We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay :)”
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Desert Rose Resort
Ranked #27 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Spent a week at this hotel (11th-18th July).
Check in was straight forward.
Room was great, block 2000 was definitely the best as it was in the centre of the massive resort and had great views of the pools! Bathroom was rather dirty ad shabby looking but that wasn't a problem.

Some of the bar staff were rather pervy as they just starred at you all day long(they love British people! All they'd would say is 'lovely jubbly'

The lifeguard in the middle pool wasn't great as on many occasions I witnessed a young child nearly falling into the pool and the lifeguard didn't notice and he was too busy talking to a woman and rubbing her suncream in for her!

Pools were big, only annoying thing was that's t-shirts couldn't be worn in the pool- this was a problem as some of my sunburn was blistered so needed covering up! Other guests however were allowed to wear their tops in the water! One rule should apply to all!

Food was okay, dinner was definitely the worst as there wasn't much variety.Mexican al-a carte is a must- very tasty and fast service(staff could smile more though!)

Evening entertainment was okay, some of it was laughable though! Animation team mostly spoke Russian and most of the entertainment was in Russian! Shout out to khaled(think that's his name) he was very funny- enjoyed winding him up about his dancing and singing haha!

Sales people around the pool and beach were rather annoying! But they eventually left you alone when they realised your weren't interested!

Shops in hotel were expensive, the shops are much cheaper outside the hotel!

Hotel is mainly occupied by Russians who are very rude and need to learn some manners but that didn't ruin the holiday!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fran89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertRoseResor, Guest Relations Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing The Desert Rose Resort 5* for your vacation and feedback. It`s a pleasure that you have taken the time to describe your impressions.
We are glad you enjoyed your holiday very much and stayed satisfied with the staff hospitality and all services.
We want to assure you that our whole hotel team is extremely committed to deliver the perfect vacation experience for each guest. Your high marks are highly appreciated.

We have taken the information about the lifeguard and recreation service like a very important note to be discussed by the Hotel Management team as it should be improved to meet our guests expectations.

Hope to see you and your family again at your "second home" The Desert Rose Resort 5*!
We have a special Rose Rewards Loyalty program for the Repeater guests. Next time you visit The Desert Rose Resort 5*, please, contact the Guest Relation team, fill the application form and receive your VIP card (with a bonus system).

Best regards,
The Hotel Administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,908 - 1,914 of 4,271 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in 6 rooms me and my family and overall we had a nice vacation
Good points:
Perfect and amazing beach, very good aqua, good pools, well organized main restaurant, good food, intelligent space using, and good animation team.
Bad points:
My brother's room had a not working air conditioning in his room and the respond of the maintenance team was so bad and he had to stay in this room for 2 days and finally they changed his room with another one, no variety in food, the room furniture old fashion and not so good, only one water bottle for all the day in rooms (not enough at all) .
 
Finally although the resort was almost full but we didn’t fill that and had a beautiful vacation.     

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Ramy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertRoseResor, Guest Relations Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Mr. Ramy!
Thank you for choosing The Desert Rose Resort 5* for your vacation and review.
We are glad you have enjoyed it much and all the members your big group stayed satisfied with the services and facilities. The remarks concerning the equipment in the rooms and the food variety will be a point of discussion for the Hotel team.
The Hotel Management is putting maximum efforts to provide a high quality vacations for our guests and we do hope to see you again back to your "second home" The Desert Rose Resort 5*!
Yours faithfully,
The Hotel Administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Had nothing explained to us upon arrival.
Room was good - clean, spacious, decent amount of storage.
Food - buffet food was not great. Visited the Mexican and grill a la carte restaurants. Great food but they serve each course within minutes of each other - no time to breathe!
Pools were ok.
Russians ruined the place - so rude.
Pay a little more and go somewhere better

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank AimeeJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertRoseResor, Guest Relations Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guests!
Thank you for choosing The Desert Rose Resort 5* for your vacation and review.
It`s a pleasure to know that you stayed satisfied with some aspects of vacation. Your high marks about the pools, room fittings, HK service, A`la Carte restaurants are highly appreciated. Your advices concerning providing the information upon arrival, improving the way of serving the dishes at the A`la Carte restaurants will be a points to discuss for the Hotel Management.
We are working in hospitality industry and our goal is to provide the high quality vacations for our guests and let everyone feel comfortale and enjoy the holiday!

Hope to see you again back to The Desert Rose Resort 5*!

Best regards,
The Hotel Administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We got a very good deal on this hotel and after reading some reviews we were a bit worried. We needn't have been worried though as everything was perfect.
The resort is lovely and well kept and there is plenty to do. The pools are all clean and there are plenty of sunbeds. The beach/lagoon area is also very nice. Most of our time was spent in the pool that had the poolside bar so we didn't often go near the beach.
There are plenty of opportunities to book trips too which is brilliant. The snorkelling was the highlight of the holiday, make sure you do it!
The a la carte restaurants are really good, especially the Italian! There are quite a few bars too so you don't feel like you're doing the same thing every night, and visiting the shisha bar is a must!
After all of the bad reviews we read about the food before travelling, we found that we were pleasantly surprised! The main restaurant is buffet food which isn't always the best quality, but what do you expect? The food is varied in the main restaurant, they do different theme nights and there is plenty to choose from. One night they did an Egyptian theme and everything I tried was brilliant! If you're looking for somewhere to eat chips every night then this is not for you, but if you're willing to try different foods it is really good.
Our room was lovely, plenty of room and it was clean. The only bad thing about it was the bathroom was not finished very well, there seemed to be grout everywhere! Apart from that though the bathroom was spacious and the shower was huge!
The staff were brilliant, so friendly and they seemed to like English people as they have a lot of Russian people who appear to be extremely rude. I can honestly say we did not come across one polite Russian person, they pushed in every queue, would knock into you and not say sorry, or even acknowledge it and were just plain rude. The way they spoke to staff was awful too, no please, no thank you and they would often just bark an order to the bar staff, even if they were in the middle of serving someone else!
One thing I saw a lot of was people bringing many plates of food to their table at the buffet, only to leave most of it there, what a waste!

There are only a few bad points I have to make, one is that our air con was extremely loud (we were in room 6303). We only realised this when we used another room to shower before returning home on a night flight and realising the air con was almost silent in that room!
Also the reception staff do not speak very good English and weren't the friendliest, especially considering how friendly other staff members around the resort were.
Another thing which wasn't very good was the standard of English spoken by the doctor. I was extremely worried when going to visit the doctor, only to find he didn't have a clue what I was saying!

All in all though it was great value for money, I would definitely go back and would recommend anyone to go there! Just be careful with the food as we both had an upset stomach during the holiday.

Room Tip: We stayed in the '6000' block where our balcony faced the pool, you could also see the lagoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Miranda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertRoseResor, Guest Relations Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Mrs. Miranda,

Thank you for choosing The Desert Rose Resort 5* for your vacation and feedback. It`s a pleasure that you have taken the time to describe your impressions.
We are glad you enjoyed your holiday very much and stayed satisfied with the staff hospitality and all services.
We want to assure you that our whole hotel team is extremely committed to deliver the perfect vacation experience for each guest. Your excellent marks are highly appreciated.

Hope to see you and your family again at your "second home" The Desert Rose Resort 5*!
We have a special Rose Rewards Loyalty program for the Repeater guests. Next time you visit The Desert Rose Resort 5*, please, contact the Guest Relation team, fill the application form and receive your VIP card (with a bonus system).

Best regards,
The Hotel Administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

First impressions as you walk in is that it is a good hotel, however you go to peak to the reception staff who speak little to no English. We were sent to our room with no information about how anything worked or what was available on the resort. We were delivered to our room in a buggy as it is a big resort. Got to our room which was just ok nothing more. Although the bathroom was pretty disgusting and I didnt take my shoes off once when I was in there. The resort itself is lovely 3 big pools and a good bay beach. The food in the resort is truly awful and we found it nessecary to eat off the resort on a lot of occasions. The entertainment in the evenings wasn't too bad apart from when they put the same show on twice but just gave it a diiferent name. The hotel really needs to employ better singers as the ones we heard were really terrible. The nearest bar to reception had a nice touch though with different instruments being played each night which was very good. For the money we aid we were happy but it could have been a lot better.so aybe its worth paying that little bit more. That said all the bar staff were truly wonderful and treated us very well especially as they new we were English.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gohans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertRoseResor, Guest Relations Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your feedback and that you have taken the time to describe your impressions.
We want to assure you that our whole hotel team is extremely committed to deliver the perfect vacation experience for each guest.
The Hotel Management pay great attention on all our guests and we keep your comments, requests and complaints in the high priority. All the hotel team is working to ensure the most comfortable stay for all the guests and to prevent any negative impressions about the hotel and its services. From our side we would like to mention that all the hotel team is cooperating together and each employee regardless of his position is treated with respect.

We are glad that you are satisfied with the staff hospitality and want to assure you that all all the hotel guests of different nationalities are the most welcome!
Our hotel is International and all the guests - Egyptian, Russian, German, British, Czech, Polish, Danish, Chinese, French, Slovak (and many others) are being treated with the same hospitality and attention.
It`s a pleasure to know that you liked our recreational facilities. Concerning the food, please be assured, that the food supervisory office controls us regularly and unannounced – and we always get to grades and put the highest standards.
In addition to the different thematic meals at the Palm (main) restaurant and special breakfast on the sea side, there are 4 A`la Carte restaurants: Fish, Italian, Lebanese and Mexican are available for the lunch and dinner free of charge and without the limitation in reservation. You could make the reservation with our Guest Relation team and enjoy your meals daily with the International cuisines we present.
Thank you that you shared your impressions about the animation entertainments and the singers. It will be a matter of discussion for the Hotel Management team for the improvement. We like that you enjoyed the live music shows! As you have mentioned we have a wonderful choice for the guests how to enjoy their evening at our bars and open theatre. In addition to the evening show, singers, live music we also have the karaoke party and the guests are enjoying it very much!
We are grateful to know that you liked many aspects of vacation and the service at the bars let you stay satisfied.
Hope to see you and your family again at The Desert Rose Resort 5* to perform a high level of service and hospitality!

Best regards,
The Hotel Administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel check in was a nightmare with the rooms also not being ready at 11pm. After this I have to say the hotel where excellent Great Pools with Friendly staff,Lovely beach and beach bar. Food was ok not great but us English are the minority just remember that the hotel is mostly Russian tourists. A must is a visit to Ali Babba Hashish bar really is a good way to end the day. The boat trips are fantastic and swimming the corals in the Red Sea is most definitely a experience you will never forget.......

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertRoseResor, Guest Relations Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Guests!
Thank you for choosing The Desert Rose Resort 5* for your vacation and the review!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and stayed satisfied. We will check the information about your check in and it will be a matter for discussion of the Hotel Management. All the hotel team is working hardly to provide a high level of service and let our guests feel comfortable.
Hope to see you again at your "second home" The Desert Rose 5*!
We have a new system for the Repeater guests The Rose Rewards Loyalty program.
Next time, please, contact the GR team and fill the application to get your VIP card with bonus.
Best regards,
The Hotel Administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Hi, I want to say something about my adventure in Hurghada. It was my first visit in Hurghada. It was the best holiday ever. Everything was great starting with food, service and staff. Also, staff from animation club (Nur, Joker, Kraled, Omar, Mada, Titi, Sam, Jenya and Valentina) were great. I enjoyed in every game with them. I learned to dive in undersea adventure with the best instructor. I hope that I will come next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sanjadavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertRoseResor, Guest Relations Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guests!
Thank you for choosing The Desert Rose Resort 5* for your vacation and the review!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and stayed satisfied with all the aspects of vacation!
Hope to see you again at your "second home" The Desert Rose 5*!
We have a new system for the Repeater guests The Rose Rewards Loyalty program.
Next time, please, contact the GR team and fill the application to get your VIP card with bonus.
Best regards,
The Hotel Administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
3.2 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#41 of 222 in Hurghada
2,481 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
4.3 mi away
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
#20 of 222 in Hurghada
3,749 reviews
3.2 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
3.2 mi away
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
#2 of 222 in Hurghada
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Address: km 16 Hurghada Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#17 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#20 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#25 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#35 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range: £39 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Desert Rose Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 912
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desert Rose Resort - snorkel, dive, wind surf, and soak up the warmth of the Egyptian sun in Desert Rose Resort located in Hurghada, offering its guests the ultimate beach holiday on the Red Sea. Just fifteen-minute drive from Hurghada Airport. Desert Rose is a 300,000 square meter iconic luxury 5 star resort, accommodating its guests in a fabulous selection of 872 spacious guestrooms, 40 suites, and 5 sea-facing villas with spectacular views of lush landscaped gardens, swimming pools, aqua park, lagoon, and the azure sea. Desert Rose Resort's 1 kilometer pristine beach, and its idyllic 40,000 square meters natural lagoon with golden sands is a choice location for enjoying a unique stretch of private beachfront, providing a wonderful environment for activities or simply relishing the stunning year round unbeatable climate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Desert Rose Hotel Hurghada
Desert Rose Hurgada
Desert Rose Hurghada
Desert Rose Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing