We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Siva Grand Beach Hotel
Ranked #82 of 221 Hotels in Hurghada
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed here from 8/3/13-15/3/13 and were very impressed. For the price it was a great hotel. Rooms were spacious and very clean - yes they're a bit dated but what hotel isn't unless it's just opened??!!!! Staff were fantastic, especially Essam in the lobby bar who looked after us. The food was fine, always a lot of variety so you could always find something you liked and all freshly prepared and piping hot. Couldn't fault cleanliness either - hand sanitiser at the entrance of every restaurant and chefs wear latex gloves. Given drinking water in the room every day and plenty of drinking water dispensers around the hotel and grounds. Always plenty of sun loungers - no need to get up at the crack of dawn - choice of pool or private beach. The heatwave at this time of the year (34/35 degrees) was just an added bonus. A very relaxing week - thank you to all the staff!

Room Tip: We stayed in a junior suite and it was perfect. Have head that the standard rooms are a little shabb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,680)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

677 - 683 of 1,680 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2013

We have just returned from a lovely relaxing 2 week holiday at Siva Grand Beach. We cannot praise it highly enough. The temperature rose to 35° as we left, we had a large, always spotless junior suite on the 3rd floor overlooking the gardens. The whole resort is beautifully clean, the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. Our thanks especially go to Hassan, Sayed and Mohammed (to name a few) for their never ending efficiency and pleasantness in the restaurant upstairs. We can recommend the Amar Restaurant which is expertly run by the manager, Mohammed. It has such a variety of dishes to choose from – it would be impossible not to find something you like. The Oasis restaurant is also good for their themed evenings but these do need to be booked to get in. The acrobatic display was incredibly performed although I did watch it with my heart in my mouth at times.
The negative points are:- The internet connection is not good and very slow. The loud music for aerobics at 12noon is not appropriate and far too loud (but take heart it only goes on for 30-45mins). The evening entertainment could also do with having the volume turned down so that conversation can take place over a nice drink. We would not recommend stepping out of the resort - we went three times, the first two went OK, the third was a very unpleasant experience and we did not venture out again.
There is also a distinct lack of small change in Egypt. We continually asked reception (and the reps) to change our Egyptian notes into smaller denominations so we could give them as tips but there appeared to be little change to be had. The hotel could improve this situation to help their staff. Tips therefore are given in Euros and Pound Coins all of which make it very difficult for the Egyptians unless someone will change them up for them into Egyptian pounds. We did this for them as often as possible and came home with a lot of pound coins. Try and get small denomination money where possible to help the staff out.
We went on the snorkelling boat trip to “Paradise Island”. This was a lovely day out, the snorkelling was brilliant but would have been better in smaller groups and on the way home we saw lots of dolphins which was fabulous. However, we would have preferred to have gently followed these beautiful creatures in the boat and not driven through the pod at speed thus possibly leaving one or two injured! Conservation is better than cheap thrills!
All in all we would thoroughly recommend this hotel. We had an amazingly relaxing time and definitely would holiday here again.

Room Tip: High floors give better view and rooms above the Terrace Bar may be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HJMet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

just returned from the Siva Beach Resort, Hotel nice very clean needs updating badly, the problem we had was the food, not very good at all had better in 3 star hotels, never hot lived on soup and cheese salads for a week, Theme night also rubbish, Bar staff great just give small tips little and often and they will always look after you. Don't waste your money or time going on shopping trip absolute rubbish. Rooms spotless clean towels for room and beach every day. Rob hope you have got some mesh in your new shorts (was best entertainment of the week). Thanks to all of you for nightly laugh.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulcarol40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

What a wonderful hotel, the rooms are large, lovely furnishings and spotlessly clean. We tended to go on the beach everyday as it was a bit breezy around the pool, so cannot really comment on the pool area. The choice of food was amazing throughout the day, you cannot go hungry at this hotel. The best thing about this hotel is the staff, they totally spoilt us, we had lovely lunch waiter, really friendly and helpful, couldnt do enough for us. Our evening waiter welcomed us with a smile every evening, from the restaurant we spent most evenings in the cocktail bar as the guy in there was lovely, entertained us every evening. All staff, reception, bar, cleaners, gardeners, beach guys all deserve a pat on the back for their friendliness and helpfulness. We cant wait to go back and visit again. Thank you

Room Tip: We had room 111, lovely room, we like a room with sun on the balcony at tea time so when we go again...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I was not sure about all inclusive as we had never done this before. However the food was excellent and well cooked and plenty of it. I was impressed by the extent of the variety of food on offer. The cocktails were lovely on the all inclusive list. The staff were courteous and helpful but at times there did not seem to be enough of them to meet everyone's needs... I asked to have a melon cut and ended up leaving it as the staff were too busy. Overall though, given the price of the last minute deal, we couldn't have asked for more. It met our needs well.

Room Tip: Ask for a junior suite first or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rebecca222-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

A well established hotel, the grounds meticulously attended to, the buildings’ exteriors requiring a little attention to paintwork and in places blistering concrete.

Arrival was with a fast check in, with your luggage delivered to your room.
Unfortunately not so easy for us humans.
Our rooms were not in the main building but in the separate units towards the sea. We were told to walk down the right-hand side of the complex to find it.
It was dark and the poor lighting meant we wandered around for some time, finding the room by chance. There were no numbers on the outside door to the entrance area, only on the individual room doors.

Room 732:
Air Con not working.
TV not working
Door Electric key only worked if you really tried hard.

Next morning, we told Reception about room and they immediately arranged for us to move next door to:-

Room 733:
Air Con remote in pieces.
Telephone connection to the socket missing.
Bathroom floor flooded, the water feed pipe to the toilet is leaking badly.
Off to reception:
Remote replaced
Telephone fixed
Plumbers descend on bathroom.

On returning to the room some hours later………..
Bathroom floor flooded and I can’t get the air con to work.

Now you might think I’m about to blow my top to reception but the head guy on the desk really is doing everything he can and promises if they can’t find the plumber we will be moved to a private suit overlooking the beach.

But they found the plumber and he fixed the problem……bugger, I was looking forward to a private suit. Air Con man reset the system and no more problems. So they fixed things as fast as they could with no real inconvenience to us. Although there shouldn’t have been problems, they fixed them.


Siva Grand Beach POSITIVES

Towel bags with big soft beach towels provided in room. Changed 2nd week.
Hand sanitizers outside restaurants.
Life Guards
Loads of decent sunbeds both at the beach and around the pool.
Food was generally very good and on occasions excellent.
( eg. Salmon Wellington) very good.
Two restaurants in the main building and four bars open at varying times.
Drink bar, crepes bar just outside main building.
Snack bar, pizza bar, waffle and ice cream bar, drinks bar, around pool area.
Snack and drinks bar on the beach.
Mid-day restaurant (Oasis) and drinks bar.
Fish restaurant near the beach
I must have forgotten something.

Excellent waiter service everywhere or you can get your own from drink stations that offered soft drinks wine and beer.

Chilled water stations all around beach and pool.


Generous after-dinner nibbles and drinks brought to our table without asking the waiter. We tended to settle upstairs with our e-books between dinner and the 12pm closure of the bar.

All the staff friendly and helpful.

Massage people don’t pester.

1.5 litre bottle of drinking water left in room every day.

Real coat hangers.

Last day late occupancy of room, no extra charge - for a 4pm shuttle bus, luggage left outside room at 3pm, room available till 3.15pm and check-out by 3.30pm.
So last morning spent at the beach and a good lunch eaten before our journey. To say nothing of a stiff Cuba Libre partaken in Reception prior to leaving….


Siva Grand NEGATIVES

Trying to find room on arrival in very poorly lit grounds. Clear map needed.

Place needs coat of paint.

Packed lunches not available.
“Siva Special” theme night at the Oasis was not our scene. Food was similar with extras, as the main buffet restaurants – but everyone has to pile in at 7pm and QUEUE.

Cold plates in the restaurants.

Evening entertainment varied from good to underwhelming.

NB

We were Scuba Diving for five days during our first week and requested a packed lunch to take with us. The Siva offers no such service which surprised us. Reception suggested taking what we needed from the restaurant. This we did and luckily had packed a few freezer bags which came in useful. On previous visits to other Hurghada resorts this service was available.

We SCUBA dived with Divers Lodge in Hurghada for our third time. After much research we found this professional outfit by far the best value for money if booked direct or through Regal Divers in the UK.
(Your buddy dives for free)

They serve Luxor beer - we prefer Sakara.

Service excellent throughout.

Tipping common. The only BRAZEN HINT about a tip was at the point we were actually seeing our bags into the coach for the trip to the airport when a guy stood in our space and repeatedly told us he had brought our bags from Room 733 (our room)…… Having actually run out of tip money we just said “Well done”.

The public areas of the hotel were spotless. A sticky spot on the balcony floor, when pointed out, was cleaned within seconds.

Old Armchairs: Management might think about the first impression gained on entering the hotel and there being so many old, worn, and grubby looking wing armchairs…. Reminded me of a rather seedy old people’s home from the 70’s. Throw them away!


Did we enjoy the holiday: YES
Would we go again: YES

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Wits_End_Norfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Carol and I have just returned from a really lovely relaxing week at this hotel (1st to 8th March). We booked it as a late deal and it was excellent value. We have stayed here before about 3 years ago and were impressed then by the cleanliness of the hotel and the lovely food. So much choice at each meal. The chefs take care to constantly check the food temperatures. Anything hot is really hot and anything which should be cold is served on ice. We have never had a problem with a dodgy tummy at this hotel, nor did we hear of others who did. The local spirits and the cocktails are pretty awful, a gin and tonic is more than acceptable however. The rose and white wine are also quite good. Spent some lovely evenings in Oasis restaurant by the beach. Special thanks to Mohammed for looking after us. They run some special themed evenings. Some you have to pay for £20 for, some are free and an alternative to eating in the dining room in the main hotel. Thanks Mr. "Luvverly jubbly" in the main dining room for making the start of our day at breakfast fun. Always ready with a smile and chat.

We did not take the snorkelling boat trips this time, since the sea was a little too cold to stay in for more than around 20 minutes at a time. One trip had to be cancelled due to the weather, which although hot, was extremely windy and the boats did not want to go out. However, I can recommend the trips. For £30 you can go out snorkelling for the day and lunch with soft drinks is provided on board the boat. The lunch was lovely and cooked on board the boat.

1 LARGE BOTTLE OF WATER WAS PROVIDED EVERY DAY IN THE ROOM. THE REST OF THE TIME YOU COULD REFILL THE BOTTLE FROM THE MANY COOLED WATER STATIONS AROUND THE HOTEL AND GROUNDS. THIS IS ALSO BOTTLE WATER.

We do feel that the hotel could use a little TLC now. Some of the areas require repair and painting. On the concrete jetty, the steps down into the water need to be resurfaced and there is exposed metalwork and the surface has worn down to the sharp sand which is uncomfortable for bare feet.

WE WOULD DEFINITELY GO BACK AGAIN. EXCELLENT VALUE. THANKS TO ALL THE LOVELY FRIENDLY STAFF.

Room Tip: Junior suites on the 5th floor are lovely. They have a sea view. Bungalows in the grounds away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahamofroad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
13.6 mi away
The Grand Makadi Hotel
The Grand Makadi Hotel
#12 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1,617 reviews
13.6 mi away
The Makadi Palace Hotel
The Makadi Palace Hotel
#15 of 30 in Makadi Bay
2,352 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
3.2 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#31 of 221 in Hurghada
2,718 reviews
0.3 mi away
Giftun Azur Resort
Giftun Azur Resort
#105 of 221 in Hurghada
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siva Grand Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siva Grand Beach Hotel

Address: The Corniche, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#47 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#69 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#74 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Hotel Class:4 star — Siva Grand Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying one of the very best locations in Hurghada, the Siva Grand Beach delivers tradition with a twist. Choose from generously sized junior suites in the main building or rooms in the two storey bungalows in the grounds. There are few steps and with a wide gently sloping beach and excellent children's facilities, it is a firm favourite with families. And it's within easy walking distance of a wide range of shops, restaurants and other activities too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Siva Grand Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Siva Grand Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing