We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second time in paradise :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh
Ranked #34 of 229 Hotels in Hurghada
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Second time in paradise :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This was my second stay in Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh. I am very happy i discovered such hotel.
We arrived very early in the morning but we had no problems to checkin. Amazing, very comfortable and very nice designed rooms. Every detail of the hotel is perfect.
The best of this hotel in my opinion is very friendly and helpfull staff, they treated us with maximum care. The hotel is very good for snorkeling.

Some things improved a lot comparing to last year like wireless internet in the lobby and pool. Also lobby bar service was very good and fast, much better than last year. Hossam makes the best cocktails i have ever tried, not too much alcohol, just perfect combination of ingredients. I love his cocktails :)

The only thing i think that needs improvement is service in the restaurant. Sometimes we were waiting more than half an hour to get a drink, when we already finished with the meals.

I will surely come back to Tropitel next year again as i consider it my second home :) and i will definitely reccomend it ti my family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AnaEgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,049
    523
    150
    60
    63
See reviews for
920
1,213
67
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed her for 10 nights with our 2 teenagers, the hotel was very good the staff really looked after us and made an effort to ensure we had a good holiday. the service at all the bars was very good with frequent visits form the staff to ensure we had plenty to drink! Overall we would rate the hotel as a 4 Star comparing it to other 5 star hotels we have stayed in. The entertainment team led by Salah worked tirelessly to keep guests entertained and involved.

Food was varied and plentiful although after 10 nights it did seem repetitive. We tried the 2 additional restaurants, firstly the Italian which was very dissapointing, the experience and food were poor. However the Mexican was great highly recommend!

The hotel does need to improve the outside stage and entertainment areas for nightly shows as there were never enough seats and the hotel wasn't full !
The snorkelling at the end of the hotel Jetty was amazing there is an abundance of fish around the coral which really mean you do not have to go on diving trips to see the underwater beauty of the Red Sea.

We pre booked from England through Memphis Tours to take us on a private tour to Luxor to see the Valley of the kings and the Temples. This was excellent value for money and is highly recommended as you are in control of the itinerary. The team at Memphis could not do enough to help us and make our trip a pleasure.

The beach round the bay at the new marina where there are some waterspouts is beautiful you can hire a buggy or a Taxi to get you there well worth a visit if you want to paddle properly in the sea as you can't at the hotel due to the coral.

Overall a very good holiday experience in a clean and modern hotel. The hotel is away from the main town 25 minutes so you do need to use the taxi services to explore. Sam and the taxi team at the hotel were great very helpful and provided a great service.

Room Tip: Pool / Sea facing are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary_james_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Hotel Tropitel, Sahl Hasheesh, Egypt, period of stay from 04. 07. till 15. 07. 2014.

Hotel Tropitel consists of a central building with two wings containing the reception, lobby bar with terrace, shopping center, the main restaurant ''The Palm'', spa center, standard (deluxe), superior, club and family rooms. Within the hotel is a large swimming pool with pool bar, which extends to the beach and in the immediate vicinity are ''Mexican'' and ''Il Pomodoro'' restaurants. Hotel also has two smaller pools, one which is on the outside of the left wing of the hotel and one for children at the beginning of the beach.
In use is only the left wing where are rooms in which guests staying. Rooms in the left wing starting with the number 2000 are located in the basement, with the number 3000 are on the ground floor, while the rooms with the number 4000 are on the first and from 5000 are on the second floor of the hotel.
Lobby bar and terrace are nicely decorated. Wi-Fi internet is available in the lobby bar and at the large swimming pool, without any additional cost.
''The Palm'' restaurant is appropriate technical furnished. However, sanitary and hygienic conditions in the restaurant, due to fluctuations and the large amount of guests, and lack of staff, are not satisfying. The food is varied and controlled by HACCP principles.
Early ''Continental breakfast'' is served from 06:30 to 07 am, breakfast from 07 to 10 am, lunch from 12:30 to 15 pm, dinner from 18:30 to 22 am, on the principle of so-called ''Swedish table''.
Restaurants ''Mexican'' and ''Il Pomodoro'' serve food based on so-called ''A la carte'', from 18:30 to 22 am, and a reservation is needed 24 hours in advance.
Standard (deluxe) room, or room 3015 is a room with a garden view, small pool and partial sea view. The room has two single beds, bedside table, two-seater sofa, LCD TV, dressing table with chair, built-in closet with safe, a bathroom with a sink, bathtub, shower and toilet, kitchenette with mini-bar and terrace with two chairs and a table. The kitchenette has an electric jug, with two cups and two glasses. A large bottle of water, bags of Nescafe and different types of Lipton teas was supplemented once a day. Into the mini bar are six cans of Pepsi and 7-UP which is supplemented once a week. Check out is at noon. Price for an extended stay in the room costs 30 $ till 15 pm, $ 60 till 18 pm and $ 80 until 21 pm.
The beach is sandy where there are sun loungers and parasols that have been lined with a wooden fence. On the left side of the beach is a beach bar, toilets and dressing room. The sea is crystal clear, turquoise-blue colored. To enter into the sea is used a wooden pontoon bridge over 250 feet long. Another way of entering into the sea is by crossing over coral plate on which there are starfish and some small hedgehog.
Most of the guests in this hotel, almost 90% are Russians and citizens of ex-USSR countries, while the rest are Europeans, Germans, Englishmen, Frenchmen and the peoples of the former Yugoslavia.
Hotel Tropitel in Sahl Hasheesh according to the official Egyptian categorization have a 5 stars. However, in my opinion, not as an expert, but as a traveler, is that this hotel deserves a 4 + star.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
33 Thank Hygia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I was in touch with the Reception Manager on several occasions before our trip and was assured that my husband and I would have a connecting room to our teenage daughters as a family room wasn't available. We did not get this and it proved to be a real inconvenience and at times a worry. He shouldn't have promised what he couldn't deliver.

Although the rooms we were eventually allocated looked out on to the pool,they did not connect and there were elements of them that were tatty, especially the bathrooms. Really poor workmanship which was a real shame. Absolutely no way could this hotel be classed as a 5 star (unless an Egyptian 5 star is equivalent to a UK 3*).

What is good about this hotel is:

Free wifi everywhere. I read in one of the reviews that someone had paid for it. We certainly didn't need to do that. Our rooms picked up the wifi at the pool and it was available in the lobby, at the Palms Restaurant and down at the beach bar so if we wanted it, it was everywhere.

Some of the staff really are great. We had three waiters in the Palms Restaurant who looked after us for the whole two weeks - they saved us the same table each day and had juice and coffee waiting for us every morning. They were all lovely and very attentive (Mohamed, Hegazi and Omar). They really made us feel welcome. Jacob (or Yacob as they pronounce it) in the lobby bar was great too.

The jetty is a huge plus. The sea rarely came in to shore above about 10 inches. The lagoon is great and we saw puffer fish, stingray and sadly a dead turtle, along with numerous fish but if you really want to see fish in crystal clear waters you must go in off the end of the jetty. There's so much to see and if the water is too choppy they will stop you from entering so you know if the barrier isn't there it's safe.

Ismail the Thomson rep was very easy to get hold of as they hold his phone number at Reception and are happy to call him for you. Look out for Waleed, he's the most helpful.

We took bikes (although they're not in a good state of repair) along the front to the Old Town about 3 miles away. It's lovely and clean and it's a shame that the journey down passes numerous half built hotels. This is due to the collapse of the economy. We understand that builders have to start to build so that the government can't take the land back but it does mean most of the area feels like a building site. I think they had really high hopes for Sahl Hasheesh when they first started building and it could be absolutely beautiful, but it will be many, many years before they finish it. The Old Town looks wonderful at night too. We hired a golf buggy to get us down at night.

There's plenty of seating round the pool and on the beach but do what everyone else does and get your towels before breakfast. We waited until afterwards for the first few days and ended up sitting without an umbrella (which is definitely not a good idea!).

What is a shame is that:

We had over half a dozen power cuts DAILY which although often not for long, affected the TV as it was a smart TV so took a long time to connect back up and on occasion we had to call the technician to sort the TV and safe.

We were only provided with two hand towels and two bath towels (not bath sheets) in the room which we found a bit limiting. Glasses in the bathroom weren't refreshed very often and we didn't realise until about 4 days into the holiday that you have to press a button near the door of the room to get it cleaned!

The Mexican and Italian restaurants were empty most of the time. You were only allowed one visit to each of them a week but most of the food was no better than that served in the buffet so we couldn't understand why they put a restriction on it. The food was certainly nothing outstanding so it was a shame to see the restaurants so empty.

The animation team was sometimes a little too persistent. They worked really hard putting on entertainment - stretching classes, aquafit, Bocha, darts, volleyball, etc. It's all there if you want it but on occasion when our girls weren't interested Alex in particular was reluctant to take no for an answer and eventually called them lazy English girls which didn't go down well! The evening entertainment changed nightly but didn't change from week to week so the second week we were there they were showing exactly the same thing. Maybe most of their guests only holiday for a week? Be prepared for the Spa staff and Dive School staff to pester you too, especially at the start of your holiday. If you're not interested you have to have a thick skin (or grow one very quickly).

We did a few trips and found that the dive school offer them more cheaply but they are certainly a little more rough and ready! The trip through Thomson's into Hurgharda on a Sunday afternoon felt very 'hard sell' and we went with the Dive School to a 'Desert Experience' which again was very hard sell.

The shops on site are a real rip off. We had to get the equivalent of bonjela for our daughter who suffered ulcers with her fixed brace and they charged us £25 (English pounds!!!) and even wanted us to buy antibiotics for it. I don't know whether you can haggle in those shops but if I'd known that I could I would have!

On the whole we had a great holiday. There wasn't a cloud in the sky for a fortnight, the sea life is in abundance and many of the staff were really friendly. We felt 100% safe all the time, even in Sheraton Street in Hurgharda where you were expected to barter for items. The area isn't affected by any of the troubles and its a shame to hear how the tourism has been so badly affected and how so few British visitors they get now. It was evident throughout the hotel and the Old Town that numbers are down.

We didn't like the Egyptian culture of bartering, especially when we were told on numerous occasions that people simply didn't have change to give us. I refused to accept that on occasion and miraculously the money came from somewhere. The 'replica' clothing/shoes and sun glasses, etc was very poor quality and we had to laugh when the Ray Bans were in fact Roy Bais and the Converse All Stars were Bll Stars. I likened it to having a Ralf Lauren logo on a Fruits of the Loom T Shirt!

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the pool as you can tap into the fee wifi. We had a late checkout and got a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wilberfossil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I have been to Egypt many times but without any doubt I can recommend this hotel as the best one. I traveled with mum and we have spent a wonderful time in here. We stayed at room 1038 which was perfectly equiped and close to the beach. I have to agree with previous reviews: All the staff work very hard and do their best even it's ramadan when they have to be really exhausted. Special thanks to Ibrahim from the pool bar. The food was good - except the italian a la carte rest.
I have to mention an animation team led by Salah - I have really enjoyed their activities.
I would definitely return to Tropitel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Just arrived today to the hotel it's really amazing excellent accommodation...very good food....clean pool....excellent treatment by the hotel staff & they are ver helpful....great hotel for the honeymooners.....really very nice to enjoy some chilling days :)

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Mohammad E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel at the end of July 2014 for one week.

I had done a lot of research on this hotel and we were not disappointed.

The hotel is located in a purpose-built complex on the Red Sea Riviera, which has a security manned gate.

We arrived late and were welcomed by the waiters with a cold drink and a cool towel to refresh ourselves, nice touch. We then checked in and were given a room upgrade foc to a Deluxe Room. The room was massive and overlooked the pool area and gardens.

The restaurant always had a good selection of food for all tastes, the waiters worked hard constantly clearing tables and bringing drinks. You could also go to the bar if you wanted to get your drink.
The two Themed restaurants the Mexican and the Italian were also of a good standard, you could only use these once each per week. The Italian also did midday food which was nice as it was close to the beach area.
They also served food and ice cream around the bar area near the pool.

WiFi was available in the reception area and around the themed restaurants and along the walkways which suited my daughters so they could keep in touch with their friends. You could pay extra to have WiFi in your room, but we declined this.

All the staff at the hotel work very hard from the gardeners who are constantly keeping the gardens so tidy. The bar staff especially Tamir (Tom Cruise) who always made us laugh and supplied us constantly with drinks, Yacob at the reception bar for his attentiveness. Akmed at the beach area who supplied us towels and always wanted us to make sure we were comfortable, the drinks man on the beach who's name escapes me, who always fetched us drinks every half hour. Hassan at the Mexican restaurant who had great positive attitude when serving us and when we saw him around the complex.
The Resident Manager - Mr Naguib Hosni runs a very slick hotel and is constantly walking around checking that all is well, he is very approachable and is open to all your views good or bad to improve the service they provide. The staff are a great asset to you so please look after them.

The animation team are also very good, always trying to get people involved with sports or keep fit but not over pushy. The evening entertainment was varied with something different each night.

We also had a diving trip organised through the hotel guides and although i was very hesitant as i don't like going under water the diving team made me very relaxed and I thoroughly enjoyed the two dives I had. We also had a couple of massages in the hotel spa which again were very professionally done and very relaxing.

My only one concern is that as they are extending the hotel whether they would be able to offer the same service and still please people,

Overall we had a great relaxing holiday, the weather was very hot so be prepared with your factor 50 + cream.

I would definitely return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: We were in rooms on the 3rd floor and these were quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
1.7 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.3 mi away
Sensimar Premier Le Reve
Sensimar Premier Le Reve
#2 of 229 in Hurghada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,950 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Old Palace Resort
Old Palace Resort
#48 of 229 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
#1 of 229 in Hurghada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pyramisa Sahl Hasheesh Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh

Property: Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh
Address: P.O. Box Block 33 B | Sahl Hasheesh, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#11 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#21 Best Value Hotel in Hurghada
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#31 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh 5*
Number of rooms: 566
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Supremely located in the newly and highest developed areas in the Red Sea “Sahl Hasheesh” 14 KM south Hurghada, one of the world's repute resort destination, Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh, offering magical views of the warm Red Sea, with impressive collection of alluring restaurants and cool bars, magnificent beachfront and modern stylish rooms as well as numerous leisure facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Southall Travel so you can book your Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropitel Sahl Hasheesh Hotel Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing