We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High rating justified”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
Ranked #5 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“High rating justified”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We have just arrived back from the Crystal Bay hotel, there were four of us that travelled (two couples) - all looking for a relaxing holiday and that's exactly what we got from the moment we arrived - we had the most brilliant time!
The staff were so friendly, helpful and happy! The hotel was spotless and the selection of food was more than enough! As well as eating in the main restaurant we ate in the Indian twice and the Mediterranean - both highly recommended. We did however make the mistake of visiting the Egyptian restaurant in the hotel next door, the staff were rude and the food mediocre- not recommended. The Cabanas available on the beach are well worth the £21, quiet and relaxing and you have drinks brought to you throughout the day. If you feel like venturing out then the hotel run a taxi service, you pay before you leave and they give you a mobile so you can call them to collect you - we were all a bit dubious about leaving the hotel but this put our mind at ease.
Highly recommend this hotel for couples or smalls groups looking for a chill out holiday.
Thank you for a fab holiday!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crystalbayresort, Guests Service Center at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Laura B,

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review on Holidaycheck.com about your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to read that you and your friends had a wonderful holiday and enjoyed restaurants, relaxing time at the cabana and our service was up to your liking.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort with your family and friends soon

Best regards,
Zhanna Kartashova
Guests Service Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,554
    557
    162
    43
    37
See reviews for
1,132
1,562
76
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I can see that a number of holiday makers recently have made really bad reviews about the Hotel. Please look at the replys from the Hotel as these were all together on one party, hence the numerous bad reports !! My family and I were there in Feb 2014 for ten days and have booked immediately to go back. This was down to not only the excellent hotel, food, rooms, and activities but also the staff - from the Gardener to the top Manager, we were made to feel welcome and nothing was ever to much. I cannot wait to go back and can garantee it will be better next year than this !!!!!

It comes down to you really just cant please some people !!!

Room Tip: we were in the room just right to the main lobby - our room had perfect views of the sea and pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crystalbayresort, Guests Service Center at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Julie H,

We want to thank you so much for your kindly feedback about our resort. The way you stand our ground makes us believe that you really enjoyed your vacation. We can not wait to welcome you back in SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort. We will do our best to provide even better service and to pay even more attention to you and your family.

With best regards,
Zhanna Kartashova
Guests Service Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Been to this hotel 5 times gets better every time thanks to all the staff they seem to go the extra mile all the time especially mark and the entertainment team.alaa on the private beach he was brill.all the staff in the beach and pool bars. Hotel very clean and tidy gardens are well kept.

Room Tip: All rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crystalbayresort, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Mr. William,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort again and for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

I am delighted to hear that you have been visiting our hotel for years.

It is very kind of you to recognize the hotel team and their hard work. I will share your comments with them and I am confident that they will be glad to know that their efforts contributed to your enjoyable stay and let you feel like at “second home”.

With best regards,
Najlaa Azehoui
Guest Service Center Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kladno, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Thanks for a lovwly holidays in this amazing hotel. Special thanks for animator Chris and his activities. We will come back for sure.
Thanks for a lovwly holidays in this amazing hotel. Special thanks for animator Chris and his activities. We will come back for sure.

Room Tip: Pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kovalovb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crystalbayresort, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your vacation experience - we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our resort.
The tradition of Egyptian hospitality leaves us at hope that for your next vacation you will choose again SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort and we will do our best to make it an unforgettable experience.

With Best Regards,

Najlaa Azehoui
Guest Service Center Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

I visited crystal bay from may 30th to June 6th with my sister. Overall we had a very pleasant stay but wouldnt rate it 5 star. However, you can see that they are currently updating the grounds and repainting. When we arrived we were ushered to a waiting area and offered a welcome drink. It wasn't really explained what was going on but it wasn't long until we were on our way to our room, although we had to ask for someone to show us where to go. Our room was a huge twin and as we arrived very late there was food waiting for us in our room. It was spotlessly clean, as was the whole hotel. The bathroom was very tired. You could tell it was once very well done but the tiles were cracked and bits of grouting missing. Also the shower never got more than luke warm. We had a wonderful view of the gardens and the private beach.
The facilities were great. The pools were amazing with plenty of sun loungers. The pool bar was good. The private beach was a little harder to get a lounger at but was beautiful. We hired a cabana one of the days there which was lovely, as you had a waiter bring you drinks all day.
The food was a bit hit and miss. The main restaurant which was buffet had lots of choice but could be a bit bland. You can't cater for everyones tastes though. Breakfast was generally good, but if you're after a full English you won't get what you want. The Indian a la carte was good. The starter and desert wasn't great, but the mains were really great, and the naans were excellent. The medeteranian was definitely the best. The starters and mains were fantastic and the deserts good. The a la carte restaurants you had to book for which you need to do the day before and they get booked very quickly. The beach snack bar was good. Ate there a few times and was pleased each time. There was a good selection of soft and alcoholic drinks. The hotel have to supply you with clean bottled water as you can't drink the tap water. The staff were very good about making sure you had plenty of water as it was so hot which was nice.
The staff were generally very pleasant but as two women travelling alone we did feel quite harassed sometimes. It was overwhelming at times and made us feel very uncomfortable at times. This is one of the main downsides of the holiday. Also, at around half 6 each evening the cleaner would come to our door and check we were happy. The first time we thought it was sweet but it got old very quickly.
There was a nice mix of guests from all different countries.
One of the other main downsides was all the people trying to sell you beauty treatments or trips around the pool. We were told if we asked for a red flag from the towel guy and put it by our lounger we wouldn't be disturbed, but this didn't stop most of them. Again, we didn't mind to start with but a few days in we had had enough of saying no to people.
The entertainment was again hit and miss. We didn't go to the main entertainment but the singers in the bar weren't great, especially the woman singing along to a laptop. The male guitar player was much better however. The entertainment staff were pleasant, if a little too enthusiastic. A few of them came to see our coach off and said individual goodbyes which I thought was a nice touch.
There is free WiFi around the hotel. The signal was temperamental and you had a daily limit, but it was a great addition and saved on the phone bill!!
I think I would return here, but once the improvements around the grounds have been completed and with hopes that the tired bathrooms would be updated.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crystalbayresort, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for choosing SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Beach Resort for your recent vacation. We would also like to thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor.
We are sorry to hear that your holiday experience was not as you expected it to be and we would like to thank you for your kind comments and feedback. Feedback for SUNRISE is very important as it helps us to understand where we are performing to a high standard and the areas where there may be room for improvement.
Please be advised your comments have been passed to the management team and will be reviewed accordingly. We do hope that despite your comments we will have the pleasure to host your good selves once again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Najlaa Azehoui
Guest Service Center Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My wife and I are just back from the Crystal Bay and we had a ball, it was our first time there and are already planning our next trip in September,
The Crystal Bay has the most amazing staff friendly ,courteous and nothing is a problem.the food was excellent plenty choices also the Indian and the Mediterranian were fab . Rooms are very spacious and everything in working order. our roomboy Ahmed Saber kept our room spotless. weather was 38 pretty much every day grounds were lovely, cleaned constantly and there was plenty room for lying around the pool with shelter if reqd and comfy sunbeds, the pool bar was great our barman was Walid who was brill very efficient and a lovely man. Lobby bar was nice and cool inside and Ahmed Khalaf made the best non-alcoholic Mohitos ever , and such a courteous young man he always seemed to know how you like your drink.
We ate at lunchtime in the beach bar which had buffet if you wanted or a menu like toasties, pizza, tuna sandwiches etc
The animation team were fantastic no pressure to participate, just came for a wee chat every day, Mark, Chris, Mercedes, and Ola, the most lovely people, thankyou for helping make our holiday and hope to see everyone soon
The customer service girls were also very helpful , pool was clean and big. A welcome relief from the heat

Room Tip: from what we could see there wasn't any bad areas, but we prefer an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hoppy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crystalbayresort, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear guests,

We would like to thank you for taking time and share your holiday experience
We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your vacation in our resort and had a very relaxing stay thank you for your nice comments about our staff members.

The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort where you will always be surrounded by comfort and care.
With best regards,

Najlaa Azehoui
Guest service center Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We went with our extended family (18 people) for an all inclusive stay. We had nothing but trouble with the service! Rude waiters and staff, I had a waiter ask me where is that plate going( as if he caught me stealing) for taking some pastries to my sleeping son I asked another one for 2 small plates for my kids he said the plates are inside go get them.
rooms are awful definitely not 5 stars hotel.
We only had access to basically 1 restaurant plus the snack bar. After several complaints about the service the manager finally met with us and apologized but it was too late. We had to plan for activities outside the hotel to get away, even my wife and I went to eat dinner outside because we were so sick of the service and the same restaurant.
There are many options around in hurghada. We'll try stiegnberger or makadi bay next time.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tharwat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crystalbayresort, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Mr Tharwat,

Thank you for choosing SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Beach Resort for your recent vacation..
We are sorry to hear that your holiday experience was not as you expected it to be .We would like to clarify the situation upon your check in for eight rooms , Please note that we provided you the rooms upon arrival but as we didn’t received any request mentioning that you were wishing to be accommodate in the same floor and connected the room, it was hard to provide the rooms immediately as the hotel was full of his occupancy but we tried to handle as soon as possible to let you to enjoy your stay.
Please note that your comments had been passed and reviewed accordingly by the General Manager who met you and all your family and friends as well and took action on spot regarding all your comments. We do hope that despite your comments we will have the pleasure to host your good selves once again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.2 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
4.0 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#40 of 222 in Hurghada
2,260 reviews
8.5 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
#21 of 222 in Hurghada
3,531 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jaz Aquamarine
Jaz Aquamarine
#35 of 222 in Hurghada
6,070 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
#1 of 222 in Hurghada
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort

Property: SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
Address: Safaga Road | KM 20 Hurghada, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#7 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the hospitality of Egypt. The 5 Star resort is located in a wonderful Garden Area and directly at the sandy beach with an own lagoon, which guarantee you a relaxing time. 20 km to Hurghada center and 15 km to the Hurghada International Airport provide you short distances during your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Crystal Bay Hotel Hurghada
Sunrise Crystal Bay Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing