We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect to unwind”
Review of Old Palace Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Palace Resort
Ranked #50 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Reviewed 16 March 2014

ok well let me just start with this was our first trip to Egypt and didn't know what to expect Thomas cook airlines asked everyone for correct change on the flight and we used all we had then when we got to airport you have to pay for a visa that we didn't know and it was £13pp correct money only as no change given well we only had a £20 note and a £10 note because Thomas cook had taken all the change which I think they do on purpose. So it cost us £30 to get out two visas not a good start. We then followed everyone outside to find our transfer to hotel nobody knew where me and my partner should go and we got sent back and forth quite a few times which was a little scary at times, we then got on our coach and man stood blocking steps with his hand out demanding cash to get on, we didn't have any change and he started to get mad until an English couple said we come every year you don't have to give him anything and moved him out of way, these are things I think you should know before you travel.
Anyway we drove to our hotel and the long drive to it looks well pretty flowers and carvings etc. we got inside and was greeted with a warm welcome and seated in the beautiful lobby and given a drink till we got checked in, we then got shown to our room and bags would be brought in a while our room was right above outdoor stage where animation team do there thing everyday not that we were that bothered just shut doors if we didn't want to listen to it. This is a five star hotel and I expected the rooms to be a lot better than they were the shower above the bath was rusty the grout needed re doing big chunky TV on top of dresser tea making tray no where near a plug etc. I think the rooms are tired and desperately need updating don't get me wrong they were clean just old fashioned which is a shame as when you look round the rest of the hotel inside and out you get the wow factor and defiantly looks 5 star. The food was fantastic always well presented plenty of choice for everyone's taste catered for. Then we get to the staff all I can say is what amazing people they are they cant do enough for you and are a credit to the hotel the guys behind the pool bar near the beach were a pleasure to know for a week sheriff is a great guy and was always trying to learn new phrases. The entertainment is a real disappointment the animation team would be best suited working with the under 5 year olds kids club we found it childish insulting and like I say we were so disappointed after a nice meal would of been nice to sit outside and watch a live band or even listen to music ANYTHING BUT THEM to be honest they were painful and we spent quite a few evenings in our room watching TV with some cans of larger we had to buy from bar. We paid for all inclusive and feel that all inclusive should be just that but you have to pay extra for too many things you can upgrade your wristband for $10pp per night which gets you a fruit basket in your room everyday and 30 mins free Wi-Fi every day in lobby and drinks after 11pm we felt we had paid enough already and Wi-Fi should be included in this day and age. So after all this the question I always ask is would you go there again and the answer to that is without a doubt YES we had a fantastic time and the staff put up with all the rude Russians and Germans and believe me they were flipping rude and yet they still go about there jobs with smiles on there faces so well done guys x And last but not least the beach is beautiful clean and shallow sea with pretty corals and amazing colourful fish so take your snorkelling things as the shop in the hotel is expensive and we got charged way to much for the few things we bought the guy who calls himself Dave tells you one price and charges you another don't be fooled by his over friendliness. The manager of the hotel is a lovely guy who was always seen round about and was a helpful friendly chap

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank findingnemo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Good day from the Old Palace Resort

We would like to thank you very much for the valuable time you have dedicated to write your comments about your stay lately in our hotel. It was a privilege to host you at the Old Palace Resort.

Many thanks for your decent compliments and the very constructive criticism, which will motivate us to maintain and further improve the quality of our services.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest at our property, and we wish you all the best.

Thank You & Best Regards,


Sherif Sabry
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,464)
There are newer reviews for Old Palace Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

848 - 854 of 1,467 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

The Old Palace is a good four star hotel but not a five star hotel. We stayed there at the end of February/beginning of March for 10 days.
The weather was excellent for seven days with overcast skies on three days (not really part of the review but may be of use)
There is a buffet & an a-la carte restaurant. The buffet was excellent with all the food put out in small serving dishes & replenished as required (there is also a bar-b-que & pasta station in the evening & pasta & salad station at lunch)
The food was so good that we only bothered with the a-la-carte restaurant on one night!
We were in one of chalet rooms a large room with big patio, 47inch TV & sofa but not quite a suite.
The room had two queen size beds, a bath & separate shower, plenty of hanging space, iron & ironing board (which did not get used), tea making facilities, Fridge & water.
We were given plenty of shampoo but had to ask for replacement bubble bath & body lotion!
If you like beer, there is only one bar with draught beer, the other two bars serve beer from bottles, which never seem to be cold.
The local AI spirits are terrible & all have a strange taste that bears no resemblance to normal Gin or Vodka. If you are going to this hotel, take your spirits with you.
There is a large unheated pool & small heated pool with a large Jacuzzi. This small pool attracts a large number of Children so can be very loud
If you want a sunbed on the beach with a sun shade your towels have to be on the beds by 7.00am latest.
There is a limited bar service on the beach but limited.
There are a number of hotel sellers who patrol sun beds trying to sell massage services, water sports & trips. These are OK on the first days but as holiday progresses, you get fed up. You can get a 'do not disturb' sign, but these are often ignored.
There is Wi-Fi in all the rooms & it is fairly quick but the hotel charges $5.00 for thirty minutes or $65.00 for a week. Normally this is free in the common areas (I think this is a rip off)
There is an animation team, but they were limited by lack of participation by guests.
There is a large block paved promenade all along the beach & a good trip is to take a golf buggy or bike & look at the other hotels.
If anybody is worried about traveling here with the 'troubles' don't be. To get into Sahl Hasheesh there is a complex security gate & more barriers to get into hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a chalet room
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Geoffrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen Old Palace Resort to spend your Holiday and we highly appreciate your valuable time, spent to write your constrictive comments & Feedback, which are seriously considered, on your stay lately with us.

It was also our pleasure to welcome you to GM reception dinner on the 27th of Feb and we regret our being unlucky to receive your comments during this event or afterwards at any stage of your stay, as we are keen to establish a direct contacts with our guests concerning anything that we can do to serve them better, to recover any drawback immediately and to make sure their holiday is as enjoyable as they may wish.

Thank you Once again and please feel free to communicate any further comments, ideas or suggestions directly to the General Manager via e-mail onto khaled.fathy@oldpalaceresort.com.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again in the nearest future.

Best Regards

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed at the hotel for one week.
It was a very high standard throughout. Our room had a garden and sea view and was very clean. The food was great with lots of choice, the omelette man was excellent.
The beach and pool area were very good with a coral reef to snorkel right in front of the hotel. If you walked to the right or left there was lots of other sea life too.
The Entertainment Team tried really hard morning and night and as the hotel is in a quieter area we were glad to watch the various acts each evening. The Senzo shopping is quite near too which has quite a few western shops.
In summary the hotel is of a very good standard it has excellent staff and I would recommend highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inky94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Good day from the Old Palace Resort

We would like to thank you very much for the valuable time you have dedicated to write your comments about your stay lately in our hotel. It was a privilege to host you at the Old Palace Resort.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest at our property, and we wish you all the best.

Thank You & Best Regards,


Sherif Sabry
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Our first time to Egypt and The Old Palace Resort, stayed late Feb and early March, we found Mr Tamer Hasheen and Mr Sherif Sabry to be running a brilliant staff and hotel. Everyone smiling and courteous at all times, working tirelessly for our comfort. Everywhere spotlessly clean. The food was excellent and catered for a wide variety of tastes, the 'waiting-on' staff were so friendly and helpful. Ideal for a relaxing holiday, but activities and trips available for those that wanted. Brilliant spa on site, which we chose to use on the first day which set us up for a relaxing time :) The shop on site run by David offered a good selection of gifts and beach accessories and we had fun 'bartering' with him. Samuel provided much needed relief and help with various oils and perfumes and stunning papyrus paintings. We have recommended this hotel to so many people since our holiday for the sheer attentiveness of the staff, the food,the comfort of the hotel overall the location on a lovely horseshoe bay and before I forget, the wall to wall sunshine! We met some lovely people there and are eagerly looking forward to a return visit later in the year.:o)

Room Tip: We stayed in a chalet 4011, verandah overlooking small pool, nice and quiet, sun in the morning. Bed...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisandvalwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Good day from the Old Palace Resort

We would like to thank you very much for the valuable time you have dedicated to write your comments about your stay lately in our hotel. It was a privilege to host you at the Old Palace Resort.

Many thanks for your decent compliments, which will motivate us to maintain and further improve the quality of our services.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest at our property, and we wish you all the best.

Thank You & Best Regards,


Sherif Sabry
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Hubby and I have just had a week of total relaxation to recharge our batteries in a hotel that is certainly clean, friendly and wants to please its guests.
Reception check in is smooth and quick with a welcome drink.
Transfer to room with bags is again a friendly transition
We had been upgraded to a sea view junior suite - very pleasing
Room topped up with 2 litre bottle water for free each day - mini fridge available
Complimentary bathroom toiletries - shower gel, shampoo and moisturiser topped up daily too
Large LG TV with 3 film channels and 3 news channels all in English
Main pool unheated but smaller heated pool if you wish and you can always dip safely in the sea as a life guard stationed
Good variety of buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner with snacks in pool bar and lobby at designated times with afternoon ice cream - staff will try and address all requests politely made
Al inclusive drinks were all local soft and spirits - international available at a charge
The staff are keen to please and would be unfair to single anyone out from housekeeping to waiters to animation - did notice some guests tipped as they went along but we tipped certain staff at the end of our stay
Animation team did present a daily programme of exercise, games, dancing or evening entertainment - lobby, pool bar or down stairs disco. Not intrusive.
Sellers did circulate daily to advertise the spa and water sports but a firm friendly no meant you did not get a repeated hard sell.
Interesting thunderstorm with some areas of flooding - next day no signs of its effects and tidy up by whole of staff meant holiday stay not marred
Agree some areas of decor require an update / attention to detail but cleanliness cannot be faulted
Walk or electric car or cycle along bay promenade shows you still an area of potential growth. Shops and water sports / excursions available along the promenade
We enjoyed the winter sun relaxation and would recommend a stay with this hotel and its team
A big thank you!

Room Tip: We were lucky with an upgrade - these are available at a small daily charge. Suggest you chat to the...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 26ef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Good day from the Old Palace Resort

We would like to thank you very much for the valuable time you have dedicated to write your comments about your stay lately in our hotel. It was a privilege to host you at the Old Palace Resort.

Many thanks for your decent compliments, which will motivate us to maintain and further improve the quality of our services.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest at our property, and we wish you all the best.

Thank You & Best Regards,


Sherif Sabry
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

People at the top of sophistication and ethics in dealing with guests either inside the restaurant or at the reception
.Mr. Shreif and Mr. Hassan are a very honorable faces
I was happy to spent for this conference in the old palace hotel and, of course, if I had the
opportunity to spend a vacation i would not hesitate to choose the old palace again
.Really thanks for everybody there

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marymikhail39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Good day from the Old Palace Resort

We would like to thank you very much for the valuable time you have dedicated to write your comments about your stay lately in our hotel. It was a privilege to host you at the Old Palace Resort.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest at our property, and we wish you all the best.

Thank You & Best Regards,


Sherif Sabry
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

my wife &i havejust returned from a10 holiday. everything about the hotel is excellentr staff from the gardiners to management are always polite &helpfull
foodwas always excellent &varied
to sum up do not hesitate BOOK IT NOW youwont regret it

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chuffed2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Good day from the Old Palace Resort

We would like to thank you very much for the valuable time you have dedicated to write your comments about your stay lately in our hotel. It was a privilege to host you at the Old Palace Resort.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest at our property, and we wish you all the best.

Thank You & Best Regards,


Sherif Sabry
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Romance Boutique Hotel and Spa
8.6 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#45 of 222 in Hurghada
2,319 reviews
6.9 mi away
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
#21 of 222 in Hurghada
3,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh
Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh
#32 of 222 in Hurghada
3,306 reviews
1.2 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
0.7 mi away
Pyramisa Sahl Hasheesh Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Palace Resort

Address: Sahl Hasheesh | Red Sea, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#5 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#45 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range: £29 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Palace Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Old Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Palace Hotel Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing