We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not quite 5*”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Palace Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Palace Resort
Ranked #46 of 221 Hotels in Hurghada
preston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not quite 5*”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel the first 2 weeks in June. First impressions upon arrival were great. The hotel entrance was lovely and the staff very welcoming. We stayed in a chalet room which was modern and very spacious so no complaints here.
The staff throughout the hotel were excellent and really made a difference to our stay. The first week of our stay was really busy and a we struggled to find sun beds round the pool. However the life guard always managed to sort this out for us.
There are only 2 bars. One by the pool and one in the lobby. There is a night club which opens at 11 but I never ventured in. I do feel the hotel needs another bar or 2. It can get quite monotonous and if there was entertainment at the pool bar unless you get there early you will not get a seat.
There are only limited dining options. The main buffet restaurant, an Italian and snacks mid morning by the pool. Although there is a lot of variety in the buffet restaurant the food is very bland with little or no seasoning. We did go to the Italian a few times as this was much better.
I am a cocktail lover so have to say the cocktails were terrible. Unfortunately so were the house spirits and my partner kept having to ask for cold beer. The red wine was ok though.
On the whole for a 5* hotel I would expect premium spirits and more dining options, hence I don't think it's quite there yet. However I cannot praise the staff enough.


Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank swannyPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Good day from the Old Palace Resort

We would like to thank you very much for the valuable time you have dedicated to write your comments about your stay lately in our hotel. Your comments are highly appreciated and seriously considered. I regret that our star rating did not meet your expectation and I would like to comment on the following:

- The hotel features four bars, 1 lobby bar, 2 swimming pool bars and 1 oriental bar.
- Food is lightly seasoned to suit all tastes, special needs and children. Extra spices corner is provided on the buffet.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest at our property, and we wish you all the best.

Thank You & Best Regards,

Sherif Sabry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    973
    264
    81
    22
    9
See reviews for
382
623
57
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Spent a week at the hotel in June after being on a Nile cruise. We arrived very late at night after the restaurant had closed, the night manager took us to the restaurant where we had a hot three course meal. There was a mix up over the room booking and was up graded to a suite, Cannot fault the staff nothing was too much and they were all friendly and polite. The rooms throughout the hotel are spacious and beautifully decorated and have tea and coffee making facilities in all bedrooms. It was my first time in an AI hotel the food and drinks were very good. The building was spotless. There is entertainment every evening. Sahl Hasheesh is a very new beautifully designed 5* gated resort and very different from other Egyptian resorts. There are no touts. It is 20km from the center of Hurghada and there is no public transport. It is perfect for a get away from it all relaxing hassle free holiday. Would go back

Room Tip: Phone the hotel and discuss your requirements even if it part of a package holiday. the staff all sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarbieLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Good day from the Old Palace Resort

We would like to thank you very much for the valuable time you have dedicated to write your comments about your stay lately in our hotel. It was a privilege to host you at the Old Palace Resort.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest at our property, and we wish you all the best.

Thank You & Best Regards,


Sherif Sabry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel is definitely 5*+. We were amazed at the comfortable mini suite which had a large flat screen tv. and a comfy sofa and chair. There was a brilliant double balcony which was ideal for sun and shade and had wonderful views of the sea and gardens. The staff were always anxious to serve you, and with a smile. The food was extremely good, and there was lots of choice. There was food at the pool bar if you didn't want to leave your sunbed for lunch, or if you missed your breakfast. The beach is quite large and had plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas. The whole of the hotel and outside areas are kept extremely clean. Although we didn't have children with us, we were aware that staff played games and happily occupied other visitors kids in a children's house and enclosure with a playground. If you want to be away from the busy tourist centre of Hurghada, yet near enough to visit it, and to stay in a luxury hotel, then the Old Palace Resort would be ideal for you. This was our second visit and certainly won't be the last.

Room Tip: The higher floors on the main building, have fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank perine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Good day from the Old Palace Resort

We would like to thank you very much for the valuable time you have dedicated to write your comments about your stay lately in our hotel. It was a privilege to host you at the Old Palace Resort.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest at our property, and we wish you all the best.

Thank You & Best Regards,


Sherif Sabry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

me and my husband have just come home from a holiday at this hotel, dont know what to say first really ,our room so lovely and so clean,,, all staff so helpful could not do enough for you, and big hi to the staff at the pool bar,who came to us and so we never moved off our sun loungers, the food was some of the best we have ever had in our holidays to egypt, great clean pools the beach so clean ,with all that you need, yes its a big hotel, but you are made to feel like your staying in a small family hotel,will be def going back for christmas/new year.anything we wanted to know or go out for the day,mr khaled the hotel GM.was very helpful,.we have come home feeling like we have had such i nice chilled holiday,

Room Tip: the outside rooms by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank WalesSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Good day from the Old Palace Resort

We would like to thank you very much for the valuable time you have dedicated to write your comments about your stay lately in our hotel. It was a privilege to host you at the Old Palace Resort.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest at our property, and we wish you all the best.

Thank You & Best Regards,


Sherif Sabry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just returned from a weeks break booked through Travel Republic.
Firstly the airport, this would be the only reason that I would not consider returning, chaos from arrival to departure. It is a total free for all upon arrival with no organised queues for visas or passport control. The Russians have no regard for anyone in a queue. It took us a total of 2 hrs from landing to getting into the transport to the hotel.
Upon arrival everything was fine, a three course meal was made for us at 11.30pm which was not expected at all.
Hotel is well laid out and very clean, rooms spacious and well laid out. Buffet restaurant has a good choice of food but again the Russians spoil the experience totally, they are rude and inconsiderate. We ate in the Italian/Seafood restaurant which was lovely, food excellent and staff very accommodating.
Drinks are ok but spirits definitely not what they say on the bottle. I only found a Pina Colada tasted as it should, beer is fine as is the red wine.
The hotel could definitely do with another bar both inside the hotel and outside, there really isn't enough with 2 bars for the whole hotel.
The snacks at lunch need improving at the outside bar, otherwise the only option is the buffet restaurant, which we couldn't stand twice a day.
No free Wi-Fi which was very poor, with the only option being a $5 a day or $25 a week charge for ONE device, unacceptable in this day and age. Needs to be free in lobby and chargeable elsewhere.
All in all if you get this hotel at a cheap enough deal go for it for a week but there are a few improvements that will make it so much better

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Holidaymaker9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Good day from the Old Palace Resort

We would like to thank you very much for the valuable time you have dedicated to write your comments about your stay lately in our hotel. It was a privilege to host you at the Old Palace Resort.

Your comments are highly appreciated and seriously considered. We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest at our property, and we wish you all the best.

Thank You & Best Regards,


Sherif Sabry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Just got back from 10 day stay here. Staff are outstanding and do everything they can for you. We were extremely impressed with the manager who made himself available and visible every day. The rooms are clean and tidy, basic old tv but who would watch tv with the Red Sea on your doorstep?! The food is ok, the Italian restaurant lovely (charged with one free sitting per stay) the local red, white and rose wines are fine as is the beer. Some great snorkelling just outside the hotel beach (turn right on the promenade). As some other people suggest go to the restaurant late to avoid the major rush. The only negative thing I have to say is the Russian guests are extremely rude (about 75% Russian when we stayed here), they push and never say please or thank you. I had a neutral opinion before this holiday but it is the only thing that would put me off coming again. Loading plates of food in the restaurant and not eating it, speaking so rudely to the staff with no pleases or thanks. There was a big problem with them reserving all the sunbeds but while we were there the manager sent around a notice to say reserving sun beds would not be allowed and to his credit personally enforced it by standing out there from 5.30am removing towels!
This is a lovely hotel perfect for couples and amazing weather and location. I'd definitely recomend a sunset quad bike trip which was stunning, would NOT recommend a snorkel trip (over crowded and not worth the money, better snorkelling off your own beach!)
If you don't mind Russians this is a perfect hotel, amazing staff and grounds are immaculate. We were also very impressed with the security and felt very safe. If you venture out a trip to the Marina in Hurgada is a decent evening. There is not much nightlife to speak of, this is more a chill out holiday so if your looking for bars and clubs you may want to rethink as there arent really any!
Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Good day from the Old Palace Resort

We would like to thank you very much for the valuable time you have dedicated to write your comments about your stay lately in our hotel. It was a privilege to host you at the Old Palace Resort.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest at our property, and we wish you all the best.

Thank You & Best Regards,


Sherif Sabry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We spent a very pleasant week here during May. At that time the hotel seemed fairly quiet and you could always get a bed by one of the pools – I would expect that during peak season it may be a different story. The hotel sits in its own extensive grounds around the middle of a large bay among several other hotels – some completed, some in progress. It’s located several miles south of Hurghada about 45 minutes transfer from the airport. There is a promenade running the full length of the bay with some tourist shops, the odd restaurant/bar, ATMs etc. You can hire bikes by the hour to look around.

The hotel has two pools, a smaller quieter one and a larger one next to the beach – both have bars with the larger one serving snacks. The grounds are well manicured as the owners take care to make sure it keeps its clean and fresh look.

Meals are served in a large dining room which has some limited outside tables. There is lots of choice so you should be able to find something you like, as the guests are from various locations don't expect British food all the time. There is also an a-la carte restaurant where you are entitled to one meal but you buy drinks.

We had a ground floor chalet room which looks to be a good choice and well worth the extra cost. They are near the smaller pool, large with a modern bathroom, air con, verandah, large TV and fridge – bottled water is provided daily. The only down side was two queen sized beds – each being a bit of a squash for two people.

Out in the bay there are lots of tropical fish hanging around several coral sites, if you go a little further out or either side of the hotel the coral is less damaged and a lot better. There is a jetty with an extension that once had a short rail track and crane which has collapsed – there are lots of fish and coral around this, it’s quite spectacular.

We did a couple of trips; a submarine which is a real submarine from Hurghada harbour taking about 40 people out in the sea (they transfer you to the start point out in the sea first). The view wasn’t quite as good as I hoped it would be but hey – it’s a real submarine ! We also had a full day snorkeling where the boat went to a private part of an island for lunch by the beach plus snorkeling both off the beach and then out at sea near a large coral formation – lots of tropical fish and coral to see.

A warning about Hurghada airport. As you step off the bus into the arrivals hall you are met with chaos. You need a visa to enter and every-man-and-his-dog is trying to sell you one. There are desks half way down with various tour operator names listed – you may see yours, there are lots of people trying to sell you one as you make your way there (not sure if they are legal or not) plus a bank in a corner which I am told also sells them. Prices seemed to vary depending upon the currency you offer and I think we ended up paying #50 for two. Then it’s the long slow queue to get through passport control.

Returning is no better. For security your bags are scanned before entering the check in area. Good idea and I’ve seen it work well at other airports. Unfortunately Hurghada airport has implemented it hopelessly with just had one entrance open with two machines serving every flight. Result: a huge queue (more like a scrum) of people trickling through the entrance with hundreds of people massed in the entrance hall. The only saving grace is that once you’re finally through the queue at the check in desk is small and the airport is all shiny and modern.

Overall we had a great time and loved the hotel - its what you make of it. I have seen lots of previous people complain about ‘the Russians’ and sadly a lot of it is true but just work around any problems and relax by the pool/sea enjoying endless food and drink in the hot sun.

Final tip – take US dollars as the local economy craves it. You get best prices (lots of things priced in USD) and the best attention when they see you getting it out.

Room Tip: Pick a chalet room, good rooms in a good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank julianp-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANAGEMENTOLDPALACE, Manager at Old Palace Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Good day from the Old Palace Resort

We would like to thank you very much for the valuable time you have dedicated to write your comments about your stay lately in our hotel. It was a privilege to host you at the Old Palace Resort.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest at our property, and we wish you all the best.

Thank You & Best Regards,


Sherif Sabry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Romance Boutique Hotel and Spa
4.4 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
1.6 mi away
Sensimar Premier Le Reve
Sensimar Premier Le Reve
#2 of 221 in Hurghada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh
Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh
#33 of 221 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,900 reviews
1.2 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
0.7 mi away
Pyramisa Sahl Hasheesh Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Palace Resort

Property: Old Palace Resort
Address: Sahl Hasheesh | Red Sea, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#43 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Palace Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Palace Hotel Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing