We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”
Review of Jaz Aquamarine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Jaz Aquamarine
Ranked #30 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Just want to say what a stunning looking hotel, the staff are very friendly and will bend over backwards to help you, the food was ok and they have 4 Al a carte restaurants which 3 are very nice but the Lebanese was not to our liking. The pools are lovely and so many to choose from. The beach is not all that great and really let's it down. The entertainment is something to be improved and really let the hotel down. I travelled with my husband and two sons who are 18 and 21 they enjoyed the hotel but said at night it was not for them. X

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kazy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquamarineGM, General Manager at Jaz Aquamarine, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Jaz Aquamarine to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. We are extremely committed to delivering the perfect holiday experience for each and every guest and would like to thank you for your valued feedback and are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay.
We note your comments about the entertainment but would remind you that this described in the brochure as “low key”.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back again.

Hany Gamal Eldin
Hurghada Area Manager.
Jaz Aquamarine Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,855)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,894 - 2,900 of 6,855 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed for 11 days at the start of July. We had an absolutely fab time with very hot weather. Which is just what we were looking for. The hotel complex is absolutely huge but clean everywhere we went.

Check in was easy and our bags were taken to our rooms no problem.

We found sun beds everyday and didn't have to get up early and put towels out to do it. The towel borrowing system worked very well so you can change it everyday if you want to.

Our house keeper was very friendly (I'm sure partly because he wanted a good tip) but he gave us extra water everyday for free. And the towel art was a fun extra.

We tried all the restaurants, a la carte and the buffet style ones. We also tried all of the snack places available throughout the day. They had a range of food and drinks.

The buffet restaurants were fine. Lots of choice but the main one got very very busy at times. The four corners one was basically the same but much smaller and not as busy. There wasn't any problems with the food at all. Easy option and loads to chose from.

The a la carte ones were fine to book. We managed to go to three of them and two of those we went to twice. They were all great. Fantastic variety of food and you can have more than one starter/main/dessert if you wanted.

Just a couple of cons to do with the a la carte restaurants unfortunately, and these were the only cons of the whole trip. The Lebanese one was hard to sit in for a long time as it was in straw roofed building with only one fan and it was so so hot. Almost too hot to eat there. We went twice because we thought the first time we may have been wrong, but we weren't. It was a shame because the food was so very good.

There is a strict rule about shorts and flip flops for men in the a la carte restaurants but it is only stuck to in some/by some of the waiters which was quite annoying. My partner was asked to change when he turned up in smart shorts to the Italian restaurant and when he went back to change they allowed at least three other people in who were wearing shorts. When I questioned the manager he was at first quite rude and denied that he had let them in. He then went to look around and when he clearly saw there were people with shorts on he said that if the shorts were on or below the knees then they were fine to wear. I don't see how this is right. Im happy to adhere to a no shorts rule but not happy if they aren't sticking to it at all times. There needs to be consistency. After this experience we made sure my partner always wore trousers but we did see a number of people come to both the Chinese and Lebanese restaurants wearing shorts and they were allowed in.

The pools we're great. So many to choose from. The water slides were fun. Even for grown ups.

Evening entertainment was so/so but there are so many places to sit and enjoy you don't end to watch it. We enjoyed sitting in the seating area having a shisha. If your nice to the guys working they will bring drinks to you.

We went on three trips while were were there. Boat trip, quad bikes and Luxor. The boat trip was a good day out and the snorkelling was great. Saw so many different fish. The quad bikes were good and you go really far into the desert. Be prepared for the heat because when you get out of the bus it will hit you. Girls with sensitive fingers beware. I got the biggest blister on my thumb from the button you had to push to make the quads go! The Luxor trip was great and we saw all sorts but the bus was freezing and the guide spoke for too long about thugs that weren't really relevant and often he was talking into the mic too close so no one could hear him. We were picked up at 5:30 in the morning and they had the air con blasting out. After about an hour we asked for it to be turned down as everyone on the bus was freezing and no one had anything to keep them warm. It was turned down for about 5 minutes but turned back up again. It was not a fun 4 hour ride there and back. We did try to ask the tour guide again a couple of times but he basically laughed at us and said it was because we were English that we were cold. Nope it was just because it was really really cold actually.

Overall a great holiday and fantastic place to stay. Would definitely recommend it to anyone.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank 26FAB26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquamarineGM, General Manager at Jaz Aquamarine, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Jaz Aquamarine to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. We are extremely committed to delivering the perfect holiday experience for each and every guest and would like to thank you for your valued feedback and are extremely pleased that you ” had an absolutely fab time”. We would also like to thank you for your kind recommendation.
It would be our absolute pleasure to welcome you back again in the future.

Hany Gamal Eldin
Hurghada Area Manager.
Jaz Aquamarine Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We are a family of 4 (2 sons aged 18 and 15) travelling on the 18th July for 2 weeks. Having travelled to the caribbean for the past 9 years, we booked the hotel as a different destination and as such were a bit worried as to whether or not it would meet up to standards we'd already experienced. We needn't have been concerned because, in short, it was amazing!

Once you recover rom the melee that is Hurghada airport (top tip: go left to the bank kiosks as soon as you enter the terminal-don't be tempted by people telling you to go here and there for the visa) the hotel is the opposite, with the check in being as easy as I've ever had.

We emailed the hotel and asked for 2 rooms together on the 2nd floor of block 4 and that's exactly what we got. The rooms themselves were very spacious and very clean (thanks to Achmed) and this was the pattern for the entire hotel - it really was spotless and the staff made a real effort to be friendly and polite, right down to the towel booths where they were always asking if we were ok and having a good time.

The a la carte restaurants were also very good, in particular the Asian and Lebanese and the beachfront restaurant also ok. A great thing were the beach booths which served fresh pizza, toasted sandwiches and beverages. Special mention to Achmed Saad on the beverage bar, who went the extra mile and couldn't do enough. The staff don't expect tips, but if you get good service and give a bit extra, it goes a really long way!

The slides were always available with virtually no queues and this was a similar pattern in booking restaurants, getting served at the bar, etc. as we never seemed to wait for anything.

Too many good things to say about the hotel including the top class reps Sayed and Tracey as well as the guest relations who always came around to ask if they could do anything else to improve our experience. If you are even thinking about going, just do it because you won't be disappointed in the best hotel we have been to - we'll certainly be back!

Room Tip: We were in 4207 & 4209 and these were quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquamarineGM, General Manager at Jaz Aquamarine, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Jaz Aquamarine to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. We are extremely committed to delivering the perfect holiday experience for each and every guest and would like to thank you for your valued feedback, and are extremely pleased that your stay was “amazing’. We cannot thank you enough for your wonderful recommendation and comments that this “the best hotel” you have stayed in.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back.
Hany Gamal Eldin
Hurghada Area Manager.
Jaz Aquamarine Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Lovely hotel, clean, polite hard working staff. we had such a lovely time everything we wanted was catered for and nothing was too much trouble. shame about the vast amount of germans and russians but we were in a different country not britian!

Room Tip: all the rooms were good, its so hot that a swim up room would be the icing on the cake, pay the extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank RainbowMiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquamarineGM, General Manager at Jaz Aquamarine, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Jaz Aquamarine to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. We are extremely committed to delivering the perfect holiday experience for each and every guest and would like to thank you for your valued feedback and recommendation, and are extremely pleased that you ” had such a lovely time”
It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again in the future.
Hany Gamal Eldin
Hurghada Area Manager.
Jaz Aquamarine Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We enjoyed 10 nights stay at the wonderful Jaz Aquamarine - my husband, myself and 17 year old daughter. We had a lovely suite with large balcony with lovely view over the gorgeous gardens, cleaned and tidied every day with clever towel art and nothing was too much trouble for Mohammed, you only had to ask if you needed anything extra e.g. coat hangers, pillows, refreshments etc. We found all the staff at the hotel really friendly, hard working and going one step further to help us enjoy our stay. It is all men working at the hotel, apart from a lady we saw baking flat bread outside the Lebanese restaurant and some of the animation team, and they are all so lovely and even though we gave tips at the start of our holiday I did feel they were happy in their work and genuinely wanted to help and please us. We liked all the restaurants, although we didn't eat in the seafood one; our favourite was the Asian. In the main dining room we had a table in the adults only section, which made for a rather quieter meal as the hotel was very busy with many children, being the summer school holidays. The grounds were beautiful, the bars and terraces and lobbies were lovely and pool choice was excellent with something for everyone; we didn't have any trouble getting sun beds, (but my husband being an early riser did make sure he went down to our chosen pool in time to get sunbeds) and the staff would bring us drinks from the bar. The beach area was smaller than we expected but nice white sand and the water was too shallow to swim in unless you went way out - take suitable footwear to walk on the coral/rocks to get out to sea for swimming and snorkeling. Sadly, we couldn't see any fish from the beach side but Oscar the camel was gorgeous! The hotel has 3 separate Water Park areas, well supervised for children. We could also use the 'sister' hotel next door, Blue Marine, which is smaller but also very nice. There's not much to see or do within walking distance but there is plenty of opportunity to book a car/driver to take you out, or go on the hotel bus, plus organised trips out to the desert for riding etc and boat trips. We went on a boat trip one day and saw dolphins swimming 4 times - one group had 8/9 dolphins - this was spectacular and a wonderful day with a lovely lunch, 3 stops for snorkeling and swimming, a massage on board and a great, fun crew! When you go out, be prepared to see lots of building sites - this is a relatively new resort which 20 years ago was a small fishing village; the Egyptians have been developing it ever since and it's just ongoing - the Red Sea is on one side and the desert on the other. There's plenty to join in with at the hotel during the day, e.g. water aerobics, volley ball, football, and plenty of entertainment at the hotel in the evenings. I agree with much of what others have said about the Visa issue; we were aware that you needed to purchase a visa but it was quite chaotic at the airport, we were herded along by 'Thompson' reps, with 'Thompson' boards, ushering us into queues, there were no signs up, no explanations either before our trip, on the plane or at the airport. The cost was £19.00 each and we did hear a rumour that you could buy it elsewhere in the airport for $15 - it was quite confusing, with lots of queuing, different airport staff standing and sitting around, shouting, shuffling people and counting up cash! Not what you want when you are tired after all the traveling! In all the confusion, we paid and then a few minutes later, talking to others in the next queue, realised that we hadn't actually had our passports stamped, so had to go back for this! You can get Wi-Fi if you want to keep in touch with friends in the UK (which our daughter, being 17, of course did!) and newspapers and a daily news sheet in the hotel. But if you just want to chill out in peaceful, happy, luxury surroundings and 'get away from it all', with 'guaranteed' blue skies and sun, this is the ideal place!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shelagh024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquamarineGM, General Manager at Jaz Aquamarine, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Jaz Aquamarine to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. We are extremely committed to delivering the perfect holiday experience for each and every guest and would like to thank you for your valued feedback and recommendation, and are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your “10 nights stay at the wonderful Jaz Aquamarine”
It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again in the future.

Hany Gamal Eldin
Hurghada Area Manager.
Jaz Aquamarine Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My family and i stayed here for 2 weeks travelling with Thomson, I have to say it was a rather pleasent experience with Thomson compared to Thomas Cook who I had used previously for holidays. Unlike TomSam2001 2 reviews down, I was informed by Thomson of the requirement for a visa and also told I could sort at the Travco desk on arrival (located just before passport control), cost was £19 per person, pricey but Thomson advised prior to departure that had risen from £13.

The transfer was direct and just 25 minutes from airport to hotel, on arrival check in was fluent and well organised, Sayed the Thomson rep explained the procedure clearly before the coach left the airport.

Our room was a swim up family room, it was clean and tidy and suited our needs. There was a late meal provided for us and this was most welcome after a delay of just over an hour (due to people not pre booking seats and then complaining that they were not sitting together, that along with a shortage of baggage handlers to load the plane).

The a la carte restaurants were nice, didn't try the fish one but the others were as I say nice, and can recommend having the Tepyinaki cooking in the Asian restaurant. Lunch was a choice of main buffet restaurant or eat in the beach or pool bars, either or were great and certainly great variance.

The pools were clean and with a lot to choose form it varies up your holiday, the water slides are great and are not obtrusive in any way. The beach lodges are great and certainly worth the €20 fee.

The animiation (entertainment) team were simply first class, by far the best I have seen, they want to include people not make them look stupid which is what some resorts try to do. They have good shows in the evening in the theatre and when no shows are on they are around to help guests have a good time. During the day numerous activities and fun things for kids to do, simply a first class team!!

Sayed the tour rep was outstanding and nothing is too much of an issue for him, he will always help and ensure you have a great time.

We had a fantastic two weeks and would certainly consider going back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank westcliff-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquamarineGM, General Manager at Jaz Aquamarine, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Jaz Aquamarine to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. We are extremely committed to delivering the perfect holiday experience for each and every guest and would like to thank you for your valued feedback and recommendation, and are extremely pleased that you enjoyed “a fantastic two weeks”
It will most certainly be our pleasure to welcome you back again in the future.

Hany Gamal Eldin
Hurghada Area Manager.
Jaz Aquamarine Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Great check in really helpful reception team and lot of assistance from manager Mohamed Hassan. really slick and soon in our room with bags soon after. Spotless room and all public areas. Food excellent with loads of choice especially for snacks. Managed to book the a la a cartes as often as we wanted but reception staff on hand if you struggled with the machines. Weather as expected was super hot but loads of pools,shady areas and bars to cool down...also booked a beach cabana which was a nice treat. Staff amazing in all areas, kind charming and friendly. Defiantly recommend and will be back thanks to all.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquamarineGM, General Manager at Jaz Aquamarine, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Jaz Aquamarine to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. We are extremely committed to delivering the perfect holiday experience for each and every guest and are would like to thank you for your valued feedback and recommendation, and are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Hany Gamal Eldin
Hurghada Area Manager.
Jaz Aquamarine Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
3.8 mi away
Jungle Aqua Park
Jungle Aqua Park
#46 of 222 in Hurghada
2,935 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alf Leila Wa Leila
Alf Leila Wa Leila
#35 of 222 in Hurghada
1,601 reviews
2.7 mi away
Albatros Aqua Park
Albatros Aqua Park
#18 of 222 in Hurghada
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Jaz Aquaviva Resort
Jaz Aquaviva Resort
#3 of 30 in Makadi Bay
2,629 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
#2 of 222 in Hurghada
1,406 reviews
3.8 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Aquamarine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Aquamarine

Address: South Sahl Hashish Road | Magawish District, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#20 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#28 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#36 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#49 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range: £66 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jaz Aquamarine 5*
Number of rooms: 1001
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iberotel Aquamarine Resort is made for those who want to spoil themselves with the prefect, relaxed, All inclusive luxurious five-star Egypt holiday. Located on the southern tip of Hurghada with its own unspoiled private beach, this impressive complex features seven restaurants. It boasts over 1,001 comfortable rooms equipped with all the latest facilities, services and amenities as well as the “Mercato” shopping complex and a conference centre for up to 1500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jaz Aquamarine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Aquamarine Hotel Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing