We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Def deserve more than 5 star.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palm Royale Soma Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palm Royale Soma Bay
Ranked #11 of 229 Hotels in Hurghada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Def deserve more than 5 star.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We booked this hotel after reading many excellent reviews on TA
Just got back from a weeks stay at the best all inclusive resort we have ever been to. The services were excellent whether it be in a restaurant or the lobby. The staffs were very friendly and helpful, especially the F.O manager Kannan who is the biggest asset to the hotel and who was there for us whenever we needed anything. Nishanthan, another asset to the hotel with a great smile welcoming everyone into the breakfast room.

Room services
Me and my husband had initially booked a sea-view room which had two double beds. I would say its not really a big enough for a couple. So, when we met Kannan the next morning we asked him that if we could have two beds together. He just accepted our request with a smile and a 'No problem madam.' it was quite shocking to see the beds put together as soon as we went back to our room- which was only about an hour or so after we requested. That same evening he introduced the room services manager and told us that any issues regarding room services he's the one to talk to. But that was the first and last time we saw him anyway since there was no complaints about their excellent and prompt services.

Food
There were about four different types of restaurant to go for dinner. Lebanese, Italian, Asian and Greek. The was always the main cafe option if we didn't like the food in any of these four. The options were amazing in all restaurants. Every dinner felt like a valentines with candlelights and music:-)

Other activities.
There were also many options to spend your day- from relaxing at the beach to all kind of water sports activities. My husband was just too busy with the activities that he didn't even have time to make use of the sun beds. But we managed to fit the horse riding an hour before we left. A week was definitely not enough for us. Il recommend two weeks for anybody who's planning.

All in all- the experience was great. I don't normally write reviews about hotels or services that I've been to but I just had to for this one since we are considering another trip. So am sure you would have guessed the number of stars am going to give for this one:-) Il definately give more stars if I could. This hotel is really an example of a 5-star service.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hari R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,836
    316
    89
    28
    14
See reviews for
762
978
80
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sleaford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

My family and I have just come back from 2 weeks at this Hotel which was truly amazing, was just as advertised from walking in the grand front entrance. The rooms are clean , the cleaners do a great job and problems if any, are quickly rectified, our thanks to the two Mohammeds for the spotless rooms and bed arrangements. The restaurants are all good I liked the Italian and lebanese best. The pool and barstaff around the pool are brilliant and cannot do enough for you our thanks to Markos and his staff and especially Abu for his brilliant cooking at breakfast and lunch, the food is plentiful and caters for most tastes. I would definately go again without hesitation

Room Tip: I would think that any room in this hotel would give you a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JO W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

The Palm Royale is a lovely hotel,with pristine facilities.The staff at this hotel cant do enough for you and are always smiling and helpfull as to Mohamed the Thomas Cook rep was excellent with his guests interests his number one priorety.All the restaurants in this hotel serve first class food and the a la carte restaurants trully exceptional for an all inclusive hotel.A big thanks to La La and the girls in the kids club for keeping our son entertained in cool soroundings through the mid day sun.a truly wonderfull holiday cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neil m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

My wife and I decide to spend this year's vacation in Hurghada. We chose the Palm Royale Soma Bay Hotel because we saw that there is no coral reef near the beach so it is possible to enjoy the beach and has an easy entry to the see (you don't need shoes for water). The second reason that conviced us by selection was the location and the size of the hotel.

From the beggining when we arrived to the hotel, our expectations were fulfilled. We were nicely wellcomed and we really liked the room. For those who want a quite room right on the beach, it is worth to pay extra for a beach front room. The service in the hotel is excellent in every aspects. Food is very good and a la carte restaurants are worth to visit.

We will definitely go again to this hotel again next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bine956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

If you are thinking of booking to stay at this hotel stop thinking about it and book it! you won't regret it. My husband and I stayed for 2 weeks 11-25 June as we were looking for a relaxing break in the sun after all the excitement of our daughter's wedding. The resort is a breath taking structure in a secluded location surrounded by desert. The only negative comment I could make is the long airport transfer we had with Thomas Cook, stopping at several hotels to drop off on the way. However, on arrival at the hotel the journey is quickly forgotten.You are greeted by smiling faces with cold flannels and drinks. As soon as we walked through the large revolving doors we knew we had made the right choice. The lobby is a cool & welcoming beautiful oasis. Check in was prompt and the bell boys quickly took our luggage and delivered it to our room. We stayed in a club room with sea and pool view on the 3rd floor and wow what a view we had. The furnishings and fittings were of a high standard and the room was spotlessly clean. Staying in a club room meant we could take our breakfast in the VIP lounge 'La Terrace'. This was a truly wonderful breakfast experience in luxurious surroundings and the staff were excellent and service was the best we have ever had in a breakfast restaurant. We visited all 4 a-la carte restaurants and the Asian and Greek were our favourites. We had several visits and the food was outstanding on every occasion.The food in the Italian was good, however the menu choice is quite limited on the All Inclusive and although the food in the Lebanese was good it did not really appeal to our personal taste. We also ate in the buffet a few times and the choice and quality always exceeded our expectations of buffet food. Alcoholic Drinks on the All Inclusive were fairly limited. The local spirits were fairly unpleasant but the beer and the rose wine were great and did fine for us for the two weeks. Unfortunately,we both got bad tummy's the first few days of the holiday as did quite a few other guests we spoke with. However we are confident that this was absolutely nothing to do with the food standards or cleanliness of the hotel. We were advised by staff to drink plenty of water so we increased our intake and soon realised that this is what our bodies had been craving and were soon feeling much better. You cannot visit such a hot country and expect to drink the same amount of water as you do in the uk, so take my advise and drink, drink & drink more water and you should be fine.Our days were spent mostly on the beach as this is our preference on holiday although the pool area is also lovely. The towel boys were always there every morning to show you to a bed and lay out your towels. We never had any problems getting a great spot. The sea is calm, warm and crystal clear, I never wanted to get out! The animation team work extremely hard on the beach all day. There's the usual aqua gym, volleyball, French boules, water polo plus latin and belly dancing lessons on offer. As my husband is not very mobile and walks with a stick we did not participate in anything.However, the team were always coming to us several times during the day to chat and make sure we were having a good time. Usually we have found in the past at other resorts that animation teams are not interested in speaking to you unless you take part in their games,so we were very impressed. Every evening they also put on a show at 9pm.The ones we saw were very amusing and entertaining, after all they are not professionals. However the hotel should note that their equipment is of a poor standard and a better stage and sound system would greatly improve the shows. Special mention and Thanks to the lovely Lilya and also Ozzie and Bep who were all excellent at the job they were doing.Also special mentions to the following staff members who gave us outstanding service through out the 2 weeks and who are a credit to the hotel: Nishran in 'La
Terrace' and the Italian, Liezel in 'La Terrace' and the Asian, Ewelina in the lunch bar near the pool, Pankaj in the buffet restaurant, the little slightly disabled waiter in the Greek & buffet restaurants,(so sorry we can't remember your name)Sherif the restaurants manaager and Mohamed our room cleaner, Thank you all so much. Finally we could not finish without also mentioning the wonderful Mr Khannon, front of house Manager.Every time we saw him in the lobby area during the holiday he would go out of his way to come and chat to us and ask if everything was ok with our stay and was there anything else he could do for us. As an ex travel agent we have travelled to many 5* hotels throughout the world and I can honestly say that we have never experienced such outstanding service and great staff anywhere else. So carry on Palm Royale exactly as you are, you are doing a great job and we shall definitely return and would have no hesitation in recommending you to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cazzy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Well I admit, I am a bit lazy... It's almost a year since we've been to Palm Royale, but memories are still there... It was real pleasure to stay there!!! Where to start? Rooms are HUGE!! We had the best view ever! There is a safe in the room ( very handy) and the mini bar. It is daily "recharged" :d with botteled water and soft drinks... Pepsi, juice,water are free of charge. There is a nice buffet restaurant Stella serving 3 meals per day, but you are allowed to reserve EACH night one of three a la cart restaurants(italian, asian, greek) all of them i recommend. They are free of charge if you are on ALL inclusive package! Beach is truly splendid, nice sunbeds, enough room for everyone! You can book one of numerous trips ( i recommend ATV desert ride:)) just go and find Omar Sharif, yup, I am not kidding guy working at the beach selling trips is Omar Sharif( like famous actor). Very nice guy, Omar if you are reading this greetings from Croatia. All in all Palm Royale is worth every single $/£/€ or whatever you have. Nice hotel for families with small children. Will I go back? Surely, one day. This year, if everything works fine with political situation will visit this great country once again, just different hotel. Palm Royale, not we could have it all, we had it:)

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LongWayHomeOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

My new wife&myself have just returned for a 2week honeymoon at the palm royale,we have been to Egypt 5 times previous(all different hotels) but this one is without doubt the finest.
The hotel itself is magnificently designed with marble everywhere within its interior along with ornate statues,detailed wall paintings,stained glass domed roofs&even a koi carp pool in its reception area.
We paid extra for a beach front/sea view room&it was excellent,view was great&room itself was large with two double beds(we emailed in advance&had them pushed together to make one).
Extras that came with the room were entrance to the exclusive breakfast lounge,la terrace,this was a wonderfully decorated room with a table service breakfast,you could either sit inside or on the balcony outside looking over the pool&hotel grounds.some items upon the la terrace breakfast buffet were not available in the main buffet restaurant which gave it a further extra exclusivity.
The a la carte restaurants were fantastic(Lebanese,Asian,Italian&greek)the food in all of these was amazing with a good all inclusive selection on each of their menus.the shwarma beef in the Lebanese was to die for,the fresh hand made pizzas in the Italian were lovely,the Greek kleftiko was gorgeous&the Asian dishes were great also.
Unlike other hotels you can visit these a la carte restaurants as many times as you wish during your stay.
As a result of going to the la terrace for breakfast&the a la carte in the evening I can't really comment on the main buffet but if it is anything like the food in the rest of the hotel it will be of high standard also.
All the staff are so helpful,happy&chirpy,they cannot do enough to aid/help you.
The front office manager mr.kannan is very courteous&helpful too,he arranged a bottle of sparkling wine&cake to be delivered to our room as a result of it being our honeymoon which we thought was a nice touch.he also offered us a free room upgrade but we declined as we liked our room with a view so much!
Gerges(George)the pool attendant is a true gent,very very helpful,full of fun&jokes&even showed us a magic trick each day!!
The whole hotel is spotless,including the pool&grounds.
It is a very spacious resort with loads of gardens&a beautiful private stretch of beach.
There isn't a great deal of entertainment in the evenings just the nightly animation show around 9pm but this suited us as we'd gone to chill out.
In short,if you are looking for a quiet,first class hotel with first class service&food the the palm royale ticks every box in my view.it is a little out of the way with nothing apart from the hotel for quite a distance,but as we wanted a relaxing,quiet time away this didn't bother us.
The hotel also gave us a late checkout right up until the coach arrived to take us home.
I cannot thank mr.kannan& all the staff enough or making mine&my wife's honeymoon so memorable.
If we return to Egypt for 7th time the palm royale would most certainly be our first option.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a beachfront/sea view room.comes with entrance to exclusive breakfast terrace also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stevehayles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
13.5 mi away
Sensimar Premier Le Reve
Sensimar Premier Le Reve
#2 of 229 in Hurghada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,948 reviews
10.9 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#1 of 29 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
19.8 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
13.9 mi away
Baron Palace Sahl Hasheesh
23.9 mi away
Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Royale Soma Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Royale Soma Bay

Property: Palm Royale Soma Bay
Address: Hurghada - Safaga Highway, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly SENTIDO Palm Royale Soma Bay)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#6 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#8 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Palm Royale Soma Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly located at the 1.2 km long private sand beach in Egypt is the Palm Royale. Here you can relax and enjoy the perfect holiday with your family and friends. The two bays offer a perfect atmosphere for privacy and enjoying the weather. The Palm Royale is just 45 km away from the airport of Hurghada and 50 km to the city center of Hurghada. Moreover, the city Safaga is just 12 km away from the Palm Royale. You have got the possibility to use the free WIFI from the hotel. Furthermore, the Palm Royale offers a kids club, Babysitting, a playground for children, a gym and four tennis courts. The meals are served in form of a buffet with fresh cuisine in the Palm Royale. Furthermore, several a la carte restaurants offer a huge variety of fresh meals. Many sport activities are offered during your holidays. You have the possibility to play beach volleyball, water ball, use the gym and many other water sports activities. Furthermore, the Palm Royale has got a spa area to relax and enjoy the senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Palm Royale Soma Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Royale Soma Bay Hotel Hurghada
Intercontinental Abu Soma Hotel
Intercontinental Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing