We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A listening hotel - fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
Ranked #1 of 229 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A listening hotel - fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

The service at The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh is second to none. We stayed here last month to celebrate our wedding anniversary- we had an amazing experience. The entire team at The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh are extremely helpful and very kind who took very good care of us. A beautiful hotel with a lovely team of genuine and nice people.

Nothing was too much trouble at this hotel. If a meal that we wanted wasn’t on the menu it was prepared for us. If there was something that wanted in our room, it was sent to us. They even went to the trouble of preparing my Karva Chaut meal (Hindu fast) and freshly delivered this to my room at 4.30am.

The rooms are fantastic and most of which are beach facing. The hotel has a small but great Spa offering relaxing treatments. The Bar is opening until very late with a fantastic selection of alcohol. The hotel has two main restaurants Indian and continental. The Indian food was amazing thanks for Chefs Chandra, Aditya & Arjun who are from India. However we were a little disappointed with the variety/selection of food available on the non Indian menu; although as mentioned they were more than happy to prepare anything else that we required which was great service to experience. This was our 3rd stay at an Oberoi hotel and it certainly lived up to our expectations. The only negative that would say is that the hotel only offers a bed and breakfast board, not half board which was a bit of a shame.

This is a definitely a hotel that I would return to and recommend to anyone especially if you are looking for a quiet relaxing and luxurious stay. Thanks the Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh for a memorable and relaxing trip. A listening hotel.

Room Tip: Suite that are beach facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ss74s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and lovely comments. We have only 102 suites over 48 acres which renders us to being flexible to the needs of our guests at all times. I'm really pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay and have passed on your comments to the persons mentioned and the entire team at the resort.
We look forward to your future visits.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: dhiren.pereira@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,114
    91
    29
    17
    14
See reviews for
298
751
33
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

Having stayed at other another Oberoi hotel, and reading the reviews here we thought we knew what to expect. Certainly the welcome and the initial attention to detail were perfect. The room itself was beautiful, large, and pristine.
The setting was gorgeous and the grounds and public areas beautifully kept. So what wasn't perfect?
Mainly the service in the main restaurant, it was slow and inefficient and despite the courtesy and good humour of all the staff, it just wasn't up to scratch, particularly at breakfast time. The other thing was there were several inconsistencies regarding service generally, so no major complaints, but just not up to the usual Oberoi perfection.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetsam95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay barring the service in the restaurant for which I am most apologetic. I can assure you that this is an aberration from our normal high standards.
We would like to see you back at our resort so we can show you the true Oberoi hospitality.
Please contact me personally during your next visit to our resort and I will ensure you carry back fond memories.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
Email: dhiren.pereira@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

I have been in the travel business for over 40 years and stayed in some of the best hotels around the world and have to say that this particular hotel is in my top five! Whilst I am not a beach person, I enjoyed my stay here and if anyone can afford it,I have no hesitation in saying stay there! The staff, the ameneties, the food and of course the public areas and rooms/suites are superb! Imagine walking into a room with its own coutyeard gardens, top of the range furnishings, a sunken bath and its own swimming pool! Yes its here along with an excellent Indian Restaurant, a colonial style lounge, a library and much more. Here is one place where you cant buy tacky souvenirs- the shop like everything else is tasteful! This is the place for your honeymoon, a special birthday, an engagement or aniversary-you wont regret it if you like class!

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and have a suite with its own pool-not cheap but worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely review. It is a pleasure to receive such wonderful comments and I have shared the feedback with the team who are equally delighted. We endeavour to ensure all guests leave as ambassadors of The Oberoi Group.
We look forward to welcoming you, your family and friends back to our beautiful resort.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: dhiren.pereira@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

We've just returned from a fabulous honeymoon in Egypt which ended with a week at the Oberoi. Nothing was too much trouble at this fabulous hotel and our reviews of specific features are as follows:

Suite - Wonderful. Good sized marble bath despite initial appearances. Plenty of space for us 2, lounge area with a sofa and it's own TV and a massive bed with it's own TV. We (suite 309) had our own very sunny courtyard and sun loungers which was more of a sun trap than some rooms and an outside dining table. If you didn't want to leave your suite for a week, it was definitely possible!

Beach - great private sun loungers with their own wind breaks on a lovely sandy beach. Sadly you couldn't get into the sea straight from the beach, but when you got into it via the hotel's own pier, the reef (which was why you couldn't get straight into the sea) was fantastic. We went scuba diving with Hayes and Jarvis on a different reef and we saw way more fish and had more fun snorkelling off the hotel's reef than we did scuba diving elsewhere!

Food - prices are pretty much London prices, so living in London we weren't surprised, especially since the portions were so generous and the food delicious - we had no worries of Nile Piles here and ate loads of fresh fruit alongside our waffles at the delicious breakfast. We would especially recommend the Thai night at the Pergola. The Touching Senses programme even has a session teaching you how to make some of the delicious dishes so that you can recreate them at home. One tip is to try the in-suite dining at some point - you get all the restaurant's menus and some extra dishes to choose from and pay only a 50p surcharge to have it in your suite - well worth it if you'd like to have a romantic meal away from the surprising number of children for such a luxurious hotel (I don't do kids).

Entertainment - is very well done. It's nothing like the Mediterranean "animation" programmes that you get, but some civilised activities that help to give your day structure. Activities that we attended were cocktail evening with the management, star gazing with an astronomer, making your own massage oils and cooking some dishes from the restaurant menu. Couldn't fault them!

Service - faultless. From the restaurant staff who remembered from the first day that we would be drinking still not sparkling water with our meals, to the reception staff who either knew your name and the likely reason for you wanting to speak with you (your car is waiting for you Mr X) or were quickly phoned across the lobby by someone who did know so that they knew by the time you got to the desk! Everything is painless at the Oberoi, all charges are automatically put on your suite so that you don't have to worry about it. The hotel owns several private taxis that will take you where ever you wish if you'd like to see a bit of Egypt, and then the car wait for you (charge about £2 p/h ie nothing!). There is also a good selection of DVDs for you to borrow and watch in your suite.

Overall - the standard of service at the Oberoi is second to none. Our stay here has given us great confidence that all Oberoi hotels will be run to the same exceptional standard and as such we will be sure to return to Oberoi hotels in the future.

PS. If you book your honeymoon here with Hayes and Jarvis, there is a misprint in the brochure. It says that honeymooners will receive a free massage and a free 3 course dinner. We asked the hotel and our rep from Travco (don't have many complimentary things to say about that company) and nobody knew anything about it. We do not believe that this was the hotel's fault - we had a lovely honeymoon turn down service and a delicious 5000kcal chocolate ganache cake and they would have done anything to make our hotel stay perfect - it's just another of Hayes and Jarvis's muck ups!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your detailed review on our resort and for the lovely feedback. We are starting "Pilates" this week as well to add on to our Touching Senses programme. We will now have YOGA and PILATES once a week each for all our guests with a view to help them relax even further.
We look forward to many more visits in the near future.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: dhiren.pereira@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

This was my 4th stay at the Oberoi Sahl Hashish (TOSH) , as usual i enjoyed being there and actually this is my home in Hughada. The suites are so nicely designed with a brilliant mixing of traditional and modern mode of furniture. The see view is clear from every direction and the amenities are just optimum. The most important (from a frequent traveller experience) is the warm and friendly atmosphere of all the stuff of the TOSH .... it is the oasis of elegant relaxation.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msmourad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for coming back to our slice of paradise ever so often. The entire team joins me in looking forward to your 5th stay in the very near future. Thank you for your lovely review.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: dhiren.pereira@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

My wife and i just returned home after our second stay in the oberoi sahl hasheesh, as usual this resort gives the guest a special sense of being cared for...the front office people are professional , they took care of all our suite reservation , transportation in a very smooth way.The suite is as usual a very comfortable place...makes you feel at home with a spotless glance.Food is great, the breakfast buffet is well served with wide selection of food.The view of the hotel is fantastic with a long beach you can enjoy at your own private atmosphere.The resort in my opinion will be great for couples looking for peace of mind.... great for a bit old people..not for teens or young children.We shall return as it made us happy, thanks for a good management and a team making our wish their command.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alaa e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for coming back to our resort for your second stay. It was a pleasure to have you with us over the Eid holidays. We look forward to many more visits.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: dhiren.pereira@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Amazing location, property..service, friendliness and food was an icing on the cake..one of the best resorts that I have been to..everysingle person from the General Manager to the security was willing to help and make our stay comfortable..i just could not find any reason to even slip below ' excellent' in the review form.. A must go for all...

Room Tip: Hardly any difference between deluxe and superior deluxe..either go for delux or grand
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manish_Mehrotra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. The entire team is pleased to note that you enjoyed your short vacation with us. I have passed on your comments to the entire team and we all look forward to welcoming you, your family and friends back more often in the near future.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: dhiren.pereira@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
3.7 mi away
Sensimar Premier Le Reve
Sensimar Premier Le Reve
#2 of 229 in Hurghada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,957 reviews
6.5 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Romance Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
6.9 mi away
Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel
3.8 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh

Property: The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
Address: | Sahl Hasheesh, Hurghada 117, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#1 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#4 Business Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just spent two weeks at the oberoi, the accomodation was a large king bed suite with a seperate sitting area. There are two large flat screen TVs in each suite a private courtyard with dining area and sun loungers. The rooms are tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The bathroom is large with shower and sunken bathroom in granite and the toiletries are replaced daily or if you run short on request. The whole complex is kept remarkably clean by the staff. The staff deserv a special mention because to a man( and woman ) they are polite helpful and above all a friendly people who make you feel welcome an liked.My wife and I both had birthdays during our stay and both had birthday cards and a cake delivered to our room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Odigeo so you can book your The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh Hotel Hurghada
Oberoi Hotel Hurghada
Oberoi Hurghada
Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
Hurghada Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing