We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SUNRISE Garden Beach Resort -Select-
Nearby Hotels
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$271
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$206
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,964)
Filter reviews
3,964 results
Traveller rating
3,117
535
179
84
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,117
535
179
84
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaqua parkanimation teammain restaurantsister hotel next doorvictoria puba la carte restaurantsadult poolmamlouk palacelobby barthomas cookguest servicesnice holidayspecial thanksred flagkids clubitalian restaurantsenzo mall
Filter
Updating list...
1,774 - 1,779 of 3,964 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2009

This is NOT a five star Hotel. The Staff are out for all they can get from you but provide a very average service. Our suitcases were badly scratched because they throw them onto an open truck which races round the gardens throwing them about in the back. They then expect a tip - no way. There were cockroaches in the food bowls. We reported this to the Chef and he said 'oh that's only an Egyptian beatle'. We then told Reception but they did nothing. My Wife and I both had upset stomachs all week. The brochure does not mention the planes landing overhead all day and they start at 0430 in the morning nor did they mention the noisy disco from the Sunrise Hotel down the road which went on till 0300 in the morning. The shopkeepers in the Sunrise Mall over the road pester you as do the Hotel Shop keepers. Some Waiters completely ignores you if you are English. The Asian restuarant will not let you in unless you book in advance even though they are half empty. There's supposed to be a quiet area on the beach but there's music on all the time. There's a smell of diesel from the boats taking off from the beach. The fish are noticeable by their absence, unlike Sharm el Sheik. People are smoking in the Bars. There was a burning smell all night long from rubbish near the hills behind the Hotel. Apart from the sun and temperature, 26 degrees, we were very unimpressed. Thomas Cook made a note that we were celebrating our wedding anniversary but nothing happened.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin_Richard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2009

The sunrise garden Beach is exeptionally good value for money. We only had a week there there but the service was fantastic, the staff could not do enough for you.

The room was of a good standard and cleaned very well. The buffet was very well organised, they always ensured all options were available. There was a very good choice in the buffet, the Europens tend to alle at at around 7.15pm so either go earlier or after eight!!! Excellent choice of salad bar, hot dishes etc. Service of the waiters, cleaning your table, wine etc very good.

The grounds are very well kept. There is a noisy pool and a quieter pool with a snack bar, food good there also!! The waiters and bar man at the pool bat are great.

The loby bar is good, there is also a little English pub with a lovely waiter Michael. People have said the drinks were not good, I had cocktails, brandy, gin and vodka all seemed fine to me!!!

Just be aware it is windy in the winter, ensure you have a few warm cloths for early morning and late afternoons, the sun goes down at 4pm in Dec and it gets chilly!

We had avery good value for money holiday and would go back, it was an all round good holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank mrcooljanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2008

The hotel was spotless it was always kept clean and the staff were all very friendly cannot fault that the only problem was the majority of the people staying at the hotel were russian and were very rude. There were only a handful of english people staying in the resort i would say 99% were russian. Another problem was that the food was no where near 5* I would rate it as a 3*. Most of the food was either cold or you just wouldn't eat it. The snorklong at the end of the jetti was amazing that was probably the best thing about the hotel. I don't think i would recommend this to a friend because they don't really cater for english people so is not really the best place to go but again i must say the staff and everyone who worked in the hotel were very nice and polite.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Natasha18264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2008

The Sunrise Garden Beach Serving & Drinks Staff are brilliant, helpful and quick, but after that everything goes downhill.
The Sunrise Garden Beach food is always cold, they do not seem to have heard of “hot plates” so by the time you have got back to your table, the meals are cold. The only hot meal you can find is fried eggs at breakfast, and you have to rush back with that.
If you want hot tea, go and get it yourself, the served type is weak and again, cold.The choice of food in very poor (unless you are Russian), ungutted fish with its head still on and eyes looking at you is not the English way of doing things, nor is white rice (and white sausages) for breakfast, or frankfurters with everything.
I dreaded meal time after two days in. I can honestly say I weighed less coming out, than I did before I went in.
Every night was “a theme night” which just seemed to be a re-hash of the night before food, but NEVER an English theme. The fresh fruit was always damaged in some way (if you got in early enough to find any) and the amount of left, and virtually untouched, food and drinks on some tables was embarrassing, and of course it took up tables that could have been otherwise vacant.( None available tables being a regular complaint)
The Bar drinks were foul, everything had a bad tang to it, The first night I asked for a Bacardi and Coke, I got a dark Rum and 7 up, (as if you wouldn’t notice) it then turns out that they have NO imported drinks at all, even though the bumph says otherwise, as for the advertised Liquers, the staff admit there are none, I drank fruit juice from a carton for the rest of the stay. The so called “entertainment” at night was childish rubbish, and nothing was offered as a paying alternative, (the antics of drunken Gorbachov look-alikes was the highlight of the day) so back to the room every night, sober and hungry, unfortunately there was no “outside hotel” source of food at all.
The grounds are clean, as is the pool, but if you have small kids, beware.The place is littered with cracked and broken tiles, lumps of concrete missing, raw edges and holes, the “overflow grids” round the pools are just waiting to take off your toes because the broken ones are not replaced, and either raised or low manhole covers are every where,making night time walks a hazard.,and broken toes a possibility.
New paths were being laid near the beach area, and customers and children were made to run a gauntlet of broken concrete, slabs, cement (dust or wet) in order to get across it to the beach, to make matters worse, they actually started to cut slabs (with an electric grinder) and cover people with clouds of dust who were on nearby sunbeds, they just didn’t care. As for the paths, the next day showed that at least 20% of the slabs were already broken, less than 12hrs old.
If you then look closer, you see the whole place is a bodgers paradise, I counted six uncovered and dangerous electrical sockets round the outside of the Italian Restaurant alone,( there were dozens in total) all at low (child) level, just waiting for little finger to be pushed into them, the wiring along the “Jetty” is the same, bare wires, and metal railings, (good combination) by the way, there is NO Marine life as advertised, only broken bricks.
While on the subject of child danger, as you leave the Hotel Buffet (left) to exit to the ground level and upstairs area, I saw a toddler who had just started to walk, make his way, three times, to a group of bright lights that attracted him, by the exit doors. Luckily the mother managed to get to the child before he got to those lights, and thank god she did, because the “lights” were Red “power on” lights to five Boiling kettles/Coffee perculators, they were no more than two feet off the ground, on (ironically) a coffee table, and can you imagine the damage and injury this could result in if the child had reached them first? Health & Safety? Forget it; they still had not been removed when we left days later, and are probably still there now.
We reported blown bulbs in our room when we moved in,(even in Egypt its still dark at night) but it took three days to replace it, and 12 mins to blow again, We had to replace the door card three times in a week, because we were locked out,(another 15 min walk to reception, then back again) only to be offered a “pack of cards” choice, and being asked “to take your pick” (as to whether it worked or not) the safe locked us out after several days, the toilet seat was cracked, trapping flesh when you got up, the sink plug was snapped off, and the lights too dim to shave by, the water was NEVER hot, and the water pressure down to nil at peak times.
The male cleaner, (I use the word loosely) didn’t have a “Hoover”, none of the “cleaners” did, instead they used a damp cloth. You could grow plants under the bed, (which should have been a double, and room with sea view, and was neither) He seemed to visit when it was convenient to him, this normally being when you came in early evening to wash and change, and he would somehow “appear” hoping for tips maybe (even though we had already left him tips) and leaving the room door open for ages,then wizzing round, the room in three minutes flat.Why could it not be during the day when the room was empty? as in normal Hotels.
The toilet paper was rationed, (you had to ask) as was the towels, and flannels,(days without any) and this was when he DID bother to drop in.
Yes I know it’s a foreign country, and I know that they are perhaps not as clean and safety conscious as England, but they advertise and price a product, so you pay for that product, and then don’t get it, so in my opinion you are entitled to complain .The taxi, booked in the foyer, dident take you to where it should have, they just drop you off and wave goodbye,leaving you to find your own destination. When you try to phone to return back (pre paid for) you find that you have “somehow” been given the wrong phone number. Next trip, dropped off in a Marina (wrong one) only to find it closed and deserted, and a snorkel trip to island, that took two hours by bus to get to boat,(20 mins back) only to find the rep had disappeared (Blue Sky) and you have to find your own boat, diving time and place, restaurant, beach” space" and return time, which is not easy when you don’t speak the lingo, and you also find that the “all inclusive” trip will not even get you a drink of water without paying an exorbitant price for it. All these unnecessary problems originate from the Hotel Foyer, but trying to resolve them is useless, they are not interested, you just get that blank look which tells you that they have heard it all before.
I could write many more pages of reasons why this Hotel should be avoided,including the farcical way you attempt to book an alternative restaurant table,(have you ever been in a Dole Office ?) but I think by now you have the overall picture, and the sooner I forget the place the better,so if you don’t want to make the same expensive mistake as we did,find somewhere else.
P.S, I think the person who gives out the star ratings should return there for an update.

Stayed: November 2008
2  Thank kiomanEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2008

Booked through Travel Republic - Fanntastic and Helpful service.Dealt with the Excel issues for us as well.

My partner and I spent hours trying to decide whether to go to the Carribean or to Egypt. After consulting Tripadvisor reviews Egypt it was. We selected the hotel purely on tripadvisor reviews and the fact it had a beach. THANK YOU TO EVERYBODY who has written a positive review as it was just what we wanted.
Spotless, fantastic service, good food and peaceful.Some rooms although immaculate could do with a face-lift - a bit tired. (This in no way detracted from our experience)
The October review by Dave from Stockport is spot on and I would support all his comments so I wont repeat them other than to say YOU MUST go to Mahamya, pure paradise and brilliant snorkelling on the reef. Our trip to Luxor was brilliant run by Tarot Tours would highly recommend them.
We will be going back to the hotel in the future.

Huw & Sue Cornwall

Stayed: November 2008
5  Thank HuwSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews