We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 times in Egypt this BEST by far.”
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Desert Rose Resort
Ranked #25 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Very good holiday one of the best hotels we visited in Egypt.our room was well situated near reception and pool with bar.Rooms VERY clean but need updating.food was very good was repetitive like anywhere you go but always something to choose from. The a l carte meals was unlimited on booking which most places are one per week.breakfast was excellent especially in the Mexican and fish restaurant away from the busy restaurant.the beach lagoon VERY good and the boat trips recommended.entertainment ok for children but need to have a two week programme and also the pool bar with saxophone and guitar needed to go on a bit longer until midnight as there was nothing after eleven.this would be good as the inclusive continued til early hours.the service in all restaurants and bars was very good.we will definitely visit again. Cu soon das England

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Darryl1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertRoseResor, Guest Relations Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing The Desert Rose Resort 5* for your vacation and feedback. It`s a pleasure that you have taken the time to describe your impressions.
We are glad you enjoyed your holiday and stayed satisfied with many aspects of vacation.
We want to assure you that our whole hotel team is extremely committed to deliver the perfect vacation experience for each guest.

Your advices concerning the 2 weeks entertainment schedule and providing longer hours for the live music will be a matter of the Hotel Management team discussion. We are trying to do our best to meet the exceed the guests expectations.

Hope to see you and your family again at your "second home" The Desert Rose Resort 5*!
We have a special Rose Rewards Loyalty program for the Repeater guests. Next time you visit The Desert Rose Resort 5*, please, contact the Guest Relation team, fill the application form and receive your VIP card (with a bonus system).

Best regards,
The Hotel Administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,831 - 1,837 of 4,166 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Just came back from 2 weeks holiday & we absolutely loved it. The hotel is huge which on a positive point meant we were not bored & we didn't have to go out if we didn't want to. There was 5 swimming pools, lagoon & the beach so it never felt over crowed. There is a main restaurant with 5 other al cart restaurant which we had access to. The staff were absolutely fantastic & very helpful. The service is more than 5 star & whatever we required was never too much trouble. At the begging of our stay we found the food to be quite bland in the main the restaurant but after complaining the standard of the food got better & better. The management team are beyond excellent & take complaint very seriously. Majority of the guests were Russian but we found them to be pleasant. With regards to the rooms, we found the the standard rooms to be quite dated so my advice is to book the deluxe rooms which faces the beach & the lagoon. The entertainment was brilliant as there was something for every member of the family. We definitely recommend this hotel as we will be returning on our next holiday.
In the mean time I like to take this opportunity to thank the following member of staff who went above & beyond their duties to make our stay so enjoyable.
Mr Al Waheed ( the general manager)
Ms Julia ( guest relation manager ) & her team
Mr Ibrahim ( Reception manager )
Mr Mohammed ( head chef )
The Animation team
Mustafa our lovely house keeper
Ashraf who was organising our towels & loungers everyday.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Vafa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertRoseResor, Guest Relations Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Mrs. Vafa,

Thank you for choosing The Desert Rose Resort 5* for your vacation and feedback. It`s a pleasure that you have taken the time to describe your impressions.
We are glad you enjoyed your holiday and stayed satisfied with all aspects of vacation.

Special thanks for the personal grateful words to the General Manager Mr. Waheed Al-Tohamy and our hotel team members: FO, GR, F&B, Animation.

We want to assure you that our whole hotel team is extremely committed to deliver the perfect vacation experience for each guest.

Hope to see you and your family again at your "second home" The Desert Rose Resort 5*!
We have a special Rose Rewards Loyalty program for the Repeater guests. Next time you visit The Desert Rose Resort 5*, please, contact the Guest Relation team, fill the application form and receive your VIP card (with a bonus system).

Best regards,
The Hotel Administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

When you reserve in a 5 stars hotel you expect too much. The desert rose resort is a very good resort but not a luxury property. The resort is very well designed and has a beautifull shape with pools and gardens but I didn't like the concrete grounded roads with stones it was hard to walk on. The resort is huge and has a beautifull wide beach with wonderfull view although water is not clear and the ground is muddy because the beach has only 2 openings to the open sea. Many resturants and bars are available and serve snacks, ice cream, water and soft drinks for free for all inclusive residants but there are no free fresh juce. The kids corner are nice and very interesting for kids while the mini disco is repeatedly every day with the same songs and same music !!! The night shows are nice. The furniture is not luxury but it is ok. The staff is not well trained and needs to be more active and more polite. They allowed guests to use pools although ther are not wearing the swimming suits so management needs to be more firm and the system should be more strongly applied on guests and staff also. Room service and house keeping is average. The food amount is huge but the quality is average or less. The overall ranking: very good .... you will enjoy but you will find some weak points.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank maged_elkomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertRoseResor, Guest Relations Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Mr. Maged,

Thank you for choosing The Desert Rose Resort 5* for your vacation and feedback. It`s a pleasure that you have taken the time to describe your impressions.
We are glad you enjoyed your holiday and stayed satisfied with many aspects of vacation.
We want to assure you that our whole hotel team is extremely committed to deliver the perfect vacation experience for each guest.

We have taken the information you highlighted like a very important note to be discussed by the Hotel Management team as it should be improved to meet our guests expectations.

Hope to see you and your family again at your "second home" The Desert Rose Resort 5*!
We have a special Rose Rewards Loyalty program for the Repeater guests. Next time you visit The Desert Rose Resort 5*, please, contact the Guest Relation team, fill the application form and receive your VIP card (with a bonus system).

Best regards,
The Hotel Administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

My first advice is if you are not Russian don't book there.

Reception ignore you if u are not Russian

Food is good and u have many choices.

Workers inside the resort helpful.but you feel they are overloaded with work.

It's full with Russian and the first language used there is Russian. I felt like I was in Moscow. .

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ahmed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertRoseResor, Guest Relations Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Mr. Ahmed,

Thank you for choosing The Desert Rose Resort 5* for your vacation and feedback. It`s a pleasure that you have taken the time to describe your impressions.
We are glad you have noticed the positive aspects such as food, etc.
Concerning the remarks about "Russian resort" we want to assure you that we have International guests from all over the world: Germany, France, England, Poland, Egypt, Slovakia, Serbia, Denmark, U.S.A. and other countries.
The Russian guests love The Desert Rose Resort 5* and there are many Regular guests and Repeaters. If you read the comments from the British, Serbian, German. Danish, Hungarian and other guests, you will see that they felt very comfortable with the level of service and special attention of the staff to them.
We do hope to see you and your family again at The Desert Rose Resort 5*!
We have a special Rose Rewards Loyalty program for the Repeater guests. Next time you visit The Desert Rose Resort 5*, please, contact the Guest Relation team, fill the application form and receive your VIP card (with a bonus system).

Best regards,
The Hotel Administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is a great break from the chaos of Cairo. This hotel was clean and cared for. The staff were very friendly and attentive. A special thanks to Alaa, Michael, Hesham and Amin for their above and beyond service.

The buffet was always fresh and had something for everyone. The wide choice of al a carte restaurants made meal times always interesting.

Despite the high occupancy, the hotel felt spacious and not over crowded. Lots of choices for pools and beach spaces to relax.

A personal thank you also to the General Manager, Waheed, for making us feel special during our stay.

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertRoseResor, Guest Relations Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Mrs. Elaine!
Thank you for choosing The Desert Rose Resort 5* for your vacation and for your positive review.
We are glad you enjoyed it very much and stayed satisfied with all the aspects.

Special thanks for the personal grateful words to our General Manager Mr. Waheed Al-Tohamy.
Your high marks and recommendations are highly appreciated!
Hope to see you again at your "second home" The Desert Rose Resort 5*!
As we have informed you before on GM Cocktail Party - we have a special Loyalty program for the Repeater guests (with a special bonus system).
You have already filled the registration forms. We kindly ask you next your visit, please, contact our Guest Relation team to get your VIP card if you didn`t during the previous stay.
Best regards,
The Hotel Administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Me and my family spent one week in the hotel in an all inclusive basis. I will state a breif of the positives and negatives.
Positives : 1-The most positive point you can recognize easily is the activness of the stuff. they do a great effort all the day in cleaning , providing drinks and foods for all inclusive guests.
2-The resort is big with a nice landscape ( Gardens , swimming pools, bridges)
3-There is a 3 swimming pools with different depths which is suitable for all ages. One of them is Olympic which is quite and relaxing area away from noisy and crowded kids swimming pools.
4-There is a lot of choices for kids , swimming pools , water slides,kids club playground & a special kids corner in the restaurent.
5-The food is good and tasty in the open buffet and available from the start to the end of the time of the meal. ( In other hotels , some items finishes early and is not replaced)
6-Concerning the sea , there is two areas to use , one is good for swimming , the other with nice spots of reefs which is good for diving and snorkling (But you can not acces without shoes so don't forget to bring it or your legs may be hurted)
7-There is a nice aqua park where you can have lots of fun there.
8-There is life guards on the sea and pools which is not available on most of the hotels.

Negatives : 1- The biggest Negative point is the rank of the hotel (5 stars) , i don't know how the ministry of tourism rank the hotels in Egypt, I went before to a real 5 stars hotels and they really deserve it , and there is a big difference between them and this one . Although the managment is doing a great effort but it can't be compared to a real 5 stars hotels.
2- Check in was a little bit slow.
3- Since the resort is big ,they need to provide electric cars to take the guests from a place to another. The cars are available but they use it to transfer hotel items. ( I saw some old people asking the driver to take them to the restaurent but he refused with a rude way)
3-The Gym is opened from 9 oclock in the morning which sound for me late . I think the Gym must be opened at 7:00 for early morning sport lovers.
4-The Animations are good but since 90% of the guests are russians , so you feel that the animation team is working to please the russian guests only.

For my over all rating , its a good family resort with a reasonable prices . Hopes everybody enjoys the stay.

Room Tip: take a room in the 8000s building , its nearer to the sea breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Mohamed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertRoseResor, Guest Relations Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Mr. Mohamed,

Thank you for choosing The Desert Rose Resort 5* for your vacation and feedback. It`s a pleasure that you have taken the time to describe your impressions.
We are glad you enjoyed your holiday very much and stayed satisfied with the staff hospitality and all services.
We want to assure you that our whole hotel team is extremely committed to deliver the perfect vacation experience for each guest. Your high marks are highly appreciated.

We have taken the information you highlighted like a very important note to be discussed by the Hotel Management team as it should be improved to meet our guests expectations.

Our guests from all over the world: Germany, France, England, Poland, Egypt, Slovakia, Serbia, Denmark, U.S.A. and other countries comment about the hotel advantages as you did and they rate the hotel 5*.

Hope to see you and your family again at your "second home" The Desert Rose Resort 5*!
We have a special Rose Rewards Loyalty program for the Repeater guests. Next time you visit The Desert Rose Resort 5*, please, contact the Guest Relation team, fill the application form and receive your VIP card (with a bonus system).

Best regards,
The Hotel Administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My family and I spend 10 nights at the Desert Rose Resort. We had arrived at the hotel at 10:20am and got placed into our rooms at 10:45am. This was the first hotel that did is. Usually guests have to wait until 2pm to get into their room, so this was a huge plus.

If you are among those people that get bothered by mere sight of Russians, my advise to you is to stay at home. About 85% of guests are Russians. Even though we don't speak Russians and Russians don't speak English, we had lots of fun with them playing beach volleyball and going diving. They are hilarious :)

Now back to hotel and review....

As far as rooms are concerned, they could have been larger in my opinion but were clean, with a very comfortable bed, TV and other standard appliances you would need/expect from a 5* hotel.

Food: I wander what people eat at home when they are complaining about food at this hotel. There was plenty of choices for all meals, and besides that, there were 8 different team nights for food (Egyptian, sea food, Far east....) and unlimited visits to four a la carte restaurants (Mexican, Lebanese, Italian, Sea food). My advise is to book your visits to these restaurants early. We never wound up eating same food.

Beach: In my opinion, beach needs more sand but was otherwise nice. There were a lot of sales people offering massage, wind surfing, diving (I highly recommend Adam and Ramy from diving center)... and if you want just to relax and not be approached by them, just ask for a green flag from a towel booth and that takes care of it. Animation team was great. Daily yoga, water gymnastics, darts, beach volleyball....

Overall, a very enjoyable vacation and I will definitely return and recommend this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: 4000 and 5000 buildings are very close to reception area, main restaurant, clinic, gym and spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Slobodan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertRoseResor, Guest Relations Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Mr. Slobodan!
Thank you for choosing The Desert Rose Resort 5* for your vacation and your positive review. We are glad you enjoyed vacation very much and stayed satisfied with all the aspects of food, service, fast check in, cleanliness and hospitality!
Your high marks and recommendations are appreciated!
Hope to see you again at your "second home" The Desert Rose Resort 5*! We have a special Loyalty program for the Repeater guests (bonus system). Next time, please, contact our Guest Relation team and fill the application form to get your VIP card.
Best regards,
The Hotel Administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
4.4 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#42 of 222 in Hurghada
2,371 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
2.5 mi away
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
#21 of 222 in Hurghada
3,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Crystal Bay Resort
3.2 mi away
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
The Oberoi Sahl Hasheesh
#2 of 222 in Hurghada
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Address: Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#15 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#20 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#23 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#35 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range: £39 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Desert Rose Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 912
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Rose Resort - snorkel, dive, wind surf, and soak up the warmth of the Egyptian sun in The Desert Rose Resort located in Hurghada, offering its guests the ultimate beach holiday on the Red Sea. Just fifteen minute drive from Hurghada Airport, The Desert Rose is a 300,000 square meter iconic luxury 5 star resort, accommodating its guests in a fabulous selection of 872 spacious guestrooms, 40 suites, and 5 sea-facing villas with spectacular views of lush landscaped gardens, swimming pools, aqua park, lagoon, and the azure sea. The Desert Rose Resort's 1 kilometer pristine beach, and its idyllic 40,000 square meter natural lagoon with golden sands is a choice location for enjoying a unique stretch of private beachfront, providing a wonderful environment for activities or simply relishing the stunning year round unbeatable climate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Desert Rose Hotel Hurghada
Desert Rose Hurgada
Desert Rose Hurghada
Desert Rose Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing