We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Stay in a Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh
Ranked #31 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed in November for 2 weeks and, as it was our second stay this year, we were welcomed like long lost friends. The reviews say it all really...a lovely hotel with great service. Buffet food has improved and was generally warmer than our previous visit and A-La-Carte restaurants are still exceptional.

We must give special thanks to Mr Samir, Mr Hosseiny and Mr Ayman, along with our favourite chef Montasser and Said and Ahmed (Jackson) in the Lobby Bar, all of which treated us like Royalty.

The only drawback of this hotel is that the pool is not well enough heated to combat the cooling effects when there are strong winds. For this reason we will not return in January/February but hopefully we will be back in November again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,302)
There are newer reviews for Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,968 - 1,974 of 3,302 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

On agreeing with most other posts about staff, pool, gardens yes they are all fabulous.
The rooms are spacious with all you need even for a cuppa in the morning!!
The food is ok more selection than we have had in Egyptian hotels But Please maintain the equipment so food is kept at the proper temperature.
Would also suggest getting self closers on the doors after being woken on several occasions with the party animals when they seceded to retire,, think we all know who they are!!
To many names to mention so will just say a big thank you, shuckran, to all the excellent staff, even surpassed The Moon Palace in Mexico in my opinion.
I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelqueenInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Prior to flying out from the UK, I contacted the hotel by email address fom.sh@tropitelhotels.com in order to arrange a birthday cake for my wife on the day of arrival - many thanks to Hatem for arranging this.

If you have never been to Hurghada airport before, then please note that when a number of flights arrive together the airport resembles a cattle market free for all. Additionally, a visa has to be purchased in this area, unlike Taba, Sharm-el-Sheik & Marsa Alam. It is almost insisted upon that you give them Sterling notes so that they can give you back change in coins that have previously been obtained from tips. The area is also a 'work in progress', with many buildings and hotels in the town and at the resort half complete.

Much has been said about the hotel that makes it difficult to add any further. However, during our stay, there was a cool strong north-westerly wind which had an impact on the area outdoors. The wind created spray from the pool edge overflow, which showered over some of the sunbeds. In order to shelter from the cool wind in exposed areas such as the grassy area, people placed 2-3 sunbeds on their side to make a temporary wind-break. This resulted in the number of beds being available for others in this area significantly reduced. Similarly, the same happened on the beach, resulting in not enough beds available for everyone. All 10 sunbathe huts on the beach were always occupied very early in the day. A tip for sheltering from the wind is to take a 60 minutes walk along the promenade to the 'Old Town'. In fact, whilst some neighbouring hotels were flying yellow and red flags, in the town the flags were green, recognising that the area and sea were sheltered and more calmer. You will also see a few birds of prey flying low.

Only half of the hotel was in use due to under occupancy - the right hand side was closed. The hotel was predominately filled with East Europeans mainly from Russia and Ukraine. We were the only UK holidaymakers dropped off by First Choice at this hotel on our arrival. If you are looking to buddy up with other UK holidaymakers during your stay then the opportunities are quite slim. Unfortunately the East European have no understanding of politeness and queuing. In fact some waiters mentioned that they are looking to transfer to the Premier La Reve hotel next door which is predominately UK couples who are prepared to do 'business' ie tipping.

The Mexican and Italian restaurants are well worth a visit, and I am surprised that not many people used this facility,

If you are a non smoker, then you will find the Lobby Bar unpleasant for the smell of cigarette smoke. Unfortunately there were no other bars to frequent, as the open air Shisha Cafe bar had closed due to the cool temperatures and entertainment had been transferred to the Ballroom. Thanks go to Sayed and Mahmoud for bringing us drinks to the Hotel Reception area.

The food is of good quality and varied and all the staff were very polite.

We used the tennis courts which are free to use during daylight. This was also a good sheltered area from the cool wind.

The First Choice/Thomson rep was located in the hotel next door and there is very little information on the notice board. Due to Egyptian rules, the rep is not allowed to circulate in the pool area. Our only complaint here is that we had to ask the hotel reception to contact the rep in order to find out our pick up time on departure.

Overall, the weather had the main say, as snorkelling for beginners was not easy in choppy waters and bathers were scorned upon if entering the water on the beach. Sunbathing, whilst avoiding the cool breeze, was also a challenge. This hotel is graded 5* in Egypt, and 4+ in the UK which is more reflective.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are down a small corridor eg 3023 which meant less people walking past your door a...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebbandflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 1 week 29th November to 6th December. We have stayed in other hotels in Egypt and this one was by far the best. We booked a private transfer with Red Sea transfers who were very efficient and prompt. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted with a nice cold face towel and a refreshing drink. The bell boy Ibrahim took us swiftly to our room which was room 5020. Ibrahim showed us all the facilities in the room and how to use the safe which was free of charge. The room was overlooking the pool and had a sea view as well. It was cleaned daily to a exceptionally high standard and the mini bar was re stocked with water, tea, coffee every day. The hotel grounds, reception and pool area WOW, spotlessly clean and always a friendly smile from any member of staff. Lovely beach cleaned daily. The buffet restaurant has a varied selection of food and well presented. The Mexican a la carte food was excellent fried ice cream to die for. The Italian a la carte food was also of an excellent standard try the cream of seafood soup its delicious. We have eaten in many a la carte's in the Caribbean but these two a la carte's at the Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh were better on standard of food and service from staff. Many thanks to the food and beverage manager Hosseiny who made our stay one not to be forgotten. Thank you for arranging a wonderful evening in the Mexican a la carte for my husbands birthday and personal touch to the deserts. Also the General Manager Yousry who with Hosseiny are striving for perfection and they are not far away. Thanks to all staff George in Lobby, Mahmood in Lobby (my little sweety), Ibrahmin and many more far too many to mention. Last but not least animation team and spa staff. who were always very friendly and would come and have a chat each day We would highly recommend this hotel and we will definitely return for our winter break next year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cazTameside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We visited as a couple for two weeks 15-29 November, The booking in procedure was prompt and efficient and we were shown to our room.We booked a superior room and we were not disappointed. The sea view was excellent, the room immaculate and it stayed that way for the duration thanks to the room staff Mohammed. From senior management (Yousry Ali and Hosseiny Ahmed to gardening staff, all where attentive, polite and out to make sure you enjoyed your stay. We where asked each day if all was well and given assurance of prompt assistance should we require anything. In the lobby bar the staff could not do enough for you and these are the staff I am refering too. Jackson,George,Ahmed Ibrahim,Ahmed Tarek, Mahmood,Said and Salah. This group are 5 star in their own right. OK the entertainment is low key but the staff work tirelessly to engage and converse. The pool staff again keep everywhere spotless. The jetty out to the reef edge is in excellent condition and on the calmer days the snorkelling compares well to most red sea resorts and in places is as good if not better if you take the time to chill and study the reef. I feel I should mention on a safety note that the hotel needs to address the parental supervision of children around the dining and lobby areas as on occasion some toddlers were allowed to run around un supervised by parents, a couple of times running into waiters carrying vast amounts of plates, drinks etc. That bit apart we booked this holiday to chill out and chill we did. Thanks again to all the staff, as my wife would say it was MAYA MAYA!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JohnandJulie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My partner & I have just returned from are stay at the Tropitel hotel.........I would like to praise the following members of staff for there kindness & such a caring manner, Fekry in the restaurant, Gerges in the lobby bar,Remon Rossmy in the restaurant & Ayman Rest bar manager.I would also like to praise Mohamed, brilliant chef works in the Mexican rest & at the beach bar.............top class service & Mosab Abd Ei Rehim,chef in the Italian rest.Omellettes are amazing.'I cant wait to go back to my second home'The staff can't do enough for you.I would highly recommend this hotel,,The best holiday I have experienced for such a long time.Lorraine S

Room Tip: We were given a deluxe double room & we were amazed how spacious it was..we had a pool view &...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My wife and I returned from 2 weeks at this excellent hotel on the 25th of november . We had a brilliant holiday and having read some of the previous reviews I have to say I agree with there comments . The hotel all round is very good, I could go on about the pool ,beach,food etc,but everyone has already covered these points. What makes this hotel stand out are the STAFF !!!! ..Sayed in the lobby bar became a friend ,Food and beverage Manager Mr Hosseiny Ahmed was a Star on one occassion even pushing my wheelchair back from the beach !!. But all the staff were excellent, its just apity they were not treated with politness and respect they deserve by some guests from the north east of us .although to be fair these same guests were ok with other holiday makers . To sum up would we recommend the Tropital . Definitly !Would we go back ? .In a heart beat . Well done Tropital see you soon ......

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be good , we had room 5002 over looking pool and sea , nice room !
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
10.4 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#45 of 222 in Hurghada
2,310 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Romance Boutique Hotel and Spa
5.6 mi away
Jaz Aquamarine
Jaz Aquamarine
#33 of 222 in Hurghada
6,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
1.8 mi away
Old Palace Resort
Old Palace Resort
#51 of 222 in Hurghada
1,462 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
#2 of 222 in Hurghada
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh

Address: P.O. Box Block 33 B | Sahl Hasheesh, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#11 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#19 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#29 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range: £41 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh 5*
Number of rooms: 566
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Supremely located in the newly and highest developed areas in the Red Sea “Sahl Hasheesh” 14 KM south Hurghada, one of the world's repute resort destination, Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh, offering magical views of the warm Red Sea, with impressive collection of alluring restaurants and cool bars, magnificent beachfront and modern stylish rooms as well as numerous leisure facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh Hotel Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing