We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Club Calimera a brilliant holiday!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Movie Gate Golden Beach Hotel
Ranked #129 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Camberley, UK
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Club Calimera a brilliant holiday!!”
Reviewed 2 October 2011

I went with a friend and never having been to Egypt I was a little wary, but when we arrived it was fine! You do have to buy a visa when you get to Hurghada airport which is £13.
You definitely have to respect their culture and I found it really interesting and fascinating. The hotel is set in lovely, well looked after grounds-with plenty of flowers and plants from all over the world. The staff are very friendly and can not do enough for you, although the beach bar staff are a little bit less so-Im not so sure why though. The rooms are spacious with a tv, plenty of wardrobe space and balcony. All with controllable air conditioning (ours did break down but with a few words to reception got fixed) and there are power cuts , a couple a night but only lasted about a minute or two (but this is prob because they are trying to run so much off of the generators!).
The staff do try to sell you trips and spa treats around the pool this where bartering comes in! We did a cleopatra spa that lasts two hours that includes sauna,steam room, jacuzzi, body massage, body peel, face massage and mask-it was so relaxing and highly recommended.
We also took advantage of the intro diving session in the diving centres swimming pool. We took a trip out to Luxor for fantastic-trip included breakfast, lunch, a personal tourist guide, entry to valley of the kings and luxor temple. It is 4 hours driving each way though and we had to leave at 3am to get there fairly early before it gets too hot (it was 40c at 7.30am!) but even though it gets very warm when we were there (5th - 12th Sept) there was a gentle breeze and it is a dry heat unlike the weather that is humid in England (well when the suns out!).
They accept euros and the egyptian pound in the hotel and in most places in and around Hurghada. They also love it if you learn a little arabic or at least say thank you (shookra). The reception staff are very friendly always with a smile as were the waiters. Food was varied and they do a wide selection from French, English,Egyptian, German, Italian and Russian-and there was no one complaining of a dodgy stomach! The majority of people there were German, Russian and some Egyptian-but when we told the staff we were English they really were welcoming-and they love football!! Drinks are great with again plenty of variety. They supply you with towels for the pool and beach, you have to get a card (5euro deposit which you get back). The guys who are at the bazaar inside the hotel are rather pushy but they are trying to earn a living and as long as you barter or say that you arent buying anything they are fine.
On our last night we had a photo shoot with the photographer they have their. The member of staff that sold it to us said that we didnt have to buy anything if we didnt want to, but the photos were 3.50 euros each if we wanted any. We had a brilliant photo shoot with the photographer, we went throughout the grounds and beach, lovely photos. But once we got back and were choosing the photos he got rather disgruntled that I couldnt afford to have that many photos (I am a student! And I had 12 photos in the end). So we did have a word with the bloke that sold it to us (I dont think he spoke very good English), so if you have it done and you are a bit worried with the price, definitely say at the beginning of your photo shoot how much you are thinking of spending. We got our photos and had them put on a disc too- but when I got home mine werent on the disc- but luckily having a father who is also a professional photographer it wasn't that much of a prob!

On our way back, at the airport a man took hold of my friends suitcase and took us to the front of the queue then asked us for some money - luckily I had read about this on tripadvisor- we said we havent got any money!:/ And he just left us alone.

The mosquitos are a bit immune to the insect repellant though!

But all in all we had a brilliant time and are planning to go back but for 2 weeks this time and to go to Cairo to see the pyramids and do some diving!!!

We would def book with sunshine.co.uk again as you can see exactly what you are getting and how much it all costs individually.

Room Tip: The promo rooms are just as good standard, just cheaper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    148
    73
    38
    33
See reviews for
132
125
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

For Aussies this resort may be an unfamiliar concept....it's one of those family holiday clubs that you may have seen on TV shows. Whilst you don' t have to participate there are organised activities and kids program. All meals and house wines, spirits, beer, soft drink, tea and coffee is all inclusive. But stay away from the local Gin - it taste like kero.

The rooms and facilities are great. There is also very nice spa/massage centre on site; prices are reasonable. A very relaxing environment - you can find kid free areas.

For those visiting the Red Sea area for diving there is a dive centre on site as well as a tour desk. There are a number of small shops for souvenir shopping. An ATM is available also.

All meals are buffet style, but this can become a bit monotonous if staying more than several days. Although we didn't try them there were two other eating places on site for a bit of variety.

I think this resort is pretty typical of the area - it had a high rate of German guests, so don't be surprised if the staff make the assumption you can speak German too.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sandfl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We stayed here in early January for a week and it was a really nice hotel. The rooms and the hotel was kept very clean, and the garden was rather pretty. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Beach was nice but we didn't use it much as the water was a little too cold when we were there. Food was very good, although after a few days you realise it is more or less the same everyday despite different "themes". Some foods could be a little bland, there was all kinds of spices available to put on your food once it was on your plate, but it would have been nicer to have it more seasoned to begin with. However, I understand this is the case throughout Egypt. Breakfast was very nice.

The hotel taxi service annoyed us as it (both times we used it) dropped us off at a shop despite our protests, with the shop owner trying to press you to do a lot of shopping. You then have to return to the shop for your taxi back to the hotel and go through the same thing again...

Also it could be a bit noisy at night, I think it was some machine washing the stone covered garden paths or something (am not sure) that woke me up a few times.

All in all, it was a lovely hotel and I would definitely recommend it, but I doubt I'd go back.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kristin0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2011

i was in calimera golden beach for 2 weeks and the hotel not so bad but the stuff not so well
i did many excurision and i found big diffrent in price between my travel agency and the prices with guys who working in the beach or near the resturant...........i did snorkiling and it was interesting
also i spent nice day in the desert and really fantastic witnso nice price .......
thanks EMAD and aladdin for the safari quad trip
if you in CALIMERA and you want safari desert go directly to ALADDIN and you will have real fun

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mado298484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Booked a last minute trip here after our intial holiday to Taba was cancelled. Found the reception staff very helpful and friendly, as were all of the staff. They would always acknowledge us as we passed, many of the gardeners or pool cleaners would even stop what they were doing to say hello. I expect many of the comments about rude staff were probably due to intolerant visitors rather than the staff themselves.

The complex was very quiet, probably down to a lot of cancellations because of the recent troubles. This did mean that we had the big pool by the hotel to ourselves for much of the week and that some of the bars were not open. We were the only 2 English people there for much of the time. All of the other guests were German or Russian. It was perfect for us as we had gone for a proper relax. We werent hassled much by agents selling trips as telling them no meant they wouldnt trouble us again. We did book some treatments in the spa and had some lovely massages from Yasmina and Albir.

The food is very good, yes it does get repeated but there are always options. The desserts can be a bit of a lottery as to what they actually are but were usually very tasty. The salads were very good.

The drinks were an experience, the spirits were a little rough but flooded with coke were very drinkable! Avoid the white wine! The beer was ok.

Our room was very nice. The beds were arranged as a twin but we pushed them together and they were left like that for the week. The room cleaner decorated our bed a couple of times with some very clever towel sculptures! The air conditioning worked well but we didnt really need it the time of year we were there. Tea and coffee in the rooms would have been nice but it wasnt a major issue. The room was kept very clean during the week and we had no problem leaving a nice tip for our cleaner.

The Animation team worked very hard although they were concentrating on doing everything in German and Russian but they would then repeat everything in English once they found out that we were English. We didnt see any of the shows they did but they did sound good as our room was right next to the Theatre.

There was a lot of building and general renovation going on. The walls of the main hotel were being painted and the whole complex was being tarted up. The gardens were lovely and well kept. The pools were very clean and checked regularly.

Overall it was a lovely relaxing week and I would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 15shearers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

noisiest hotel ever stayed in as to the staff stick to the lower ranking staff and they are very good and helpful management and those so called in charge are rude and ignorant, the rooms for egypt are clean for their standards not european standards. the food over christmas was amazing then as time went on it looked like left overs and same food each day. oh if you want to sleep at night forget it TOO MUCH NOISE FROM DRUNKS mostly russian and polish and fights are regular due to over drinking tho i dont see how they got drunk on watered down drink.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank pete729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hurghada hotels

bridgend
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

We have just returned from a week at the hotel and had a fantastic week. Yes the hotel is predominately made up of Germans and Russians (which 99% of Egyptain hotels are now anyway) but we still managed to have a friendly conversation with some of them (if you make the effort, they will as well). Staff very friendly acrooss the board and at no time did the staff that assisted us expect or hold there hand out for a tip. The reception staff did initially appear unfriendly, but didn't experience any real problems with them (remember it is a big and busy hotel).
Rooms were sparse and a little tired, but really how much time do you spend in them.
Cleanliness was average in the rooms and there was no tea/coffee making facillities but there was in the main reception/lobby 22hours a day. There was plenty of water avaliable at many locations.
The restaurant is big and busy but the quality of the food was excellent and plenty of choice available morning, noon and night. (if you want burgers and pizza, then dont go there).
Swimming pools, 2 very large pools, and a few smaller pools scattered around. very clean, well maintained and treated every day at 6pm. We loved the no towels on sunbeds before 8am unless you were present rule, which saves the 5am rush to grab a sunbed. Beach was large, relatively clean, the water level only up to your knees for about 150metres then it gets deeper or you can walk along the jetty and climb down the stairs into deep water. Beach bar and snackbar again were fine. Cocktails were very nice at all the bars, and the beer comes in small glasses as it does in most allinclusive Egyptian hotels.
Did not do any snorkelling from the beach, but took a trip to dolphin reef and snorkelled there which was excellent and yes we saw lots of dolphins. the boat left at 9-30am and we returned at 4pm, it was a typical egyptain DAY boat and not the QE2. Single choice of lunch but it was tasty and enjoyable.
The only down side is its lacation, quite a distance from Hurghada town.
All in all we had a fabulous holiday and would definately return to this hotel

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catfishbridgend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
0.7 mi away
The Three Corners Sunny Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Panorama Bungalows Aqua Park Hurghada
7.2 mi away
The Three Corners Royal Star Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Regina Swiss Inn Beach Resort & Aqua Park
6.6 mi away
Three Corners Rihana Inn
Three Corners Rihana Inn
#17 of 18 in El Gouna
251 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nubia Aqua Beach Resort
Nubia Aqua Beach Resort
#109 of 222 in Hurghada
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movie Gate Golden Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movie Gate Golden Beach Hotel

Property: Movie Gate Golden Beach Hotel
Address: Km 12 Ahia Rd., Hurghada 01993, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#74 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#100 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#102 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Movie Gate Golden Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: The complex is located northwest of Hurghada directly at the hotel's wide sandy beach. Shallow entrance into the water with bathing platform (swim shoes recommended). El Gouna is about 10 km away and the airport is about 20 km away. Equipment: The extensive hotel consists of a main building and 3 outbuildings in total, it has 456 rooms. Everywhere the theme of film is reflected again. The breakfast and lunch is served in the main restaurant "Indiana Jones" buffet, dinner should be reserved in one of the 5 a la carte restaurants - including "Don Vito" - Italian, "Aladdin" - oriental, "007" - fish restaurant, Buffalo Bill "or" Oceans 11 "- international) in the buffet restaurant. The "Grease" restaurant offers fast food from 10 am - 12.30 pm and from 12:30 pm 7.00 am fast food. Lunch snacks are also offered at the beach from 12.30 pm - 14.30 pm hours from the buffet. Further facilities include a reception with a lobby (safe available at a charge), free WiFi in the reception area, 9 bars (Celebrities Bar, Adults only Bar [only in winter season], Coyote Ugly Bar, Beach Bar, Pool Bar, Disco Bar[drinks not inclusive], the vitamin bar[not inclusive], the "I Scream" cafe), lifts, disco (drinks for a fee) and amphitheater. In the middle of the complex is the attractive pool area with artificial river, "The Black Pearl" a pirate ship with 5 water slides for large and small. 5 other pools (one heatable) as well as a sun terrace with sunbeds and umbrellas. Bath towels are available upon deposit. The hotel also offers a laundry service, spa and doctor on site for a fee, a pharmacy and some shops are located in the hotel. Country: 4 stars Room types Double room: 2 single beds and a sofa bed (double bed on request), equipped with bath and shower / WC, individually regulated air conditioning / heating, satellite TV, telephone, WIFI for a fee, fridge (once at arrival filled with water and soft drink) Balcony or terrace. Double Superior: 3 single beds and a sofa bed (double bed on request), equipment such as double, but larger, Double Sea View: 2 single beds Facilities such as the double rooms (double bed on request), but have sea view or side sea view. The rooms have a balcony and are located in the main building, partly in the side area with a view over the entire complex to the sea. Family room: A double bed, a single bed and a sofa bed, located in the main building, equipped as the double rooms with view to the desert and are larger than the double rooms. No balcony or terrace. The family rooms type B are double rooms with a connecting door either balcony or terrace. Super savings room (economy): 2 single beds (double bed on request) have the same facilities as the double rooms, view to the desert, no balcony or terrace. Availability is limited. Catering Ultra All Inclusive: Breakfast 07: 00 am -10: 00 am in Indiana Jones Buffet Restaurant, 10.00 am - 12.30 am Late Breakfast in the "Grease" restaurant, lunch buffet from 12: 30 pm -14: 30 pm in the main restaurant and on the beach, coffee / tea and cake / pastry, dinner in one The 5 a la cart restaurants can be reserved (inclusive). 12.30 pm - 07.00 am Fast food in the "Grease" restaurant. Selected local alcoholic drinks and soft drinks 10.00 am - 0.00 am at the bars. Soft drinks and hot drinks in the "Grease" restaurant during the entire opening hours. Conversation: Varied entertainment and show programs, Shooting studio with movie accessories. 3 D cinema, one of the largest amphitheaters on the Red Sea Hidden Camera: Through a professional camera team, different funny scenes are recreated every day, which could surprise you during your stay. Every Thursday at the "Night of the Oscars" in the amphitheater the funny results are shown. Free Style: On your arrival the animation team will divide you into 3 -4 groups, in each group the guests will be assigned individual roles from the film industry. Director, writer, actor and Cameraman. Through the professional team, each group will create a 10 minute film, with their own ideas. At the "Night of the Oscars" you can present your short film and a jury will choose the best idea, the best film as well as the best actor. Cinemagram / Video clip: Slip into the role of your favorite star (actor, singer, etc.) for professional make-up. Afterwards you will receive your own personal video as an unforgettable souvenir. Movie Clip: Allow yourself a whole day of the hotel's professional team with the camera to accompany your activities and take the unforgettable memories directly on DVD. For child Separate children's pool with 3 water slides. German-speaking childcare, hourly in age-appropriate groups (4-12 years / 6 days per week). In the vacation teen programs, children's shows, special days and children's parties, playground, Kid's Disco. Sport Included: Aerobics, tap aerobics, aqua gym, fitness room, water ball,volleyball, beach soccer, table tennis, Giant chess, shuffleboard, mini golf, 3 Tennis courts Sport for a fee: Kite surfing school, diving school, tennis equipment and floodlight in the evening, billiards, horseback riding (horses, camel) Hotel service: Early check-in / late check-out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Movie Gate Golden Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Calimera Hurghada Hotel Hurghada
Calimera Hotel Hurghada
Hurghada Calimera Hotel
Calimera Golden Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing