We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely”
Review of Mahmya Island

Mahmya Island
Book In Advance
More Info
US$90.00*
and up
Giftun Island Mahmya Beach and Snorkeling Day Trip from Hurghada
Ranked #5 of 86 things to do in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Totally inspired from its natural surroundings, Mahmya is an eco-tourism haven bordered by virgin blue waters awaiting exploration and a white sandy beach inviting relaxation. Accompanied with fine food, great music and a fun crowd, Mahmya’s an exotic escape that will change your idea of the perfect day in the Red Sea and give you memories that will last forever!
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Lovely beach and crystal clear sea, lunch was nice, had to pay for drinks. Snorkeling was good but most of what we saw we could see from our pier at our hotel. Didn't get much down time on the beach.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,114
    307
    133
    35
    29
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good day out”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We decided to go to this Island on the basis of good reviews and to have a break from our hotel.
Great boat ride to the island.
I f you go snorkeling it may be a bit 'rushed'
We felt we didn't really have time to relax, as we had lunch (which was lovely) (drinks reasonable price) immediately we got back from snorkeling then within the hour we were on the boat back

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank soniaroberts05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This was just stunning in every way, we loved the whole trip! Great day out and we saw dolphins on the way off the side of the boat which was a lovely treat. Clear blue waters a must see!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank EllouiseFeatherstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahrain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect for a relaxing day on the beach”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We took the day trip to Mahmya Island. Though it was pricey compared to other options available, it was well worth it. The weather was perfect, hot in the sun and cool in the shade with a light breeze blowing throughout the day.

The water is crystal clear and the sand is soft. A perfect relaxing day. If you catch the 11am boat, you'll be at mahmya till 6:30pm. Most other boats leave by 4:30 so for 2 hours, its almost a private beach!

Highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Faraan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best Sand we could find in Hurghada”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Good day trip if you go with the right boat.
The snorkelling we went on was pretty good and broke up the day on the beach.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikonpictures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mahmya Island also viewed

Hurghada, Red Sea and Sinai
 
Hurghada, Red Sea and Sinai
Hurghada, Red Sea and Sinai
 

Been to Mahmya Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing