We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most awful hotel in the world”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
Ranked #5 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Cairo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The most awful hotel in the world”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 hours to check in with disrespectful attitude not wanting to have a welcome drink saying that we had one before. We had to pay more money to take a nice room service was very rude your simple request was never done like asking for a towel

I do not recommend it for any one for the above reasons

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fidzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crystalbayresort, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for choosing SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Beach Resort for your recent vacation.
We are sorry to hear that your holiday experience was not as you expected it to be .We would like to clarify the situation upon your check in for eight rooms , Please note that we provided you the rooms upon arrival but as we didn’t received any request mentioning that you were wishing to be accommodate in the same floor and connected the room, it was hard to provide the rooms immediately as the hotel was full of his occupancy but we tried to handle as soon as possible to let you to enjoy your stay.
Please note that your comments had been passed and reviewed accordingly by the General Manager who met you and all your family and friends as well and took action on spot regarding all your comments. We do hope that despite your comments we will have the pleasure to host your good selves once again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,555
    557
    162
    43
    37
See reviews for
1,132
1,563
76
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Amazing - 1st class holiday, wonderful staff food and management
The food was excellent plenty of choice
Hotel was very clean and the gardens were very well tended
Staff wonderful all very helpful and friendly
The pool area was comfortable and clean with plenty of sun beds
What more can I say

Room Tip: The Suites are amazing - but all the rooms looked clean well fitted and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanetJJ52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crystalbayresort, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Mrs.Janet,

We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your vacation in our resort and had a very relaxing stay thank you for your nice comments about our staff members .
The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort where you will always be surrounded by comfort and care.
With best regards,

Najlaa Azehoui
Guest service center Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Awful service , the staff we r not trained enough and very rude , to check in the hotel it took us around an hour and half with no advising from the staff , for the rest of our stay the service was really bad

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bassem T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crystalbayresort, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for choosing SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Beach Resort for your recent vacation.
We are sorry to hear that your holiday experience was not as you expected it to be .We would like to clarify the situation upon your check in for eight rooms , Please note that we provided you the rooms upon arrival but as we didn’t received any request mentioning that you were wishing to be accommodate in the same floor and connected the room, it was hard to provide the rooms immediately as the hotel was full of his occupancy but we tried to handle as soon as possible to let you to enjoy your stay.
Please note that your comments had been passed and reviewed accordingly by the General Manager who met you and all your family and friends as well and took action on spot regarding all your comments. We do hope that despite your comments we will have the pleasure to host your good selves once again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

To start the trip we arrives at the hotel to wait for two and a half hours to check into our room and every time we asked for the reason of the delay we were presented with a new lie while the real reason was that they were not prepared. After all this we went into the room to find that it did not meet our requests in terms of view. With each dining experience the food was great but the service was nothing less than a new level of disrespect (leaving us to feel that they are treating us this way because they don't like to welcome Egyptians in their own country). It was an extremely disappointing experience.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Meriam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crystalbayresort, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Meriam,

Thank you for choosing SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Beach Resort for your recent vacation..
We are sorry to hear that your holiday experience was not as you expected it to be .We would like to clarify the situation upon your check in for eight rooms , Please note that we provided you the rooms upon arrival but as we didn’t received any request mentioning that you were wishing to be accommodate in the same floor and connected the room, it was hard to provide the rooms immediately as the hotel was full of his occupancy but we tried to handle as soon as possible to let you to enjoy your stay.
Please note that your comments had been passed and reviewed accordingly by the General Manager who met you and all your family and friends as well and took action on spot regarding all your comments. We do hope that despite your comments we will have the pleasure to host your good selves once again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My husband and I spent a fortnight in May at this hotel and the first impressions were very good. We arrived 3 hours late after being delayed at Manchester and as promised, were greeted with a very welcome cold drink and an even colder flannel. A very pleasant cold buffet was left in our room as the restaurant was closed by the time we did eventually arrive, which was a nice touch.

The next morning we upgraded to a Jacuzzi Suite which was fabulous, even though we did have a few problems with the Jacuzzi . The rooms in the Suite were beautifully decorated, we had a large master bedroom with a huge bed, I have never slept so well in a long time as I did there, the second bedroom had twin beds, we had 2 huge bathrooms which were fabulous and included bath and a separate shower area and a living room which was also nicely furnished. The Jacuzzi itself was situated on a rooftop terrace with 2 sun beds and there was also a shower. The views from this terrace were spectacular, we had suite 702 and could see the whole bay and the rest of the resort. Waking up to this view every day was amazing, looking out over the lagoon style beach or up towards the fabulously manicured gardens. We used to get a visit from the local Kestrel who would sit on the end of our rooftop terrace surveying his domain, we also discovered that there was a nest of very young Kestrels in the roof of the Cabana next to ours so maybe he was keeping a very beady eye on his young! Due to the fact that we were staying in one of the Suites, we also had one of the Cabanas for the duration of our holiday and the use of a personal waiter Alaa for the people who were using the private beach area. Having the Cabana saved us the hassle of having to look for a sunbed every morning and gave us our own personal space to stretch out!

FOOD – Not impressed at all with the main buffet restaurant, it was fine for breakfasts with plenty choice but during the evening you were extremely lucky if your food was lukewarm. The deserts looked fabulous but were completely bland and lacking in taste. When we passed comments to members of staff at the hotel about the evening buffet, they would just point us in the direction of one of the a la carte’s instead, it was as if they weren’t really interested and knew it wasn’t particularly good, one of the staff even told us that there should be show cooking taking place there? Certainly not on the 3 nights we did pop our heads in there and picked at the food that they were offering!! A 5* Hotel should have 5* food in all of its restaurants not just the a la carte’s!!

At lunch time we used the Poseidon Restaurant which is close to the beach. Food there was usually very good and you can choose from a menu of burgers, pizzas, fajitas, sandwiches, salads etc. This is where you will find all the best waiters who also work in the a la carte restaurants during the evening. Young Ahmed was my favourite but everyone of them were fantastic.

Indian Restaurant managed by the consummate professional Ahmed Abdulla and every time I saw him he reminded me of the Lionel Richie song “Hello” (again). Always calm, courteous and exceptionally well mannered, he was a role model for the younger waiters. Young Ahmed (my favourite cheeky chappie), Mounir (always smiling!) and Mohamed (Quiet and Competent) also waited on in this restaurant. On our last night they arranged a special meal for us as the poppadoms had arrived!!! Thank you to you all for making our final hour at Crystal Bay special.

Mediterranean Restaurant managed by Hamdy, another of the most courteous, calm, professional staff we encountered. We had some lovely meals in this restaurant, although the deserts weren’t quite what they should have been according to the menu (Tiramisu with no coffee or cream?).

Felucca Fish Restaurant. I could salivate right now just thinking about the soups, absolutely fantastic. Yes you have to pay for this restaurant but it is so worth it!! Fabulous views also
We also ate at the Asian Restaurant in the Mamlouk Palace next door which was very nice. We used the pool at the Mamlouk several times as we preferred it to the Pool at the Crystal Bay (deeper water for swimming and a nice pool bar).

All in all we had a fabulous holiday and I would go back there tomorrow if I could, instead we have to wait until March 2015. Thank you to all the Staff who looked after us while we were there as you really made our holiday extra special and we appreciate it!

Christine and Matt from Newcastle England

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crystalbayresort, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Mrs Christine,
We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your vacation in our resort and had a very relaxing stay thank you for your nice comments about our staff members.

Concerning the Main buffet food temperature,We would like to draw your attention to the fact that we run a Quality system in the SUNRISE Resorts & Cruises Company implemented in all our properties supervised by the top management of each property and our Quality Department as well as monthly controlled by Cristal Middle East which let us to achieve our high scores .Please note that we have discussed that in our daily meeting and we are working hardly top offer the best services to our guests.

The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort where you will always be surrounded by comfort and care.
With best regards,

Najlaa Azehoui
Guest service center Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed may 27th until June 6th Firstly , I'm glad I have not got round to doing this review just yet as Santa Sid echoes my thoughts and experience and had the same issues as us. Went to taba heights Sofitel last year and had a great time. The visa chaos when you arrive In the country , it's just a free for all ! Made up prices , we were told 30 us dollars before arrival it then turned out to be £38 ! First impression of the hotel was good no towels or welcome drink though, I have to say we are very fussy about our food , we had beef Bougonoion and I had the chicken steaks, all well cooked, we were both ill the next day but I know it wasn't the food only thing it was, the mojito from the bar, fresh mint or ice ? For the rest of the week after paying £28 for tablets at the pharmacy across the road, We just had 2 chip rolls each and Pepsi with no ice , I was told by another guest he was ill and went to the mall chemist and it was charged £2 ! Did not risk th other restaurants or proteins off the buffet , The room was pretty good bathroom a little tired but no issues with water pressure. The Russians are as stated , did our research and the hotel scores very high on trip adviser and still does , so was glad to review Santa Sid review and a chap from London , will not be returning , as it seems we were exploited as tourists ! No one else has mentioned the aircrafts flying overhead at early hours of the morning ! And the huge que at the airport through passport control and other nationalities pushing in , yes you know who I mean ! No organisation , disappointed with the sunrise and hurgurda in general, will not be back. Flights were good by Thomas cook.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveAli7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crystalbayresort, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Mr. Steve,

Thank you for choosing SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Beach Resort for your recent vacation. We would also like to thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor.
We are sorry to hear that your holiday experience was not as you expected it to be and we would like to thank you for your kind comments and feedback. Feedback for SUNRISE is very important as it helps us to understand where we are performing to a high standard and the areas where there may be room for improvement.
We would like to draw your attention to the fact that we run a Quality system in the SUNRISE
Resorts & Cruises Company implemented in all our properties supervised by the top management of each property and our Quality Department as well as monthly controlled by Cristal Middle East. As well daily Food audit is done by our Guest Service Center team and Hygiene Manager. I would like also to add that regarding the medicine fees, we are also advising our guests to visit the resort doctor who can check guests and provide them medicine and make as well following with guests.
We do hope that despite your comments we will have the pleasure to host your good selves once again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Najlaa Azehoui
Guest Service Center Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Firstly re the airport/visa requirements. If you want to save yourself lots of time and hassle, sort it all out online ahead of going like we did. My husband sorted it through a guy called Mohammed. He was wonderful, there was a sign with our names on in the airport and they whisked us through within 5 minutes and we went straight to an air conditioned taxi and then directly to our hotel. Saves lots of time and bother and doesn't cost any extra.

I have to admit to having stayed in some wonderful hotels around the world which are truly 5 star and I'm afraid the Sunrise Grand Select doesn't compare favourably and I'd go so far as to say I don't believe it should be graded as a 5 star - 4 at best.

Our first impression was one of efficiency as we were immediately seated and brought a cold facecloth but no welcome drink. The reception was ok but nothing stunning and I didn't think as nice as the pictures had made out. We were then fitted with our annoying all inclusive plastic wristbands before being taken to our room.

We stayed in room 335 which was located on the 2nd floor and had a wonderful view of both the small beach and the immaculately maintained gardens and also being the last in the block it felt more private. I'd recommend a 2nd floor as there's no-one above you dragging their chairs across the hard floors! Room 335 was a bit of walk to the main reception/restaurants but only about 7 minutes and we enjoyed walking through the gardens.

Having seen other rooms online, I reckon ours was older in design as it looked a little shabby and the grout was coming away in places in the bathroom but having said that, it was a good size albeit the wardrobe design was driving me batty by the end of the week as you could only slide one door at a time and if you had the safe open you'd bash the doors against it but that's a small point.

We found the majority of the hotel staff to be extremely professional, helpful and friendly and I'm rubbish at remembering names but we came to know a waiter in the buffet restaurant very well. He saved us a table each evening and remembered what drinks we liked. We also got on really well with the guy serving the drinks at the pool bar.

The animation team were all very friendly, particularly Mercedes, Ola and Marc to name a few. They encouraged you to take part in activities in the resort and explained what was taking place but didn't push you. They are all a credit to the hotel as they work so hard.

It was my birthday during our stay and we booked the a la carte fish restaurant, Felucca. I'd highly recommend it, particularly if you're celebrating a special occasion. They reserved a fantastic table by the water for me, flower petals were strewn on the tablecloth and I was brought out a birthday cake and sung Happy Birthday. Fantastic evening and meal and only cost us about £30 for 2 starters, 2 mains and several drinks (this is the only restaurant where you have to pay extra but as I've said, well worth it).

We did try the mediterranean restaurant on our last evening but my pasta was awful being far too hard. I did ask them to prepare a new dish, which they did but it came back just as hard so we gave up.

Food in the buffet restaurant is ok. There is quite a good choice and I can't put my finger on it but I've had better in other hotels.

My main gripe of the holiday (literally!) was my husband and I suffered very bad diarrhoea whilst we were there. I strongly believe it was food poisoning as we are hardy travellers and don't usually suffer with stomach complaints. It's taken me 2 weeks to get back to normal! Be very cautious with what you eat is all I can say, oh and if you're vegetarian like myself, good luck as they like to chuck meat into loads of the dishes. You'd think you'd be safe with a dish labelled broccoli au gratin but as I found out once I'd taken a big mouthful, it contained mince! I got used to asking the very helpful and friendly head chef what was in all the dishes but if they had been labelled correctly, I wouldn't have needed to.

Would I stay at this hotel again? No I wouldn't. It's a big old world and there's lots of other places to try plus it just didn't have the wow factor for me.

Lastly, we got talking to several couples in their 20s and they wished they'd booked Sharm rather than Hurghada as it felt a bit quiet for them. We purposely chose Hurghada as we wanted a completely relaxing break away but in more luxurious surroundings than this hotel can manage

Room Tip: Choose a 2nd floor room if you don't want anyone above you dragging their chairs across the hard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crystalbayresort, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Mrs Lesley,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort and for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.Please note that we took notes about all your comments which had been discussed with all the department concerned.

It is very kind of you to recognize the hotel team and their hard work. I will share your comments with them and I am confident that they will be glad to know that their efforts contributed to your enjoyable stay and let you feel like at “second home”.

with best regards,
Najlaa Azehoui
Guest Service Center Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.2 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
4.0 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#42 of 222 in Hurghada
2,261 reviews
8.5 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
#20 of 222 in Hurghada
3,535 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jaz Aquamarine
Jaz Aquamarine
#33 of 222 in Hurghada
6,083 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
#1 of 222 in Hurghada
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort

Property: SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
Address: Safaga Road | KM 20 Hurghada, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#7 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the hospitality of Egypt. The 5 Star resort is located in a wonderful Garden Area and directly at the sandy beach with an own lagoon, which guarantee you a relaxing time. 20 km to Hurghada center and 15 km to the Hurghada International Airport provide you short distances during your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Crystal Bay Hotel Hurghada
Sunrise Crystal Bay Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing