We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand resort - February 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Resort Hurghada
Ranked #74 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2014

For a last minute sun holiday at a low price this hotel was perfect. We were half board and found there was always enough choice of food for both breakfast and evening meal. Disappointing that no drinks were provided at all with evening meal, usually on half board basis you are provided with at least soft drinks/water however these were all at a cost which was double to that of the concession bars within the grand resort complex. Fresh eggs were cooked for you for breakfast and on a night you could have fresh noodles. Lunch time food around the area is poor, there is buffet service provided by the hotel for 60ept however this is all offered and few surrounding restaurants.
The room was spacious and again perfect for what we needed it for, towels changed daily and beach towels and beach bag provided. Only the one pool is heated which is a shame however fair enough considering low occupancy, just the side where the sun is hottest is where the pool is not heated.
All staff were extremely friendly and most would do anything for you, we tipped small amounts however did not feel pressured into doing so as have felt in previous hotels.
The surrounding area isn't the most attractive and there is little around the area, however if you want a relaxing sun holiday then this is perfect.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jade K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,793)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

598 - 604 of 1,793 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

We visited this hotel on the 18th of feb 2014, We stayed in the junior suite around the main pool, it was cold but the other pool was heated.
The room was spacious and the staff brought another bed which was ok for my son Beach towels changed every day. We ate at the meditarriano restaurant highly recommended my friend had a birthday the last night and the waiters did all the table full of flowers and a cake came with all the staff singing Happy birthday to her. The main restaurant is typical Egypt style I have been to a few different hotels so am used to the food... If you use a taxi makesure you decide on a price before hand.There is a bank opposite which you can easily change any currency to Egyptian. Cannot fault this hotel as staff were all friendly will defiantly would go again.
If the hotel is low occupancy we stayed in room 1227 the sun is on the balcony in the morning we sunbathed at bottom most of the day and plus easy access to both pools. Alot of different nationalities not alot of English in this hotel but not a problem.
Places to visit hurghada marina, we ate at The lodge my son had a birthday there, a beautiful cake arrived unexpected with balloons we had the steak with sauce. El Gouna is a picturesque harbour we ate at The Moods, the steak and chicken curry amazing!
Sahl Hasheesh is an upcoming resort beautiful beach worth going to take photographs.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The hotel design and gardens are lovely, and all of the staff we met were courteous and helpful. Our room was spacious, clean, and had a great view over the large pool to the sea. Considering the price we paid, it was fantastic value. It is true that the decor is shabby in places, and minor things need work. For example the grouting around some of the tiles was worn. They are only heating the small pool at the moment, but that seems fair as the occupancy is very low. We never saw the pool crowded, and you are free to sit around the larger pool if you wish.

We were B&B, so can't comment on the all inclusive deal. The breakfast buffet had a good selection of hot items, cold meats and cheese, fruit and cereals. You can also get freshly cooked eggs, pancakes, or omelettes. Previous reviews have mentioned that cold items are not covered, but that is fairly standard at many hotels I have stayed at. You have to cut your own slices from some bread types, which I don't like, as someone else has previously gripped the same loaf. There is a good selection of rolls and pre-sliced breads as an alternative. I avoided all the salad items, as widely recommended for eating in Egypt. But they may not have been washed in tap water.

The area surrounding the hotel contains the usual tourist shops, but is marred by many half-completed hotels. However Hurghada is not a pretty place, apart from the sea, so I am not sure anywhere else would be better. There are plenty of local taxis for getting around. Negotiate a fixed price before entering a taxi, to avoid being ripped off. Suggest about 25LE (Egyptian pounds) to get to the marina, and 35LE for downtown. Taxis rides can be pretty scary. If you prefer, the hotel runs a few shuttle buses per day. There is a bank directly opposite the hotel.

The hotel is on on the sea, but you can use the beach (and all other facilities) of The Grand over the road. This beach is very attractive and wasn't crowded.

The room and portering staff don't ask for tips, but make sure you know their name. Suggest you obtain a supply of low value notes for this purpose.

Overall we were delighted with our stay, and could not believe the value for money we obtained. Would highly recommend this hotel for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Upper floors facing the pool have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WordmanSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Yesterday I returned home from Hurghada, I stayed at the Grand Resort for 7 days. I have stayed at other hotels across Egypt and this resort is by far the best hotel. This hotel is outstanding, the resort has no downfalls, it actually looks and offers 5star service, which is remarkable as I didn't expect the 5star rating to be true when I booked the holiday. I will return to to Grand resort next year for the second time :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Not the best given that the hotel rates itself as 5*... I would question this rating. Food was poor in terms of selection. You had to pay for your drinks at dinner, again half board very poor. Swimming pool water was freezing, and only one side of the pool in this huge hotel was semi heated.

Staff were very nice and rooms were lovely.. But it's not enough to take me back there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sammers59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I'm certainly not saying its the worst hotel I've stayed in but it's far from being the best !!
It is very large with plenty of space around the pool. You can use the beach at the Grand Hotel which is across the street.

The staff were very pleasant & helpful.

Personally though I think its very tired & dated.

There are better hotels out there.

Room Tip: Choose a hotel on the beach with better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank milfanddom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Boyfriend and I have just returned from a week at the grand resort. We had a lovely time, the weather was great, the hotel clean and luxurious. This part of Egypt is not seeing any of the problems in Cairo, Luxor etc so is safe to travel to.

The best part was the room and the balcony, we paid extra for a pool view and it was well worth it.

Things the hotel could further work on include the price of the drinks which are extortionate currently. It didn't affect our holiday as we and most other guests found bars outside the hotel, but it would have been nice to stay in the hotel in the evenings also. The Internet was too slow. You get bothered a bit too much on your first day by people wanting to sell you things pool side. Hurghada itself is not an attractive place so this is not a place for site seeing. The other guests (mostly German) were absolutely friendly and wonderful, made some good friends who hopefully we will see again.

The food was good, but more variety would have been appreciated. Fine for a week though.

All in all, I had a great time and would return.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the pool view, if you appreciate tranquility over the old swimming pool rather than th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.9 mi away
Siva Grand Beach Hotel
Siva Grand Beach Hotel
#69 of 222 in Hurghada
1,631 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Grand Makadi Hotel
The Grand Makadi Hotel
#17 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,359 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
The Makadi Palace Hotel
The Makadi Palace Hotel
#14 of 30 in Makadi Bay
2,241 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#41 of 222 in Hurghada
2,395 reviews
1.1 mi away
Royal Lagoons Aqua Park Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Resort Hurghada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Resort Hurghada

Address: Red Sea / Corniche Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#48 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range: £51 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 828
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything at the Grand Resort is on an impressive scale. Lying right on the tourist promenade, at the very heart of the modern resort area of Hurghada, it boasts generously-sized rooms and an innovative figure of eight layout that allows one side of the hotel to cater for those seeking lively entertainment and music while the other offers tranquillity for those who simply want to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Hurghada
Grand Hotel Hurghada
Grand Resort Hurghada
Grand Resort Hotel Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing