We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very poooooooor”
Review of Old Palace Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Palace Resort
Ranked #55 of 221 Hotels in Hurghada
Reviewed 6 April 2012

the worst hotel in hurghada . just one restaurant very bad food no variates in dishes . Reception sell the same rooms by extra supplementary and show the rooms first in order to cheat us . standard is the same of sea view but they just want to make money from free.

Room Tip: Rooms looking in the small pool in the right wing in the best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sergy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, Front Office Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear Mr. Sergy K,

Good day from the Old Palace Resort

We would like to thank you very much for the valuable time you have dedicated to write your comments about your stay lately in our hotel and let us express our regret to your good self for the inconveniences you have mentioned in these comments. However, it is a great opportunity for us to trace and recover any eventual weaknesses we might be encountering. Meanwhile, we do believe that the mentioned incidents resulted from some unusual shortfalls and do not really express how our service truly is.

At The Old Palace Resort, we always give a great attention to any comments or concerns raised by our valuable guests and take them on the highest serious levels. Therefore, we have thoroughly investigated all incidents reported by your good self, and we have immediately taken the necessary corrective actions.

Regarding your comment about the food, we intend to update the rotating themes buffet in order to satisfy all tastes of our guest. And regarding the room, please be informed that the only difference between the standard room and the superior room is the view. The standard rooms are overlooking the garden only, while the superior rooms are overlooking the sea. So they are not sold at the same price.

Again the Hotel Management is expressing its regret for the occurrence of any
incidents that caused your dissatisfaction. Although, this stay in the Old Palace Resort did not meet your satisfaction, we sincerely hope that such experience will not deter you from returning
to our resort in the future. So we are looking forward to welcoming you again on many
more occasions very soon. Furthermore, if you would be so kind as to contact us the next time you book our hotel. We will do our best to ensure that your stay is as pleasant and enjoyable as you may wish.




Thank You & Best Regards,
Sherif Sabry
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,030 - 1,036 of 1,573 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed for a week, all inclusive, and had the best vacation ever. The hotel was beautiful and very clean. The staff incredibly friendly and the food was Excellent, even though it gets a bit boring after a while. But the variety of dishes were good. The service was great

Room Tip: There are a few tables in a room with a view to the sea,Very Good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Nico L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

My wife and I wanted a peaceful week at the beach, and that's what we got. Hotel Old Palace have a wonderful beach with available sun loungers and parasols for all, at least when we visited them in mid March, We didn't want to struggle too much to find food so we ordered "all inclusive" at the Hotel. The food on the buffet was not at the level we have seen in Egypt at other "all inclusive" Hotels but the food in the "a la carte" menu was very good. The snacks served between the meals was also very disappointing. We didn't try out the drinks based on local brands but the beer was good and especially when I got it served by bottle in a chiller at the beach by a very service minded bar keeper in the pool bar. We also experienced that air condition in March, is not a priority in Egypt, We would like to lower the temperature at night but that was not possible. However, our complaints about that, led to attention from the management which really wanted us to have a good time and was constantly asking if everything was OK and if there was something they could do for us. The building is very nice and the room was OK although the bed was extremely hard. We were actually surprised we could sleep that well in a bed so much harder than the one we have at home.Very good possibility for jogging and walking along the beach although a little strange with so many hotels and buildings under construction. The staff was mostly nice and not too eager to get tips (with a few exceptions).The sellers in the Hotel and on the beach became a little too much at times. Weather was mostly nice, a little clouded one day and the wind in mid March can be quite cold but the temperature in the water was apx. 23 degrees so that’s fine for a Norwegian.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aage_hansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

I was travelling alone in December 2010, main purpose of my trip was diving, so I did not spend my days at the resort, only mornings and evenings. The resaurant is located in a funny space, in a corridor, not at all cosy. There are a few tables in a room with a view to the sea, and I learned to come for dinner 19:15 or later to get a table from there. The food is quite ok, there is a lot to choose from especially in breads and sallads and deserts. The drinks are very poor, beer was warm and wine not very much to say about, juices neither. However most customers seemed happy with the selection, most customers coming from Russia. Beach is great.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Apollo
3  Thank EjaHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2010

We stayed for a week, all inclusive, and had the best vacation ever. The hotel was beautiful and very clean. The staff incredibly friendly and the food was good, even though it gets a bit boring after a while. But the variety of dishes were good. The service was great and the beds were comfortable (if you like hard beds). The A/C did not work but as we travelled in the winter we had no problem with that. The beach was clean and it was perfect to spend the days with the children there as they easily could get in and out of the water by them selves. There was nice sun chairs and parasols for free (both at the beach and at the pool) We really enjoyed staying at this vacation spot and would definitely like to go back!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catharina002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

We visited this resort in September. The hotel is not 5 *. It is 100% confirmed food in the hotel and the smell in the hallways. Not very good food. Normal rooms. Beach excellent. Animation usual standard for Egypt. We paid $ 600 for the hotel with flight - so we liked the hotel. But if you book for 1500 $ - it is not worth the money. Internet cost 4 dollars for 30 min.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank segas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

We stayed in December and were lucky with the weather.
Positive sides:
Beautiful beach and nicely organized
Excellent swimming pools for those who need them but the main one is really cold.
Good looking hotel from the outside.
Negatives:
Service is too bad, rooms are not clean properly and the staff touched our belongings.
Horrible inattentive service in the buffet, the food is just to avoid starvation.
Beware of restaurants! You can get food poisoning.
Beware of the hotel bars, you can wait forever to get served, even if you tip them.
The check in/check service out , or rather lack of service, is is appalling. The staff tries to extort money under any occasion.
People offering massage don't let you to relax on the beach bugging you every 10 minutes.
If the beach and the sea your priority you can go there. Don't expect decent service and food.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HenryCToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
7.7 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#31 of 221 in Hurghada
2,718 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Premier Romance Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
#23 of 221 in Hurghada
3,908 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
1.8 mi away
Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh
Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh
#27 of 221 in Hurghada
3,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Palace Resort

Address: Sahl Hasheesh | Red Sea, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#50 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range: £20 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Palace Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Palace Hotel Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing