We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, Lovely Animation team!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
Ranked #5 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I did stay in this hotel with my wife and childern, everything was good!!! Friendly people. My childern was happy, they love mini disco so much, we like go to the show tonight. In that hotel really great amination team, we like go to aqvq gym with CHRIS! Too much fun. Special thanks to him! We like Chicoo and Aimee also. Hope we will back here again!

Room Tip: rooms with pool view so good, we like it
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Oliver H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crystalbayresort, Guests Service Center at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Mr. Oliver H,

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review on Tripadvisor.com about your recent stay with us.
We are happy to learn that your family and especially kids, had a wonderful holiday at our resort, and that staff did even more than everything to make your vacation memorable.

Once again thank you for your review, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort soon.

Best regards,
Zhanna Kartashova
Guests Service Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,456)
There are newer reviews for SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,424 - 1,430 of 3,456 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

I rested in July at this wonderful hotel with my husband! And we were very pleased with the good service, tasty food, the hotel is very fun thanks to a great animation team! You will never get bored! Especially big thank you Chris, Chris really nice guy, energetic, made ​​our stay brighter. thanks Chris!!!

Room Tip: rooms with sea view is great
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Monika F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crystalbayresort, Guests Service Center at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Monika,

We want to thank you so much for your kindly feedback about our resort.

The complete team of SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort is waiting to have the honor to welcome you again and make your stay even more comfortable.

With best regards,
Iryna Vakulska
Guests Service Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This my first visit to the hotel and for sure I'm coming back again. Location is good, beach is clean, no salesmen to nag us and the lagoon is wonderful. Staff is very friendly and u hardly notice them. Food has varieties and some taste real good. Rooms are spacious and clean as well. I loved that hotel and I think it would be one of my first choices in hurghada.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank amrmahmoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crystalbayresort, Guests Service Center at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to read that you had a wonderful holiday at our resort, and that staff did everything to make it to your liking.

Once again thank you for your review, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort soon.

Best regards,
Iryna Vakulska
Guests Service Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have just returned from the Sunrise Crystal Bay and would like to share our experience with those that are interested. Without a doubt if you can afford it you must book the pool suite rooms, they are simply amazing and probably one of the best rooms we have ever stayed in anywhere in the world, and I have travelled extensively over the last 40 years (with my partner for the last 22 of them)! The room has 2 bedrooms, 1 twin and 1 (big) double (with flat screen TV in both rooms and DVD player in the twin) each has it's own bathroom (although not exacrly ensuite) with a bath and a walk in shower, a walk in wadbrobe for the double and both have their own safe, there is also a reasonable size separate lounge with sofa, fridge and TV, it is absolutely perfect for a family of 4 or even 2 couples if one couple don't mind twin beds.The rooms are set right next to the beach so you walk from your patio door into your own garden area with it's plunge pool (about 15ft by 15ft, although quite cold even in the height of summer), there are also 4 sun loungers in the garden plus a table and 4 chairs. Walk through your gate across the path and you then have your own cabana directly on the private (manmade) beach with 2 big soft beds as well as 2 more sun loungers, then another 20 paces takes you to the sea. The beauty of the rooms is that they are separate from the main hotel next to the private beach area which tends to be a lot quieter than the main pool and beach area, so you have the best of both worlds as it's only a short walk if you want to join in the fun at the big pool, but far enough away if you want some peace and quiet. Along with the superior accommodation comes superior service, you are waited on hand and foot from 0900 in the morning until 5pm in the evening, Alaa and Mostofa will see to your every desire, they work tirelessly prowling the beach with cold drinks, smoothies and anything else you want (you can even have your lunch brought to you if you want), nothing is too much trouble and they really do enhance what is already a wonderful experience, and before you get the wrong idea there is never any pressure to tip, although if you don't you are just plain mean as they work so hard in temperatures over 100F in the summer (not to mention it was Ramadan when we were there). The staff throughout the hotel are all very helpful almost without exception, a special mention for Hamdy as he looked after us at breakfast (just 1 coffeee please Hamdy and a hot water!!) and in the Mediterranean restaurant, but thank you to all of you there are just too many to mention. I think it is fare to describe the food as average in most of the restaurants, the buffet was very good, the Indian was good the first time but average the second, the Med was OK first time but again so so the next, the Felucca fish restaurant which you to have to pay for (very reasonable prices and drinks are free) was very good both times. We did go to the Oriental at the hotel next door and the food was OK but the temperature in the restaurant was overbearing so uncomfortable, the Italian was very poor (no black pepper to go on my pizza which had a soggy base anyway) and the Mexican was also poor (no fajitas left at 8pm!) so I would recommend sticking to the Crystal Bay to eat as the other options are not even average really. It is obvious that 5 star in Egypt does not equate to 5 star in other countries but then it isn't the same price as other countries so like everything in life you get what you pay for, if it is a little cheaper there is always a reason. If I wanted to be really picky I could say some of the decor was a little tired and they also for some reason don't like to have the air con up too high in the public areas which can make it a little warm at times, but these are minor moans that did not detract from what was a vey enjoyable holiday and a hotel that we will definitely return to (as long at it's a pool suite). In all honesty I would say that going during Ramadan does have it's downsides, we liked to go for a drink at around 6.30 every night and because this was close to sunset staff were sometimes difficult to find and so it meant going to the bar to get a drink rather than table service, but again this was a minor inconvenience and we were aware it was Ramadan before we went so it was our choice! The airport on the return was hilarious though, bang on sunset everyhting stops, they close security (which is non existent anyway as everybody sets of the alarm but nobody gets searched) and bring out a big table and everybody sits down and eats, drinks and has a smoke with all the passenegers on the other side that haven't got to the check-in queues watching in disbelief, some even tried to get through but were sent back with a flea in their ear, although even if you have made the check-in queue it makes no difference as the check-in staff also knock off for 15 minutes, so don't get to the airport late! Go to Egypt and enjoy it, don't set your expectations to the highesat level as they will not be met, but the people are friendly, the service is superb, the Crystal Bay (pool suites) are a great choice, the weather is perfect and the price is reasonable by comparison so unless you want perfection form your holiday it will be a good choice for you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crystalbayresort, Guests Service Center at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Dave M,
Thank you for posting comments about your recent stay with us. We hope you enjoyed the quiet atmosphere of the Villa Suites. We are very happy to learn that the service, food and atmosphere was up to your liking.
The team of SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort appreciate your comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you back.
We hope to see you soon again.
Zhanna Kartashova
Guests Service Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Last year we reserved the worst hotel i stayed in the last few years based on offer of pay 5 nights and get 2 free nights........ we faced a terrible hospitality and worst food with less varieties.... the hotel have a very good pool area but the rooms have a poor furniture although it was wide.... the animation team was good.... finally i couldn't complete our stay there and cancelled the reservation after two nights and lost the offer discount due to the worst hospitality and impolite and rude staff behaviors............. i don't recommend this worst hotel strongly...........

Room Tip: i don't recommend this worst hotel strongly
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank MiroOo2778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal Bay S, Guest Service Center at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2016

Dear valued guests,
Sunny greetings from SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort.
First, I want to thank you for your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it’s apparent in this case, we fell short. For the inconvenience it caused, I am sorry.
I would like to assure you that each of your comment was transferred to responsible person to avoid such a unpleasant experience of our valued guests.
If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that you will have opportunity to make sure that we took all necessary actions as your comfort is the most important for us.

With best regards,
Iryna Vakulska
Guest Service Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Had two weeks at the Crystal Bay and enjoyed every day.
First though you have to get through Hurghada airport. Word of warning, don't follow the Thomas Cook reps as soon as you enter the building from the bus. IMMEDIATELY to your left as you enter the building are a few kiosks where you will pay the correct $25 per person for your visa. The Thomas Cook reps will herd you forward where you will be charged $30 upwards per person. Quite an horrendous experience, my daughter's first impression was that she never wanted to visit Egypt again, we told her to reserve judgement until we arrived at our hotel.
By the time we'd gone through visa and passport control our luggage had arrived and was waiting for us by the carousel.
Quick transfer to hotel and as Egypt is presently only 1 hour ahead we were an hour earlier than expected. Check in was smooth, a cold towel and refresing drink provided whilst completing the registration form and then straight to our room. I had emailed the hotel requesting a room close to main building and on top floor and this is what we had. The room was fine for the three of us, in need of refurbishment but the main thing was the air conditioning was perfect and we certainly needed that during our stay. A few issues initially, fridge and kettle not working but this was rectified as soon as we mentioned it the following day to our chamber person, Ahmed, who looked after us so well throughout our stay and was always so smiley and chatty despite the fact it was Ramadan and he has no food or water from 3.00am to 6.30pm - I really do not know how they manage this especially during the searing heat of the day. ALL the staff were always so polite and friendly at all times - the service was first class and this is something we rarely experience even in 5* hotels throughout the world, it is the one thing that would bring us back to this hotel. I will mention the staff we had regular contact with who are a credit to the hotel - El Sayed in the main buffet restaurant, met him on our first night there and chose to sit in his section of the restaurant whenever we ate there, very friendly and professional at all times. Hamdy who works in main restaurant, beach restaurant and I think is in charge of the Med a la carte. Mahmoud in main restaurant and also the Indian a la carte, another waiter whose name I can't recall, who worked in both a la carte restaurants and also the beach restaurant.
We ate in both a la carte restaurants several times each, the Indian was especially good. Booked the Grill restaurant at the Mamlouk, cover charge of $20 per person but worth it, my daughter and I had the t-bone steak, very nice. Tried to book the Asian at the Mamlouk but was always fully booked. We also ate at the Felucca seafood restaurant, this is not part of the AI deal but as a guest of the Crystal Bay you receive a 20% discount. There is a lady who comes round the pool to take bookings and has a menu. The first visit my husband and I tried the set menu, 3 courses for E£190 approx £16, exccellent value, our main was sea bass and this was perfect, our daugher had whole lobster and fillet steak E£350 and was delicious. The meal was so good we booked for another night and hubby and I had seafood platter, half lobster, fish fillet, huge prawns and calamari E£250 and then 20% disount. Well worth trying! All drinks are included unless you opted for a bottle of wine from wine list, we didn't bother as found the white and rose wine very palatable.
We really enjoyed the food at this hotel, plenty of choice for breakfast, lunch and dinner in the buffet retaurant and also the beach restaurant where we ate a few times.
Drinks were fine, we all found our own favourite cocktails, a good list to choose from, and available at pool bar as well as lobby bar and sports bar! Always hot drinks available throughout the day. Free pool and bar football in the sports bar.
The hotel was only about 40-50% full whilst we were there so no queues for drinks at pool bar, no need to reserve sunbeds, always got our preferred spot no matter what time we got to the pool, and all beds nicely spaced out, not crammed together like sardines! Beach towels always available and these were of a very good quality. A big thank you to Mustafa? recreation man around the pool who always made a point of saying hello and clearing our table at the pool.
The whole animation team were lovely, even if you don't participate in their acitivity, they would come round and speak and ask whether everything was ok. A mention to all of them, Chris, Totti, Soudany, Meda, Ola, Mercedes and Aimee, Aimee is English and likes to get to know all British guests.
Well placed to visit parade of shops dead opposite hotel, fixed price shop Cleopatra's Bazaar has a good range of gifts. The Senzo Mall is 10 minutes walk if you can bare it in the heat or get a taxi - we paid E£10 = 80p to get there, you might be able to haggle down but 80p for 3 people is a bargain. Spinneys is their equivalent of Asda, Tesco etc and so cheap for crisps, sweets etc.
The hotel has an ATM at the entrance where you insert sterling notes and it dispenses E£, rate 12.24 to the £.
You don't get many small notes (for tips) and reception rarely have small denomintaions for you to change so a good idea to keep small notes if shopping at Senzo mall or over the road.
A fabulous holiday. Our daughter wants to return despite her iniital impression at Hurghada airport!

Room Tip: All rooms have a pool and sea view. Would choose middle floor next time as in shade when walking to...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MPB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crystalbayresort, Guests Service Center at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review about your recent stay with us.
It is a big pleasure to know that you are fully satisfied with the restaurants, bars and our animation. Thank you for noticing the efforts of our staff and sending your kind greetings to them through Tripadvisor.com.
Once again thank you for your review, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort soon.

Best regards,
Zhanna Kartashova
Guests Service Center Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This was our second stay at this wonderful hotel,and it just gets better!
First the downside..Our flight was delayed for four hours,and when we finally boarded, the cabin was filthy my wife Sue actually got bitten by something! Then you have the horror of Hurghada Airport.The Thomas Cook cabin crew told everyone to get your Visa stamped would cost around £13...it actually cost £19 each so be warned they seem to charge what they feel like,another couple didn't have enough cash to pay..I wonder what happened to them?
Check in at the hotel is fairly quick,we upgraded to a Junior Suite which is well worth the extra,our room was right on the beach,yes you have a fair walk to the restaurant but we always enjoyed the lovely walk through the well kept gardens.
The pool area is the highlight of our holiday for us,very relaxing,so much so that Mercedes from the animation team christened us along side our friends Julian and Lisa from last year..."The lazy corner"!! All the animation team are very friendly and always have time for a chat.
Special thanks to Walid from the pool bar who always made sure our glasses were full!
We eat mainly in the main restaurant which always had a good choice of food I especially enjoyed the breakfast...thanks to Ahmed Saber who always made sure we had fresh orange juice
The beach itself is not the hotels best feature,man made with very coarse sand but the red sea is so warm to swim in.
A big thank you to Mahrous from the beach restaurant he remembered us from last year,he is always pleasant and helpful it was like meeting an old friend again.
We would also like to mention the unsung heroes of this wonderful hotel....the cleaners,they are always busy no matter what time of day and keep everything spotlessly clean.
The guest relations lady (we forget her name) was extremely helpful directing us to the local bank.
All in all we had a wonderful 10 days at this beautiful well run hotel,and we will be returning soon

Norman and Sue From Cumbria,England

Room Tip: Upgrade to a junior Suite well worth the extra
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Haveriggcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crystalbayresort, Guests Service Center at SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback, we do appreciate your high appraisal of our hotel and the staff.
We would like to assure you that your "heroes of the hotel" will always
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and hope to welcome you again in SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort.

With best regards,
Zhanna Kartashova
Guests Service Center Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
4.0 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#44 of 222 in Hurghada
2,321 reviews
8.5 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
0.2 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
#21 of 222 in Hurghada
3,590 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
#2 of 222 in Hurghada
1,360 reviews
6.1 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort

Address: Safaga Road | KM 20 Hurghada, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#7 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range: £71 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the hospitality of Egypt. The 5 Star resort is located in a wonderful Garden Area and directly at the sandy beach with an own lagoon, which guarantee you a relaxing time. 20 km to Hurghada center and 15 km to the Hurghada International Airport provide you short distances during your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Crystal Bay Hotel Hurghada
Sunrise Crystal Bay Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing