We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SUNRISE Holidays Resort
Ranked #43 of 221 Hotels in Hurghada
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Go!”
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Just returned home from the Sunrise Holidays Resort in Hurghada (family of four, children aged 11 & 13) after an extended holiday thanks to the infamous volcanic dust cloud!

This was our first Egyptian holiday and I can almost certainly say it WON’T be our last, we had a brilliant time. The hotel is clean and spacious, all the staff (& egyptians in general) very friendly & welcoming, weather 30-35 degrees every day, trips great and food superb.

However, it’s the constant energy and fun-loving attitudes of the Animation Team that stands out, Eddie, Maya, Sheriff, Momo & Julia(?) who give the guests (old and young alike) reasons to smile all day long!

The pool is a little small and I can imagine it can get a bit busy at peak times but the lagoon serves as a great place to swim in a safe environment and see fish, both lagoon and pool have lifeguards in attendance all day long. Keep an eye out for Lion fish in the evenings though a couple floated in on two consecutive days and it’s probably best to avoid them if pos!

Hurghada itself is fine, we felt perfectly safe walking the streets, yes there’s haggling to be done but also many fixed price shops dotted about. A huge one called called ‘Cleopatra's’ about a 15 minute walk from the hotel (if you turn right out of the lobby) and is on the opposite side of the road where the roundabout/one-way system is.

We bit the bullet and paid to fly to Cairo on the Thomas Cook excursion. Not the cheapest trip on offer but considering we saw the hugely impressive citadel & mosque (& panoramic view of an amazing city) - the famous Cairo museum (which included King Tut’s golden mask) - a papyrus factory - a perfume factory - lunch overlooking the Nile at The Hard Rock Cafe - oh, and a couple of pyramids and something called the Sphinx as well, it’s great value for money!

Other tips:

If you want a cab then agree a price first, but a one way trip to anywhere in Hurghada probably won’t cost more that about 20 Egyptian pounds. There’s a guy called ‘Friday’ who works as a gardener in the resort in the mornings but hangs around outside in his cab in the afternoons and is well worth seeking out if you need taking anywhere.

Haggling, don’t engage in this (or show interest in anything) if you’re not sure you want to buy something. You can often pay only a quarter of the price that’s first asked but once you get into a conversation and start trying things on, it’s very hard to walk away empty handed! That said, I found the haggling far less intense & pressured than in The Dominican Republic, Turkey or Tunisia.

Take plenty on sunscreen, snorkeling stuff and wet shoes or flippers. We also found that Egyptians are happy to take any currency you have! Euros, US Dollars or Sterling are fine if you prefer this to the Egyptian currency. However if you do want Egyptian pounds I’d personally change money in the hotel as there was a better exchange rate there than in the UK.

The trips that the people around the hotel do are fine and often slightly cheaper that the Thomas Cook ones. We booked the submarine trip from the guy based at the resort and had no problems at all. A great trip for those who want to see fish without getting wet! Not claustrophobic either.

The only thing that marred the holiday were a significant majority of the Russian guests. The Japanese, German, Scandinavian, Polish, French guests were great but the Russians, well, no manners, no ‘pleases’, no ‘thank you’s’, drinking from first thing in the morning to last thing at night, they’re muscle in and spoil on children’s games and even assault other guests - AND worst of all their fashion sense (and hairstyles) are ridiculous to say the least! (But don’t let this put you off!)

Summing up - fantastic holiday, would recommend 100% . . . just make sure you beat the Russians to the sun beds (and save a couple for our German friends when doing so!).

Oh - thanks and well done to Michael Hales the TC rep, who looked after us all AND had the ash could and cancelled flights to contend with on his first week in the job!

Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank uskglass77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,470
    1,057
    435
    148
    101
See reviews for
664
2,163
204
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,143)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Karlstad, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2010

We just arrived back to sweden after an amazing trip to Egypt and the Sunrise holiday resort. We loved our staying at this wonderful hotel. It was so clean and beautiful. The food and the staff were excellent. We had a birthday in our family during our staying and the staff really helped us to make that day unforgettable.
The animation team worked every day at the hotel and they really made our holiday even better, they worked really hard to make all the guests happy. They offered you lot`s of activities like volleyboll, water gym, dart and belly dance course and alot more! It was a pleasure to meet Sherif, Momo, Eddie, Svetlana and Maya every day. They were always smiling and joking around. And at the evenings they arranged really entertainment shows! All of them is great dancers! Thank you and keep up the good work!
We will also send a special thanks to our pool/beach-boy Amr for taking really good care of us every day, excellent service!
We will absolutely return to this hotel!

Thank you!
From:

Sofia
Jonas
Magnus
Sara
Christer
Lena

Sweden

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofiahaglund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurghada, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2010

The sevice was very good!!!! nice staf and very service mainded.
The rooms where nice and the cleaning was perfect.
Exellent location!!!!
The animation team vas realy good!!! Special thanks to Sherif , Momo Eddie Maya and Svetlana. Thansk for all the nice time!!!!!! We will miss you
Love Monika, Ana, Zana, Francenska

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monika70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2010

can't write anything bad at all!
thanks to Sherif, Eddie, Momo, Maya and Svetlano you all worked so hard to make everybodies holiday great.xxx

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbsEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend Essex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2010

We went to this hotel to celebrate my birthday. We were one of the many that couldnt get home. Thomas Cook paid for us to remain in the hotel so we were very grateful to them. We loved the hotel. It is very clean and a great atmosphere. There is something for everyone. The animation team were great and not too pushy. I must admit I will even miss the frog song that was played every day. Outside the hotel there are loads of shops. On my birthday we went to the med resturant. They made me feel special and gave me a card a well as making me a cake. We didnt see any of the shows. This is because we so knackered by 9pm we usually in bed. We were so relaxed and would not hesitate to return to this hotel. Make sure you stock up on sun cream. It gets very hot

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spacecowboydebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2010

Spent 1 week in this hotel with 6 friends and had a great time. There was no need to go outside this hotel and we only did this once to say we had seen the outside. The rooms were a good size with twin beds, but there were 3 of us in 1 room and that seemed to be a problem. We eventually got a fold down bed added and that was ok. Rooms were very clean, all staff very friendly and entertainments team brilliant. Food was plentiful and well presented in the many different areas. All in all I would have no hesitation in recomemding this hotel to others.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meercatm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2010

I came home from Sunrise Holidays Resort two days ago. It was really a wonderful week in Egypt! The hotel's very nice, clean and well-kept. Good territory, location and cuisine. Warm sun and blue sea of crystal clearness gave a lot of positive emotions. But best of all I liked our group of animators! Really enjoyed watching evening shows and taking part in different animations (stretching, dancing, water gym, darts and so on). So want to say THANK YOU to all these charming people: Sherif, Eddie, Maya, Momo, Svetlana, Jenya :)

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary_sms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.9 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
7.6 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
3.4 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Plaza
Hilton Hurghada Plaza
#62 of 221 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.4 mi away
Bella Vista
Bella Vista
#113 of 221 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Holidays Resort

Property: SUNRISE Holidays Resort
Address: Corniche Road | Touristic Center, Hurghada 185, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#24 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#31 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#36 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#40 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Holidays Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to SUNRISE Holidays Resort. This resort is located only 500 meters from downtown. It gives you the relaxing retreat with our private island and will guarantee you an unforgettable atmosphere and the active night life of Hurghada's downtown. The resort is located at the Corniche Road in the center of Hurghada. The distance to the Hurghada international airport is approx. 5 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your SUNRISE Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Holidays Hotel Hurghada
Sunrise Holidays Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing