We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best service, loved it.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden 5 Almas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Golden 5 Almas Resort
Ranked #141 of 229 Hotels in Hurghada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best service, loved it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

This is my second visit to al mas. The rooms were very spacious & very clean. We book a double suit on the ground floor, overlooking the lake & bridge. Outstanding service & staff very helpful. Mainly Russian holiday makers, but it made great conversation & staff embraced our English language & heritage. Convenient location to down town & mall. Have visited with family & friends. Can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Sarafarag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    41
    20
    20
    15
See reviews for
60
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

my wife and i were the only english in hotel all rest were russian,that did not bother us in the slightest,all members of the staff treated us so well we could not believe what had been written before. from cleaners to hotel management nothing was to much trouble the positon of hotel is very good right on the beach even with russians putting the towels down plenty of room.rep was brilliant and very clear on advice,my advice is to accept the russians are there and enjoy a comfortable hotel good food and service i would reccomend to all.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank dorsettrobert0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, Essex
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2008

Just got back from a one week stay in the Almas Palace.
Firstly the hotel is not a five star or totally all inclusive. When we arrived our initial reaction was ok - rooms very good, mini bar stocked up etc but then we realised that it was a Russian hotel and I have to say that they just ate everything, piled their plates up (and wasted most of it) pushed into anywhere they wanted!
Restaurant wasn't that good with food often recycled into different variants the next day. Trying to get cups or cutlery was a big problem unless you fought it out with the russians when restaurant opened. Most of the hotel staff were very friendly - especially towards us brits - they couldn't believe we were there as they were so used to dealing with the russians!
Certain parts of the hotel are very good but other bits when you looked closer needed a refurbishment urgently.
Anyway if you don't mind mixing it with the russian crowds and aren't too bothered about good food including upset tummies then go for it as the beach was brilliant and very hot weather all week - about 35-36 degrees.
Oh and you must like very loud music all day blasting out from the swimming pool complex and the first part of the beach and boy do I mean loud! - It did stop around 4.30 everyday and was fairly quiet during the night time.
This is our third time in Hurghada and this is the poorest hotel we have stayed in but if you want to do things last minute and don't mind getting pushed around a bit then go for it.

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank johnboy2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2007

Had a fantastic time at Almas Palace, many people have written bad reviews about this hotel so either they must have been very unlucky with their timing as many say their were building work, or were just given a bad room.

I have no complaints whatsoever, I went last June with my mum and i was 17 at the time. Weather was Fantastic and came back with a great tann. Theres plently to do for the kids, as you cna share with 5 other hotels theres plently of swimming pools to choose form and large water flumes. Although we stayed out at the beach most of the time, The waters beautiful and clear, for us this was just a perfect holiday to jsut relax. In the evening theres entertainment or you can wounder outside to the little shops and do some haggeling!

Food was nice although i can understand why to some people it can get a little bland and samey.

  • Liked — The beach
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank nellyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2006

- Air Condition broke down
- No water in bathroom or toilet
- Lights failed
- Air Conditioning Unit leaked
- Bath leaked water all over the floor
- TV had Russian, Arabic or German channels only
- Food poisoning
- English is not well understood
- All inclusive was NOT all inclusive, had to pay extra
- Use of facilities such as mini golf or pool restricted to 1 hour per week

- Very poor travel agent - Fasttrack Holiday, certainly made fast tracks when we needed them. Failed to call us back or resolve any problems despite calling for help from a mobile

- Medhotel reps nominated by Fasttrack were even worse. They were nowhere to be seen apart from the last day despite leaving several messages. Apparently they were too busy receiving other guests and could not be bothered to meet up

- On the last day, check out time was supposed to be at noon, yet we were asked to leave at 7am

- Medhotel reps wanted additional money to drop people off at the airport and were very rude and arrogant. Try telling Medhotel or Fasttrack!

All in all, the worst possible holiday ever....

  • Tips/Secrets — Don't use Fasttrack Holidays or Medhotels
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Holreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hurghada hotels

East Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2006

We read all the reviews before we went and thought we would take the chance too! We took our 3 year old son so took all precautions (injections, immodium and rehydration sachets). Good job we did. By day 3, we all came down with Diorrheah although it didnt stop us doing anything. The food was probably the cause as there was bottled water everywhere. Our room was superb with outstanding views of the pools and sea.

If you are a lady, beware some of the staff as they like English women!!

The cleaners are excellent and we felt safe our stuff was in their hands. We left them a good tip and told the manager how good they were. He was very pleased and came out to shake our hand.

Camel ride a must but make sure you say 1 hour (it can be done). Be careful also as they will drop you off outside the whole hotel complex and in a perfume shop (thats not part of the deal and you dont have to go in there and listen to their spiel). They are only trying to get you to buy something. You have every right to say no. The camel man is nice but does expect a tip, although not a big one!

We had a fabulous time but my son didnt like the kids club as there were mostly Germans and Russians. Lovely as they are, they dont understand much English and my son doesnt understand their language. So for most of the holiday we found shade to amuse him in.

Great for families (with older children) and couples too. Nightclubs and good choice of drinks (Wine a bit cheap, but you ddont expect too much).

For a cheap getaway, would definitely recommend.!!!!!

Enjoy and take big sun factors with you. In the 40s every day and not a cloud in sight. Your room will become your best friend if you dont like the heat

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank RosieF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTH LANARKSHIRE
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2006

We booked this at the last minute and despite reading the reviews of others of this hotel and the other four in the complex I could thoroughly recomend this hotel. It may not be 5 star but makes a very reasonable 4. The staff go out of their way to be friendly and helpfull. On our arival we had asked for a sea view we were given a room looking out of the back of the hotel towards the desert with a scartching of a sea view. On going to the reception we were offered the keys to two rooms with pool and outstanding sea views. The staff even moved our luggage The room was air contioned with carpets it was cleaned every day with fresh towels and bed linen the beds were even turned back for our return. The Al Mas Palace is right on the beach and benits from the sea breeze. This is very nice when lying on the sun beds. They supply matresses and towels for the sundeds at no charge or you can go the pool which is much warmer and there are water slides. The sea is crystal clear with a protected coral reef with fish great for swimming and snorkiling.. The only down side is the food on what was an excellent week. It is not the quality buut how or what they wash the veg ect in befor you get it you can end up with dehli belly. Being all inclusive you can eat at any of the other 5 propertiews and i can recomend the orange restaurant at the Diamond or the Golden 5. The drink is all from bottles so there is no dodgy draft THAT APPLIES TO BOTH ALCOHOLIC AND NON ALCOHOLIC. The mini bar in the room is stocked each day with soft drinks ans bottled water. Not many Brits mainly German and Russian who are brash and ignorant particuarly with the staff. For what we paid this was excellent value for money. I have travelled extensively including what are described as the places to holiday and i could thoroughly recomend this before some of them. IF WHAT YOU ARE LOOKING FOR IS FISH AND CHIPS OR ROAST AND YORKSHIRE PUDDING WASHED DOWN BY BEST BITTER OR HEAVY TRY BLACKPOOL.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SMIVVY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.1 mi away
Golden 5 Diamond Resort
Golden 5 Diamond Resort
#156 of 229 in Hurghada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden 5 The Club Hotel
Golden 5 The Club Hotel
#136 of 229 in Hurghada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden 5 Sapphire Suites Hotel
Golden 5 Sapphire Suites Hotel
#135 of 229 in Hurghada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lilly Land Beach Club Hotel
Lilly Land Beach Club Hotel
#137 of 229 in Hurghada
3.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden 5 Topaz Suites Hotel
Golden 5 Topaz Suites Hotel
#104 of 229 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden 5 Paradise Resort
Golden 5 Paradise Resort
#180 of 229 in Hurghada
3.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden 5 Almas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden 5 Almas Resort

Property: Golden 5 Almas Resort
Address: Golden 5 City, Sahl Hasheesh Road, Hurghada 84512, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#77 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#106 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden 5 Almas Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Category: 5 Stars Check in :14:00 Check out :12:00 Location:Overlooking the city lagoon and red sea, beach, artificial lake along with green landscape and gardens , & the mini golf.Accommodation: Bars:Palm Beach bar (charged as per consumption)Cuisine: Beverages (Imported & local alcohol drinks tea, soft drinks) & snacks for all Hours: 10:00 am - sunset"Sinai" bar, (All Inclusive) overlooking the lagoon Cuisine: Beverages (Alcohol local drinks , coffee, tea, soft drinks)Hours: 10.00 pm - 02.00 am Cafe "Troitoire", (All Inclusive) overlooking the lagoon Cuisine: Beverages (Alcohol local drinks , coffee, tea, soft drinks) for all inclusive guests Lounge bar in the lobby, "charged as per consumption "Cuisine: Light snacks, light meals & beverages Hours: 24 hours SYLT "All inclusive " Beach bar Cuisine: Beverages (Alcohol local drinks , coffee, tea, soft drinks) & snacks for all inclusive guests Hours: 10.00 am - Sunset Fish market restaurant Cuisine: Seafood Serving: a La carte Hours: 12:00 pm - Sunset & 07:30 pm- 09:30 pm main building and 5 bungalows, 2 floors each.Total of 276 rooms (varies between 35 and 42 m2) including:42 connected rooms."Panorama" main restaurant: 350 seatsCuisine: InternationalServing Breakfast, Lunch & DinnerPergola "Sea Rock" restaurantCuisine: InternationalServing: Lunch, snacks & beverages for all inclusive guestsHours: 10.00 am- SunsetMost of 1st floor rooms have terrace, and most of 2nd floorhave balconies.All rooms are equipped with: satellite-TV & radio, individualadjustable air condition . Bathrooms feature bathtub ,weighting scale, telephone, Hair dryer, Minibar, safe box,daily clean linen & electricity: AC 220 volts Services & Facilities:24-hour room service 24-hour concierge Laundry service: charged as per consumption , price list available in the room Conferences Facility:Paradise conference room:capacity of 300 persons , Paradise VIPs Lounge: 150 seats.Internet cafeLimousine serviceBeauty salonLobby shopsOn request doctorTour & travel desk Babysitting on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Golden 5 Almas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Mas Palace Golden 5 Hotel Hurghada
Al Mas Palace Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing