We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SUNRISE Holidays Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$250
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$271
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$302
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$85
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna(El Gouna)(Great Value!)
US$159
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,967)
Filter reviews
4,967 results
Traveller rating
3,019
1,178
481
168
121
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,019
1,178
481
168
121
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsentertainment teambeach barel soljungle discoretro barchef ashrafarabian nightsthomas cookred flaggreat holidaysunday roastfishboat tripwelcome homeyorkshire puddingthe mediterranean restaurantsea view
Filter
Updating list...
2,415 - 2,420 of 4,967 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Our 2 week stay at sunrise was very good.The food was very good with choice for everyone.Our room was excellent ,which had a large terrace with dubbed and beautiful sea view room 518 on the 5th floor.On our arrival we where faced with about 8 steps up to reception but the porters looked after our baggage so that it wasn't a problem for us.check in was swift and we where able to get a drink and something to eat despite it being one o'clock in the morning.All the staff in the hotel where fantastic ,if there was a problem with room eg light bulb or any other ,the problem was sorted immediately. The hotel provides free safety deposit boxes. Bottled water as and when you required it.The lagoon is absolutely marvellous for swimming or lounging .Plenty of sun beds all with windshields.Lovely views out to sea of the Sinai and of boats passing by. Ice cream in the afternoon by the pool.The entertainment was very very good ,there where live singers on most evenings followed by either a show or one of the animation teams own shows which where brilliant.The entertain team are one of the most hardworking,talented and provide a range of daytime activities for all ages .They also put on evening shows like dance shows and comedy shows.They are certainly one of the best I have come across. I would like to single out Modi,Gigi,Omar and Mongi who made our stay particularly special and many thanks to you all.Overall we would reccomend this adult only hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms 518 and 344 have lovely views and large terrace with sunbed.Have close access to lifts and reception areas and dining rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We went to the sunrise hotel at short notice. We wanted a week way in the sun and this hotel did deliver this. I have deliberated on how I should rate this hotel because although it delivered on sunshine with a great beach and beach bar it did lack something. The hotel is badly in need of a major overhaul. We ordered a room with a bath and shower but only ad a shower, wevwere told that our room (233) had been recently refurbished and no longer had a bath! When we asked to change to a room with a bath we were told that it would be a room that wasnt refurbished so we stuck with whatbwe had been given. I didnt want to go toa non refurbished room as the room we had been given wasnt really what i would call "superior"
On the psitive side the firstbfloor balcony view was terrific and the room was kept clean for the duration of our stay.
The bed was like sleeping on a peice of plywood!!
The restaurant food was what you would expect from an "All Inclusive" hotel but the room itself was drab and the decoration was was tired.
The general areas too were drab and in need of reair and decoration.
The staff in general were helpful and friendly aspecially the guys in the beach bar. Big tip, get your towels from the towel centre and ask for a red flag, display this when sunbathing and the boat touts do not bother you.
Overall a nice place to stay to relax but there are better hotels in harghada but come with a bigger price tag. As they say, "You pays your money and you takes your choice".

Room Tip: As for a refurbished sea view superior room and you get the great view. We had room 233 on the firstvfloor
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dean0323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This holiday has been the best I have ever been to the staff are amazing they can't do enough for you the service a recived was also as brilliant the food was great they have a range of choices the entertainment team were great had a lot of fun I would 100% returning back

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stillamber1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had seen lots of very positive reviews about Sunrise and went out there with good hopes for the hotel, and though it definitely lived up on a lot of different areas and we thoroughly enjoyed the hotel there are a few things to note. I will list the positives first and then some of the more negatives we had:

Positives:

Stunning position and views. As far as I could see all the rooms were sea facing and we were on the 7th floor (718) with a big balcony. We asked for a superior room as we were celebrating our anniversary but they were all full.

The weather was incredible, sun every day. Would have been a bit too hot but there was nearly always a breeze (was actually quite windy on some days) which kept the heat down.

The lagoon is incredible and such a good idea. You get the idea of being on a beach but it is just the hotel guests and the lagoon bit you swim in is very nicely protected. There are so many little fish even just in this part and it was incredible for both swimming/snorkelling or just relaxing and cooling off. To add to that with it being no kids it was extremely peaceful.

The staff are all extremely helpful and want to make it as good for you as possible. We celebrated out anniversary while out there and mentioned it to the reception the day before when we booked into the a-la-carte restaurant. Nothing was done then but every day management walk round the lagoon late morning with fresh fruit and ask if everything is all OK. Mentioned it then and they made sure that they gave us a really nice meal (served us some fresh fish as the buffet didn't have much of this) and made us a very nice cake for our room. If you have any issues at all, JUST ASK!

The spa is incredible, as is the boat trip they offer (will write separate reviews for these on the pages) but make sure you barter on price! Everything in Egypt is negotiable.

The Thomas Cook rep was extremely helpful. Ahmed did the introduction but wasn't there that much. His colleague (didn't catch his name) was extremely helpful especially when I had to go to hospital (virus of some sorts, don't think it was food related....)

Everything is extremely clean and well equipped. Though the hotel definitely needs a bit of a refurbishment in certain areas it is very well looked after.

Negatives:

Thomas Cook Flights - on both legs we were delayed heavily (6 hours delay overall over both legs). To add to that they simply didn't have enough staff on to deal with everyone which meant that the queues were huge.

The mattresses/beds in the hotel aren't very good. We asked to be changed rooms when we arrived as our mattress was rock solid, and they did this. Unfortunately our next room also had an extremely hard and uncomfortable mattress. We didn't have the energy at 4am in the morning to change room again and they assured us the next morning we would have a soft mattress. We did, and it was fine from then on in, but I think this is a recurring theme in the hotel as we spoke to other guests who had similar issues with terrible mattresses.

The "All inclusive" nature is very good to an extent and there are certainly a lot of positives about it. A lot of the food is excellent but it more comes down to choice and variety. Everything seems to be the same just slightly changed and there was very little in the way of fish/vegetarian options for my girl friend. After 10 days we were definitely a bit fed up of it as was my girl friend. With the Red Sea being so close we thought there would be a lot more fish choices.

It seems if you wanted the fish options you had to pay extra for the Thursday night outdoor BBQ. We didn't opt for this (at £21/person). This seemed to be a recurring them again in the hotel, as everything just seemed to be about getting extra from you. All inclusive unless you want Western Brands, fruit juice free unless you want freshly squeezed and many other things. I don't mind extras but they were all constantly trying to push these down you on every occasion, a bit much.

The same was due of all the trips. STRONGLY suggest getting a red flag for your sun lounger but these still didn't seem to work as they kept trying to sell us stuff, from boat trips, to scuba diving, and much more. All a bit over the top and frustrating.

Overall it is a very good hotel, extremely good value for money, but does have a few flaws. If you don't mind being sold to constantly or have to ask for a few bits and pieces to be fixed/replaced then you will really enjoy it.

We probably won't be going back as there are plenty of other options and locations we would want to try.

A few tips:
- When you arrive in the airport ignore the waves of people shouting at you, immediately turn left and get your visa from the bank. Should cost you £15/person. The touts will try and rip you off otherwise.
- Take LOTS of small change, any currency is fine, as they seem to ask/expect tips for nearly everything and in a lot of cases will ask/demand one, and we found we only ever had bigger notes that we weren't willing to give. Not many shops have change either.
- Everything is negotiable, even the trips. You want to aim at least 50% less if not more to start with.
- It seems everything is cost in GBP for the extras, and they will then convert that to Egyptian Pounds if you want to pay in that or on your card, at 12LE/£1 GBP. If you can take GBPs with you it makes it easier.
- Take plenty of imodium or similar as we both suffered with bad stomachs after a few days (I got a bad virus as well that hospitalised me for 24 hours).
- Though this didn't happen to us, some of our friends we met ventured out the hotel (turned right) at night and within 100 yards some kids tried to pick pocket them. Take a zip bag for your valuables.

Room Tip: If you need anything just ask the management rather than reception. Much more likely to get done.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TomN1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Amazing value for your money and I really enjoyed my time at sunrise holidays! Very friendly and helpful staff and amazing beach and views! Would recommend and would defiantly go back. Also went on a snorkelling trip which was very lovely and got to see some interesting fish, got to see dolphins on the way to the snorkelling destinations!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lucygoldsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews