We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WONDERFUL HOTEL BUT LET DOWN BY THOMAS COOK!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 221 Hotels in Hurghada
Somerset
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL HOTEL BUT LET DOWN BY THOMAS COOK!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2009

This is a beautiful Egyptian hotel, very well run by its excellent staff. There are three pools all kept beautifully clean and the hotel has its own beach. The evening entertainment leaves a little to be desired but they do try!

The food was plentiful and varied and the drinks offered were also very good. I didn't like the Egyptian gin as I found it too perfumed but you can request imported spirits and they seemed widely available.

The room was spacious and spotless. The cleaner was incredibly efficient, cleaning and washing the floor every day.

The only drawback to our 11 night break was a boat trip we booked through Thomas Cook. They were 40 minutes late collecting us in the morning and laughed when we complained. The boat was decrepid and filthy. The toilet was little more than a bucket - no toilet seat or paper and no flush - absolutely disgusting! Also there were no chilled drinks available during the day - just very warm water and carbonated drinks. The guide did not issue adequate instructions before we all entered the water and consequently several novice snorkelers got lost and ended up making their own way back to the boat, quite shook up. This trip cost us £25 each through Thomas Cook.

However I can recommend booking your boat trips through the Blue Wave company from the beach - speak to the Manager Sam who will negotiate a good deal for you. His boat was beautiful and the staff were excellent - a wonderful service.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickiKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,092
    443
    149
    72
    43
See reviews for
1,435
679
92
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2009

just got back from our hols,lovely staff who are all warm and friendly and look after you very well especially if you give them a tip at the beginning of you hols,your glass will be constantly filled up,rooms are ok bit tired but kept very clean.the beach is a bit of a treck and if you want a good bed close to the water then you hav to get up early,6.30ish.staff at the beach bar are lovely and food is ok,you can also get a nice pizza at the pool bar but breakfast is buy far the best meal of the day.
,We didnt see any fish at the beach which we wer dissapointed with as last year in maras alam they wer amazing and swimming around you in the shallow water.
We got fed up with the beach because of the rude russians and germans.
Ther is a nice pool called the quiet pool its only small and theres not many beds there so you have to get there quite early but its worth it as its adults only .
NOW THE BAD BIT.
i was really ill with stomach upset and ended up on a drip and had a cocktail of tablets to take after which cost 155 euros so not cheap and i didnt fell better for a good few days.
the germans and the itallians are vile people but the russians are even worse and will ruin this resort within time ,there rude iggnorant greedy people with no manners wot so ever and there children are the same and treat the lovely hard working staff like crap.NO NEED FOR IT!!!
All in all was a nice holiday apart from being ill and the Russians but we wouldnt go back again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mollymoo35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2009

My wife, teenage daughter and myself decided to return to Sunrise Garden Beach hotel as we fairly enjoyed ourselves here last August. We arrived at hotel at 8.10pm only to find we had been allocated 2 separate rooms instead of a family room. This was not rectified till 1.30pm the following day. A bad start I would say, the reception could not offer an explanation until I thrust my holiday invoice at them I was told the hotel was over-booked which was a ridiculous excuse. However the family room we got was on block 10 in a quiet area. Not much has changed here in a year, main buffet restaurant like a school dinner hall full of ignorant Russians and East Europeans. Tip; stand your ground with this people when they try to queue-jump and they soon get the message. We ate at the Italian restaurant most nights where we were treated very well. To book this you have to queue at guest relations in main foyer from at least 2.30pm the same day to assure a place that night or its the following day not good when you have to take a 10 min walk from the beach. The woman on guest relations reminded me of a bus conductress from the 70's whilst handing out the meal tickets. On a plus side the service from most of the waiters and bar staff was better than last year in particular all the lads at the beach bar - Ahmed H, Youssef K, Abou and Mohammed the friendly chef, the lad on the beach (recreation staff) was very helpful in finding us a decent spot after 10am. Beware of aqua centre and deep sea divers trying to sell you a trip every 2 hrs, a firm resounding no and they leave you alone then. We did the Cairo 1 day (flight) which was a good experience if somewhat expensive but better than a 6-7 hr coach ride each way on the same 2 day trip. If you're going here this year make sure you make use of the sister hotel next door as an ultra-inclusive guest all the amenities, food and drink are free. If anyone requires any more info feel free to contact me

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thom143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

Returned for the 3rd year running to this fantastic hotel with my wife and 16yr old daughter and another 2 weeks was had. We were given room 11212, a suite comprising a double and a twin room, each with their own bathroom and balconies with sea and garden views.
Hotel itself has been improved since last year......2 of the blocks completely refurbished (even tho hotel's only 8 years old), more emphasis on European Health & safety standards etc.
Temperatures hit 50 on a couple of days but it's a bearable heat, as long as you jump in one of the 3 lovely pools every 10 minutes or so. The smaller quiet round pool has this year been designated a child-free zone which made it even more relaxing than the previous 2 years. They've even now moved the daily mid-day scuba trial into the large pool too!!
Food was the usual excellent mix of everything, suiting the whole of Western and Eastern Europe, therefore keeping everyone from UK, France, Germany, Holland, Denmark, Belgium, Poland, Russia, Romania and Egypt itself happy.
Lobby Bar staff again excelled.....highest praise and thanks must go to Nadra (who was actually in tears as we were leaving) and Mohamed!
We didn't go on any of the Thomas Cook arranged trips this year, partly due to the 40% price increase on last year, and partly due to Lesley and I simply wanting a relaxing 2 weeks by the pool!
Taxi journey into Hurghada itself only £7 return, or £8 return into Sekalla and back. Best option is to flag down a Blue & Orange taxi on road but remember to agree the price before getting in. Hotel-run taxi service slightly more expensive (about £2 more per return trip) and not as much fun!!
Hotel's laundry service unbelievable.....4 full bags of washing put in over the 2 weeks at a total cost of £20!! Comes back the same day, like new!
Still probably NOT the best location for teenagers wanting nightlife, as there's not much available at all...but still a terrific destiniation.
Going to give it a miss next summer (but considering a week of winter sun in January 2010) but will definitely be returning for the 4th time in 2 or 3 years time.

If you want any more info, email me at davidecampbell20@blueyonder.co.uk

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidecampbell20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelsea
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

hotel grounds kept really nice, service from staff very good.food just about ok but 1 or 2 in every family we spoke to had tummy trouble but then it is egypt. Dont trust the taxi drivers if you ask them to drop you off at kfc in the town they drop you at a family run shop 15 minutes away then you have to find your own way there. the hotel rooms are really run down and in need of alot of work but they were clean. the pool was dirty and was only cleaned after people complained.The shops in the hotel are really over priced better to go to cleopatra shopping center 5 minutes down the road much cheaper and more choice.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelsealinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

We arrived safely after paying our £13GBP (15$) visa at the airport which was a simple and easy process. There were only 2 families on our coach so check in was easy and quick. Be prepared to tip the coach driver though when he puts your cases on the coach at the airport - a couple of dollars as they cannot change £1 coins in the bank.

The rooms are huge and spacious and a daily supply of shampoo, shower gel and moisturiser so if you are short of space in the suitcase you can leave these behind. The hairdryer has a small head so if you have long hair you may prefer to take your own but it was o.k for me as I have short hair!!

Water is replaced daily in the room and the cleaners keep your room and all the hotel gardens and areas clean.

If you want a bed round the pool you will need to be down for 7.45am as all beds are booked with towels!! There are plenty of beds on the beach though. You will be given a towel card to get a fresh towel every day per person for the pool/beach so you don't need to pack any. You also will not need any jumpers or cardigans as temperatures did not drop below 30 at any time.

The food was great with a lovely variety and each night had a different theme from european to Italian and Seafood so something for everyone and a children's food area too. Every morning a lady cooks fresh pancakes which are lovely and another chef cooks fresh omelettes to order. There are also plenty of fruits, breads, yogurts, cereals and cooked foods too. There is a great selection at lunch too along with fresh pizza cooked to order at the beach bar.

If you are shopping for souvenirs, go to the end of the hotel drive and turn right where you will see Cleopatra's about 5 minute walk. A great gift shopl with good prices and you do not have to haggle - everything is priced so you can look with ease. If you want a Shisha pipe make sure you buy it from here as the hotel Bazaar is a rip off for them - they were going to charge us £750EP and we paid £160 here. Your teenage girls may get chatted up though by the staff, but just have a laugh with them as they mean no harm!
Also a new shopping Mall called the Senzo Mall has just opened which will be great in a few weeks when all. the shops and boutiques including a McDonalds and KFC for those wanting familiar food have opened. It hosts a great supermarket called the Spinneys where you can get anything from a chicken to a washing machine along with great priced snacks and gifts - without hagglin as everything is priced. You will see it from the drive of the hotel and only takes 10 minutes easy walk.

We booked out trips with Egpt tours.co.uk before we left and had a great time in Cairo with out guide taking us for a traditional afternoon tea in the Souk with all the locals. We felt very safe with Abdul and he was great for the whole day. Instead of hanging around in the baking heat at the pyramids and museum like on big coach tours we could say we only wanted 10-15 minutes and then move on. We had our own 11 seater air conditioned minibus just for our family of 5. We also used them for our overnight trip to Luxor and for the jeep safari. All trips were personalised for us which was great and we paid just a little more for the Cairo trip for a private tour with the Luxor and Jeep safari being cheaper even though private. Give their website a look.

If you get a tummy bug write down the name of the tablets others have recommended as I went to the pharmacy across from the hotel and was charged £14GBP - you get a set of 3 different tablets, one for the bacteria, one for the pain and one for sickness/diarrohea so it is expensive especially as you only get enough for 1 person with a few left over!!

We had a fantastic time on Egypt. I was dubious and worried before I went after reading some reviews about the hotel, Egptians and haggling etc,but with tourist police being everywhere to protect you and the locals all been very friendly I had nothing to worry about.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rozsteverus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2009

Just arrived home after a wonderful holiday, was much better than excpected after reading some of the reviews on tripadviser!
Check in was quick and freindly. Our first night our air con was`nt working, but the next morning we was given a diffrent room which was very nice.
The food was good 4 diffrent restrants aswell as the buffet. The entertainment was fantastic, the animation team were great with the kids, and made the hoilday lots of fun. The guys that work around the pool were fantastic and couldnt do enough for you. Amar was great, my kids were really sad to have to leave we . arrived home yesterday and have already booked for next year! All ther staff in the hotel work very hard to make sure people have a great time. I have visted many countrys and stayed in lots of hotels and this Hotel really was one of my best!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonny01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.2 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
8.2 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
2.3 mi away
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
#20 of 221 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
6.3 mi away
Sensimar Premier Le Reve
Sensimar Premier Le Reve
#2 of 221 in Hurghada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,034 reviews
0.3 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 20 Km Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#32 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#38 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant 5 star (local category) "All Inclusive" Resort is perfectly located in an extensive garden landscape. The private sandy beach offers relaxing hours directly at the Red Sea. Here you will enjoy breathless sunset and fantastic views to the desert, mountains and the turquoise waters of the beaches. For those, who prefer water activities, the Resort offers aqua park with 8 slides for adults as well as kid's mini aqua park for small guests who didn't reach 120 cm in height. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort And Spa
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Hotel Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing