We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sunrise holiday resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SUNRISE Holidays Resort
Ranked #55 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just got back from two fabulous weeks,the rooms are spacious and clean,with everything you need,most rooms have beautiful views of beach and pool.We were on 5th floor but changed go ground floor as I have bad knee and it wasn't a problem to change.There are only 2lifts at one end of small complex but everything is up and down stairs,so if like me you struggle with stairs request low floor.The staff from general manager,head chef,house keeping just everyone is very approachable for everything no matter what,they will do there best to sort it out .Entertainment team fab,just brilliant,different shows,daytime activities,bingo are just a few.Meals are fine for 1st week but like everywhere gets a bit repetitive,although they do really try there best,we gave head chef lesson in how to make Yorkshire puddings and second lot he personally brought to our table we great.There is lovely small friend bar across the road to right Retro Bar which did good food and very cheap.Going into town took and 10 mins to walk or could taxi it for about £1,always be prepared to batter even for a taxi,we felt very safe and enjoyed shopping experience there but remember these are people are only trying to make a living so a polite no thank you was fine if we aren't interested.
I would Not ever book Thomas Cook trips again as they we loads dearer than the little local man (wears blue tee shirt) that works the hotel grounds and everyone said his we're very good,Another great thing about this all inclusive was they treated ever nation the same,strictly No favouritism everyond was served in order and bar staff we all very very polite and helpful(different cocktails daily)never had big Que at any of the bars

Room Tip: Ask for sea view or upgrade to suit
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janis Kev A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,631)
There are newer reviews for SUNRISE Holidays Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,064 - 2,070 of 4,635 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

This was our second consecutive summer visit to the Sunrise Holiday Resort in Hurghada.
Our main reasons for returning again were the guaranteed perfect weather, the price, the lovely staff, the unique lagoon bay swimming area and the general enjoyment and overall satisfaction of our previous holiday here.
This time we booked a larger “Superior Double” room and were located in an excellent position in the central block on the 5th floor (room 524). Although this was a so-called refurbished room (baths replaced with walk in showers) it was still jaded and in need of attention, the hotel is 19 years old now and shows it in many places.
Little money is being spent on the fixtures and fittings, the carpet in the main restaurant has seen much better days and the tables and chairs in the beach restaurant certainly all need replacing along with numerous broken ceramic floor tiles. You do get the distinct impression that it’s probably not worth the overall cost in view of the hotels age!
Despite the negative comments above we received perfect service from all the staff that were friendly, helpful and always smiling and ever ready to offer help and assistance.
We make a point of tipping at the end of our holiday as a “thank you” and not a “bribe” for an anticipated better service, as in our opinion the staff are fantastic people working in difficult circumstances for little money dealing with some very awkward customers – enough said!
If you fancy some trips away from the hotel we can strongly recommend “Dolphin House” on the “Tropicana” boat and for a bit of something different try an afternoon out in “El Gouna” with Adel.
Dining in the hotel was still good with plenty of choice over the two main themed restaurants, the weekly trip to the “a la carte” is a must.
Evening entertainment in most Egyptian hotels is pretty dire, the animation team does their best to keep your spirits up but it’s limited and very basic. It would be a good idea to get some spirits inside you to enhance your enjoyment. You will however find it hard to find a more interesting, hard working and pleasant bunch of folks!
Hotel management frequently tour the grounds with notebooks in hand seeking comments, criticisms and suggestions from all the holidaymakers – just how much is taken on board is debatable.
Personally we would suggest you don’t pay the hotel for the awful “Wi-Fi” that’s sometimes available; they now provide a “free” connection in the reception/lobby bar area that works much quicker and better!
In conclusion, would we return again – probably not!
We would rather pay a little more for a more modern hotel with better amenities.
But saying that, at the right price we could possibly be tempted yet again – knowing what you’re going to be getting in Egypt can be a positive advantage.

Room Tip: Most rooms below the 6th floor have been refurbished, nearly all rooms have a lagoon/sea view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cameraflash-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Firstly, I do have to say that we stopped at the Sunrise in Makadi Bay earlier in the year and I have to say that was far superior - maybe I was comparing too much but was glad to get home.

The hotel itself is looking very tired and needs money spending on it.

Food was adequate but it was little things like tables not being cleared or wiped down that really spoilt it for me.

Never saw the pool being cleaned and you couldn't actually see the bottom of it for 4 days! One day there were crystals of some description floating in it - not a clue what these were!

Hotel room was excellent - two double beds, sofa, kettle etc and our cleaner really looked after us. I emailed the hotel beforehand and got rooms 236 and 237 which overlooked the lagoon. Got up early one morning to watch the sunrise - highly recommended.

Hotel staff would do anything for you although when the managers asked my opinion they got quite shirty at my reply and was basically told you get what you pay for!!

Maybe more suited for younger people (we were in our early fifties) and even though Thomas Cook advertise as adults only there are other tour operators in there and this does not apply to them.

Pool had a bar in it - but not open!

We met some lovely people but would not recommend this hotel to my friends - pay a little more and go to the Sunrise Royal Makadi

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank jackieduffy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

ABSOLUTELY LOVED EGYPT! And staying at this resort made it 100 times better! All the staff were brilliant, rooms were brilliant, pool area was brilliant and the beach lagoon is just beautiful! Will definitely be coming back...and very huge special thanks to the entertainment team! Made our holiday extra special! Thank you to everyone at sun rise holidays!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We went two weeks ago. Service, room, food were good in general terms. Even we had a dinner a la carte in the mediterranean restaurant, which is included in the price, once per booking. The beach is small but the sand around not. Diving and acuatics activities are available in the place. The distance to city center is very small so we could hang out every night

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justocarras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I've stayed in this hotel four times already and I will definitely be coming back! This hotel has a good location close to the center of the new city of Hurghada. Many good restaurants, shops, nightclubs are in walking distance from this hotel. The hotel doesn't have a big territory so everything is very close: beach, restaurants, pool, bars. Staff is very friendly. Animation is good. Interesting and funny evening shows. Rooms are very good, most of the rooms have a sea view. In the restaurant you will find many various tasty dishes. There is a small lagoon on the beach or you can swim in the open sea if you like. Those who want to explore the nightclubs in Hurghada can do it with animation team.

Room Tip: If you prefer a quiet room choose the rooms located on the left from reception and on the top floors...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Natulek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I was very dubious about going to Egypt with all the conflict in that part of the country but I could not have been more wrong! What a beautiful place Hurghada is! It is still very up and coming so isn't as developed as some places i have been but that only added to the beauty of it!

The hotel is in the perfect location the view from the sea front room is unbelievable especially if you wake up early to watch the sunrise this was one of the most breathtaking sunrises i have ever watched!

The room we had was spotless and was kept that way by Mahmood who did a wonderful job of keeping it tidy especially with 2 messy girls to clean up after! He arranged towel origami on our bed every other day and was always asking if everything was ok, which it always was!

I am a very fussy eater but even I couldn't find fault with the food here! The pizzas at the beach bar are cooked perfectly you could almost be in an italian restaurant they really are that good! I didn't suffer with any sickness during my stay although my friend did have a day or 2 of being ill! There is a pharmacy across the road where the lovely George will be more than happy to assist you with whatever you need!

The all inclusive drinks had a wide variety (vodka, rum, whiskey, brandy, gin and beer) and were strong enough to get you drunk unlike many all inclusive places i have stayed in the past! There is a lovely little bar over the road called Retro bar if you fancy a change of scenery where you will pay around £1.10 for a pint or £2.50 for a cocktail which makes it an unbelievably cheap night!

The shopping is also very good in Hurghada if you take the short walk into the town! You can choose between shops with price labels or the traditional Egyptian way of bartering! McDonalds is also very close if you fancy a change!

The marina is about 5 mins in a taxi if you don't want to walk and costs around £2 to get there! There are lots of lovely little cafes and restaurants with most of them offering shisha if you wish to try this! There is also a beautiful mosque just next to the marina which is defiantly worth a visit if you enjoy learning other cultures and religions! The architecture of the building is beautiful and id defo recommend the walk there just to see it!

The entertainment team make the hotel what it is! Such a fantastic group of people i have never been to a hotel before with such a friendly team who go out of their way to make such everyone is happy and enjoying themselves! I spent 12 days doing arabic classes with the lovely Yoni who has taught me so much about the language, culture and religion of Egypt, i have never before been to a hotel that offers language classes and was fascinated by the level of patience and enthusiasm that he taught a variety if nationalities the Arabic language! The entire entertainment team Yoni, Mizo, Sully, Omar, Mido, Diana and GiGi really are a credit to the hotel and would be a big factor in me wanting to return here! They are constantly walking around between activities having a chat with all their guests and making them laugh! I was surprised by how well they managed to cater for so many different nationalities and keep everyone happy and entertained all day and night long! They really do work unbelievably hard! The shows were always funny and carefully thought out and the guys were always among the crowds in fancy dress making everyone laugh!

As a female i felt quite uncomfortable going out to parties at night alone but this wasn't a problem as the entertainment guys take you to organised parties that they know of in a minibus, party there with you and then fetch you back to the hotel at the end of the night! This was an excellent service and i felt very safe and comfortable while out at the parties knowing that I had Yoni or Mizo looking out for me making sure I was OK! I went to Colour beach club and Papas beach club and had a fantastic night both times with everyone!

Thos hotel gives the perfect mix of a quiet relaxing holiday while also giving you the opportunity to party at night! The child free atmosphere makes it much more relaxed and easy going! You can choose between lounging by the pool where there is music on during the day or going down to the lagoon on the beach to relax! There is some beautiful fish in the lagoon so id defo recommend buying a snorkel and having a look at them!

All the staff at the hotel could not do enough for you, the manager did daily walk rounds to ensure everyone was happy and the entertainment guys even came to reception when you were leaving to wave you off which i thought was a very personal touch!

The hotels motto is "welcome home" and I could not have felt more at home and welcomed by everyone there!

I genuinely can not find a bad word to say about this hotel or any of the staff there and will defiantly be returning at some point in the future! The only downside to me was not visiting Cairo due to not wanting to venture that far with all the conflict that is happening but this gives me the perfect excuse to return here which i defiantly will be doing next year!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MissSKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
8.2 mi away
Alf Leila Wa Leila
Alf Leila Wa Leila
#39 of 222 in Hurghada
1,369 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#45 of 222 in Hurghada
2,306 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
#21 of 222 in Hurghada
3,582 reviews
17.2 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
3.5 mi away
Continental Hotel Hurghada
Continental Hotel Hurghada
#64 of 222 in Hurghada
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Holidays Resort

Address: Corniche Road - Sheraton Street, Hurghada 84511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#31 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#33 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#36 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#50 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range: £52 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Holidays Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to SUNRISE Holidays Resort. This resort is located only 500 meters from downtown. It gives you the relaxing retreat with our private island and will guarantee you an unforgettable atmosphere and the active night life of Hurghada's downtown. The resort is located at the Corniche Road in the center of Hurghada. The distance to the Hurghada international airport is approx. 5 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SUNRISE Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Holidays Hotel Hurghada
Sunrise Holidays Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing