We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Civilised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
Ranked #1 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Truly Civilised”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed at the Oberoi for a week from the 13th June, and what a stay it was. Disregarding the travel from Manchester, the Oberoi experience blew myself and my wife away completely. After arriving quite late, we thought we had missed dinner, but the manager on duty informed us that if we required something cooking, they would oblige, but, they had already taken the liberty of providing a small spread, consisting of sandwiches, fruit and pastries awaiting us in our suite. From the man who met us at Hurghada airport, with a welcoming smile, and an equally welcome air conditioned Mercedes, all the staff we met were a credit to the Oberoi brand. The front of house, the waiters, the beach boys and the cleaners all give 110%.
The choice of breakfast was excellent, fresh fruit, pastries, cereal or something cooked from the menu. The lunch menu was great, it changed daily, and the dinner menu was excellent, all a la carte. Drinks were a bit pricy, but hey.
The beach was spotless, Abbas saw to that, he would walk up and down picking any litter up that had washed ashore.
Hanna was the waiter on the beach, and I would like to say, what a nice man he was, just joined Oberoi, but im sure he will be a credit to them.
The snorkelling from the beach was fantastic, beautifully warm, clear water with an abundance of wildlife.
Thank you ALL the staff at the Oberoi. We had an amazing, relaxing unforgettable holiday.

Room Tip: Try and get a suite near the beach, you wont be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 41mandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh on your recent visit. I take this opportunity to thank you for your time in evaluating our product and services.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about the hotel, team and services, especially the contribution of Hannah and Abbas. We are glad that we were able to exceed your expectations.

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Reuben Kataria
General Manager
reuben.kataria@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,149
    97
    31
    19
    14
See reviews for
312
772
33
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Metz, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Oberoi Hurghada a precious cocoon for very relaxing holidays!
We would like to express our total satisfaction for our nice holidays we spent in June 2014 in that wonderfull place.
We Highly recommend the Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh where holidays are heaven on earth and express our special thanks to Mr Kataria the director who nether miss a day to great his guest personaly.
We also have to express our very warm greetings to Mr Essam Moustafa (the soul of the Hotel Oberoi) who makes your stay more than special and makes sure that you feel in heaven at every time of the day!!!
Coming back to real life after such a fantastic holiday is very difficult and we left that "special cocoon" very hardly.... But only because we know that our next holidays will be there again!

Room Tip: All rooms at The Hotel Oberoi Sahl Hasheeh are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominique H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh on your recent visit. I take this opportunity to thank you for your time in evaluating our product and services.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about the hotel, team and services especially the contribution of our food and beverage manager Mr. Essam.

At The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our slice of paradise.

Kind regards

Reuben Kataria
General Manager
reuben.kataria@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Just came back from Oberoi with the family. We stayed in a suite with indoor pool. The entire stay was very rewarding and the staff are very warm and friendly. Let alone, the restaurant and the food quality is superb. Special thanks to the housekeeping team and the team in the restaurant and reception, they are all exemplary and very professional, always with a smile.
Thanks Oberoi

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohamed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMtosh, General Manager at The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing The Oberoi for your family holiday with us. The Villas with their own private pools are our most popular accommodation. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We eagerly look forward to your next visit.
Best regards,
Dhiren Pereira
General Manager
Email: generalmanager.mauritius@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

After staying 5 times over the last 2 years, twice in the royal suite for either 7 days or 10 days, I an very saddened that I have to write this.
We stayed in royal suite 111 with breathtaking views of the Red Sea, we had booked and confirmed this booking 6 weeks before arrival, the oberoi recommended this suite to us. Our stay up till three days before departure was lovely, no complaints, the oberou standard as you would expect. Front of house then told us we would have to move suits because they has double booked our suite the last night of our stay, we strongly objected to this but they would not listed telling us we had no choice, over the next twelve hours of coming and going this situation was not resolved, they were telling us all different reasons why we had to move but it came to light we were moving for a couple that were staying only 2 nights. We booked there dive boat for the day of the move as we felt that we could not be in the hotel when this was happening, it was a very distressing and upsetting experience to be treated like this . I believe over 40%of customers are repeat guests .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
34 Thank Sheena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh on your recent visit. I take this opportunity to thank you for your time in evaluating our product and services.

I do understand that your last few days were not to your expectations and I regret the inconvenience. Unfortunately, we had to ask you to move to another Royal Suite as your initial booking was only for ten nights and you extended your stay by a night. As discussed with you, we could have moved the incoming guests to a different Royal suite, had they not booked the interconnecting deluxe with the Royal suite. Since we did not have the availability of a interconnecting set, we had to ask you to move.

I sincerely apologise and ask for your forgiveness. I do hope you that you will give us another chance to showcase our hospitality and services. We value your patronage and would request you to return to stay with us on your future visits.

Sincere regards,

Reuben Kataria
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

What can I say about this hotel? It is sincerely one of the best I've stayed in for years. Rueben's team are fantastic. From the reception staff including Alaa and his team to the Food & Beverage run by Hessam and Head Chef Ashish. The staff fall over themselves to help and the food is impeccable. The pool area is very relaxing, the rooms very generously apportioned and the private beach is lovely. There is beautiful snorkling to be done right off of the pier. Honestly, the easiest decision to make regarding where to stay in Hurghada. Didn't love this part of Egypt enormously but would consider coming back just for the Oberoi.

Room Tip: Choose one closer to the main building to avoid long walks or having to wait for buggies
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank ASC1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh on your recent visit. I take this opportunity to thank you for your time in evaluating our product and services.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about the hotel, team and services especially the contribution of our food and beverage manager Mr. Essam, Chef Ashish and Alaa.

At The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our slice of paradise.

Kind regards

Reuben Kataria
General Manager
reuben.kataria@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiral UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My wife and I are actually lay by the beautiful pool as I type this review, we have been here 5 days transferring from another hotel in Sahl Hasheesh as it didn't meet our expectations.
THE OBEROI meets all expectations and more, from the moment of sitting in the E Class Mercedes complete with cold drinks and fresh towels to the greeting at the hotel by the the front office manager and his wonderful staff.
After a short check in procedure we were taken to our beach front superior deluxe suite (non pool), immaculately prepared and of generous proportions - walk in wardrobe, bathroom with walk in shower and sunken bath, Queen sized bed with enormous and most comfortable pillows - plus pillow menu, separate lounge sitting area with settee and chair both lounge and bed areas have up to date flat screen TVs, the suite is complemented with a private walled courtyard with sun loungers and dining table.
The grounds, either the grassed or sand areas are immaculately maintained, as is the beach or pool area - both areas have complementary cold water, fresh face towels and sun tan lotion throughout the day brought to your bed - as a special either fresh fruit or hibiscus fruit drink is brought also free of charge.
All restaurant areas are served with true 5 star al la carte waiters and Matre d - it's an absolute pleasure to be served in such a professional and courteous manner, a nice touch also is the THE OBEROI also take trainees from the training school and allow them practical training under the tutor-ledge of high quality waiters.
The food at all meals and all restaurants is amazing, wide variety available, more than adequate proportions, plated up and served as if on TV and with an excellent taste.
The spa provides numerous types of massages and treatments, to date I have had 2 massages and a Red Sea Special which was 2.5 hrs of sheer heaven - superb, polite staff.
If you are looking for total relaxation in stunning surroundings and with excellent service then look no further - THE OBEROI is for you.
We will be returning this coming October and also for our 25th Wedding Anniversary next year we have found the place in which to celebrate.
You are treated as an individual from the moment you arrive, nothing is too much trouble, everything is of a very high standard.

Room Tip: Deluxe and Superior Deluxe suites are the same size, the latter being close to the beach / sea views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Daveoffshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about the hotel, team and services.

At The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh, we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward.

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh and look forward to welcoming you back .


Kind regards

Reuben Kataria
General Manager
reuben.kataria@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Just returned from a fabulous weeks stay at the Oberoi, without doubt this is the best hotel we have stayed at in Egypt. We stayed B&B and as a result the food quality far exceeded the usual all inclusive options. The weeks evening meal bill was extremely reasonable and affordable.Every aspect was 5 star from the airport arrival and transfer, to the location, hotel quality, food worthy of top class restaurants and the most wonderfully attentive and friendly staff. Stepped out of our room directly into the beach, within minutes our sun beds were made up for us, cold hand towels, water and suncream all delivered and at no extra cost. By mid morning fresh fruit and a refreshing cold drink also arrived - pure heaven! The chefs are trained to an extremely high standard and I had the best Thai curry and nasi goreng I have tasted - the chef even provided the recipe for us to take home. Will certainly be going back and would not consider staying anywhere else. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The upgraded suites are closer to the beach but to be honest all are great and it does not take long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ja1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_SahlHasheesh, General Manager at The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh on your recent visit. I take this opportunity to thank you for your encouraging comments.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about the hotel, team and services, especially the quality of food at the Indian restaurant and service at the pool. I hope that you have put the recipe to good use.

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Oberoi, Sahl Hasheesh and look forward to welcoming you and your friends and family back to our slice of paradise.


Kind regards


Reuben Kataria
General Manager
reuben.kataria@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
3.7 mi away
Premier Le Reve Hotel & Spa (Adults Only)
6.5 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Makadi Bay
831 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Romance Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
7.0 mi away
Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel
3.8 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh

Property: The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
Address: | Sahl Hasheesh, Hurghada 117, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#1 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#4 Business Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just spent two weeks at the oberoi, the accomodation was a large king bed suite with a seperate sitting area. There are two large flat screen TVs in each suite a private courtyard with dining area and sun loungers. The rooms are tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The bathroom is large with shower and sunken bathroom in granite and the toiletries are replaced daily or if you run short on request. The whole complex is kept remarkably clean by the staff. The staff deserv a special mention because to a man( and woman ) they are polite helpful and above all a friendly people who make you feel welcome an liked.My wife and I both had birthdays during our stay and both had birthday cards and a cake delivered to our room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh Hotel Hurghada
Oberoi Hotel Hurghada
Oberoi Hurghada
Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
Hurghada Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing