We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There are hotels in Hurghada and then there's the Coral Beach Rotana......” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coral Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coral Beach Resort
Ranked #66 of 228 Hotels in Hurghada
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“There are hotels in Hurghada and then there's the Coral Beach Rotana......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

I stayed at this hotel as a solo traveller back in December 2011 - I managed to get an amazing deal on a double room on an all inclusive package. Although it's location is a bit remote (30km from Hurghada centre) the hotel and it's amenities more than made up for this. If you want to be near to all the action though, this hotel is probably not for you.

The first thing you notice is there is no upstairs anywhere - all the accommodation is on the ground floor. And the whole complex is big, very big - roughly 1k by 1km! If you have mobility issues, everywhere is very flat, so access by wheel chair is always possible.

The room was definitely 4*/5*, with a large walk-in shower, a separate dressing area, a king size bed and excellent fixtures and fittings throughout. On arrival they do have an annoying practice where you and your bag make separate trips to your room (via a golf buggy - the complex is that big!) which of course results in 2 lots of tips. But other than that I could not fault anything about the service.

The restaurant was one of the highlights of the stay with excellent and varied food, something you appreciate on a 2 week stay. It was the usual buffet style service with various feature theme nights. There was always a choice of fish/meat/vegetarian options, lots of fruit and vegetables and many cakes to choose from. Some of the meat was chewy or dry (a problem with being kept warm too long) but the fish was always good. My waiter was Adel, who was absolutely brilliant, always having a glass of red wine waiting for me - except for breakfast, of course!

The hotel employed a Russian entertainment group of 4 girls called Freak Animation, who were just fantastic. They all spoke several languages and spent their time organising activities for the guests and helping you to enjoy yourself. From running a creche to organising volleyball and boules on the beach, and in the evening, running pool competitions and Egyptian/African/belly-dancing displays in the hotel disco. They also organised regular trips to Hurghada discos and went along to make sure everyone enjoyed themselves. They were so patient with everyone and even acted as interpreter for me on several occassions!

There are several beaches within the complex, including one where a bathing suit is optional, very unusual for Egypt. They also have a small man-made island which is reached by a narrow causeway which disappears when the tide comes in - don't worry, you can still wade back! The snorkelling on the house reef was pretty good but make sure you don't go too far out. When I went, the current was very strong - although I think that may just have been a seasonal thing. They offer windsurfing in their own lagoon with pretty good rates if you hire a board for several days. They also have diving boat trips but I found their rates very expensive compared with Prince Diving in Hurghada (see my review for them).

One final thing, when I went I was the only English person there, yet I have never made friends with so many fellow holidaymakers:- French, Swedish, Dutch, German, Latvian, Lithuania, Russian, Ukranians and Egyptians. I had a great time but some Brits might prefer to be around fellow countrymen.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Duncan2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveHCBH, General Manager at Coral Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 September 2016
Dear Duncan2302
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Coral Beach Resort Hurghada and for taking the time to post your feedback on our TripAdvisor website. 

We are pleased to know that you liked our resort and had enjoyable vacation with us.
Needless to mention it was true pleasure to host you at our resort and we hope you will return soon.

Kind and sunny regards,
Coral Beach Resort Hurghada Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    384
    157
    70
    70
See reviews for
431
375
46
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

we have just returned home from a 1 week holiday at coral beach...and what a wonderfull place.
Firstly the the hotel is spotlessly clean ...the rooms are the same , up to date with flatscreen tv s, a lounge area a wonderfull soft bed with fresh flowers put into your room by the lovely cleaning man...on arrival we had a problem with the tv ( very bad reception) on contacting reception we had mohammed who i think was the maintanance manager and an engineer turn up on their golf buggy with in approx 10 mins...this would never happen in uk...and so was fixed within moments...what great service.
The resturant was again spotlessly clean and very afficiantly run with empty food terrines refilled, fresh bread and salad replaced. Our waiter Karim and his floor captain were absolutly brilliant ..he had our vodka and coke waiting on a table that he had reserved for us ready...so well trained...food was lovely, not everything may be to your taste but was plenty to choose from.
The animation team were great and worked very had to make your stay the best, always happy and friendly they even took us to Little Budda ( nite club in town) they work so hard.
Bar staff are again great they try very hard to remember your individual drinks which is a nice touch...i must say at this point they never ask for a tip nor expect it as all tips are pooled which i found unusual and refreshing...beaches are lovely all what you would expect, there are reps selling trips but they are very polite and will go if not required, however if you do there prices are good value.
If there was one downside to this hotel it would be the amount of rude and ignorant Russians i could not believe their disgracefull attitude...it made you glad to be british with manners...but they did not spoil what was a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank karenronUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveHCBH, General Manager at Coral Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2016
Dear karenronUk
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Coral Beach Resort Hurghada and for taking the time to post your feedback on our TripAdvisor website. 

We are pleased to know that you liked our resort and had enjoyable vacation with us.
Needless to mention it was true pleasure to host you at our resort and we hope you will return soon.

Kind and sunny regards,
Coral Beach Resort Hurghada Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Just returned from our 4th trip to hurgarda and our 3rd stay at the coral beach. We have had another wonderful week and we agree with most of the comments on the other recent reviews, and there are some more to add. The management at this hotel has recently changed and the amount of investment being made to improve the facilities is substantial. There are minor building improvements being made to shops and surrounding area, but not intrusive to your stay

The Restaurant Manager, Mohamed, asked for feedback every day about what could be improved so that more English would want to stay. We also gave him feedback about the Italian which was disappointing, but none of the other reviews say whether they did this. All the staff love the English and you can tell - they are all polite, smiley and can't do enough for you (apart from the guy at the pool bar who was very moody!).

As with the other reviews, check in was quick and efficient, we had a lively golf buggy journey to our room, which was new and spotless. The safe didn't work when we arrived but all it took was a quick call to reception and it was fixed within an hour. The pool area was always clean and sunbeds available, with the pool guy reserving them for us each day. The Animation team worked hard to get people involved, without being pushy, and again were always polite and friendly. Lots of guys trying to sell extras like the beauty salon, trips and the Atlantis restaurant, but after you have been there one day, they too leave you alone if you're not interested, but still remained polite and friendly. The toilet block at the top pool has been completely refurbished since our last trip so the promise of an additional block at the bottom pool is, i would suggest, likely.

The beach area is just fantastic, can't fault it at all. There were some jelly fish but there was a guy continually cleaning them out of the beach if they washed up. There's also a stable next to the resort with riding on the beach/desert which wasn't there before.

The comments about the restaurant food is probably fair, although there was always a good selection and continually re-stocked. As the hotel was full of Russians who don't have any manners and are very rude, who also stampede the restaurant as soon as it opened, we just worked our day around it. Breakfast about 8.30/9.00, lunch about 2 and dinner about 8/8.30 meant we always got a table, waiting with our drinks, and looked after by the much mentioned Abdul, who has been our waiter for all 3 visits and remembered us so we got a very warm welcome. He works so hard, and the management have possibly taken note of all the recent reviews, as the day before we came home, he was wearing a blue shirt (different to all the others) and when I asked why, he said he was now Head Waiter!!

We were very sad to leave and already looking to go back again. It's not perfect, but they're trying really hard to get there and the things that were negative about the stay ie the Russians, the hotel can't do anything about. We need to remember that they have survived because of the Russians as there were close to no British tourists on either of our last couple of visits. Now they're keen to replace them all with the British, so why not give it a try.

Room Tip: On each of our 3 visits, we have had completely different rooms in different areas of the resort - a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveHCBH, General Manager at Coral Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2016
Dear
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Coral Beach Resort Hurghada and for taking the time to post your feedback on our TripAdvisor website. 

We are pleased to know that you liked our resort and had enjoyable vacation with us.
Needless to mention it was true pleasure to host you at our resort and we hope you will return soon.

Kind and sunny regards,
Coral Beach Resort Hurghada Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

if you like high quality of customer service and high standands of hygiene then i recommend this hotel with an excellent doctor on site and amazing management and food then you should definetely go to this hotel, i have never been so impressed with a hotel as i have been with this one.
antonio fernandez

Room Tip: as i am a disabled person they offer great rooms to suit my needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemm E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveHCBH, General Manager at Coral Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2016
Dear Gemm E
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Coral Beach Resort Hurghada and for taking the time to post your feedback on our TripAdvisor website. 

We are pleased to know that you liked our resort and had enjoyable vacation with us.
Needless to mention it was true pleasure to host you at our resort and we hope you will return soon.

Kind and sunny regards,
Coral Beach Resort Hurghada Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012 via mobile

We spend 10 days on this hotel, and was very good time. Nice beach and supriced me naked beach separated :) nice and friendly employes, good service, special on restaurant ! Rooms was big, but need some somethimes service be nicer for 4 stars, but not a problem, anyway we spend not so much time on rooms :) and interesting is on this huge complex is garden. Then if you want relax time whitout stress go there.

Stayed May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaro O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveHCBH, General Manager at Coral Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2016
Dear Jaro O
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Coral Beach Resort Hurghada and for taking the time to post your feedback on our TripAdvisor website. 

We are pleased to know that you liked our resort and had enjoyable vacation with us.
Needless to mention it was true pleasure to host you at our resort and we hope you will return soon.

Kind and sunny regards,
Coral Beach Resort Hurghada Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Just got home tonight after a week at the above hotel, Booked via YouTravel on Thomas Cook flight from BHX. First impression was good - excellent, speedy, efficient check in with luggage delivered promptly and I was taken to my room by buggy too. Room was excellent - well equipped, spotlessly clean, huge bed, immaculately presented linen and plenty of room and storage space. Room had patio doors leading onto a little terrace with a lovely view across to the gardens to the sea. Very happy so far. Now the not so good bits .... One main restaurant (the Mermaid) which was buffet style and although the salads were great, the hot food was very disappointing ... cheap meat, hardly any choice and not particularly well presented ... a bit like school dinners back in the 1960's. There was an Italian restaurant on site, although when I looked at the menu for anything decent you had to pay a supplement and the choice was limited. I never used it myself after hearing nothing but bad reviews about quality and quantity of food and pressure from the waiting staff to add extras. The hotel was mainly filled with Russians and other East Europeans. Trying not to generalise here (honestly !) but it was like a stampede when the buffet restaurant opened and a free for all .. no concept of waiting their turn, pushing into queues, taking whole bowls of fruit and plates of cakes off the buffet display and taking the lot to their tables (and I am being serious here). The staff didn't seem to surprised by this and I guess it must be the norm. It was quite entertaining after a while, particularly as the hotel run entertainment was pretty dire - nice chap singing with a guitar one night - but unfortunately there were never enough chairs to go around. Okay, now to the pool areas. Well the top pool was the focus of all the activity. The lower pool was the quieter one although there was no bar there and no toilets there so you had to walk up to the top pool every time you needed the loo or wanted a drink. Okay, we're not talking miles to walk but sufficiently far enough for it to be an inconvenience and call me picky, but when I am paying a lot of money for a holiday I don't really expect inconvenience. I was told that a new toilet block was due to be built in the next few weeks so it will be interesting to see if that actually happens. On the online website the hotel advertises a gym - there isn't one. The beach area is great, with plenty of sunbeds and shelter. Unfortunately, you don't get told any information about the beach and the (limited) facilities down there .... hotel could do more to publicise this as it's probably their greatest asset, after the wonderful waiter Abdelhammed (Abdel) in the Mermaid buffet restaurant. Abdel was fantastic and would definitely get my vote for Employee of the Month/Year. Hotel Management please take note - this guy is a great ambassador for your hotel and deserves much credit.

In short, would I return to this particular hotel? No. Would I return to Hurghada? Yes.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KayandMaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveHCBH, General Manager at Coral Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2016
Dear KayandMaz
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Coral Beach Resort Hurghada and for taking the time to post your feedback on our TripAdvisor website. 

We are pleased to know that you liked our resort and had enjoyable vacation with us.
Needless to mention it was true pleasure to host you at our resort and we hope you will return soon.

Kind and sunny regards,
Coral Beach Resort Hurghada Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Also just got back from 2 fantastic weeks in Coral Beach Rotana Resort. This was the 5th trip for us to egypt and the first time we hadnt stayed in an hilton. i cant give any fault what so ever . the rooms where nice and clean , the food was great , the staff where brilliant . best value for money egypt holiday we have had. i would say if your a diver this is the best coral in the red sea . We hope to return again in october .

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pickfordDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveHCBH, General Manager at Coral Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2016
Dear pickfordDerbyshire
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Coral Beach Resort Hurghada and for taking the time to post your feedback on our TripAdvisor website. 

We are pleased to know that you liked our resort and had enjoyable vacation with us.
Needless to mention it was true pleasure to host you at our resort and we hope you will return soon.

Kind and sunny regards,
Coral Beach Resort Hurghada Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
5.8 mi away
The Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort
3.6 mi away
Grand Seas Resort Hostmark
Grand Seas Resort Hostmark
#98 of 228 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
Mercure Hurghada Hotel
#18 of 228 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Hurghada Long Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Jasmine Palace Resort & Spa
Jasmine Palace Resort & Spa
#46 of 228 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sonesta Pharaoh Beach Resort Hurghada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Beach Resort

Property: Coral Beach Resort
Address: Hurghada Safaga Road k 17, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Coral Beach Rotana Resort)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hurghada
#36 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#54 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#59 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#63 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#65 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel has one of the longest beaches in Hurghada 1250 Meter, with a wonderful reef of corals and two natural lagoon inside the sea. Three swimming pools; type - bungalow only; family friendly resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Coral Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Beach Rotana Resort Hurghada Hotel Hurghada
Coral Beach Rotana Hotel Hurghada
Coral Sea Hurghada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing