We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheep, clean and hassle-free”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Hotel Aqua Fun
Ranked #205 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
UK
1 review
“Cheep, clean and hassle-free”
Reviewed 26 June 2009

We went for two weeks and since we were mainly diving it was only used as a place to sleep. So, for us, it served its purpose as it was clean, comfortable bed and air-conditioning. So I have no complaints.

Here is some information which may be of use:
When you turn up, do not be put off by the front of the hotel. It is, as another writer noted, a lot better on the other side.
There was a swimming pool and entertainment on through the day on the little private beach and something on the night. It was a bit loud but it was always finished by midnight and you got used to it.
Food and drinks could be purchased from either the bar or the hotel restaurant (we did neither).
There was a Red Sea tour operator on the private jetty. He did snorkelling and visits to the island opposite the beach.
There was a fridge and a TV in the room. The TV had BBC world news and a few of the Arabian channels had the odd English language speaking program on.
As stated by previous posters- only 12 safe deposit boxes but hardly any of them were being used.
Shop selling various snacks and drinks on site plus a few other shops which sold perfume and leather bags. Please note that you could not bring drinks and food stuffs from outside the hotel (the shop was not that more expensive).
There was always security on the door no matter what time you ventured in.
Opposite was several fast food places (burger bar, pizza hut, Costa and an ice-cream parlour)
You were about 15 minutes walk from the new marina, which was full of restaurants, a nightclub and a few bars to catch the football and pick up a cold beer.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Likes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    41
    32
    24
    42
See reviews for
26
45
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2009

Just arrived back from the Aquafun.
Room was upgraded by the bellboy (for a tip). It was comfortableand clean. The shower leaked from the tiling around the base. Bed linen and towels were changed everyday and there was alovely display made out of towels on the bed with fresh flowers.
Food was lovely to begin with but there was very little variation from day to day.
We stayed all inclusive but definately felt like second class citizens. Those on B&B had nice glasses to drink out of and had waiter service - we had little plastic cups and had to fetch our own.
Its right on the beach which had a lovely breeze and you could get in and out of the sea easily. Nice view to look at from there, but what a difference out the other end of the hotel. Really busy street, dirty, not a place for a wander after dinner!
Considering we were on all inclusive we were badgered by the hotel animation team to pay extra for entertainment - barbeques, coctail parties etc saying there would be free food and drinks!!! (We had alredy paid for these)
I wouldn't go again, but I think it may suit younger couples who wanted the nightlife in a busy city.
We used the massage facility which i could recommend.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lezpaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2009

First of all i paid £107 b/b for a room in feb school hols and thorougly enjoyed it.
I feel a lot of the gripes i've seen are over the top. We had a good sized room with a tv ( bbc world news and english film channel ). Lovely pool leading to the beach and sandy entrance to the sea to snorkel or swim.
Glad i didn't stay all/inc as it was so cheap to eat and drink out ( 2 mains,3 pints,1 water and 1 mint tea for a tenner at Spicy on the main street ).
The breakfast was geared to eastern and russian tastes but was edible if unusual. It consisted of salad stuff, cheese,potatoes,eggs, very nice bread, nice danish pastries, pancakes, ham.The freshly made orange juice was 15Le but the other drinks were free.If you are adaptable and don't need pukka pies for brekkie it was enough to set you up for a lazy day in the almost guaranteed sun.
Some of the white towels or sheets can appear a little grey but they are clean, and if unhappy with them then just ring the housekeeper from your room as we did and he will be there like a flash to try to put things right. This hotel is on the main street and very handy for banks (hsbc over road ) and restaurants,bars and shops. People will ask you if you would like to see their shop or wares but just walk by with a polite no thankyou and a smile and understand this is a poor country.If you don't like to barter there is a fixed price market over the road (2 cornettos 60p ). The new marina walking area with bars and shops is very nice although some of the backstreets are very much like a building site. Paid 60Le from the airport to the hotel so don't let them scam you.You get free sunbed towels each day which could save you weight in your case even if they are a little short. Hoping to go again in december.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhinohide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2009

I don't usually take advice of reviews unless they are all bad! Obviously some people have different expectations, and when you are after a cheaper place to stay there sometimes has to be some compromises.

However I have to agree with the majority of people that have written bad reviews for this hotel. The staff are rude, unhelpful and money grabbing. Even trying to charge 1GBP for a cup of hot water!!! not even London hotels would do that!

The site I booked through clearly stated that it had a fitness centre, and this helped me decide on this hotel...it does NOT however have any fitness facilities apart from a pool. When bringing this issue to the Managers attention at the hotel he was rude and walked off!

The food is very basic...buffet style but the same every night! I have spent a month travelling iun Egypt staying on a nile cruise as well as other 3-5* hotels and this is definately the worse regarding food, as well as staff!

  • Liked — not a lot!
  • Disliked — Staff, Bathroom leaked and smelt, and not as described
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jumabe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hurghada hotels

Globe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2009

We read many reviews of this hotel after we had booked a room from there and I can kinda understand why people have so much different kinds of opinions here...

First of all, Aquafun is rated as 4 star / 3 star hotel on different pages. Those stars are local, not international stars I think. I believe that most of the people who have not been satisfied with this hotel haven't realized that these star-gradings aren't comparable to international stars grading system though it is mentioned on the pages that are used to book rooms.

On the international scale I think this would be 2½ or 3 stars.

Ok, time for my review! ;)

From the first time we checked in to the day we left back home, hotel personnel were very friendly and nice to us. The room that we got was clean but it looked like it had seen its best days... bedside tables which were mounted to the wall had bent a little bit towards the ground etc. Bed was a bit squeky and stuff like that. Those things might be too much for the people who thought that this is international 4 or 3 stars! ;)

Cleanliness of this hotel was grade A! They changed the towels when needed, air conditioning/heating was fully controllable from the room and it worked like it should. Television was a normal 14" with remote control, only english channel was BBC but that was enough for us.

There were no insect/bug problems if someone is concerned about that.

The breakfast was served from 7 to 10 and it was ok, there was toast, jam, omelets, croissants, doughnuts and different kinds of pastry. The normal stuff but nothing special. Two sorts of juice, hot chocolate and of course coffee (instant) and tea. I would describe the breakfast as fair, but nothing special. Breakfast menu is same every morning.

We did not eat lunch in the hotel restaurant, but we ate breakfast every morning. Beach bar was ok and they also served lunch there.

The pool of the hotel is not heated. In the summer the water might be warm enough for swimming but in the winter seawater is warmer (around 24C) The beach was not natural, but it was good enough for its purpose (suntanning and swimming). It is possible to snorkel and dive on the hotels beach but the coral reef on the left is in bad shape so don't expect much if you snorkel there.

However, I recommend snorkeling on trip to Giftun Island or some other place where you can get to living reef, it looks amazing!

It is possible to rent snorkels, diving masks and fins from the beach. They also rent windsurfing boards etc. Jet Skis are forbidden in Egypt so don't expect to rent that.

NOTE!!!!! AQUAFUN IS A CLUB HOTEL, which means that there will not be silence in the evening (though they turn down the volume at 00:00 so it isn't so bad after that...) so I suggest people who have sleeping problems to ASK FOR A ROOM which is located far from the club and the tent which is located next to main building, they arranged parties inside the tent in the evening and it can get really loud. We stayed up pretty late anyway so that did not cause problems to us.

Most of the guests were from Russia. Maybe it had something to do with the fact that they celebrated christmas that week.


Me and my girlfriend liked the place and the people. It was not a hilton hotel, far from that, but still it was very clean and everything that was in the room worked as it should. Personnel were friendly and polite. Star rating might fool someone but come on, who really expects glamorous things with low price...? ;)

Have fun in Egypt, it is a country worth a visit!

There's no pricetags in the stores in Egypt, so I'll make a short list here which gives you the idea how much you should pay for basic stuff:

1L Bottled water 2-4 EGP

Taxi (Sakkala to El Dahar) max. 25 EGP
Taxi from the airport to Sakkala is about 45EGP because the driver has to pay 20EGP fee to get to the airport.

Papyrus A4 sized, darker (stronger), about 30 EGP maybe

T-Shirts 20-50 EGP (watch very carefully about the quality of the fabric it alters, branded shirts are more expensive than the ones without brand although quality is the same )

Perfume 1 EGP/ml and don't let them fool you with the size of the bottle, one might say it's 75ml and it really is 50ml ;)

Remember that tipping is common in Egypt...

OK that's all I have to say :) I hope this info is useful to someone!
Enjoy your time and remember to disinfect your hands every time before eating because it is very easy to get stomach problems in Egypt, we did so and didn't have any problems!

-Ilkka

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Ippe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francestown, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2008

Just returned back from Hurghada to Scotland, I felt i have to write a review just to say what a lovely hotel and friendly staff, The hotel was very clean, Never take notice of other comments,
we actually upgraded to this hotel from La Perla hotel which was a good result when we checked in to aqua fun, we got upgraded to another room at no extra cost which was located beside the beach very clean and good housekeeping, Animation team well done for keeping us entertained most nights, reception staff excellent service, the beach staff very efficent the beach area was maintained at all times. the only downfall to us as a young couple was the food aspect, but thats maybe personnal preference and fussy diners. All in all Thank you for a fantastic time and we will be returning in the near future.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank waterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2008

On arriving at the hotel, they had 12 safety deposit boxes for the hotel, so after half a dozen attempts we never managed to get one all week, consequently presents vanished out of our room.
On arriving at out room, 1 bed had collapsed, the floor was dirty, the bedding had not been changed, it had lond dark hairs in the beds, (we both have short hair) and the bathroom was full of dark hairs. we complained nothing was done, the general hotel was dirty and very substandard.
The hotel has only catered for Russians,

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — how dirty the hotel was
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Decca18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.4 mi away
Sun & Sea Hotel
Sun & Sea Hotel
#162 of 222 in Hurghada
52 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Garden Hotel
Sea Garden Hotel
#176 of 222 in Hurghada
137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Rose Hotel
Golden Rose Hotel
#149 of 222 in Hurghada
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Swiss Wellness Spa & Resort
Swiss Wellness Spa & Resort
#178 of 222 in Hurghada
54 reviews
3.5 mi away
Geisum Village
Geisum Village
#189 of 222 in Hurghada
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista
Bella Vista
#114 of 222 in Hurghada
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Hotel Aqua Fun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Hotel Aqua Fun

Property: Club Hotel Aqua Fun
Address: Sheraton St | Sakhala, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#89 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#133 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Hotel Aqua Fun 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• Aqua fun hotel has a perfect location, in the heart of Hurghada's downtown, , just 7 km from Hurghada Int'l Airport. The Hotel is surrounded by the famous shopping area, Bazars & Coffee Shops. The Hotel is distinguished with private soft sandy where guest can enjoy snorkeling in the crystal blue water of Aqua Fun beach.Sports/leisure:-• Hotel private sandy beach.• Diving center ( Scuba & Padi).• Jetty For Yachting, Snorkeling & Diving.• Aqua center.• Windsurf center.• Snorkeling & Diving availability directly from the beach.• Beach volley ball and billiard.• Fresh water swimming pool• SPA with Gym, sauna, Jacuzzi, steam bath, massage, facial treatment, and Beauty Salon.Dining:- Restaurants:• Main Restaurant: serving international buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner• Oriental Restaurant: Serving oriental open buffet lunch, snacks, beverages & shisha. • Love Boat Restaurant: A La Carte Restaurant offers variety of international dishes, open for lunch and dinner.Bars:• Lobby Bar.• Beach Bar.• Oriental Bar.• Room service (24 hours).Entertainment:-• Daily Animation Program on Beach.• Daily Theme Nights.Guest services:-• Guest Information Desk.• Airport Transfer (with charge).• Laundry Service.• Daily Animation Program.• WIFI Internet in all rooms (with charge).• Shopping Arcade.• 24 hr. Clinic.• Babysitter (on request) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Club Hotel Aqua Fun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Aquafun Hurghada
Clubhotel Aquafun Hotel Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing