We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect stay at this hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dana Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dana Beach Resort
Ranked #26 of 228 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence
Suisse
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect stay at this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

This hotel is fantastic from all point of views:
1) snorkelling spot is great. You can either snorkel though the ponton, or by swimming for 100m and you will find corals, rock with plenty of colorful fish.
2) the are 6 restaurants with various themes (asian, German, oriental, barbecue) and this allows you to change every day, which does never get boring. The quality of food is great with show food, fruits. Only minus are deserts, all tasting the same.
3) Room as clean, and service staff is helpful
4) the disco in front of the hotel is the only one in the area and you get free entrance for Dana Beach guests and one free drink.
5) there are about 700 rooms and you never have the impression to get in crowdy places, not in restaurants nor on the beach. You do not need to rush on sunbeds every morning, as there are plety of them available all day long.
6) the BBQ bar on th beach is great with succulent meat at lunch.
7) Good entertainment shows in the evening, especiallythose with local artists.
8) Spa and fitness room: Spa is cheap and worth it, but only massages, not the jacuzzi. The fitness room is modern but a bit small like in many hotels.
9) swimming pools are very cold but you have 5 of them with large sunbeds.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuisseMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    314
    101
    36
    33
See reviews for
410
500
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

We booked the standard pool view room, but in hindsight wished we had booked the superior rooms as our room in block 6000, although convenient for the main pools and reception was really quite small, bathroom only had shower and felt quite basic,. Room attendant great and kept our room spotless, would have been nice to have better quality towels, rather than the thin tiny ones the hotel provided. Mini bar filled every day with waters, fantas and coke. (reception offered upgrade at Euro15 per day, which we declined)
We ate in all restarants, especially enjoyed L`orient and Italian , waiting staff friendly, service excellent refilling glasses continually! Nice touch in evening that drinks were served with bowls of peanuts. All bars in resort had huge help yourself fridges with bottles of water. Really missed the top shelf alcholic drinks, the gin and vodka were terrible, and no option to pay extra for imported brands, we stuck to the beer(bottled) and red wine!
Altought this is a huge resort it was really easy to get around , using the little boats to the beach end or walking along meandering paths through perfect gardens to the various restaurants and bars throughout the resort.
The beach was lovely, with a nice breeze, very welcoming when the temp got into the high 90s, didnt go in the sea as deffiantely many jellyfish...
The hotel does have a few shops , and just across the road from the hotel you will find a whole street of different shops and bars.
I think that we were about the only English couple in the hotel(early June), mainly Germans and Eastern European., but everyone very freindly.

Room Tip: upgrade to superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank WORLDWISEbromsgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

we stayed here after a week on the nile,it was nice to relaxe after a busy week,lots of sun beds at all pools & at the beach.very good food ,we loved the oriental & italian resterants lots of choice & show cooking . didnt like the jelly fish in the sea ,the waiters are brill ,just kept filling your glass up,& give you dishes of peanuts.the whole place is so clean ,gardens well maintained. it was great to go up & down in the boat. we didnt have kids with us but the kids water park looked great.

Room Tip: didnt hear any noise after we went to bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank seasunseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

Another Egyptian holiday with 'Youtravel.com' courtesy of TravelRepublic but we opted for Hurghada for a change from Sharm.

Transfer was no more than 10-15mins from the airport and we arrived around 5ish in the evenng. Checking in was very straight forward with the usual wrist bands and walking out the back of reception you found yourself in a wide oasis of gardens and pools with three storey appartment blocks tastefully flanking either side of the wide hotel grounds

Hotel is set on quite a large complex away from the sea with lovely gardens and walkways stretching down to the beach. A river meanders two thirds of the length of the gardens where you can grab a boat to taxi you up and down to the beach. The river rins round an island half way down where you'll find two large restaurants & bars connected by a number of bridges
HIGHLIGHT: Island housea the Asian restaurant (our favourite by a mile) and the live singers in the evening (til 11pm).

Most of the accommodation is set in three storey blocks with lovely inward views over the gardens and pools. Accommodation closer to the beach end becomes two storey and I suspect slightly larger to accommodate families. We were lucky to get two third storey rooms in the first block to the right of reception (1312 & 1310) so had lovely views over the whole complex. Location turned out to be an advantage for us as we were closer to our daily choice of the main pools / pool bars

Room was adequate size with a small balcony overlooking the complex. Room was clean& tidy and had a small fridge which was stocked with some soft drinks and water daily. Bathroom was quite small (no bath) but the shower temp was shockingly bad so you took your life into your own hands if you risked getting totally under the water.

Food - Good options for an all inclusive resort including large main buffet style restaurant (breakfast, lunch & evenings) and a number of other similar buffet styled themed restaurants (German / Asian & Mediterranean). There was no table booking in operation when we were there so we clammered to the Asian for 4 nights ... fabulous food!!

Never struggled to get sunbeds around the main pool. You may want to get to the more luxurious sun bedded pool slightly earlier if you want to flop on a tall leather matress / curtained sun bed.

LET DOWN - was the beach. Def the biggest let down as the whole area is crammed with wind shields and beds on a hard shingled beach. The sea didn't look inviting and I don't recall anyone actually swimming in it, yet everyday it seemed packed out with Russians & Germans ... no idea why (beaches/sea at Sharm have been so much nicer)

HIGHLIGHT was Quad Biking into the Desert and visiting a Bedouin Village. Never thought it would appeal to me, but the experience was fantastic and our guide Mido made it a truly memorable day with some fabulous photos of sunsets & dune running.

Very relaxing holiday on par with Sharm but for different reasons

NOTE: Cool wind during May and although it was 38 days most days you didn't feel it until you burnt. Apparently the wind stops at some point in Mid May and temps hit upwards as high as 50. The girls often wanted light cardies in the evening.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Eevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

Just got back from the Dana Beech after a week cruising the Nile. The hotel is huge, too big for my liking. Food is somewhat monotonous after a few nights – mass catering at its best. Yes the “chefs” do cook some fresh food for you while you wait, but again is very samey. Can’t fault the cleanliness of the place, it is kept spotless and the grounds are lovely. Staff are courteous, but automatically assume you are German, as 90% of the guests are! I thought this would not bother me but after a few days it does get to you, it is nice when you hear another English voice. I do feel staff/management do forget they do have other nationalities staying. I was pleased we were only there for a week. We did go to the Marina in Hurgarda a few times this is very nice and a welcome change of scenery. We ate at a restaurant called the lodge one night and their steaks’ are fabulous. A taxi from the hotel should not cost you more than 60 Egyptian pounds – stay well clear of the orange taxies you see all over the place they try to rip you off as we found out one night we had an almighty row with the driver after agreeing to a price got back to the hotel he tried to short change us. My advice order a taxi with the bell boy at the hotel and if you do not decide on a return journey then get a Marina Taxi for your return, they are fine.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billy1830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

We are just back from a wonderful week in Dana Beach. The Hotel is very large, and all the rooms surround a fresh water lake, with restaurants and a bar in the middle. At the top of the lake is reception and at the bottom is the beach. There is a lovely little boat which will take you up and down the lake if you can't be bothered to walk.

The food was excellent, and there was plenty of opportunity to eat fresh, as chefs cooked while you wait, fish, chicken, omelettes etc. The salads were legendary! The breakfast wasn't great, but as the hotel is 90% German, they are catering for German breakfast tastes, with nasty sausages, cheese, and processed meats. There are plenty (5) restaurants to choose from, and the service in all of them was excellent.

Drinks were plentiful, plenty of bars, and the waiters worked hard to keep you topped up, without scrimping :-) The rooms contain a fridge, which was topped up daily with water, and soft drinks (if you drank it)

The entertainment, in all honesty, we didn't get to any of the evening animation events as we were too busy people watching in the bar disco (which had excellent live singers everynight), but they did have acrobats, and snakes at the other bar. The day time animation was aimed more at Germans, but included darts, water aerobics, and volleyball on the beach.

The shops were decent enough, you could buy anything from anti biotics to flip flops, and you only really get hassled the first time you take your white self past them! The Egyptian custom appears to be to lure you in, and then 'sell' the product in its entirety before giving a price, pushed though, they will tell you without you having to sit down, listen to an hour of how good it is, and drink their tea (thus making you feel so guilty for taking up their time and tea, that you buy something cheap to escape - much like a Tupperware party).

The beach, easily accessed by foot, or by a little boat, is clean, nice white sand, and when we went - had plenty of sun loungers, but then we were a little out of season. The sea itself is pretty dire, full of jelly fish (not harmful ones that sting and kill you before you die, but a bit off putting for wimps like me). The water is also quite murky, and there is no point taking a snorkel down there, unless you like looking at the jelly fish. Food is served on the beach, and there is a beach bar there.

The hotel has no shortage of vendors selling trips, henna tattoos, spa things, massages, and beautician appointments for manicures etc. They are polite though, and a simple 'oh, we've already done / seen / tried that' is the best ploy to get shot of them.

The surroundings of the hotel are very nice. There is a pool at the back which is heated, and has four poster sun loungers with drapes. Another pool in the middle isn't heated, and has loungers, a bar, and four poster loungers. There is a children's pool with slides, and two parks with swings. In the middle of the lake there is another heated pool with a bar and loungers. The hotel is kept quite clean, but some work could be done on the paving - it is creteprint, but is coming up in places, and looks a bit tatty.

The lobby area is very lush, very ornate, and very unused as there is no bar in there. Mainly it is used by the reps in the morning to sell their trips to the newly arrived holiday maker. There is a cash point, and the lobby staff will also change money for you.

After hours there is a disco, but the drinks are very expensive after the all inclusive ends, you can expect to pay British prices. The music is pretty limited too. However, good fun if you aren't ready for bed yet, and want to party a little more!

The room we had wasn't the bed in the hotel, it was a little cramped, if I was doing hair and make up in the mirror, my partner couldn't get past without me moving, not a big issue though huh?! The bed was comfy, storage space adequate, bathroom was nice, and the shower was lovely.

In the local area there isn't really much. There are a few shops across the road, and then a bit of a mall about half a mile down the road, but they aren't selling anything different to the few shops on the complex.

Hurghada Marina is (apparently) about £3 in a taxi, and takes about 20 mins. I thought it looked quite scruffy though and was glad to see it from the coach, rather than on foot.

All in all, this hotel is very good value, the people are absolutely wonderful, its clean, tidy, and deserves recommendation!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anney-marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

We spent two weeks at this beautiful resort. We hadn't been to Egypt before, so can't compare to any other hotels there, but this resort we can definitely recommend. We were allocated a family room which had twin beds in the living area and a separate double bedroom. A massive American size fridge which was our "mini bar" stocked with 500ml bottles of water (one each per person) and small bottles of coke/sprite/fanta (one each per person). Our room was centrally located which was perfect for us, overlooking the lagoon/Castello restaurant. Every day we returned to our room it was immaculate, the cleaners did a fantastic job!

The location of the resort is only 15/20 mins from the airport so no long transfers which is great. The resort is in the flight path, but this wasn't a problem.

There is a great choice of restaurants, all of which have a great choice of food, there is something for everyone. Our favourite was the Italian, where you can get pizza's made to order, which we loved. The service here was the best in our opinion. We didn't tip as a rule but tipped those staff we felt had provided us with the best service at the end of our holiday. It's nice that the all the staff provide an excellent service without expecting tips.

We had breakfast in the Castello restaurant every morning, with so much choice, breakfast was a pleasure every day. Omlettes/eggs cooked to order, ham, cheeses, croissants, breads, fruits, yoghurts, vast amount of pastries.

We enjoyed taking lunch on the beach (taking a pedalo or the boat down the lagoon and back if you like) and if you miss lunch, there is always the pancake house located by the Castello restaurant which serves until 5pm. These were both favourites of ours.

There is a wide choice of bars, a popular one is the Rendez-vous bar (or sports bar as we called it as it has a big screen for football), everyone enjoyed the table tennis here!The beer was fantastic. The wine (both red and white) were drinkable, but fairly strong, so don't drink to much of these! The spirits were good too, again strong. We stuck with beer most of the time, and of course soft drinks on tap for the kids which they loved. You can get bottles of water everywhere.

We did the jeep safari which is a must, great value if you do the Badwaya trip, which includes Quad ride, buggy drive (4 person), camel ride, horse ride, donkey ride, jeep safari to visit Bedouin village, dinner and entertainment.

If you're feeling brave enough to see the real Egypt, a visit to Luxor is a must, it's a 3.5 hour taxi ride. I arranged a trip independently which included an overnight stay in a B&B (also on Trip Advisor - Mara House) which I will be reviewing also. The owner arranged everything for us including a tour of the Valley of the Kings, and I can definitely recommend doing it this way as you see more sights than you would on a coach tour and you have a private guide.

If I could say one negative thing it would be the Spa staff continually trying to sell you a massage etc., they even venture down as far as the beach, but if you're polite and say no thanks they usually accept this and don't persist.

We didn't use a credit card for trips as they prefer you to pay for them in cash, so either take enough Egyptian pounds or Sterling or Euros. You can easily get more out though as there is a cashpoint in the lobby.

I would recommend this resort to anyone wishing to visit this part of Egypt as it is ideally located for visiting Luxor.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank shazza4024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
1.6 mi away
Albatros Palace Resort
Albatros Palace Resort
#40 of 228 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alf Leila Wa Leila
Alf Leila Wa Leila
#38 of 228 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
0.4 mi away
SENTIDO Mamlouk Palace Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Desert Rose Resort
Desert Rose Resort
#24 of 228 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Select Garden Beach Resort & Spa
4.6 mi away
Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dana Beach Resort

Property: Dana Beach Resort
Address: Sahl Hashish Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#18 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#22 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#24 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#25 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Dana Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 841
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Dana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Beach Hotel Hurghada
Dana Beach Hurghada
Dana Beach Resort Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing