We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One fantastic holiday”
Review of Sun & Sea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sun & Sea Hotel
Ranked #156 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Serbia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Although we were for the first time in Egypt at 2007, that was one of the best holidays we ever had. Egypt is just like an Oriental fairy tale. All those things we saw, all the lovely and friendly people we met made a fantastic memories of this country.
Hotel Sun & sea is a nice, quiet hotel, with friendly staff. Rooms are clean, pool is remarkable, and the food is nice for that price.
I hope that the life and the events in this country will improve so that we can visit this magic land once again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tdjv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    16
    10
    6
    6
See reviews for
11
13
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
Subotica
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

I stayed in this hotel in August 2012. The first impression when we entered the hotel was the dirty plastic chair for the hotel guard. OMG!

We've got a room that was dirty, toilet reservoir did not work, the bathroom door could not be closed. We decided to look for another room and we got it, it was a little better. Hygiene is on the extremely low level. Only men janitors. It is how is it in Egypt. While we were in the room a couple of times, when janitor came we saw haw he works. We stayed speechless. No gloves on his hands during the cleansing in the toilette. Toilet brush does not exist in any bathroom. He uses one toilette brush for his cleansing region. First movement is brushing the toilette . Second he puts clean towels. No washing hands.Than he wiped the floor. Next step is bed. The one half of the linen sheet was on the floor until he is working on the other half of the linen.
Toilet brush has a place of honor on top of the unit, underneath is the the shelf with clean linen and towels. Clean-dirty part does not exist.
The first few days we were bathing in the pool until some guests arrived. The family of 15 people, where nobody use bathing suit but getting in the pool all fully dressed, shorts + t-shirts, was enough do decide not go inside anymore. In the middle of the vacation, I guess they got a new manager, they began to scrub at the entrance , they put carpets, scrub the tiles around the pool. They have poured water with the hose on a tiles around the pool and in a moment a janitor dipped a broom in our pool to grab some water because it lacked on the edge of the pool to be properly washed! They are craving for an education, they simply do not know what is hygiene.
The side entrance to the room that we used served as a "clutter" and not has been cleaned for a couple of days. Although this is a modest hotel, guests who are not looking for wi-fi, fun, entertainment and other pursuits could spend their holidays here, it is cheap. But in the middle of the season there were maybe 50 guests beside they have a very modest price for the accommodation!
Only the restaurant looked neat (except the glass on the front door), modest food, waiters were friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gordana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hurghada hotels

CAIRO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

I went to this hotel on July 2012 its the worst hotel ever i went, i know its not 5 stars one but they don't have ABC hospitality the staff especially the restaurant staff are not polite also the room service came every 3 days not every day, the cleaner were cleaning the pool while we were in. The TV, the Air condition are not working you have to fight for everything to take your rights .. concerning Food i never eat this bad quality of food they provide us with the same chicken for 3 days with different type can you imagine z taste of this chicken even the breakfast they serve us the same beans for the whole duration it was black beans, only one kind of cheese , No fresh bread , when I talk to the GM he said you have to stay in 5 stars one this is what your money range

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank JAHCairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed here in 2008 for 10 days. First they gave us old room that was crying for renovation, but after I asked another one and was persistant we got a room in the new part of hotel overlooking the swimming pool and that was completely different story..
Hotel is really nice, affordable, has it's own (small though) beach with complimentary towels, hudge breakfast which was delicious!
Leave a couple of coins as a tip, it means a lot to the boys and you will get all kinds of shaped towels on your way back to room xx
It is situated in the old Hurghada which I loved, 20mins from old centre, as it was nice to see how people actually live there and not being in a shiny resort away from real Egypt.
I would defo recommend this hotel !

Room Tip: Try to get rooms in the new (at least then it was new) that overlook the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mimmica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I stayed alone in this hotel which is located just 5 minutes walking from the Sakkala Centre of Hurghada.Upon arrival the receptionist told me he would give me one of the best rooms in the hotel, which, as far as I can judge, really the case.Wonderfull view over the Red Sea, A very large spacious room.Staff was excellent and very polite and never tried something on me as a woman travelling alone, which gave me a very safe feeling.I told Hamada, the mainwaiter, in the restaurant that I am allergic to onions.He warned me several times for plates in which onions were cooked.So kind and so attentive.An agressive Russian woman scared me a lot and Hamada came to me saying that I shouldn't be worried, as he would stay around.So very kind again.
The man behind the reception, Hamdy, indeed gave me upon arrival one of the best rooms and was always ready to help me or to have a nice chat.I recommand this hotel especially to woman travelling alone because in this hotel a woman is respected even when she is alone.Which is not always the case in Egypt. My compliments to this staff especially to Hamdy and Hamada!Keep up the good and right attitude!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Marieken308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurghada, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

It was nice time in hotel, which satisfies important needs to eat, to sleep and to swim. it's close to new center where you can find much entertainment after beach is closed (it is not allowed to swim after 5 p.m.) good cofee-shops, easy shopping, hurghada marina promenade with great sea view, cafes and restaurants - everything is available:)
One main disadvantage - small beach and seashore area and no pontoon for fast deep swim

Room Tip: from high floor rooms you can watch the sunrise :) just need to ask the one that looks at the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Natalia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

It's the best hotel in Hurghada very beautiful very comfortable with great service, very nice beach too, we loved it and we'll be back

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nohasaeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.1 mi away
Swiss Wellness Spa & Resort
Swiss Wellness Spa & Resort
#175 of 222 in Hurghada
54 reviews
0.9 mi away
Golden Rose Hotel
Golden Rose Hotel
#147 of 222 in Hurghada
114 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sea Garden Hotel
Sea Garden Hotel
#184 of 222 in Hurghada
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#153 of 222 in Hurghada
75 reviews
3.8 mi away
Geisum Village
Geisum Village
#198 of 222 in Hurghada
41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bella Vista
Bella Vista
#111 of 222 in Hurghada
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun & Sea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun & Sea Hotel

Property: Sun & Sea Hotel
Address: Sheraton Rd., Hurghada 84517, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#114 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sun & Sea Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Sun and Sea Resort and Master Management Company. Together, we took all the best from both sides - well-known hotel among tourist and experience from 5* hotels, to create Resort that will be able to answer on all Guests' requests. For us, Guests satisfaction is the most important and we will do our best to exceed it. Sun and Sea Resort is "close, yet far", being ideally located in the heart of Hurghada, on famous Old Sheraton Road, only 500 m away downtown and New marina and 10 km from International Hurghada Airport. These all features allow our Guests to browse varieties in Hurghada, but still far enough from the traffic noise. The hotel is consisted of 3 buildings in which are placed 120 rooms, including 27 suites with pool and sea view. All the rooms are equipped with balconies (back, pool and sea view), private bathroom, LED TV with satellite channels and safe deposit box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sun & Sea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun And Sea Hotel
Sun Sea Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing