We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SUNRISE Holidays Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
SUNRISE Holidays Resort
Ranked #41 of 229 Hotels in Hurghada
staffordshire, england
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We have just returned from a two week stay at the sunrise hurghada we found the hotel clean spacious rooms with fantastic views overlooking the lagoon just sword of warning if you go out onto your balcony this the large balcony rooms don't shut the doors behind you as they don't open from the outside as we found out and had to shout to a people on another balcony to call reception to let us back into the room . Other than that air con was fine and we had 2 power cuts which lasted 5mins in 2 weeks. We were on 7th floor top the food was fine the Arabian rest above the el sol was hot but nicer than the el sol . The spa is worth a visit the prices are brilliant for what you get we paid £40 each for the Turkish mass and £50 each for the Egyptian one we had to barter you get just under 2hr sessions . Most of the staff are fine but some are stroppy at times.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TUBS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,301
    1,023
    420
    144
    98
See reviews for
618
2,048
190
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,112)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

My husband and I have just returned home(10th September) after 10 days having had a truly tremendous holiday from beginning to end, It is really quite difficult to know where to begin with thanks and commendations. The hotel was in a great position, staff were very friendly and helpful, our room boy 721 was FABULOUS, so kind thoughtful and considerate.so a huge thank you to him. The room was lovely very comfortable and had an amazing sea view which was excellent.The food was in ample supply and variety so most definitely had something for everyone. (well maybe not those that seem to enjoy complaining or need a stable diet of burgers and chips !! ) with a choice also of restaurants all of which we tried and no complaints whatsoever.The animation team were magnificent, polite and friendly at all times, and their evening shows were excellent, they clearly work very hard indeed. It was a bonus being adult only hotel too. The weather of course was wonderfully hot (as one would expect being near the equator :-))We enjoyed the quad bike sunset experience, and parascending trip.thanks to Mohamed for sorting the quad trip for us. The hotel is a little tired but very clean and cared for.One of the highlights for my husband had to be swimming with the turtles in the sea he actually got carried along by one of them which was a delightful experience, and fish eating from his hand when he was snorkeling.All in all a magnificent holiday.. THANK YOU ! We will be back. I will say that I would like to see the restaurant enforce the long trousers attire in the evenings. lazy football attire should be banned at all costs for evening, or sent to eat at the poolside bar where they can have pizzas or burgers etc.as most ladies dress up and think the men should make an effort to accompany them appropriately dressed.a couple of the solo singers were a little disappointing prior to the show in the evening. Thanks Again.

Room Tip: Quad bike sunset trip. and parscending.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank suebarker60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

We stayed at the sunrise 1st week of sept after reading bad reviews which were totally ungrounded we had an excellent holiday , the hotel is lovely and clean and all air con worked, we had room 737 with a massive balcony and 2 double beds!!

Animation team really annoying , especially when you are trying to sleep on the beach blowing their whistles, I was not impressed

Did not enjoy the entertainments as very cheesy, Mahmoud in the grand cafe bar was exceptional in his service and cocktails

Food was good a la carte was amazing plenty to choose from just don't expect a fry up in the mornings

All in all great holiday

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aimeej1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

As there had been several negative reviews on this hotel I must say we were really impressed.
Our bags were taken from us on arrival and we were given a small cocktail to welcome us to the hotel,the reception desk were very helpful and pleasant and most spoke good English,We were then shown to our room and all our bags were carried for us.Our room had a lovely view over the sea and we were situated just in front of the pool bar with a slightly limited view of the lagoon pool.The room was clean and spacious and 5 minutes after we arrived our room cleaner Hani knocked the door and introduced himself ,he said he would be looking after us during our 9 day stay and any problems to tell him and he would put it right.
The food at the main buffet style restaurant (El Sol ) was perfectly fine and I really don't know what people were moaning about ,... Breakfast was varied and plentiful,Lunch plenty of choice again and evening meal a different theme every night including Egyptian,Mexican,Arabic,Lebanese and Asian.
Arabian nights upstairs had less choice but was quieter and you could get your food with less hassle however I did find the drinks service a little slow up there as I feel they were understaffed.
Pool bar had a good choice of pizza's available and the burgers were very nice....I did find the chips here were cooked better than in the main restaurant as they were always piping hot and crispy they did tend to be a bit on the soggy side at the El Sol.

We mainly stayed by the main pool during the day however it could be a little noisy with the animation team and all the activities going on but they were fun to watch.....The Russians are a nightmare they keep their towels from the day before so they block book loads of sunbeds under the canopy's first thing in the morning often before 7am and then they stay empty most of the day but no-one else gets a look in....we did complain one day and the lifeguard did take the towels off when no-one claimed them by lunchtime....he told them off but they just ignore it and do the same the following day.

Entertainment in the evening consists of a singer from about 7.30pm then this is followed by either a belly dancer,whirling Dervish,snake charmer,dance troupe or the animation team.....either way it's all over by 10.30pm

All in all this is a lovely hotel,nice clean well equipped rooms, good food and some entertainment day and night...it's a little far out from the marina and the walk takes around 30-40 mins, a taxi cost us £1,50 one way

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view we were on 5th floor and had no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tango_bunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012 via mobile

Arrived 28/08/2012 transfer from the airport took roughly 15mins during the drive to the hotel i was quite shocked at how the entire town of Hurghada seems like a cross between an abandoned building site and an old war zone and was wondering what i had let myself in for! Weather was amazing though 40degrees at 4pm. Arrived at the Hotel which eased my fears as it looked very nice. At the reception they took our cases and passports and gave us drinks and wet towels to cool off. We were given our room card and off we went we was in room 621 it was really nice air con was on and we had a lovely view of the beach. Only downside was the 2 single beds didn't bother us though as me and my Girlfriend just pushed them together. Rooms were cleaned everyday, often had little decorations from our cleaner Mohammed. The main restaurant was very nice different choice every night. The upstairs restaurant does a lovely Sunday roast every Sunday. The ala carte restaurant downstairs which you have to book in advance wasnt great i wouldn't really recommend it we only went twice in the 2weeks. The majority of the Staff are very nice and helpful especially Ahmed on the beach and all the animation team! Obviously you get the odd grumpy person but lets be honest its to be expected. The beach is amazing for relaxing and snorkling we spent the majority of our holiday there! The evening entertainment was ok. There is always something going on but for us being 26 and 21 it wasn't really our thing. (more for older people)
The only bad points were that you really can't leave the hotel as it's not really very tourist friendly. And there was a lot of Germans and Russians. I would highly recommend though and i would go back again which says it all really! 1 more thing buy your cigarettes at the airport they were half the price of the hotel i paid 9GBP for 200, Bargain!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Scottr32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

My partner and i went to this hotel last june for his b.day could not fault it .
The staff were great, the food was fab and the weather was awsome....
The staff made us feel realy welcome.,and on his birthday made a great nite for us..
Yes you have to get a visa £10 ,,try going to goa its £80 so £10 is a bargain.....
The entertainment team were just FAB.... had a fab time so relaxing ...no kids under 12 yeyyyy.
We are planning to go bk this year for his big 50.......you just carnt pls every one ....

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

Went here on 24th August for a week with my friend, we were a bit sceptical as reading some of the reviews before we went, they said they had a lot of power cuts and no airconditioning, yes it was very hot (sun) but we never experienced any of that all air con was working and we were never without electric....food was average not too much choice but what we had was nice, the animation team were fanastic work very hard and ladies you must have a spa treatment at the beginning of your holiday (lovely) well worth it, also we went on a boat trip to see the Dolphins another worth while trip with the Tropicana.....all staff were very friendly couldn't do enough for you, the only criticism would be to say that the management should buy a new sound system for the animation team.....

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tigersuewestmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.9 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
7.6 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
3.4 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Plaza
Hilton Hurghada Plaza
#54 of 229 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.4 mi away
Bella Vista
Bella Vista
#114 of 229 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Holidays Resort

Property: SUNRISE Holidays Resort
Address: Corniche Road | Touristic Center, Hurghada 185, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#23 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#31 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#36 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#37 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Holidays Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to SUNRISE Holidays Resort. This resort is located only 500 meters from downtown. It gives you the relaxing retreat with our private island and will guarantee you an unforgettable atmosphere and the active night life of Hurghada's downtown. The resort is located at the Corniche Road in the center of Hurghada. The distance to the Hurghada international airport is approx. 5 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your SUNRISE Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Holidays Hotel Hurghada
Sunrise Holidays Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing