bar where they give you the smallest cups ever. A thimble would be a better discription. Say that the bar staff are the best think about the resort
We then went to dinner. The food they serve I would not feed to a pig mined you that was what some of the staff treat you like I think thats what they think of the paying customer!!!
After trying eat something you then spend the rest of your holiday on the loo as it just goes straight through you. After 2 days gave up and went out to eat at El Goura at the White Elephant very good food there
The beach was man made and to get into the sea you had to walk along a nice pier if you did not get blown off by the wind. I picked this hotel as I like to snorkel. The reef was dead and there where no fish there at all. I've been to Egypt 5 times so I know what to expect !!
Entertainment was zero and it was full of Russians not that i have a problem with that. The only good thing about the hotel where the gardens where very pretty. Its a shame they do not show the same care to the guest the foods the rooms etc
Over all the worst holiday Ive ever been on in 40 years and 50 different countries. PLEASE PLEASE do not waste your money and go some where else!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NathanBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soenderborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Very nice clean Hotel,
environment is great,
family friended and very close to Red sea
you dont have to make tours if you want to snorkle all kind and colour fish are around the
wooden pier.

Room Tip: room no 52xx
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stig_Hallenslev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

The food is the worst I've ever had, the rooms are dated and shabby, the hotel is definately not a 5 star, I got food poisoning on day 5, no pharmacy near the hotel. All in all the worst holiday I've ever had......

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

the food was verrrrrrry bad that i hv got severe gastroentritis
no variation in food
vegetables and fruits are not fresh
no refill for empty plates
very bad beach you must walk for at least 1 km to be able to swim
only the aqua park is good

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dromda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

Our trip was in January of 2011, we were there toward the end of the month for 1 week. I loved it because at that time it was quiet, there weren't a lot of people around (this was before not after the evolution)...The food was okay not the best I've ever had but a typical buffet style for any all inclusive hotel...I was only disappointed with the lack of arabic/egyptian food served as it mostly seemed to be made to please the tourists...(ie pastas, fries, etc)..I think during the entire week they've only made falafels once :( anywho..just to sum up the food portion of it...if you are expecting a 5-star top of the line quality food, this isn't the place for you, if you don't care about eating similar type food for a few days - it won't be so bad...if you don't care about not taking advantage of the all inclusive bit then the town is close by and you can definitely find many places with authentic food there...we did that one night and I wish I had done it more because it was fantastic! (I'm sorry I don't remember the name of the restaurant because I def. would be recommending it...see picture!)

cleanliness of the resort was good...we didn't have any complaints.

Staff were great with us, the animation team was fab. - Lelo & Ayah & the European girl - sorry I cannot remember your name! :( - made our stay a lot more fun!!

The pools were super cold at the time so they were barely used (the kids pools seemed a lot warmer) ..

The beach was gorgeous!!

The only things that bothered me during the stay was the amount of unwanted staff male attention I and my partner and friend were getting on this trip, it wasn't just limited to the resort and it was expected, so I tried to let it roll off my shoulders but it did get annoying after a while. But if you're going to Egypt then you're already aware of this and hopefully you won't let it get to you! :)

Overall I was very happy with this resort...it's not a 5-star by any means but it's not a dumb either. For what we paid it was great.

P.S. If you want to hit the town on either side of the resort I would strongly recommend not taking a taxi / shuttle unless it's necessary and you negotiated a great price with the taxi's...cuz they will try and mark up their prices! There is a community bus that runs from the one town to the other, passing by the resort, and it's like 5 pound one or two way I think - used mostly by the citizens, so we got some strange looks lol but it was ok...I forgot the exact price but it was miniscule compared to the price of the shuttle or taxis around.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise you might wanna try and avoid the stage area or the disco area...ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EternalFyre83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
7.8 mi away
The Three Corners Royal Star Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Panorama Bungalows Aqua Park Hurghada
13.3 mi away
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Sea Star Beau Rivage
Sea Star Beau Rivage
#90 of 221 in Hurghada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nubia Aqua Beach Resort
Nubia Aqua Beach Resort
#95 of 221 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.8 mi away
Movie Gate Golden Beach Hotel
Movie Gate Golden Beach Hotel
#127 of 221 in Hurghada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Corners Sunny Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Corners Sunny Beach Resort

Property: The Three Corners Sunny Beach Resort
Address: Km 12, Hurghada El Gouna Rd | El Ahyaa Area, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Hurghada
#33 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#50 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#52 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#53 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Three Corners Sunny Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its (gritty) sandy beach and its Junior Water Park, The Three Corners Sunny Beach is a perfect family hotel for young and old. From a central tower you can glide along the three toboggans into a first pool which brings you further, along an elegantly tortuous canal, to a second swimming pool where other water attractions are grouped, as an octopus, water mushrooms and geysers. All attractions are in shallow waters, the ideal spot for parents and children for common water fun. The large main swimming pool located in the middle of the hotel is surrounded by extended sun terraces, where, as usual in the Three Corners concept, the sun beds, umbrella's and towels are free of charge. All swimming pools are heated in the winter. A jetty crosses the coral reef for an easy access to the swimming and snorkeling area. The 303 rooms (standard and family) all have a terrace or balcony with sea, garden or pool view and appointed with individual AC, TV, Hair-dryer and safe-box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Three Corners Sunny Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 3 Corners Sunny Beach Resort
The Three Corners Sunny Beach Hotel Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing