We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfortunately, going to this hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Safir Hotel Hurghada

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hurghada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Safir Hotel Hurghada
Ranked #170 of 229 Hotels in Hurghada
Kauai, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unfortunately, going to this hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

Bad attitude ,Young man who works at the reception.Very rude person.Asked one guest money (Bribery) versus change his room. Was his style of talking very poorly, and not smiling.And linguistic abilities very bad, the name of this person (karim

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Magi10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    63
    35
    15
    23
See reviews for
21
46
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

So pleased to say .....
Overall first experience of this hotel and Egypt last week was very pleasurable.

We had all read recent reviews of this property before we left to stay there. Reviews such as rooms not so good,dirty bathroom, not for the British, and do not stay here rung in our ears as we packed. We hadnt had a family holiday for two years and scrimped and saved to afford to take two middle aged home loving occasional pub going adults accompanied by three exuberant fun loving teenagers nearly 18 nearly 16 and nearly 14 to have what we half expect to be our last family holiday.

We returned last night after a fab week away.
1 - All three of our rooms 211, 213,215 were spotless, though not 5 star ,comparable to English 3 star comfortable and adequate.We did have a pesky mosquito or two that met their deaths. Communal areas always seemed spotless. Hotel only about a third full but restaurant had steady turn over of diners and tableware was 99.% of the time spotless
I agree there was a certain predictabillity with the food which is what you would tend to expect however it was all served well (cauliflower cheese was especially nice as were some of the puddings).
2. - No there weren't loads of Brits, actually only two other Brits were staying there during our time so if you want to be surrounded by Brits no this certainly isnt the place for you. We have spent the last week with some lovely Scandinavians E. Europeans and Europeans. (though we were told the previous week there had been a young group in residence who had been a bit rowdy) .


The staff are amazing.Very pleasant and eager to help. Multi lingual bouncing between english egyptian russian german etc etc with ease and most of the guests were able to converse in more than one language so we had no problems with our attempts at what we were taught in school.

Blue Sky's rep Karim was sadly a waste of time - As you can gather we are careful with our money and shopped about.
Kids booked scuba diving with the Padi outfit on site (one was already certificated so we knew what we were looking for). Can thoroughly recommend the Italian couple that run it.Had a fab day out with two dives sadly it was too windy for us oldies to snorkel but we still enjoyed the day.

We booked the Desert Safari with Osama - also on site - quad bikes, camels, jeeps, sand sliding, etc etc ending with Buffet and shows. Excellent value for money. Be advised that it does get cold at the end at this time of year so take something warm! If it had just been kids they would have loved to quads back in the dark others said this was amazing under the egyptian stars - my old bones just werent up to it!

Since it was Valentines day when we were away we treated ourselves to a full massage by Nadia - also on site. Magic hands. sorted out some aches and pains we had had for a while.

Otherwise time was spent lounging on the beach snorkelling in the little bay playing boules reading playing scrabble cards. Generally chilling. Kids werent particularly interested in the evening entertainment so cant comment there.Went down old Hurghada a couple of times best prices to be found are at the far end if you can face the constant enticements to buy. We tended to walk in the road a bit and got used to it afte a time.

Room Tip: Be aware evening entertainment can go on till midnight and if you want a sunny balcony its the left...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wurzelsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed in an outside room in June 2012. The lobby and pools were quite impressive and we thought we were in for a 5 star stay. We were wrong. The bathroom was really dirty with stained toilet and shower. I wouldn't stay here again but do go to hurghada - the snorkeling is amazing !

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlJonAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

I have just come back from this hotel and would not recommend that English visitors go there. Since I last visited in March 2012 it has new owners and Russian holidaymakers have been encouraged to go there. It has been renamed the Sea Shell, has been made all inclusive, and whilst most of the old staff have been retained, the hotel and its service is not the same. Waiters do not serve in the restaurant now and every night the food is the same, although edible. The Russians are loud, rude and selfish and loud music blares out on the PA system from 7.30 am until dusk! Definitely not the quiet, select hotel it used to be. Plastic cups have replaced glasses and blow about on the beach. The overall standard has gone down and it is definitely not a hotel for the English. I will not be staying at this hotel again, even though I have stayed there many times.

Room Tip: The only good part is the view so ask for a room on the second and third floors at the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Busychick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hurghada hotels

Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

The rooms, pool area and restaurant were filthy and I mean filthy. There is no choice for meals, every night is the same chicken, beef and fish. The chicken is so dry and none of the food seasoned. There is no fruit or cold meats(no five a day here). The drinks are served in small plastic cups (even the Lager) and are all served warm. You have to fill water bottles up from the water filter in the restaurant (warm). The hotel is small and the noice from the bar goes on til midnight. This is not a hotel if you wan't to meet others from the UK, mainly Russians. As for the staff, well friendly "No", helpfull "No" everything was such hard work to get done. Requested some laundry done, I had to call laundry myself, but could not do that as phone in room was not working, eventually reception called for me. Requested late check out, tolled to come back next day, then tolled to come back the next morning, which was day of checkout, staff just could not be bothered to help you. A freind made a call to the UK but was not alound to make another call until she had paid for the first one. Had a leak driping from my ceiling in the toilet, reported it to reception, the porter fixed it and replaced the wet tile in the ceiling but no one, not ever the cleaner, cleaned up the debris lying on the toilet floor and was still there when i checked out a week later. The tiles around the pool were all broken with holes, very dangerous with bare feet. I have stayed in egypt many times and this is by far the worst hotel stayed in. I recommend staying at another hotel this is NOT for the UK visitor.

Room Tip: If you really have to stay here the rooms accross the road are quieter. If you want a balcony/terra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhonda0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

This hotel needs some changing of management, and a quick one!
First of all, the hotel's location is bad. You literally don't have anything around it, to get a bottle of water you have to walk 15 minutes one way (on that heat!).

Another thing is the food. Not much choice, pretty poor actually, and a lot of national cuisine, which is not good for people who happen not to like it.

Also the rooms need some serious restoration, new beds and sheets, etc.

I definitely wouldn't go back there. But I would go back to Hurghada and to Egypt, I had a great time besides the bad accommodation!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dzeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

I was here with Contiki in August 2011. This was a last minute switch. The room was an average size for a hotel in the USA so that meant it was larger than an international one. Most of the rooms had a beautiful view. AC worked well, the bed was comfy, and there was a fridge. It was very quiet. I also had a balcony overlooking the pool. The lobby was nice and the gift shop kept strange hours. The pool area was lovely. I had some issues with my key/door at first, but I eventually got the hang of it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank JackieNYC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.0 mi away
Coral Beach Resort
Coral Beach Resort
#67 of 229 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hurghada SeaGull Beach Resort
Hurghada SeaGull Beach Resort
#111 of 229 in Hurghada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.0 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
0.0 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safir Hotel Hurghada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safir Hotel Hurghada

Property: Safir Hotel Hurghada
Address: P.O. Box 76 Hurghada Red Sea, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#116 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
Number of rooms: 141
Also Known As:
Hurghada Safir Hotel
Safir Hurghada
Hotel Safir Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing