We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good relaxing holiday”
Review of Ali Baba Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ali Baba Palace
Ranked #103 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A good relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The resort looks stunning, the site is well kept and the gardens were beautiful. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. Most of the guests staying at this hotel were Russian but this was not a problem and there were very few language barrier related issues. The resort joined onto two sister hotels 'the Aladin' and 'the jasmine beach resort' which were also very nice. Between the three hotels there was lots of facilities including a large private beach, private boating lake, several kids play areas, a nightclub, two large pools and several shops and a small zoo with monkeys, dogs and rabbits. The only downside to this holiday was the poor food. Food was very bland with little choice and not always fully cooked. My tip would be to check out the restaurants in the other two resorts as they seemed a little better and is included in the all inclusive. Also liked the way you could use the all inclusive features in the other resorts (I. E in the bars). Loved the main bar, pool bar and beach bar. Enjoyed a good week here but could not stay for longer than a week. Also check out the excursions.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank thrilljunkieuk99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uta A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Ali Baba Palace, responded to this review, 23 June 2016
Dear Guests

Thank you for your review and the fruitful comments which helped us a lot! We are very happy that you enjoyed your holiday in Ali Baba Palace.
We look forward to see you and your family in our hotel once again assuring you that we will make your holiday unforgettable.

Thank you
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    233
    103
    68
    55
See reviews for
285
200
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We enjoyed week in Ali Baba. Staff was friendly and supportive. Very active and wide range of activities offered through the day by Animation team. Wide range of meals, but not changing too much during the week. Too less of fruits. We enjoyed swimming pool and playing yard for children. Satisfied with beach and facilities at the seaside, too. When TV was broken, they changed it in 30 minutes (strangely, from another room:)). One day in water attraction park was free of charge for all family. The weakness is that they don't have wi-fi internet. The room was cleaned every day. I would recommend this hotel for my friends and most probably will come one day again.

Room Tip: Family room was just perfect in size for family of 2 adults and 2 children (4 and 6 years of age). T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ieva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uta A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Ali Baba Palace, responded to this review, 23 June 2016
Dear Ms ieva

Thank you for your review and the fruitful comments which helped us a lot! We are very happy that you enjoyed your holiday in Ali Baba Palace.
We look forward to see you and your family in our hotel once again assuring you that we will make your holiday unforgettable.

Thank you
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

stayed here two weeks in feb 12, weather not brill cold wind often overcast but hotel clean comfy and brilliant staff in all the areas. lots of things to do [extra cost. Nightly entertainmet good waiters work really hard keeping you topped up. The manager of the hotel was a nice fella. The beach is great as is the pool area. Free shuttle to Hurgurdah and the Marina worth a trip but meals costlt in the Marina. Well worth a visit to this great hotel, Plan togo again soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uta A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Ali Baba Palace, responded to this review, 23 June 2016
Dear Mrs. Alice

Thank you for your review and the fruitful comments which helped us a lot! We are very happy that you enjoyed your holiday in Ali Baba Palace.
We look forward to see you and your family in our hotel once again assuring you that we will make your holiday unforgettable.

Thank you
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexleyheath, England.
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed at the Ali Baba the last week of Feb 2012 and the temperature was just right. The hotel was very nice and well maintained. Food was good (they have lovely fresh bread but don't put out any butter at lunch or evening meal??). The hotel is mainly occupied by Russians & Germans (very few Brits). Huge lobby area that was very sparkly. Bowling and ice skating (extrra charges) are just off the lobby area along with a large snooker room. There are no safes in the rooms, they are located at reception. The currency exchange rate was better than we got at home. We tipped with £1 coins, but the banks will only take paper money, so staff will approach you to change the coins. ATM is available in the lobby. The gardens are well maintained and the short walk to the beach is very pleasant. Only a small pool was heated. There is a large childrens play area that looked well equipped (although the cats tended to use the sand as a toilet).
The beach was well laid out with several dive clubs. I was told there was a reef a bit further out, but I didn't venture out to see it. There are several small shops in the hotel and a small line of shop outside. Transfer time from airport was about 15-20 minutes. The hotel is on the flight path into Hurghada (you can read the name of the airline on the planes!). The animation team were good. They try to drum up participation but they don't harass you on your sunbed. Also they didn't play pop music all day, only during the stretching and games, which was ok. There are plenty of staff at the hotel and it is run very well. I recommend the freshly made doughnuts with chocolate sauce that were available everyday at tea time, around the pool. Tea & coffee were good and the milk perfectly drinkable (and on the cereal). It would have been nice to have beverage facilities in the room. We didn't suffer any tummy problems. We loved our week at the Ali Baba and are looking to return in October (if the price is right).

Room Tip: Ground floor, end rooms tend to suffer from the noise of late returning holidaymakers. Also rooms n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ankh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uta A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Ali Baba Palace, responded to this review, 23 June 2016
Dear Guests

Thank you for your review and the fruitful comments which helped us a lot! We are very happy that you enjoyed your holiday in Ali Baba Palace.
We look forward to see you and your family in our hotel once again assuring you that we will make your holiday unforgettable.

Thank you
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed at the Ali Baba for a week over New Year, it was a late deal and it was pretty good value for money. The hotel was only a short drive from the airport and although it looked a bit cheesy as we drove up, inside it was very nice.
The reception area and foyer is huge and sparkley (although it was Christmas) with lots of seating. This is where most of the entertainment happens in the winter, although with a 3 and 5 year old, the 9 o'clock start was a bit late for us. We braved the cool night air for the mini disco a few nights which took place on a large outdoor stage at 7 pm - I guess this is where all the entertainment happens in the summer.
Our room was pretty decent - far too many cupboards and drawers but they are probably for all the extra clothes the Russian guests buy from the nearby shops. We were a little worried when we arrived in our room as a standerd room for a family of 4 only had two small beds and a sofa bed. We went straight to reception and they quickly found us a matress and prepared another bed - so we had to make do with that.The room was plenty big enough for this and we liked the garden view terrace.The rooms which have a pool view look pretty nice and are nearer to the bar and restaurants but our room was nearer to the beach. It was quiet and we all slept well and the maid service was fine - as many fresh towels as you wanted every day (pool/beach towels are available too - if you get them from the beach kiosk they are bigger).
The private beach was lovely - a very short walk and planty of wooden beds and wind breaks. There was a constant breeze during the day so you needed the break if you were right by the sea but it was very hot when sheltered and our boys played by the sea every day. The heated part of the pool was adequate in size, the rest of the pool which was unheated looked good - shame it was freezing cold - bet it's great in summer. Our Russian friends took to wearing body warmers and scarves to breakfast at times but it really wasn't that cool - we were warm enough in shorts. We visited Hurghada town once but that was enough - if you are a couple without children you could explore a little more and the hotel offeres a few cheap or free shuttle busses. The hotel and the other two nearby owned by the same company are in a tourist area away from the town so once you leave the hotel there's not much to see.
The Ali Baba has three restaurants - we ate most nights in the Italian which was the only food our boys would eat. The freshly cooked pasta, cooked to your taste infront of you was fab and the pizza wasn't bad either. Breakfast was very continental and the all inclusive deal covered all drinks that we had. The beer glasses were a bit bit on the small side - we noticed some other British holiday makers had brought their own tankards! The hotel has an ice rink and a bowiling alley but they were too expensive for us as once tried we'd have to do it every night with the boys and the internet access was not free either.
As a winter break for one week it was great - we would definately go back to Egypt for good winter sun and a healthy tan - maybe we'd investigate other hotels but the Ali Baba was fine - no real complaints.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louiserayco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uta A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Ali Baba Palace, responded to this review, 23 June 2016
Dear Guests

Thank you for your review and the fruitful comments which helped us a lot! We are very happy that you enjoyed your holiday in Ali Baba Palace.
We look forward to see you and your family in our hotel once again assuring you that we will make your holiday unforgettable.

Thank you
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london, england
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Just returned from our second trip to Ali Baba Palace. While it's just a tourist class hotel the standard is perfectly acceptable and it is clean and well maintained. The rooms and bathrooms are large with lots of storage space and have lovely views of either the gardens and pool or the beach.

It is a 25 minute ride from the centre of Hurghada but there is a free shuttle bus to the marina in the evenings and a round trip taxi will cost no more than LE40 if you prefer to use them. The bush taxis charge LE5 to go anywhere in Hurghada so very cheap!

The hotel chain own the Jasmine and Aladdin hotels too so you can use the amenities of all 3. If you want to eat in the restuarants of the other 2 though you have to ask reception to book for you. The Aladdin seems to have the most going on in the evenings and the Jasmine has a lovely shisha bar - well worth a visit. The only downsides I can think of to this hotel are that there are very few English tourists there as most are Russian, German and Polish and there is little entertainment in the evenings but, to be fair, this was in the winter. It got pretty boring after 2 weeks and it's not really practical to go into Hurghada every night. The food is perfectly acceptable but becomes repetitive after a while with chicken on offer almost every night. Although there are 3 restuarants they all serve basically the same food but we preferred the Italian as it was smaller than the main one.

The guys in the shisha bar are great (Ashraf x 2) and it's so much nicer than sitting in the reception of the hotel in the evening which feels like an airport or railway station with absolutely no atmosphere. However, the all inc doesn't cover drinks in the shisha bar.

About a 15 min walk away is Senzo mall with quite a few of our high street shops (like Accessorize) and with lower prices than home. There is also a supermarket there (Spinneys) selling just about everything and at much cheaper prices than the shops in the hotel. McDonalds does deliveries to the hotels and the reception staff have the number if you get sick of the hotel food! Best of all though is that Senzo mall has WI-FI in the cafes. Although the hotel advertises internet acess it is in a horrible room and is not particularly great. There is a shuttle bus to Hurghada centre from the mall hourly too costing LE5 or so.

Directly opposite the hotel there is a row of tourist shops selling the usual souvenirs and not much else. Should mention too that the only part of the pool which is heated is the part between the bridges right next to the hotel so if you go in winter this is really the only part warm enough to use! The beach is lovely with lots of sun loungers and a restuarant for drinks and lunch.

I hope this helps as I've tried to cover things I'd like to have known. We will return to Ali Baba next year at some point so it must have something going for it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the left hand side of the pool (as you go out of the back of the hotel) as the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sunloverssurrey5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uta A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Ali Baba Palace, responded to this review, 23 June 2016
Dear Guests

Thank you for your review and the fruitful comments which helped us a lot! We are very happy that you enjoyed your holiday in Ali Baba Palace.
We look forward to see you and your family in our hotel once again assuring you that we will make your holiday unforgettable.

Thank you
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Stayed at the hotel for 2 weeks from 29th November and thoroughly enjoyed it. Whilst we were there Xmas decorations were put up.The place had a very festive feel about it. Decorations were tasteful and not tacky. Surprised by the high standard of service and cleanliness throughout the hotel and grounds. The reception and bar area had plenty of comfortable seating to accommodate all on an evening. Drink selection and quality within the reception and bar area were sufficient to meet most peoples needs.House wines were of a good standard. The table areas were continuously tidied up and cleaned throughout the opening hours. As it was an all inclusive resort, I expected problems with people drunk and being rowdy. This wasn't the case. In 2 weeks saw only 2 people the worse for wear. Maybe the fact there was very few British there had a bearing on this. Outside areas and the walkway down to the beach were well maintained and kept spotlessly clean. Flowerbeds and grassy areas were well maintained and kept tidy. Heated swimming pool a good size and was a necessity for this time of year as the sea temperature was quite cold. Water in the pool was crystal clear. Poolside kept clean and tidy throughout the day. Even sunshades are dusted on a daily basis. Beach cleaned and raked every morning. Sufficient beds, shade and windbreakers for all that needed them. Beach beds and mattresses were clean and comfortable.Food of an acceptable standard. ATM machine in the hotel which gives a good rate of exchange. Far better than you will receive in the UK or at the airport. Excellent holiday for a spot of winter sun. But would advice taking warm clothing as the area gets very cold once the sun goes down. Felt the hotel organised trip to the Marina was a total waste of time. Ended up getting a taxi back after less than an hour there.However it is well worth going into old Hurghada. Contrary to what I have read on some previous reviews, there was fruit available in the restaurants on a daily basis.Although the choice was limited it included date, oranges, melons and apples.The 3 restaurants offered us enough selection even if it meant eating different courses in different restaurants. For those wanting burgers and chips, there was the beachbars. It is definately a place we would recommend and also revisit

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2macduff0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uta A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Ali Baba Palace, responded to this review, 23 June 2016
Dear Guests

Thank you for your review and the fruitful comments which helped us a lot! We are very happy that you enjoyed your holiday in Ali Baba Palace.
We look forward to see you and your family in our hotel once again assuring you that we will make your holiday unforgettable.

Thank you
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
1.0 mi away
Alf Leila Wa Leila
Alf Leila Wa Leila
#39 of 222 in Hurghada
1,340 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Seas Resort Hostmark
Grand Seas Resort Hostmark
#106 of 222 in Hurghada
522 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sea World
Sea World
#91 of 222 in Hurghada
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Albatros Aqua Park
Albatros Aqua Park
#16 of 222 in Hurghada
455 reviews
11.3 mi away
Sea Star Beau Rivage
Sea Star Beau Rivage
#20 of 222 in Hurghada
938 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lilly Land Beach Club Hotel
Lilly Land Beach Club Hotel
#132 of 222 in Hurghada
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ali Baba Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ali Baba Palace

Property: Ali Baba Palace
Address: Main Beach Street | Red sea, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#57 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#57 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#63 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#86 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#89 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ali Baba Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 654
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautifully landscaped Ali Baba palace will leave you with a memorable holiday from our family oriented facilities such as our newly established Aquapark , bowling and ice skating rink!, To our party life with our well known foam beach parties from April till October every year on Fridays. Our daily activities with our international animation team who will keep you entertained through out day. From Olympic Games day and competitions against sister hotels Aladdin and Jasmin on Wednesdays. To our aqua park day family parties. Everyone likes to have a drink and sing, that's where our karoekee night comes in our sound proof, 40 theives club, which hosts everyday a party till the morning. We also have a kids program to keep your kids entertained while you take your time to relax through out your day enjoying the sun and crystal blue waters. Don't be alarmed if you heard from them, they baked their own pizzas it's never too young to make your own pizza in our kids clubs where our skilled multilingual kids entertainers makes sure our younrger guests getting their adventure out of the Ali Baba treasure finding experience.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ali Baba Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primasol Ali Baba Palace Hotel Hurghada
Primasol Ali Baba Palace Hurghada
Ali Baba Palace Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing