We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent family vacation”
Review of Coral Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coral Beach Resort
Ranked #68 of 222 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent family vacation”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We a married couple (42 and 26 y.o.) with kids 2 and 4 y.o. had a one week vacation on Oct. 5-12. The hotel is scattered on a large land lot therefore you do not feel in a crowd when you go to the beach or walk around the premises. We stayed in a third line in a standard double room. The room is very comfortable and quiet but we don't recommend that you stay close to the main lobby building due to noise from night disco. The animation for kids was good especially kid's disco in the evening. The beach is pretty comfortable although a bit too rocky. The staff was friendly although you often had this feeling that you had to beg for a drink despite the "all inclusive" option.

The food was sometimes good and sometimes not so good. A good thing was that the kids never had upset stomach! In general it was a good place to stay on the premises while excursions were too tiresome to travel to as the hotel is on outskirts of Hurghada and the bus had to pick up the rest of tourists after it picked up you and you were almost the last to be dropped off.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank innuendov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveHCBH, General Manager at Coral Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 September 2016
Dear
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Coral Beach Resort Hurghada and for taking the time to post your feedback on our TripAdvisor website. 

We are pleased to know that you liked our resort and had enjoyable vacation with us.
Needless to mention it was true pleasure to host you at our resort and we hope you will return soon.

Kind and sunny regards,
Coral Beach Resort Hurghada Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    640
    410
    167
    70
    76
See reviews for
467
398
53
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Egypt
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Me and my wife spent a part of our honeymoon at Coral Beach Rotana,
Superb resort, rooms are bungalows type with large sizes and a side sea view. The restaurant buffet is varied each day.
And best of all, the hotel has large sand beach where you can swims and dives with a multitude of colorful fish, sea urchins and especially beautiful corals. If you go there no need to take the tour "Snorkeling" is as you will see most of it on this beach. although this trip to the island is very nice to spend a day out in a very virgin natural beauty.
Special thanks to Nady
Professional animation team and friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yaser M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveHCBH, General Manager at Coral Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 September 2016
Dear Yaser M
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Coral Beach Resort Hurghada and for taking the time to post your feedback on our TripAdvisor website. 

We are pleased to know that you liked our resort and had enjoyable vacation with us.
Needless to mention it was true pleasure to host you at our resort and we hope you will return soon.

Kind and sunny regards,
Coral Beach Resort Hurghada Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

30th August – 13th September 2011

The Coral Beach Rotana Resort Hurghada is no longer used by major British travel agents so my wife and I were the only English guests at the hotel. Other guests were short-stay Egyptian families and a mix of European and Russian holidaymakers.

On arrival we were checked in easily and after a slight delay a golf buggy transported us and our luggage to room 1047. As it was after normal restaurant hours of 10pm we unpacked and ate in the Blue Moon bar where a late simple meal, coffee etc was available.

The hotel site is huge with pleasant single story blocks of rooms and some individual suites set either side of the main central area of Lobby, Blue Room Bar and the Mermaid Restaurant. All the communal areas are ‘smoking’ so the cool of the bar area can be less welcoming for that reason. The lobby features, reception, chairs and tables for relaxation, a couple of jewellery shops and access to the bar. The toilets are small and were very hot in the evening – my wife said that they could be disgusting at times. This probably reflected more on the guests and unsupervised children than the cleaners!
Glass doors lead to an outside terrace area next to the restaurant with wicker chairs and tables overlooking the entertainment stage and Commercial Centre of souvenir shops and the Al Zaeem Café bar. Beyond are the two pools and an expanse of hard, coarse sand before reaching the sweeping beach lagoon area.
At one end of the beach are the Diving Centre, the boat excursion and the jetty for access to the deeper
waters of the Red Sea. The beach has several areas with sunshades and beds. Firstly near the pier, then all along the beach and on an elevated island in the bay accessed via a causeway. The central area is home to most of the activities and the bar. At the far end, now let me refer to it as the self-explanatory ‘bottom’ end of the bay where wigwam style beach huts indicate a ‘Dress As You Like’ area. Naturism is highly unusual for Egypt and was well frequented during our stay. The beach at this end is rocky and beach shoes are recommended. The beach was generally clean but beyond the ‘dress as you like’ area the remnants of an aborted building of a small marina is a little unsightly. The water looks inviting but snorkelling is out of the question as the water is like swimming in milk! Visibility is nil until you get past the reef alongside the island area. All snorkelling is best from the pier and even there visibility was not as good as in other areas of the Red Sea we have visited, but there is still a good variety of colourful fish and sea life to enjoy, including Clown fish, Parrotfish, Butterflyfish, Picasso triggerfish, blue spotted rays, clams and coral.

Room
The room was large, refurbished room with king size bed, desk and chair, flat screen TV and plenty of storage space. A small fridge was re-stocked daily with 1½ litre bottle of water and the safe deposit box is free. The bathroom was bright and clean but the walk-in shower could have been cleaner around the floor and wall tiles. Towels were replenished daily. Air-conditioning was effective and there were no bugs! Outside there is a small terrace area with table and chairs.

Mermaid Restaurant
The restaurant could be attractive but becomes rather chaotic at meal times and I’m afraid this was down to the behaviour of guests rather than the general organisation. Tables are set for two, four and more on the lower level plus an outdoor area. Guests were predominately Egyptian and due to their nature of joining friends continually grabbed chairs from other tables and gathered around smaller tables. Without being too critical they also like to bring all the food to the table at the same time as they would do at home. Nothing wrong with that, however, it led to an amazing amount of food being totally wasted and for unsightly tables until it was cleared.
The self-service buffet food featured all the usual offerings. Breakfast suffered from queues at the egg station but generally it was fine. Local dishes ‘Foul’ and ‘Wheat’ featured alongside the standard cereals, breads, pastries, salads, yoghurt and fruit. Lunch and dinner were very similar with soups, a variety of beef, chicken and fish dishes. Rice, potato dishes, vegetables, bread, salads and basic pasta were all available. For the sweet tooth cakes, pastries, and a very soft ‘ice cream’ were there to round off the meal. Fruit choice was limited but always available. Drinks were served by the friendly, helpful waiters.

Bar and Al Zaeem
All inclusive drinks of local spirits, beer, cocktails and soft drinks were all served by the glass. Local wine is only available in the Mermaid at lunch and dinner. Coffee and tea is always available in the restaurants and the Lobby Bar. Most people used the outside terrace area for relaxation during the warm evenings.
Al Zaeem is a small bar by the shops overlooking the stage area (like it or not) with an unimaginative serving area but nice tables, chairs and colourful cushions and a ‘garden like’ feel. Shisha pipes are available at a small charge and create a far more pleasant atmosphere than cigarette smoke.

Entertainment
General activities were organised by the animation team throughout the day around the beach and pool from 10am. In the evening there was far too much time given to the ‘Kids Show’ it often took from 8.30 to 10pm to complete and proved a little repetitive, especially for those without children. Most nights a duo performed popular songs either side of the kids show and the entertainment team put on a show with the best of intentions! Theme nights included an Africa Show and Egyptian dancing.
There is an indoor disco that starts around 10.30pm.

Grounds and Pools
Both the main pool, which has a bar, and The Pergola pool were in use. There are plenty of sun loungers and sun shades. Towels are available by the pools. Some pathways could do with more maintenance as they are crumbling but in general the grounds are OK. Date palms are everywhere and some of the garden areas are ablaze with bougainvillea etc but some areas are barren. Keep an eye on the wildlife, although not plentiful egrets, osprey, bee-eaters, doves and sparrowhawks can be seen.

In General
Outside the hotel there is little on offer. We walked out one evening at sunset, along the barren main road to the Hilton Hotel but could not gain entry to have a look around without ID. [Passports] There are some shops and bars in front of the Hilton complex but it was very quiet. Taxis drivers were at the Coral Beach entrance and they were very friendly in trying to get your custom.
Our excursions were limited to a single trip on the free shuttle bus to Hurghada for a couple of hours and a full day boat trip to Mahmaya, part of Giftun Island. At £65, Mahmaya was a little pricey for what it was as the snorkelling from the beach and out on the reef were disappointing. Lunch was included and the return at sunset was pleasant. We wished we had taken a similar trip, taking in Giftun Island and others from the Coral Beach itself for $30 which would have saved the tiresome coach journey to other hotels and the marina.

All in all we had a fine time and the Coral Beach matched our expectations but I feel that most British guests would not relish the lack of variety in the evenings.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pepetrfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveHCBH, General Manager at Coral Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2016
Dear Pepetrfc
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Coral Beach Resort Hurghada and for taking the time to post your feedback on our TripAdvisor website. 
We went thoroughly through your comments and we are very sorry to learn you had some negative experience.
Please note we shall take corrective measures in all areas you have mentioned and work hard on improving and avoiding similar reoccurrences.
Meanwhile we would like to take the opportunity and invite you for a repeated visit where you will notice your comments were not passed unnoticed.
Please email us details on your next vacation at: reservation.hurghada@coralbeacheg.com

Kind regards,
Coral Beach Hurghada Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Good afternoon!

I don’t usually write reviews, comments. I decided to write because very often unjust feedback on this very nice hotel.

I was at Coral Beach Rotana Resort 4 times (2007, 2009, 2010, 2011). And this is my favorite hotel in Hurghada. Every time I’m very pleased to return here. Last time I was at Coral Beach in this year from 25 May till 09 June. Employees are always very happy to see how their guests in house and newly arriving guests are treated with kindness to all who chose their place of rest for Coral Beach. The hotel has developed a good tradition, very pleasant for holidaymakers. In a sign of respect and gratitude to everyone who visits the hotel the second and subsequent times, twice for holidays bring fruits in your room. We have never had a problem with either the number or the hotel staff. If there were any questions, they are always resolved quickly and without problems.

Coral Beach is situated at a distance from the city center, but for me it is a huge advantage because the peace and quiet after a furious pace metropolis – this is what you need to rest. Here, everyone must choose for yourself what you need. This hotel is oriented to a calm, quiet, family-friendly.

Coral Beach is a big plus in that it consists of a complex of bungalows. No long corridors and stuffy, no one walks you over the head. Neighbors did not see. Rooms are spacious; they have a lot of light and air. In the room has two large beds, bedside table, mirror, fridge, TV, armoire, sofa, chair, big bathroom. Each room has its own way to own a large, comfortable terrace, which also provided for all the rest. It placed a small table and two chairs in which to relax very warm evenings. In addition to recreation terrace serves as an additional exit from the room. The hotel area is large and very beautiful. Lots of greens; and for this entire constant tended, watered several times a day. In my opinion, the place has a very pleasant walk through the hotel when you go to a restaurant or to the beach. Hotel facilities are very comfortable, does not create discomfort travelers. On the way to the beach is very beautiful palm alley.

Another very big advantage of Coral Beach is the beach and the sea. The hotel has one of the largest beaches in Hurghada and the most beautiful coral reef. Beach divided into several parts. Lagoon sand into the sea are great for kids and for those who like to lie on the sand in the water. There is another lagoon, where boats are moored. Between these lagoons is a small island, where you can soak up the sun. The third part – a pontoon and jetty; the descent from the pier is very convenient. As soon as you get to the depth and then you can see the coral and fish, by the way, very convenient to watch the fish straight from the pier. We even saw a stingray. And if you sail away from the pier, it opens a real beauty. You can see a lot of beautiful coral and fish, stingrays, moray. Snorkeling lovers should like it, true to recent reef near the shore a little extinct in some places. The main problem – its rubbish, building a new pier, and most importantly, “do not walk on the corals”, it destroys them. If the coral is broken, stepped on him, he will die and they grow up very slowly. We ourselves we destroy this beauty, but it must be saved!

Breakfast, lunches and dinners are served in a big restaurant next to reception. Of course, when many people in the hotel, queue accumulate, but it quickly passes. There is a terrace for those who love to eat outdoors. Food is very varied and very tasty. There is always plenty to choose from. For breakfast: scrambled eggs or an omelet (prepared right in front of you) which can, if desired, add chopped tomatoes, peppers, onions, cheese, pancakes with different jams and honey, cheese, ham, tomatoes, porridge, muesli, cereal, sausage, puree, toast, melon and delicious pastries. And it’s not all. For lunch and dinner are always a few kinds of soups, beef, chicken, fish, potatoes, rice, pasta and various sweet tables; once a week very tasty liver in Alexandria for lunch. And there is always something interesting and unusual: pancakes with meet, lasagna, ravioli, various salads and much more. Everything is always cooked an original, tasty and interesting additions. Everyone can always choose something for themselves. Tell me, at home you’ve always cook a few dishes for lunch and dinner? The waiters are very friendly, offering drinks, always on time all clean. About alcohol can not say anything because I do not drink.

Animation: animators do not allow anyone to be bored, in the morning water aerobics, belly dance, exercise, yoga, and various games. Constantly dealing with children, in the evening children’s disco; the kids are always with great pleasure and delight dance and play, very nice and funny to watch them. And of course the show program: it is a belly dance, dance with skirts and traditional dances, contest Miss “Coral Beach” (always held a lot of fun), a show with snakes, fakir show (the main party to the head of the animation team – Momo (a very cheerful man)). I want to give special attention to the great singers and musicians – Bob and Tony, great voice, great music and repertoire. They sing in English, French, Italian and Spanish. They are very wonderful, cheerful and sociable people. Always I listen to them with very big pleasure. People often dance.

In the near future I’m going back to this hotel. Many will say that to happen in other places. But why change what you like. My comment was very long, but I tried to write about my impressions and that is there. I hope that my review will help someone else by choosing a hotel.

The most important thing: it all depends on the person, on his mood. If you constantly look for flaws, then they will be found. Need to be much attuned to positive. And if you be gentle and kind to people, then they will be welcoming and friendly to you, and all problems are easily solved. Respect others and you must also be respected and smile you.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Aleksandra I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveHCBH, General Manager at Coral Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2016
Dear Aleksandra I
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Coral Beach Resort Hurghada and for taking the time to post your feedback on our TripAdvisor website. 

We are pleased to know that you liked our resort and had enjoyable vacation with us.
Needless to mention it was true pleasure to host you at our resort and we hope you will return soon.

Kind and sunny regards,
Coral Beach Resort Hurghada Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2011

In august of this year my mom and i have spend 10 amaizing days in this hotel. I like atmosphere in the hotel. But spesialy i like 2 great animators Julia and Fedor. Thanks to this opened and friendly people we never get boared. They keep good atmosphere in the hotel and between the tourists. Doesent metter what nationality they are. The most big memory was activities on the beach and sea. Thank you we spend a really good time there. See you soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveHCBH, General Manager at Coral Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2016
Dear Irina G
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Coral Beach Resort Hurghada and for taking the time to post your feedback on our TripAdvisor website. 

We are pleased to know that you liked our resort and had enjoyable vacation with us.
Needless to mention it was true pleasure to host you at our resort and we hope you will return soon.

Kind and sunny regards,
Coral Beach Resort Hurghada Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egypt
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Rooms:
Although the room is big but actually it was full of insects and the airconditioner wasn't working well. We were a family with about 14 rooms, none of the rooms were to be beside eachother.

Restaurant:
The restaurant is too faraway from the rooms and it's too small to catch that huge number of Guests. The service in the Restaurant is too slow and the Staff are not even smilling to the Guests or dealing with them in a good way. When i ask fof a cup of beer, they come to me after a long time after finishing my meal.

Food:
The Food was more than horrible and disgusting, no variety in the food, moreover it's taste was really awful and when we complained the Chef came to us and said " I am cooking with a Menu and i don't have anything more to do, maybe tomorrow you'll like the food ", and this is not a professional way to deal with guests.

After these words all the family ( 14 Rooms ) decided to leave to another Resort, and then we did.

I advice you, if you have another option don't you ever choose Rotana Coral Beach, It is more than an awful experience starting with the stuff and ending with their Managers as they don't have any answers to our questions or complains

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mary_Raouf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBRRH, The Management at Coral Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
August 10, 2011.

Dear Ms. Mary Raouf,

Thank you very much very much getting in touch with us & we would like to thank you for bringing this matter to our attention specially as repeating guest.

We sincerely regret the inconvenience that it may have caused you, and would like to assure you that this situation experienced doesn’t reflect the standards, nor the spirit we conduct our business at Coral Beach Roana Resort Hurghada or at any of our Rotana properties.

Please trust we are taking steps to prevent future reoccurrence of such concerns, and rest assured that this attitude was not reflective of our team in general.

We hope to have you staying with us again very soon to restore your confidence in our service.

Thank you.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

My Fiancée and I have been to Hurghada before 3 years and had an amazing holiday, we decided to go back but to try another hotel. BIG mistake! We should have went to our beautiful previous hotel as Coral Beach Rotana hotel was just an awful experience and one I will never forget. I would to warn any British couples / families thinking of booking this hotel as from the start I can advise - Look elsewhere!

Arrival
No big welcome, smiling faces and the arrival was just unpleasant. We stood at the reception desk for 2 mins before any of the 4 staff acknowledged our presence. Receptionist unable to understand English so he had to get another person to try and help us. After 20 mins we finally was checked-in. By this time the restaurants were all closed, no late night snack bars so no food.

Golf Buggy Transportation
Well I never thought I would see the day of being transported to my hotel room on a golf buggy especially when there is no golf course located at the accommodation. I also wondered just how far away our hotel room was from the reception for them to transport to our hotel room. After a 2 minute travel we were escorted to our room, the door was unlocked so the porter walked straight in.

Fridge
I ran to the fridge as I was dying for a cold bottle of water, only to find that the fridge was broken, it wasn’t working at all, yet they still thought "we willl just place the water in a fridge, it doesn’t matter if the fridge is broken" So we came to our room to find luke-warm bottled water that is just not drinkable in my opinion especially in an climate of 25 degrees!

Bathroom
So after realising no water, I thought I would go to the bathroom, I closed the door and locked it (I always lock doors, just a habit) I then went to open the door. Could I get out!!! NO! I was using the door handle pulling and tugging only to see the door knob just twisting around in my hand. My Fiancée tried the door from the outside and no luck, he then had to get help. I knew my poor Fiancée had a few miles in walking to get to the reception. In the meantime I had another go at the door, this time with huge force and the door finally opened. I waited till my Fiancée came back, when he did he had staff with him, we then explained to him the problem he then said "I don’t speak English, I bring friend tomorrow" and he left!

1st Morning
We left for breakfast and my Fiancée just closed the front door, I remembered I forgot something, so we went to unlock the door. The door would not unlock and instead we had a key bending in the door and a door that just would not open. I stamped to reception as I had enough of this bogus room, receptionist said "Go to breakfast and all will be sorted by the time your back including the broken fridge, the broken door" Had breakfast and came back. We still couldn’t get into the room, when we did after them using another key, the fridge was still broken.
I demanded for a new room which they agreed, all seemed fine with the room and we could finally enjoy our holiday..... Well that's what I thought.

We discovered we were the ONLY British people in the whole hotel! All other guests were Germans, Polish, French, Russians and most of all local Egyptians.

The Egyptians just stare at you like they have never seen humans before, we faced Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner's with local Egyptians pointing, staring, whispering and even caught one nudging her friend to look at us.

Restaurants
They advertise on their site that they have 6 restaurants / bars! Well people ignore this information as the only restaurant that was open was the Mermaid! That was where we ate every morning, lunch and dinner for the whole week. I booked this holiday for my Fiancée ’s 30th birthday and had already planned in advance that I was going to take him to the Shark’s Bay Restaurant for dinner. When I arrived and found that there was only 1 restaurant open!!!!! I asked why, they said “Oh we haven’t been busy over 1 year, so we close restaurants and only Mermaid is open. It costly to run them all” So I said “Don’t you think you should say something on your website or at least remove the restaurants you have closed than to falsely advertise that you have all these restaurants and bars” he said nothing. So we had to eat at the same crappy restaurant for my Fiancée s 30th. I have given a list as to what is open and closed so you know;

Mermaid – Open
La Tana Discotheque – Open (Bar only)
Aquarius Pool and Snack Bar – Open – didn’t serve snacks - oh wait they did one day and it was rolls with no butter or filling!
Shark’s Bay Seafood – Not Open
Al Zaeem Cafe – Open – No food
Blue Moon and Pool Bar – Closed


Food
The food was awful, no meat is served other than chicken on the odd day, this is because the hotel has catered more for the Egyptians and they don’t eat meat so most things like sausages are corn, they looked raw and wouldn’t go near them. The repeated a few meals, don’t expect a sit down dinner as it’s a buffet We ate omelette every morning for breakfast with just the choice of Red Peppers, fake ham and onions as an add to the omelette. You can have toast but it’s not your hover’s bread, more like Pitta Bread. The fruit looked battered and just the choice of Melon and odd orange. No Mango, Apples, Pineapples just no NOTHING. The food was never hot, it was always luke-warm that the pizza’s were like slabs of concrete and the Chips looked like they aged to death.

My Fiancée and I lived on Lays Crisps, thank god something that taste good. They have a little food store and that where we spent most of our money, considering we were all inclusive.

No English
Hardly any of the staff speak or understand English this in including the Reception where you would most expect this especially if you have any questions or queries. We found only 2 members of staff in the mermaid restaurant that spoke English and one barman that speak English.

Birthday
Our rep knew in advance that we will be celebrating my Fiancée ’s 30th birthday, so he wrote a note be at the mermaid restaurant for 8pm. We excitedly got ready and bought with us our bottle of Champagne to have at dinner. We arrived there was no special table set up, no complimentary wine, no special menu or even a menu for a special occasion. It just seemed like all the other nights, same dead restaurant, same food and nothing special.
Why the hell did they tell us to come for 8pm when there was nothing special prepared, the restaurant is hardly heaving of people and struggling for seating. After dinner the waiter came back with a cake, the cake that they have been serving at the buffet every day but this time it was a whole one with a big chandler holder candle plonked right in the middle. Then.....I heard like a squeak I looked up and it was the waiter trying to sing happy birthday, I stared at him in such horror, thinking “what are you trying to sing” he then asked me to join him, I burst into hysterical laughter’s. He then stopped half way through and said “how does the rest go?” I said, don’t worry about it, you did well. I looked at the candle in the cake and thought were going to need a fire extinguisher to blow that big candle flame out”

Alcohol
The best thing out of the whole hotel, and trust me you need it whilst experiencing such nonsense and mayhem. They don’t understand measurements so if you ask for say a Vodka and Lemonade be prepared that you will have half a glass filled with spirit and a tab of soft drink. Some people may like it like that but I will never forget when I asked for a G&T and it felt like I was drinking straight from a Gin’s bottle. So just be careful on this note.

Evenings
The entertainment is very poor, I enjoyed the Kids entertainment more than anything else. Anything after that, it’s worth going the room and watching Movie Channel (which was great actually). There is not much to do and no happy, energetic staff trying to help create a great atmosphere to help entertain and make it a great evening with cheers and laughter. Instead it’s just eerie, silent and have to rely on watching the kids running around and making new buddies.


Going Home
Best day ever, I was singing, topped up on my tan and happy as Larry. Due to my Fiancée s case being broken we asked reception for some tape, so we could tape it around until the airport, he said yes and will be $30.00, I told him he can go and whistle, and we visited our little Lay’s Crisp store and asked for some and the lovely woman gave us a roll free to use. Now I can say she was the only person in the hotel that deserved a tip.

My Tips ladies and Gent save yourself from suffering high blood pressure and go elsewhere!

Many Thanks for reading.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NaddyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBRRH, The Management at Coral Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Dear Ms. NaddyD,

First and foremost, please accept our sincere apologies for the unfortunate incidents you had during your stay at the Coral Beach Rotana Resort Hurghada, that didn’t met your expectations.

Thank you for all your comments. Upon receiving your feedback we have discussed at length every point mentioned in your review with concerned responsible managers and have planned the necessary service recovery.

We do hope this visit will not prevent you from returning to our hotel in the future, and look forward to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
18.1 mi away
Panorama Bungalows Aqua Park Hurghada
5.9 mi away
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
3.6 mi away
Grand Seas Resort Hostmark
Grand Seas Resort Hostmark
#109 of 222 in Hurghada
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Resort
Hilton Hurghada Resort
#42 of 222 in Hurghada
2,236 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Three Corners Royal Star Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Long Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Beach Resort

Property: Coral Beach Resort
Address: Hurghada Safaga Road k 17, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Coral Beach Rotana Resort)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Hurghada
#40 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#55 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#60 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#63 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#65 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel has one of the longest beaches in Hurghada 1250 Meter, with a wonderful reef of corals and two natural lagoon inside the sea. Three swimming pools; type - bungalow only; family friendly resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Coral Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Beach Rotana Resort Hurghada Hotel Hurghada
Coral Beach Rotana Hotel Hurghada
Coral Sea Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing