We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best yet”
Review of Festival Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Festival Riviera
Ranked #163 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Manchester, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best yet”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

My husband and i went back to festival Riviera its our second time. Its a great place, all the staff are wonderfull. Fom the manager to the boys who clean the rooms. The food is great thanks to the chefs. Mr Samy is a very good manager, he makes sure that everything is running smoothly in the resterant. All the boys round the pool are very helpful. Nothings to much trouble. The rooms are very nice and clean the pools are great. Sayed Dany Daveto and all his boys are great. There are places to visit Hurghada town, Elguna there about half an hour by taxi not to expensive. We will be going again we love it . thank you to all at the hotel xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetie94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivieraresort, Guest Relations Manager at Festival Riviera, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and the fruitful comments which helped us a lot to win confidence of other reviewers.
We look forward to seeing you and family in our hotel once again assuring you that we will make your holiday unforgettable.

Thanks & best regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    110
    85
    61
    68
See reviews for
107
167
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

just returned from two weeks holiday at the festival riviera. we stayed here four years ago and were looking to go back to el gouna/hurghada region and chose to return here because it was cheap and our previous experience was good. the hotel is situated midway between el gouna and hurghada (11KM each way) but you can get a return taxi for £3 to either or the local bus is only 50 pence each way. el gouna is lovely and the marina at hurghada is stunning. you do get pestered by local salesman in hurghada but el gouna is salesman free. the hotels rooms are spacious and cleaned every day. you get free towels every day in the rooms and for the beach. the gardens, pools, lobbies and restaurants are spotless. the drinks are good, large range of free spirits and cocktails, although the draft beer at le jardin (sister hotel next door you can use freely) is cooler than the bottled beer at the festival during busy periods due to quantity served. the staff are all very friendly and polite and cannot do enough for you. head barman mohammed riza in le jardin remembers all your drinks from day one and sometimes the waiters will deliver a top up just as you are finishing your drink. the food in the restaurants is a little bit samey but you can get an omelette every morning, chips every lunch (with proper tomato sauce and the breads are excellant) and assorted dishes at dinner. meats are freely available some of the sauces are as good as anything in a payfor restaurant. the amount you get is entirely dependant on the amount of times you want to fill your plate. the snack bar serves hotdogs, burgers, chips and pizzas (note the heinz hot sauce is really nice but very hot). some of the desserts are excellant. the a la carte asian restaurant is very good (one free visit) and we would have happily paid to go back if we needed to but always found something from the all in inclusive restaurant we could eat. the entertainment team are good (day and night) and although multilingual there is always details of what is going on in english. now the russians. yes they are plentiful (although on contact you find alot are actually from other eastern european countries) and they are likely to take excessive amounts of food (especially oranges) and always have a chaser with every drink but are generally well behaved. we never saw any incidents of trouble during our two weeks there and they will sometimes queue at the bar (although this is alot more likely with the youngers ones). overall we had an excellant break and would definitely consider going back again in a few years time.

Room Tip: sea veiw is excellant
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richardanddonna123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We travelled as a couple to this hotel in March 2012, and we were horrified. This hotel lookes and feels really old and worn down. The food (all inclusive) was tasteless and boring. Everyday they had a new theme at the buffet, like italian, egyptian, and it tasted the same everyday. There is almost no meat, just bread, rice, egg and so on.
The hotel is filled up with Russians, so there is Russian entertainment. Nothing for the other tourists that might want some entertainment.
The beach is ugly, and just useless. And there is not enough sunbeds around the pools.
The hotel is far away from everything, and it takes 30 minutes with a taxi to get to Hurghada city centre.

And finally the room. We had PESTS, that bites. The toilet was leaking. And you can hear the nextdoor guests, even if they are whispering.

Will never go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christiiin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivieraresort, Guest Relations Manager at Festival Riviera, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear Mrs Cristiin,

We would like to express our regret that you didn't enjoy your holiday in our hotel, seen that Festival Riviera Hotel is accommodating hundreds of satisfied guests every month. We hope you appreciate our efforts to make your holiday as happy as we can.we will take each point mentioned in your review to improve our services.our buffet has been upgrade it,and we would like to mention that our hotel is working with pest control company which is repsonsible to spray all the hotel building against mousquitoes,flies,pest... as hurghada is located in desert area.
Looking forward to welcoming you and esteemed party once again in our hotel, assuring you we will make your holiday an enjoyable and memorable one.

Thanks and best regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hurghada hotels

Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

just returned from a week here,21th-28th...GOOD POINTS....not a bad hotel, some parts were shabby in decor but looked great from a distance. Most of the staff were very friendly especially toward the English as they were treated like second class citizens by the younger Russian guests (more about them later). We had a nice size room which was clean and a very comfortable bed. Food is samey, beef, chicken, rice and pasta but you will find it cooked very well (no need for any tummy upset tablets here). morning omlettes were gorgeous and sticky gooey desserts very nice!! but after a week the fruit was a refreshing change.The Thomas Cook rep was a nice friendly bloke, Tarec (think that is how you spell it), would recommend the £20 snorkling trip, an hour on and island and two different snorkling spots, the dolphins put on a show and an amazing amount of colourful fish made this a fantastic trip, food was lovely and the boat staff were great fun.The pool and sea were cold but ok when you got in.
Now for the BAD POINTS.....
The beach sellers (even if you use the red flag to deter them) were annoying after a while and please be careful when taking the real fruit drinks as they are expensive and not worth the constant pressure to keep buying them, the beach staff were great however.the restaurant staff who should be greeting you decided they would be better off just posing and did nothing the prevent the Russians jumping in and drinking from bottles of Vodka. The elder Russian guests were fine and were seen begging reception staff not to be placed near the younger ones, drugs were seen exchanging hands as were some of the young Russian girls. It's widely recognised with staff and taxi drivers that prostitution was apparent, nothing was done about it.
The drinks were an acceptable quality and measures (dependant on who served you) were a different stength each time. Some staff offer to take you to the nearest town and help you to aquire goods for a better price, personally I don't think they can get anything cheaper but that's up to you. All in all it was an ok all inclusive but I will never go to place where the Russians walk around like 1970's maffia and expect superior service because they wear fake leather jackets with knock off shades and walk around with the same track suit or George Micheal jeans for the week whilst doing 'business'.

Room Tip: when booking a trip, go through your rep, worth a couple of quid more as you get what you pay for. D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lee67_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivieraresort, Guest Relations Manager at Festival Riviera, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and the fruitful comments which helped us a lot to win confidence of other reviewers.
We would like to express our regret that you didn't enjoy your holiday as you wished, seen that Festival Le Jardin Hotel is accommodating hundreds of satisfied guests every month. We hope you appreciate our efforts to make your holiday as happy as we can.Concerning your comments which helped us to improove our service,we want to mention that action has been taken against seller on the beach,and more supervision has been implemented about the taxi driver in front of our hotel to make sure that our guests are in safe in our hotel.
Looking forward to welcoming you and esteemed party once again in our hotel, assuring you we will make your holiday an enjoyable and memorable one.

Thanks and best regards

Hotel Management,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

This is hotel was amazin. the staff went out of their way to help you all time so long as you were english. they do not like russians, from the cleaners to bar staf, to hotel rep(Kal) waiters gardeners even the shop staff and the men on beach with their sale stands. beach boys all were amazin.
The food quality was brilliant it was just not much range to choose from on a day to day basis, breakfast was by far the best meal. and yes the russians do not no how to cue but this is where you have to learn not to cue too. Cake was always fresh and fruit was always fresh. if their is food you want and you cant see just ask the staff they will do their best to find it you, by seeing what their sister hotel had. The manager went out o his way to find bananas for us and because he couldn't he took out room number and the next day we had a bowl of fruit delivered to our room.
Cleainliness of the roooms was outstanding evveryday was fresh towels and bedding. Fresh water was also everyday. They cleaners always made me laugh when i come home from a day at the pool to find they had made something out of the towels, the cleaners through the lobby bar were also great although they spoke little english we always took time to say hello how are you and they ensured we were looked after in out stay.
The gardeners were also friendly with a hello and a wave. the security staff made sure that we were well secure and if they thought for one minite you were being hassled by shop staff they would come and see. the receptionist did their upmost to help you with all they could, especially using the foreign currency exchange machine. Bar staff only see your drink nearky finished and would rush to your assistance to get you another drink, this was great service, that makes your holiday extra special. On the beach you have towel boys which are amazin sayed and ali were top class they had our towels and beds ready everyday as off day 2 in the same place to ensure we caught the rays and at lunch time they would mind our goods whilst we went for food. the lads on the stools, alex the sandman and mo the bracelet boy so friendly they didnt push you for a sale they just wanted to be your friend. Waiters in the hotel main restaurant were fun there was reda the magic man he had a different trick every day always had me wondering amr taught me a few different tricks too they used to make me laugh habib taught me to speak arabic which was a great thing to know when in their country. marco was fun to watch juggling too, overall every member off staff in this hotel made the holiday amazin and without these boys in this accomodation i dont think i would of enjoyed qwite as much as i did. i went with my mom dad and little sister all of us enjoyed the whole two week stay, we stilll speak to the staff on skype regularly and we are returning this september.
We didnt use the kids club or the entertainment but people we spoke to really enjoyed, the nightclub on the beach we did and this was good fun. we made our own entertainment each night as the few english that were also here at this time was 15 of us in total i think we are sure to say we entertained the staff oursleves.
This hotel is a defo must go. i hope u enjoy your stay as much as us, egypt as a whole is brilliant so much to see and do and the staff in the hotel will help you eith what ever your needs. and iyou plan to go out using the taxi;s use the taxi from the hotel their price's are good and they are reliable. El gouna is defo a must see too the two lads in the hotel are so knowlagable they really make the trip taht extra specail.
xx

Room Tip: the rooms on the same side as hotel are alot better than the ones across the road having to cross a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank nikki h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We were at this hotel from 27th to 3rd Feb. It was supposed to be a quiet relaxing break for me to get away and de-stress. As other reviewers have pointed out - there are massive cultural differences and expectations of guests which I believe make it difficult to get an accurate picture of what is going on beneath the veneer of very polite, hospitable and accommodating hotel management and staff team. We needed a break from our stresses in the uk and decided to go for a package with TCook. Generally we were impressed with hotel staff when we arrived. We had already read the reviews and worked out there was in issue with Russians (yes they take the fruit, yes they don’t queue and are noisy especially when drunk) and possibly with food. I was happy with variation on food, but being asian I did miss my curries and there was no indian/spicy food in the restaurant. However, that said everying we did eat and the guest passes to the Asian and Italian restaurant were worth attending for the variation. We had no problem with the hotel staff. WE DID HAVE HUGE PROBLEMS WITH THE THOMAS COOK REP - KHALID! We needed to cancel one of three excursions due to my health problems which became aggravated by the Desert Adventure excursion, although quite fun (but nowhere near as good as its promotional information describes, apart from the evening entertainment and food). We notified Khalid on the Monday evening immediately on our return from the Desert Adventure excursion, which according to the TCook policy, which requires us to give 24 hours notice (bearing in mind that the Luxor excursion was scheduled for the Wednesday – you do the maths). Khalid told us to meet him in the morning at 9.30 to discuss our cancellation, which we did. He tried to force us into accepting only 50% refund and gave us some nonsense about needing a hospital report. I agreed to this if TCook agreed to pay for it as my health issues and medical notes information are obviously in the Uk. The main reason for cancellation was a 4.5 hour return journey to Luxor was not going to be something I would relish as I have chronic and acute neck shoulder and upper back problems aggravated by sitting and stress. This was clearly pointed out to the rep Khalid who assumed we were still going to go but with another excursion provider and he was quick to point out that nobody else provides this excursion - grossly presumptious of him. My health was an issue and that was that. We had no intention of going via another group but wanted something which wouldn't aggravate my condition and which would be a bit more relaxing than something that would be spoiled and leave me wiped out for the next day or two and didn’t involve 9 hours of travelling in total in one day which would have been a bit much. I have been to Luxor before and found the sites and tomb visits and Nile trip very enchanting and I would have never have hesitated if it wasn't too far to travel from Hurghada. I encouraged my hubby to go as it is something to see and part of ancient history we wouldn't experience in Hurghada. This was not enough for TCook, despite cancellation not being a problem when Khalid discussed booking excursions in his welcome speech. In total we had three meetings and several discussions from the first discussion on the Monday evening and the matter of a refund took the rep til Wednesday evening to sort out causing us distress, not knowing where we stood and whether we would get our money in Egyption pounds or sterling which by the time it was given – left us with one day to spend it! We involved hotel management because of the appalling service from this rep. Please read on so you are fully aware of what to do if you have similar problems with excursions but that you also understand that Thomas Cook are quick at taking your money but very reluctant in returning it and involving bullying and threatening tactics to put you off getting what is your right.
Hotel management had to be involved as a consequence of Khalid storming off and not concluding our concerns. We were quite within our rights to have a full refund and as a compromise we asked for a suitable alternative of excursions to the value of our 50%. But he did not like the fact that we were insisting that this which should not be an issue as we quoted the excursion brochure where it states in writing that you can cancel your excursion (no real reason is required or at least it does not state this). In fact, in addition nowhere does it state that cancelling would mean a forfeit of 50%. In explaining all this to Khalid he stormed off (accusing us of calling him a liar when we were repeating his words and I made a comment about how difficult it is when excursion information seems to be misleading) He said I am leaving now and I am not a Thomas Cook representative when I walk out of the hotel (?) which on reflection we believe was a get out to behave as he wanted to. He at the same time almost threw a form at me and said here is the complaint form – to which my reply was – I don’t want to complain I just want my money back as is my right and as is what you promised shouldn’t be a problem. As he stormed out of the hotel, with no resolution on this and given we were four days into a seven day holiday by now and wanted to know where we stood with our refund, which obviously we were wanting to spend on gifts and souveniers and eyptian crafts for the home - paying no regard to my hubby's request for him to stop being fussy and me asking for a tCook manager's details, he turned round when he reached his car and shouted at us in a very aggressive inexplicable and unjustified, out of control, manner: ‘You will regret this, believe me, you will regret this’ – he was out of control and I was stood between him and my husband in case he got violent. This was not an overreaction! He was behaving and speaking like a mad man. Many witnesses were present, but we did not want to involve Egyptian locals as they would have probably faced repercussions being as Thomas Cook hold many cards in relation to this hotel. I was very scared but was defiant and tried not to show how worried I was by his behaviour. In my nervousness and attempt to regain some level of dialogue with this very obnoxious individual whose ego had been badly bruised – said to him, we still need to speak with a Thomas cook manager about this – he without turning got into his car and sped off. He treated us with contempt and seemed more concerned about his ego and to prove he somehow was not going to be outsmarted by two british asians who were not having any of his commission based pocket lining attitude re excursion booking and cancelling. We were acutely aware and told him we know and understand the tourist industry very well and how excursions are based on commission for TCook and to not refund us was unfair. The total of our trip to Luxor was £135 and when we booked this we booked with another couple we made good friends with so we asked for a discount from the advertised £150.
We were extremely shocked and upset at this attitude towards us leaving us in limbo. We went to the hotel reception and asked to speak to the manager Mr Ramzy who was involved right from the beginning of our decision to try to cancel this excursion on our return from the Desert Adventure excursion and had advised at the time that Khalid would help to sort this out and there should be no problem. The manager who was on duty at the time of this stage of our saga, was Mr Mohamed who agreed we were within our rights to expect a full refund. He helped us make contact with the emergency tcook service. Vanessa Harding was the person we dealt with who seemed more interested in stating that this was TCook policy as she tried to defend Khalid’s response to our request and behaviour and treatment of us. She said this policy was written to which I corrected her and said it clearly wasn’t. She then told me she had already been contacted by Khalid who had explained to her (his version which was far from the truth) what had happened. I asked her how is this good customer care when she seems not to be interested in his conduct towards us nor resolving this with a full refund. She really didn’t answer this question and it was obvious that they had sorted their versions out and she didn’t seem to understand the incredible distress this whole mess was causing. I told her, at the time of our discussion with Khalid earlier in the day we were wanting to resolve this amicably and did not wish to take up Khalid’s offer of complaining as that was not what we wanted to do and it would just eat into our holiday and cause us more stress and our position was we still believed we were entitled to a refund and wanted this negotiated even still with our offer of a compromise to go on a more suitable excursion. I said given his behaviour and the threat we have decided we would like to complain. She said she would get back to us re alternative excursions and duly did this later with an offer of the same excursion we had already done, Desert Adventure, a quad bike excursion which we deemed unsuitable for the same medical reason and another one which meant we would pay TCook even more money. No feedback was provided regarding the verbal complaint I had made. Mr Mohamed the manager who sat with me whilst I spoke with Vanessa, was very supportive throughout.
We considered the offer and then later went to the management again to ask to convey our response which was a no because of the reasons afore mentioned. We had decided that TCook did not deserve any more of our money and to concentrate on getting our full refund and take whatever they would give us – ie the 50% and then I would produce all my medical information to the UK rep who booked the holiday for us and deal with it this way. We also said we were scared at the threat made and wanted to report this to the police and british embassy officials. We wanted a speedy conclusion to this but this seemed at this stage very far from happening. Mr Ramzy reassured and calmed us and to just enjoy ourselves and not to let this spoil our holiday and he will try to intervene to resolve this and he would convey our message to Tcook.
We decided for this not to take over our whole day and to go out shopping which Mr Ramzy and Mr Mohamed helped us with sorting out our taxi etc. We explained that we were worried as we took the threat by Khalid very seriously and we talked about going to the Police and wanted to talk to British personnel at the British Embassy.
On our return from shopping and catching up with Mr Ramzy on what TCook position was regarding our declining their offer, he informed us that Khalid called him just before he was about to make the call and if we could meet him later in the evening to discuss my medical report, which would enable the refund process. We thought this odd as Mr Ramzy said that Khalid had committed to paying for this which was 60 Euros and he had started the ball rolling with getting this in place. He would talk to us about this in the evening meeting. What was even more odd was that I never once was asked to see anyone in the medical profession to formulate ‘the report’. We went along with this charade and the evening meeting to get the money basically. On meeting him – we were advised by Mr Ramzy that we should all try ‘to start a new page’. I fully agreed (for mine and my husband’s sake and the sake of retaining our sanity) that this was the best approach to move the discussion forward. Notwithstanding that I had told Mr Ramzy we fully expect an apology. This was never provided and the arrogance of Khalid continued when he presented me with a form to fill in and sign – which he said he had asked me to do at the 9.30 meeting (not true at all). I challenged this and said we are ‘on a new page’ and therefore his comments are untrue and unhelpful and I reminded him that he threw a complaint form at me, something which I refused to accept, believing we are in a ‘dialogue’ which should be continued to resolve our refund issue’. Mr Ramzy had to mediate yet again. My husband tried to join the conversation and started by saying – Look, Brother,…….Khalid interjected and firmly told us - I am not your brother, with an inability to recognise it was a figure of speech and the intention was to show respect within the conversation. He was not allowed to finish what he started to say. Having completed the form, which would facilitate the ‘hospital report’(? with me never having spoken to a medical professional) we left the room with an understanding that this would be helpful in obtaining our refund for the excursion. We were then asked to meet Khalid again on Wednesday evening to obtain our refund. We did this only on the condition that hotel management would be present. We got our money, no apology and had one day to spend it in, which we did with relish. So Khalid being the Thomas Cook rep needs to dealt with cautiously when you book excursions. Obviously if you are happy to line the pockets of T Cook for big cuts for their commission then my feedback is irrelevant to you. My advice would be to consider carefully the detail of promoted excursions, ensure you build in leeway for travel which my not be clear when you book so ask the specific questions, ask for details about what happensif you need to cancel and consider your personal circumstances carefully and read the small print to ensure you know your rights. Compare prices with local tour/excursion providers, we regret we didn’t book with local providers, in our usual cautious way and also with T Cook rep Khalid alluding to them not being as safe as they are and they don’t provide the same tour and they T Cook only do some of these tours etc. Don’t take anything for granted and bargain and haggle for a little bit of a discount on all your purchases including and most importantly with Thomas Cook as they are taking away business from locals.
Hotel management are powerless to do anything with russians or thomas cook behaviour as its their business contracts - shame really they need to get on top of some of these issues.

Room Tip: if you want quietness you have to ask/demand it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sham1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I was really impressed when I arrived at the Festival Riviera Hotel grand reception. The porter took me to my room on the fifth floor. The room was nice but I would have to bend at a dangerous angle over the balcony to view the pool and sea views. My room was overlooking the other rooms adjacent. It is a lovely Hotel and I thought that I would do my best to enjoy every moment. My first day at the hotel started really well and as an all inclusive I was pleased with the food in the restaurant. Breakfast was the time of day I enjoyed most and the restaurant had the most beautiful views overlooking the pool and sea.. There is so much breakfast variety. There was a huge variety of tasty breads and rolls, toast, bread and butter pudding, boiled and fried eggs omelette, pancakes, cereal, muesli, cheeses, fruit, yoghurt, sausages, fruit juice, coffee, tea, lentils, dates, potatoes and still lots more. If you wanted fruit you would have to dash before they finished as the Russians used to grab large handfuls to take out of the Hotel
Lunch was very Russian tailored starting with cabbage soup, carrot soup, mashed Swede, potatoes, cabbage, stuffed cabbage, mixed vegetables, beef goulash (beef very hard) chicken and fish. Sadly the menu seemed very much the same every day. I was a bit tired of the food as chicken was the bad end of the wings what normally chefs would regard as rubbish and very little evidence of something meatier. I have been in several Hotels and the Egyptian chefs do not seem to know how to cook beef. The beef dishes were labelled beef stroganoff, beef casserole, beef goulash but they were identical dishes.
Someone mentioned "the Russians", and at the time I thought people were being
unfair about their conceptions but there really is a problem, a BIG PROBLEM
The Festival Riviera had a huge presence of Russian visitors, and a very noisy presence.
Day one I could not sleep as there were several groups drinking until 4 am within
the grounds and actually several people made requests to have their rooms changed as the noise
and drunkard behaviour disturbed many of the guests.. Day 2 . I was a little startled to hear the fire alarm repeatedly go off as I discovered one of the Russians in his drunken state had been in his room playing music at a high pitched sound, drinking and smoking his shisha which caused a fire Day 3 . during the early hours of the morning my sleep was disturbed by a crashing and aggressive sounds coming from the next door bedroom. I discovered the next morning the beautiful wooden door had been violently kicked down by the Russian man as he had lost his door key. Every day, Russian ladies with no shame just jumped the queues in restaurants and would stare through you with such arrogance
Day 6. I do not know what caused the riot but more than 300 Egyptian men came
into the street including quite a lot of Hotel staff who all congregated in front of
the Hotel as a handful of taxi drivers were fighting. There were no police
presence and the army came about 2 hours into the incident. Then they just took a
sideline and did not interfere. However the Hotel acted responsibly and closed
the Hotel doors to protect their guests. The large groups were just watching with some minor scuffles in the crowd.
Then the Hotel owner who was not at the Hotel suddenly arrived and appeared to be very furious that his staff had abandoned their posts and demanded that all his staff return back to their work stations
A handful of staff had not left the Hotel and spoke of wishing to stay with the guests to protect them and they were bewildered that some of their friends had left the Hotel forgetting about the guests.

I had taken this holiday to recuperate from a serious illness and thought by choosing a Hotel far from the towns that it would be more peaceful but the entire holiday was interrupted with the loud drunken behaviour from the Russians which went on most nights until 05am. The cleaning staff seemed overworked and my towels were never changed once and I genuinely do not think the staff were lazy, I really think they were exhausted by the extra cleaning duties involved with cleaning up after fuel filled Russians. Reception staff were lovely too but almost every day they were confronted by aggressive guests from Russia for whatever reason.
In reflection the Hotel was lovely, the staff are good and obliging. The kitchen staff were kind and tried in every way to please us. I felt sorry for the Chefs as they could cook but they seemed to be restricted to a tight budget and had quite bad quality products to make a meal. Kitchens staff were hard working and lovely and were very very good towards the English and also tried to intervene when they saw Russians jumping the queues. I saw some reviews that they thought we were being petty, no not at all. I can enjoy myself in a 1 star Hotel but I was exposed to quite a lot of dangerous incidents purely as a result of careless Russians. There were Lithuanians and Polish and they too complained of their Russian neighbours
I discussed my issues with another Russian and he said it was caused by hungry younger generation Russians having a chance of a lifetime holiday with sun and never ending alcohol on the ALL INCLUSIVE DEALS. Even though the weather was not hot this year the fair skinned holiday makers had complexions like beetroot as they were not used to the sun.
I want to add that my issue was not against Russian people more issues with the younger generation Russians who loose control with their alcohol consumption and their lack of manners.




.

Room Tip: Avoid a room which overlooks the pool and outdoor bar as it can be very loud as sounds travel upward...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank egyptiandreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.5 mi away
Panorama Bungalows Aqua Park Hurghada
5.4 mi away
Sea Star Beau Rivage
Sea Star Beau Rivage
#22 of 222 in Hurghada
872 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hawaii Riviera Aqua Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hawaii Le Jardin Aqua Park Resort
0.0 mi away
AMC Royal Hotel
AMC Royal Hotel
#69 of 222 in Hurghada
290 reviews
0.8 mi away
Movie Gate Golden Beach Hotel
Movie Gate Golden Beach Hotel
#130 of 222 in Hurghada
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Festival Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Festival Riviera

Property: Festival Riviera
Address: km 11 Ahiaa Rd - North Hurghada, Hurghada 249, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#81 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#87 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#117 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawaii Riviera Aqua Park Resort Hurghada is a beautifully situated resort 20 km north of Hurghada International Airport, 15 km from the city center and 10 km from El-Gouna. The resort has been built on 5 floors in an area of 25.000 M2. The resort is composed on two clusters the Seaside and the club side linked together with an underground connection. The resort is designed to fulfill all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Festival Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Festival Riviera Hotel Hurghada
Festival Riviera Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing