We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Ranked #22 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good trip”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We arrived 31st of July and stayed in 14th of August. We had a group of 11, 2 adults and 9 kids. The trip was sort of a tennis practice session for us, and the hotel completely fit our requirements. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful; whenever we had any request, it was done in a question of few minutes.
The restaurant managers were very kind and were always able to find a table for our crowd. We enjoyed endless choices of delicious food and desserts.
The kids loved animation team, especially Pablo and Marley. All the show programs we went to were spectacular and fun.
The sea was very clean and warm. Also, if anyone likes observing marine wildlife I would recommend going to the right side of the beach when the water is low. There are many crabs, clams and beautiful fishes in that area.
As one of few adults in the group, I was able to enjoy disco. 2 times a week (Mondays and Thursdays) a bus takes people to city clubs and I would definitely recommend going there.
The hotel shops have wide selection and the prices are pretty good because you can haggle. I would recommend visiting spice shop where Joseph (a very nice redhaired man) will treat you with tea and smoke hookah with you. He has lots of tea, oils, spices and shisha tobacco. The owner of papyrus shop (Samer) is also very helpful and he will help you to find a perfect papyrus for your home and friends.
Mohamed Al Tayar is your man if you need anything. He is making rounds around the hotel making sure everything is perfect and everyone is happy. He helped us to get into gym (because normally no kids are allowed in there) and to extend our rooms for few more hours with a discount.
The tennis courts are pretty good. They seem to have some kind of rubbery surface so the bounce is soft but even.
We enjoyed our stay in hotel and would like to visit again

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milachka93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atta E, General Manager at Mercure Hurghada Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your wonderful experience online.

I am extremely happy to know that you have appreciated the entire hotel’s services and facilities, at Mercure Hurghada, we always strive to create a joyful atmosphere to all our dear guests.

With pleasure, I shall transmit your praise to the team with a special mention to Pablo, Marley, Joseph and Samer from the shops and our guest service manager Mohamed El Tayar who surely will be much more motivated with your feedback.

We do look forward to have the pleasure of hosting you once again in the very near future.

Atta EL DESSOUKY
General Manager
MERCURE Hurghada
ACCOR BRANDS : Sofitel, Novotel, Pullman, Ibis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,559
    648
    159
    60
    41
See reviews for
1,183
1,175
156
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The strong points of this hotel are the staff who were charming, attentative and genuine with a special mention for Chloe who seemed to be our personal happiness advisor. Also Marley one of the animation team and Hany the chef at the pool side bar were extremely friendly. Although you were invited to take up the extras at no time were we pestered like in some other hotels we have stayed at in Egypt. The same could be said of the shop keepers. The resort is more compact than some of the larger 5 star resorts but this was a plus point. Only having 1 pool was not a problem and it never felt over crowded. The lay out gave a nice view out to sea from the sunbeds around the pool. The upgrade on the all inclusive seemed well worth the £10 a day. Only real negative is the buffet style eating arrangements which could be a bit chaotic at peak times and parts of the restaurant are rather dingy. The food is so so but with reasonably good variety. To put in real terms pretty good for functional all inclusive dining in Egypt but not comparable to enjoying a meal out whilst on a non all inclusive holiday in other parts of the world. Rooms a little smaller than we have experienced in a 5 start hotel and no coffee making facilities but apart from this could not see any difference from rooms in higher grading hotels - spotless. We would be more than happy to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elwood660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atta E, General Manager at Mercure Hurghada Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2014
Dear Guest,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hurghada
It is always a pleasure to receive your feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Atta EL DESSOUKY
General Manager
MERCURE Hurghada
ACCOR BRANDS: Sofitel, Novotel, Pullman, Ibis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for 7 nights back at the beginning of June, this was our first time in Egypt and we decided on the Mercure hotel in Hurghada after reading such great reviews on Tripadvisor and the deal we found online through secret escapes. Overall we had a wonderful holiday, from the moment we arrived late in the evening on the Friday until the day we left all of the staff were amazingly helpful and always happy to help. We were greeted by two of the great team of staff (Chloe and Marley) who then made the rest of our stay very enjoyable. The room had a great view and was well cleaned with surprise towel animals being made for us some mornings. The resort is well maintained and a great stay for lazing around the pool or on the beach. There were some great evening events throughout the week put on by the animation and staff team that were very entertaining. The food was ok, a large selection put on every night but not always to our liking, we were all inclusive so there was plenty of choice and we especially enjoyed the food offered by the pool bar and all of the drinks. During our stay we were visited by the hotel manager and deputy manager several times to see if our stay was going well and what we could feedback which we have never had from any other hotel. Even with the trouble in Egypt we felt perfectly safe within the resort and we even went out for a trip in to Hurghada, which was interesting but a little worrying at times with the hassle you get from the locals to buy things. The comments for improvement I would suggest is to reduce the amount of hassle you get from some of the attractions within the hotel who come asking if you want a massage, ride a camel or go out on a boat every day many times more than once. Otherwise, thanks for the great holiday!

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room, you are away from the main complex but gain great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atta E, General Manager at Mercure Hurghada Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Atta EL Dessouky
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

As many people have said in their reviews this really is the most perfect hotel for so many reasons, I really don't know where to start.

We arrived on 30 June for our 2 week stay, 6 of us travelling of which 2 were teenagers. We were looking for somewhere that could be a place to relax for the adults but also something to entertain the younger ones and this hotel certainly had everything we could have asked for.
The rooms were absolutely perfect, no complaints about the size however if there are more than 2 sharing a room then it could get a bit tricky with space and storage. The cleaners were so amazing, nothing for them was a problem, stunning towel art, fresh water each day and always a friendly face.

One other thing I found is that there are almost no insects/flies/bugs at the hotel. I am really awful for getting mosquito bites when on holiday and I had packed so much repellent/bands etc but there were no problems here and no need for the repellent.

The food in my opinion was of a very high standard, I don't believe that anyone staying at this hotel would suffer from any problems due to the food. If I could say one negative thing it would be only because I like and I'm use to more flavour and spices. A huge selection always offered and the best apple pie and ice cream ever.

The entertainment at this hotel was just awesome. During the day and night the staff worked so hard and were just hilarious at times. Rio, you totally made the holiday for my son. Mamadou, you were just adorable and we will see you again I hope. To all the entertainment staff, you are just the best guys and make the guests feel so welcome. You put the heart into this wonderful family hotel.

Regarding the guys that walk around the pool daily trying to sell you various trips, spas, horse riding etc....they are very friendly and just doing a job and if you tell them that you really are not interested the first time they ask you then they will leave you alone. I can highly recommend the fun fly team but I will review them on their own tripadvisor page.

All I can say is that if you have booked to go to this hotel then please be assured you will have the best time ever.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MitchertJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atta E, General Manager at Mercure Hurghada Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your supporting review online and for recommending Mercure Hurghada to Tripadvisor readers.

“The most amazing place, perfect holiday for all”; what a great honor for us to receive such heartening words.

It is my extreme delight to know that you have taken pleasure in our multiple facilities and appreciated our services.

With pleasure, I shall share your praise with the team with a special mention to those named in your review.

Mercure family is waiting for your return soon.

Atta EL DESSOUKY
General Manager
MERCURE Hurghada
ACCOR BRANDS : Sofitel, Novotel, Pullman, Ibis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My family and I jut got back from a one week vacation in Mercure Hurghada and like every year... we did enjoy every minute there.

The animation team & entire staff were just great, also the food had lots of varieties with excellent quality, we already look forward for our next vacation there !!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Wael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atta E, General Manager at Mercure Hurghada Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2014
Dear Guest,

Mercure Hurghada entire team would like to express their sincere gratitude for your kind feedback. We are glad to know that you have spent an enjoyable family holiday.

We are waiting for your next visit soon.

Atta EL DESSOUKY
General Manager
MERCURE Hurghada
ACCOR BRANDS : Sofitel, Novotel, Pullman, Ibis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We arruved on the 2nd of july and we were staying there for 14 days. It was my secound time at Mercure hurghada and like last year I had a great time. The food was great, rooms are spotles and the staff is amazeing. I would like to give special thanks to animation team, specially Marley and the best waiter Mohammed who gives drinks at the pool bar, even the salesmans are really friendly not intrusive, specially the guy with the camels and the guy who sells sand. It definitely wasn't my last time in Mercure Hurghada.

Milan from Slovenia

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katja k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atta E, General Manager at Mercure Hurghada Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your kind review on Tripadvisor and for choosing Mercure Hurghada once more for your holidays.

I am happy to know that you have spent a pleasant stay and enjoyed our services and facilities as well as the teams’ friendliness.

With pleasure I shall convey your appreciation to the whole team with a special mention to the Marley and Mohamed.

Mercure team is looking forward to your next visit.

Atta EL DESSOUKY
General Manager
MERCURE Hurghada
ACCOR BRANDS : Sofitel, Novotel, Pullman, Ibis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

18th July - 2 weeks

We arrived at midnight due to our Thomson flight been delayed, we was welcomed with cold drinks at reception by Chloe and showed around the resort by Marley.... Two very nice people. Once in our room we went to the bar and got a drink & was also offered food.

The rooms are nice but not a very good size for a family, one king size bed, a sofa which was used as a child's bed (only my 7 year old was to long for it) & a bathroom, the balconies in most rooms are just big enough for 2 people to stand side by side! We did ask to move to a bigger room but was told all the same size, we enquired about interconnecting rooms but the hotel wanted £889.... However on day 3 their was Ants in the bed so we was moved to another room which was a slight bigger then the last room with a balcony 4 x the size and an amazing sea view....

Certain cocktails (mojitos) been are favourite, fruit juices and speciality teas are not included on the all inclusive package you have to upgrade to ultra all inclusive which isn't made very clear when booking. Very disappointed as all other hotels we've been to in Egypt they have always been included. 20 dollars pp per day to upgrade.

The beach is small - half of sea access is closed for water sports.

We found unless you was down at 8am for a sun bed by the pool you wouldn't get one as all reserved with towels - no problems on the beach.

Food was great always a good selection

Their was no black out curtains in the bedrooms (unusual for egypt) so was woken very early each morning, we did ask housekeeping if any thing could be done and they did fit blackout curtains the same day.

In a nut shell - good food, very good animation team, rooms ok for couples but wouldn't recommend for families, nothing outside the hotel, senzo shopping mall £6 in a taxi. 40 minute walk.

Can get a lot more for your money staying elsewhere as we've just discovered, we choose this hotel as had excellent reviews, we went with high expectations and was disappointed, convinced the hotel staff write a lot of the reviews themselves. Very misleading.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunnymeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atta E, General Manager at Mercure Hurghada Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your opinion on your recent stay at Mercure Hurghada.

I am sorry to know that your stay did not meet your high expectations and would like to highlight couple of points:

- We are committed to serve what we promised in the Ultra All-Inclusive and All-Inclusive formulas which are tailored to keep a high value for money for the package paid, as well, both formulas are communicated to all tour operators who should have transmitted all info to their clients upon the initial reservation to avoid any confusion.

- None of the hotel’s team can ever post fake reviews as we do care about our hotel’s image and reputation, also, it’s impossible to publish any misleading information or false feedback due to Tripadvisor restrictions policy and high security level.

Thank you again for taking the time to communicate your feedback to us.

Best personal regards

Atta EL DESSOUKY
General Manager
MERCURE Hurghada
ACCOR BRANDS : Sofitel, Novotel, Pullman, Ibis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#42 of 222 in Hurghada
2,230 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
5.0 mi away
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
#1 of 222 in Hurghada
1,325 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Long Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hurghada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hurghada Hotel

Property: Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Address: Safaga road km 12, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#4 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#20 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hurghada Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Hurghada is the perfect holiday destination for people who want to do everything or nothing at all. Conveniently located just 10 minutes from the international airport, at the exclusive Hurghada beach resort, this exquisite venue offers guests the ultimate in pure luxury with a private, picture-perfect beach, elegant restaurants and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Prestigia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Hurghada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hurghada Hotel Hurghada
Sofitel Hurghada
Accor Hurghada
Hurghada Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing