We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only been home a week, want to go back already!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Ranked #21 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Only been home a week, want to go back already!”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Just returned from a 2 week stay, ....

Mercure is located about a 10/15 min drive from the airport. On arrival we were greeted with a refreshing fresh fruit cocktail (much needed after the 5.5 hour flight!) and were checked in to our room by the reception staff - who were very friendly and welcoming. We were then given a brief tour of the hotel by the lovely Jasmine, before being shown to our room.

ROOM: We were in room 1215, which was extremely spacious. We had the luxury of having 2 balcony's, a queen sized bed, and a walk in shower large enough for 2. Absolutely no complaints to be made about the room, do recommend using the safe provided to store passports and other valuables! Rooms were cleaned daily at the convenience of the guests so there's no need to worry about having to rise at a certain time! 1 bottle of water per person per day was also provided for each room, handy to pop in the fridge provided and essential on hot days.

HOTEL: The hotel is not a complex. It is just the right size. The private beach joining the hotel is amazing, and we never struggled to find a sunbed. The Red Sea is a must for those who enjoy snorkeling! The pool area is large enough, in a nice walking distance from the rooms with a children's pool attached. The hotel has it's own amphitheater also, which hosts the brilliant evening entertainment! The hotel's size definitely gave it a more personal feel.

STAFF: We could not have asked for more friendly, approachable and helpful staff. All the reception, animation, bar, restaurant staff and management were amazing, making an effort to remember every one of their guests by name adding to the personal touch of the hotel. The animations team are brilliant, thanks to Marley, Ziggy, Paolo and the crew for providing us with laughter and entertainment every single day and night. The animation team really do work hard to keep the guests entertained and we recommend watching them in action for the show they put on every night - be sure to also join in their day time activities that they do, they really are lovely company and friendly people to talk to/make friends with.

FOOD: There is 3 restaurants at the hotel. The main restaurant, holds buffet themed nights for every day of the week so there is plenty of choice of food for the guests, I myself am a fussy eater and yet I enjoyed my meals every night and even had the option of trying more exotic, new food. For those who just fancy a bit of pizza/burger/chips, these are also available at dinner times and from the pool bar in the afternoon!

We would recommend visiting the Marina, Hurghada's newly opened area, roughly 20 mins away from the hotel and accessible via both the hotel provided taxi service or the local one (just flag one down outside the hotel) The marina is picturesque, with English bars, clubs and plenty of restaurants for you to try alongside the lovely scenery of the ships at night.

Finally, we'd like to thank everyone at Mercure for making our holiday as special as it was, we feel we left with friends that we will never forget and we are already considering returning as soon as possible :-)

Thanks,
Karl Jackson, Lianne Noonan Room 1215 May 6th - May 20th 2013.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LianneNoonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,518
    641
    154
    60
    40
See reviews for
1,164
1,157
153
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Went to the mercure hotel in Hurghada in may 2013...and had the best time ever, the staff were so helpful and polite, one of the mangers Mohamed Tayer...came to us everyday to ask if we were happy with everything he also sent us drinks when we were on the beach.

The beach is 70mtre long and its private ( only hotel guests allowed )...with lots of sunbeds and wind breakers...lovely bar on the beach...and there is a small coral reef close to the bay..great for snorkeling...there are lots of trips available from the beach to other islands and lots of water sports.
The food was varied and to a high standard..but i missed my bacon and beans... we went all inclusive and the drink was much better than id expected....they have a different show every night with local artists and belly dancers..there is also a Disco open until 1.00am..although it is far enough away from the accomadation areas...so you cant hear it.
Everywhere is spotlessly clean....and the rooms were nice we had a lovely sea veiw..there is no kettles in the rooms for making tea....but when we said to the manger we would have liked tea making facilities they went out and bought a kettle and gave us sovenier mugs to go with it..where else would you get this sort of service.
Highly recommended....we are going back next year.
Gordon Southall, England

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

I visited most of countries in the world with my wife and kids and I didn't imagine that five nights in murcure Hurghada will be able to erase the memory of whate I saw out of Egypt.
Wonderful place where the sun is shining and the sea net crystal and stay in the rooms are comfortable
Hotel workers provide superior service
Smile doesn't leave their faces
I am afraid that I forget the name of one of them
I am glad to spent my money in tourism in my country
I can't leave the comments without mention of the efforts of Mr Hazem Saleh reception supervisor and the director wonderful owner of clear finger prints everywhere Mr Alaa uddin Saleh
Thanks
Ahmed Rehan

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ahmed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed in two bedroom bungalow. Typical Arabic style rooms, quite small, but comfortable. The buffet was great, lots of food variety, even for children. Nice, quiet & clean private beach I enjoyed swimming so much. Staff was friendly and helpful, rooms were clean.

I do recommend this hotel for families.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Rania f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Beautiful grounds made to feel safe and welcome,all the staff were friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
Excellent value for money and food to suit all tastes the rooms were spacious and well kept, wasn't a bad thing to say.
The entertainment was professional and they all are clearly passionate about their country and jobs, I haven't laughed or danced so much their enthusiasm is infectious and vie fallen a little bit in love with Egypt and its people, we can't wait to go back.
All of the staff were excellent from managers to waiters to the hysterical animation Crewe my working day has been all smiles as I remember my holiday a truly beautiful experience see you all soon......xx habibis

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aladin S, General Manager at Mercure Hurghada Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Alex,

Thank you for your courteous words that simply made my day. I assure you that the rest of the team is immensely happy to read your testimonials, each of them from the inventive kitchen chefs to the unforgettable one of a kind animation team, get recharged and inspired by your sincere compliments. We are glad we could turn your holiday into the most joyful memories that irresistibly draw you back to our land of eternal summer, crystal blue sea and of course some of the most hospitable people that always welcome you with the warmth of a truly Egyptian smile. Looking forward to welcome you back at your Mercure Hurghada.

Sincerely,

Aladin Saleh
General Manager
Mercure Hotel
H1815@accor.com
ACCOR BRAND: Sofitel, Novotel, Pullman, Ibis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

We travelled to Egypt as a female trio, we asked for connecting rooms, which was granted. The airport is only about 15 mins away, yet no overhead noise experienced. Our arrival at reception was greeted with warmth and smiles. The entire staff at Mercure are truly amazing!! The animation team are professional and work so hard to entertain all tastes. Thankyou Mr Music DJ for rocking the dance floor into the early hours!! Our rooms were clean and comfortable, grounds immaculate, also the pool area and beach. The restaurant selection awesome and waitors attentive. I would like to say special thanks to Tayar for making our holiday extra special. The glass bottomed boat and snorkelling is a must. Thank you Mercure for our fantastic stay, everyone at this hotel has "Huge Smiles/Huge Hearts". We are already planning our next visit.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aladin S, General Manager at Mercure Hurghada Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Dear Amanda,
We are so glad to hear you had a thoroughly pleasant stay at Mercure Hurghada. I totally agree with you that memories of the sunny paradise nestled on the private beach of the crystal clear turquoise lagoon surely will call a warm smile on your face even many years after. I am glad that you’ve discovered one of the biggest Egyptian treasures – genuine hospitality of its people that irresistibly lights up faces with sincere joy. With pleasure I will pass your grateful mention to our Guests Services Manager Mr. Tayar who has been taking excellent care of our guest for over 20 years now! And of course, not to forget our DJ Yasser who’s skills to entertain multinational public of Mercure Hurghada is a success proven by every night boundless parties at our Night Club.
We hope that you’ll come to dive in that carefree enjoyable atmosphere of Mercure Hurghada very soon and the collection of your exquisite vacation memories will grow each time you visit the beautiful country of Egypt.

Aladin Saleh
General Manager
Mercure Hotel
H1815@accor.com
ACCOR BRAND: Sofitel, Novotel, Pullman, Ibis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Myself and 2 friends went here for a weeks break, we couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. The hotel, you couldn't fault it, rooms were spacious and clean and it's grounds were amazing and very well looked after. The staff right from the word "go" were so friendly, helpful and couldn't do enough for us we felt like royalty with the treatment we recieved, even from the presence of management Aladdin and Tayar, through to The Animation team Paulo, Marly, Ziggy, Mo, Yassef and waiters and pool side attendance with Abdul and his team, we wouldn't of had such a good holiday without all teams effort and hardwork to make our stay so enjoyable, thank you!!
Will definately visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aladin S, General Manager at Mercure Hurghada Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear Guest,
I am so glad to learn you had an outstanding stay at Mercure Hurghada. In such moments like reading your praise for Mercure’s Team, I am proud to be one of those sincerely devoted men and women that working in Mercure and day after day put their passion and talent to achieve our mutual goal – making the time spent at Mercure Hurghada some of the best life experiences for each of our guests. I will gladly transmit your appreciation to the bar and restaurant team, those beautiful young talents from animation, and of course mr.Tayar – who is by amount of caring attention he gives to our guests, could be considered the team itself. I will be delighted to be your host once again and let me assure you that when we see the joy and happiness on your faces this turns our work into source of pleasure, which grows with every time we see you visiting Mercure Hurghada.

Aladin Saleh
General Manager
Mercure Hotel
H1815@accor.com
ACCOR BRAND: Sofitel, Novotel, Pullman, Ibis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
4.6 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
1.9 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#40 of 222 in Hurghada
2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
832 reviews
2.2 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
2.1 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hurghada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hurghada Hotel

Property: Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Address: Safaga road km 12, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#4 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#19 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hurghada Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Hurghada is the perfect holiday destination for people who want to do everything or nothing at all. Conveniently located just 10 minutes from the international airport, at the exclusive Hurghada beach resort, this exquisite venue offers guests the ultimate in pure luxury with a private, picture-perfect beach, elegant restaurants and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Prestigia, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), HRS and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Mercure Hurghada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hurghada Hotel Hurghada
Sofitel Hurghada
Accor Hurghada
Hurghada Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing