We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh
Nearby Hotels
US$250
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Grand Plaza Hotel - Hurghada(Hurghada)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$271
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,020)
Filter reviews
4,020 results
Traveller rating
2,982
666
220
69
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,982
666
220
69
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmermaid barmexican and italian restaurantstom cruisemr naguibanimation teamsahl hasheeshlobby barpalm restaurantcrazy wavesspecial thanksmain restaurantfishper weekgolf buggyfood and beverage manageramazing vacationbuffet restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
2,333 - 2,338 of 4,020 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

For a winter break from old blighty this was ideal. Staff were available to offer restaurant and bar assistance whenever we even looked like we required anything to eat or drink. They were friendly and attentive, with a smile and greeting that added quality to this holiday experience. A free shuttle to the main area of Hurghada operated twice a week and for a little more adventure we visited the Marina, where quirky bars and restaurants gave an authentic feel to the holiday. The Irish coffee with flaming whisky poured from an Aladdin type lamp is something to try there.
The hotel has its own beech area with private booths and a jetty that overlooks the coral, where supervised entrances to turquoise swimming areas of the sea allows you to snorkel and view incredible fish of colours and varieties.
Only two points that are fairly minor but need addressing in our opinion are, the reps who ask you to sign up for, what is by all accounts a great massage, should not keep visiting guests once they have politely declined the service. The second point is that the hotel have clearly invested in a great deal in the hotel but need to invest more in the entertainment, particularly for the winter holidays when shorter and darker evenings restrict use of outdoor facilities. That said, the one time we did enjoy it was when they offered Egyptian belly dancing and some authentic dancing while we puffed gently on a strawberry flavoured sheeshah.

Room Tip: Clearly request a non smoking room if required as some are smoking ones and a double bed if required as some are two singles, although large singles.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Hotel
Overall, a very good break and winter sun at the Tropital.
The hotel is really nice and very clean. The rooms are very spacious and well maintained. You do get a maid service daily and the towels are arranged with different characters. The main pool is divided into 3 with 2 big pools and a little stream at the bottom. One of the main pools is heated.
We didn't have any problems obtaining sun beds which were nice.
The previous comments about the people selling massages were inaccurate. If you actually talk to them, they are very friendly and won’t bother you if you were not interested. I had 2 massages which were fantastic so do consider.
The gym was lacking any free weights but the machines were pretty standard gym equipment.


Food
The waiters are very good and even have your drinks ready each visit. The food wasn't 5 star in my opinion because it was very repetitive and bland. For example the numerous food stations such as breads, salad, desserts where standard for each meal and the only changes were the main course, which where items such as chicken in gravy and bland pasta dishes. The food is plentiful and ok but more aliened to 3 and 4 star hotels I had previously stayed in. Don’t let this put you off though because there is enough selection for 1 week.
The Mexican is fantastic and the Italian very good. You can also eat lunch at the Italian which you have small menu selection.


Guests
I would say 60% Russian and Ukrainian. 20% British, 10% German, 10% other nationalities. I was sceptical about the Russians and their reputation for being rude but can honestly say I didn't experience anything. Maybe because the hotel was quite and people didn't have to queue for anything.

We did have 2 days where the hotel was swamped by Egyptian people. OMG, this was an experience. Even the hotel staffs were embarrassed and kept apologising for their behaviours. The main issue at meal times, when the buffet tables were completely emptied. I have never seen people take as much food back to their table. One guy walked to the breads table and took about 30 croissants and 30 small bread cakes for around 4 people. There was a guy cooking bbq chicken and an Egyptian bloke took 2 full plates containing about 25 pieces of chicken. During the day the kids who were dressed in tracksuits and very loud playing in the pool fully clothed.


Things to do
The boat trip which can be booked in the hotel near the beach bar was good to get off camp for 1 day. We also booked the dolphin trip and swam with the dolphins, which was fantastic. We also went to the jungle water park and enjoyed the slides. There are a couple of guys on the beach-front renting golf buggies to drive for 1 hour and well worth go to explore the local area.


Areas for improvement
• Food needs to be better seasoned because was bland and seemed more suited to Russian and German. Maybe consider a theme night.
• A better central focus point is needed for entertainment. The current Hasheesh bar wasn't adequate and most people didn't even know it existed.
• Stop people smoking inside. The main reception and bar area stank at times because people are allowed to smoke inside the hotel.
• More heated pools, given only one was heated.
• Restrict the Egyptian visits or ask them to behave civilised at meal times.

Room Tip: Ask for a king size if a couple or you will get a twin room
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cropdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

just returned from a 3 week stay so first a few minor negatives.food on the buffet needs to be kept hot and refreshed more frequently...some public areas a little tired e.g couches beside beach bar watch for towel guys at beach reserving beds and virtually selling them....service in the lobby bar can be iffy depending on which staff on.....italian restaurant food fine but atmosphere grim.
on the plus side vast majority of the staff are really great particularly edim?in the main restaurant who really looked after us.....mexican rest is simply great..kuku and entertainment staff try hard with limited facilities....our room was excellent and even had good tv in english..location is pretty isolated if you want night life no surprise there......we are no strangers to egypt and the russians but we saw no trouble and became friendly with a few in fact the only bad behaviour I saw came from an english drunk who was simply ignored by everyone.....great place to relax in the sun and we would go to this hotel again I just hope the tourist numbers stay high enough in egypt to keep these places viable as if they have to start cost cutting customer satisfaction levels will soon drop just when they need to keep them really high

Room Tip: try for a corner room
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank igotstogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The hotel is one of top properties as I have seen in Hurghada. It's located in new resort town Sahl Hasheesh which is very clean, neat and no irritating egyptian sellers at all. There is a free shuttle bus from the hotel to Hurghada for shopping if you wish. If you want night clubbing - choose other hotel.
The food quality is very high - all our family including the little one (1y 9mo) had no digestion problems at all. The dessert station is very big - good for sweet lovers. We are vegetarians eating fish and the restaurant lacked of seafood variety a little bit. Overall restaurant offers european food with a little touch of arabia. Super. There are 2 a la carte restaurants (mexican and italian) which can be visited 1 time per stay. But I didn't find it very good. Except for mexican fried ice cream dessert - try this.
The territory of hotel is very nice, green and good maintained.
There is 1 big pool (warmed water in winter time) and 1 small for little ones (depth of 60 cm), which has heating system installed. It was the best attraction to little one.
The beach is clean and good maintained, but you can go swimming just from the bridge, which is 300 meters long :) so it takes time to go to swim.
The only minus for the hotel i would give is for the fact that beach towels are constantly being stolen (so keep an eye on your towels if you don't want to have problems) and if you have forgotten your stuff at the beach - most likely you won't find it (we lost baby swimming pool and husband's scarf....) The personnel claims they didn't find it but honestly i think they take everything you leave...
I would give this hotel 4.5 out of 5 ;)

Room Tip: make sure you dont' get the room behind Oriental cafe - they do night programs which are really loud. I don't think the walls are so sound proof.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We really enjoyed our holiday there. Many thanks to the friendly staff, especially to Ehab from the restaurant, who was exceptionally kind, polite and professional. Nothing to complain, everything was as we wished! Clean, spacious rooms, good food, snacks at lobby, at restaurant, at pool and at beach. Hopefully we will come back next year.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors view sea and pool view.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sardor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews