We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three star hotel with average service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden 5 Paradise Resort
Ranked #192 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I like to be real in my reviews - so here goes.

I booked the hotel independent of travelling through Onthebeach.com. I booked this way to ensure that we were booked into the 5 star Paradise and not the 4 star Club. When we arrived at the reception of the Paradise, despite having the booking confirmations which said 'Paradise Golden 5', Onthebeach had sent our order through for the Club. It took over 28 hours to resolve this problem and the long and short of it is that we spent 1 day at the Club and then were moved into the Paradise.

The Paradise hotel is part of a huge complex. It is dated (both the hotel and the complex) and needs attention. The bedrooms in the Paradise are large but dated and showing their age. There are no ceiling lights in the bedroom so it is very dark especially given that two of the floor lights were not working, neither did the bulb on the balcony. We complained about the broken toilet seat and it was replaced on the fourth day. The bath was not stable at all and it was like taking a shower stood on a surfboard most of the time.

Whilst we were there, there were frequent power cuts (three or four per day) and each time the power went off, the water did too (presumably its an electric pump that pushes the water through). The safe in our room did not work initially and despite several staff taking a look it was only when my partner disconnected and reconnected the battery that we actually got it to work.

The complex is made up of 7 hotels, the Sapphire and Topaz being over the main road. Benefits were that you could use the other hotels restauarants. We mainly chose to eat in the Emerald, a 5 star hotel that had working air-condition, although we tried them all. Believe me the air-con is needed when the temperature is 40+ during the day and 30+ in the evening.

The food was similar in all the restaurants, buffet style without much finesse, but you should be able to find something you are prepared to eat even if it is a bit bland and uninspiring. There were no diet soft drinks (I am diabetic and it does matter to me) so had to take the water from our minibar everywhere, subsequently we ran out pretty quickly but aSKED our room cleaner to fill our fridge past our quota when getting low.

Positives - tell the staff you are English, use your manners and they will bend over backwards for you! The staff have a really difficult time from other nations but work hard most of the time.
Despite the pool seeming not to be too big, there was ample space to swim up and down.

Yes there were a lot of Russians and a lot of Germans but they tend to mind their own if you do the same.

No lifts were working in the Paradise and the Cable car wasn't working either.

The beds are rock solid.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sparkles15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2012

the hotel can't be rated as a 5 star hotel , it can hardly be a four star one considering its huge size , other than that it is a typical poor 3 star hotel .
- the hotel location is not centralized , so it is is not in favor due to its location , it is more or less an isolated area
- the hotel lobby is ok , other than that the whole hotel needs renovation , the room furniture is too old ,
- the rooms are not clean , you can simply find bugs there and the smell the old wood fragrance .
- the pool and water aqua is ok , normal range .
- the beach is very very poor , there is lots of stone as well as jelly fish that makes very difficult to use it other than for sun bath .
- we were on all inclusive package , the option of te buffet is too poor , may be the breakfast is ok, the lunch is too bad in terms of taste and variety same goes for the dinner . regarding the snacks available at the pool , it is nothing more than basic salad bar as well as fries and burger , old past a, no pizza , no fruits , no fresh juices at all , just soft drinks is included .
i typically don't recommend
just one more thing , cable car is not functioning .

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Waleed_Eman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

جودة في غاية السوء فى الأكل ونظافة الغرف والموظفين في منتهي البرود.. حدثت موقعة سرقة لمبلغ من المال وتم إبلاغ إدارة الفندق ولكن دون جدوي وعدم مبالاه من جانب امن الفندق
Very poor quality in food and house keeping,in addition to very lazy stuff. we faced a rubbery accident and we informed the hotel but with no action at all.
very bad security manager
my advice to any one don't ever check in in this place

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank runy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The worst Egyptian hotel I've ever seen. Mostly for russian tourists. The first hotel without water in the bathroom. Very slow wi-fi working 2-3 hours per day at the lobby. Never back again.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steam-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

i think this hotel deal with Egyptians as unwanted people or something .. i was going to meet a relative in this hotel lobby and i was surprised to know that it is not allowed for anyone to go inside and specially Egyptians plus the security man was talking in a very bad way and he said (s you are Egyptian you have to pay 20 USD to enter to the lobby!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i didn't ask for day use ?also when finally they allow us to go inside we met someone inside he said he is a manager and he start to get angry when we argue!! we all know the manager and specially for an hotel should be calm and nice person with a nire way whatever they did i can never recommend this hotel which has this kind of managers and staff for anyone even if it is a paradise !

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank heba s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Arranged a late break booking 5 days before leaving with my parents, 3 kids and me.
On arrival at the hotel we never saw our luggage again( in a good way) as it was taken from the bus to reception, to room all with fantastic smiles and goodwill turning down tips offered.
The staff seemed genuinely pleased we were there with amazing service throughout. We didn't see any entertainment but did try a couple of restaurants which were fine though the live entertainment in the world one left quite a lot to be desired. The food was adequate still came back heavier than I went pancakes are great!!
The complex is huge and I dont think I would want to be there in high season
The space in the room was amazing with loads of room, beds a little hard, pools were good especially the heated one for Feb beach clean and well stocked with beds etc
staff fab fab fab
thanks to all fstaff for making it such a great time a good late break deal

Room Tip: depends which hotel you are in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jess t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Cannot praise enough the standards of this hotel.

As English you are looked after like Royalty with most other guests being Russians (which they don't think a lot of, but we didn't have any trouble)

Rooms were beautiful, we had two double beds, they were clean with a lovely few over the pool.

The hotels were a great location minutes from the beach.

There was plenty to eat and drink- just expect foreign food!

There was lots of things to do, we will be back.

Reception staff are wonderful, with hundreds of guests they remembered our room number and gave a very personal touch. They will give you lots of advice on the local area- speak to the local people they love hearing about life in England!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.2 mi away
Golden 5 Diamond Resort
Golden 5 Diamond Resort
#157 of 222 in Hurghada
234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden 5 The Club Hotel
Golden 5 The Club Hotel
#152 of 222 in Hurghada
199 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alf Leila Wa Leila
Alf Leila Wa Leila
#34 of 222 in Hurghada
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#31 of 222 in Hurghada
2,652 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden 5 Emerald Resort
Golden 5 Emerald Resort
#201 of 222 in Hurghada
250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden 5 Almas Resort
Golden 5 Almas Resort
#150 of 222 in Hurghada
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden 5 Paradise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden 5 Paradise Resort

Address: Hurghada Shahl Hasheesh Road, Hurghada 84512, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#101 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#118 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#125 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range: £28 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden 5 Paradise Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Category: 5 Stars Check in :14.00 Check out :12.00 Location:At the center of Golden 5 city, viewing the dancing fountain ,and the main swimming pool & the beautiful scenery of the city green landscape and sea. Staying at Paradise you will feel the luxurious and comfortable life with following the route of the cable car to the beach while passing by the trifle connected swimming pool.Accommodation:466 rooms including 12 family rooms (1 terrace/balcony, 2 bedrooms , 1 kitchen, 1 bathroom)4 junior suites 2 senior suites 2 Presidential suites ,Annex buildings 2 floors L shape and Andalusia building Most rooms and suites have balcony, equipped with:satellite- TV & radio, individual adjustable air condition .Bathrooms feature bathtub , weighting scale, telephone , Hairdryer, Minibar, safe box, daily clean linen & electricity:AC 220 volts Restaurants/Bars:Restaurants:"Red Sea" main restaurant Cuisine International Serving :Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner German a'la carte restaurant Bars:"Day and Night" coffee-shop Cuisine: International snacks & beverages Hours: 24-hours Billiard bar (All Inclusive)Cuisine: snacks & beverages Hours: 10.00 am - 02:00 am Piano Bar (charged as per consumption ):Cuisine : International Hours: 05:00 pm - 02:00 am Pool bar (All inclusive) :Cuisine: snacks & beverages Hours: 10:00 am - sunset Russian Restaurant , 80 seats Cuisine: Typical Russian Hours: Dinner, 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm Services & Facilities:24-hour room service 24-hour concierge , Laundry service: charged as per consumption , price list available in the room pm Conferences Facility:Paradise conference room:capacity of 300 persons , Paradise VIPs Lounge: 150 seats.Internet cafe Limousine service, Beauty salon ,Lobby shops -On request doctor ,Tour & travel desk .Babysitting on request ,Pets: are not allowed Pharmacy Supermarket ,Safe box available at the reception .Recreational/ Leisure Facilities:Main swimming pool (not heated)Aqua Park Golden 5:daily from 9:00 am - sun set- Free for all guest of Golden 5 city hotels including- 5 slides,- 1 heated swimming pool,- 3 heated pools for children with slides ,- Sandy area for children with slides,- 2 all inclusive bars.Discotheque "Night Flight": (free entrance , charged drinks)- 09:00 pm - 11 :00 pm for children- 11 :00 pm - 03:00 am for adults. Yacht marina Beach: 1000 meters smooth sandy beach , umbrellas ,mattresses, chaise-longue, towels - all are freeWater & Beach sport center:- windsurfing- snorkeling- boat excursions- Horse riding center (against charge)- Beach Volley Ball (free of Charge)- Para-sailing Diving center (charged):- Daily: 09:00 am - 05:00 pm ,Health club: Free of charge gymnastic; massage , Jacuzzi ,sauna, steam room are charged Dancing fountain daily show: 09:00 - 09:30 pm.Motorized train: free of charge: 09.00 am till 05.00 pm every 45 min.Tennis courts, Table tennis , billiard , chess court, mini golf,bicycle & motorbike hiring, and(for more info,please contact our receptionist)Kids club with animation , swimming pool, andbaby sitting on request- Morning: 10:00 am - 01:00 pm- Afternoon: 03:00 pm - 05:00pm• Languages: English, German, Russian, French• Parking: Private car park available , free of charge• Currency: EGP, Euro, USD• Credit Cards: MasterCard , Visa Card ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Golden 5 Paradise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Golden 5 Hotel & Beach Hurghada
Paradise Golden 5 Hotel And Beach Resort
Paradise Golden 5 Resort Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing